‘Can never be forgotten’: August 14 to be observed as ‘Partition Horrors Remembrance Day’ : PM Modi

OMB

‘Can never be forgotten’: August 14 to be observed as ‘Partition Horrors Remembrance Day’ : PM Modi

Modi says August 14 will be observed as Partition Horrors Remembrance Day

PM Modi said partition and the violence that followed it was a tragic part of history. Displacement of millions, killing and rapes during the partition are still vivid and observing this day is a recognition of their sacrifices.

A day before he addresses the nation from the ramparts of the Red Fort on India’s Independence Day, Prime Minister Narendra Modi declared that August 14 will be observed as Partition Horrors Remembrance Day. Pakistan celebrates August 14 as its Independence Day.

In a subsequent tweet, he said lessons should be drawn from the violence that erupted during Partition to further enhance harmony and human empowerment. “May the #PartitionHorrorsRemembranceDay keep reminding us of the need to remove the poison of social divisions, disharmony and further strengthen the spirit of oneness, social harmony and human empowerment."

Commenting on the decision to observe August 14 as Partition Horrors Remembrance Day, Vijay Chauthaiwale, in charge of the foreign affairs department of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), said it is time to acknowledge the horrors of Partition and the violence that ensued after India and Pakistan were carved out as two countries in 1947.

“This is a long-overdue recognition that Partition resulted in violence, displacement of millions of people, incidents of killing and rape of those who came from the present-day Pakistan. The stories are still vivid and observing this day is a recognition of their sacrifices. Partition was a tragic part of history and the violence that followed it as well. PM Modi has shown tremendous courage by acknowledging the same,” Chauthaiwale said.

The Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh, the ideological mentor of the BJP, has been observing August 14 as the Akhand Bharat Divas or Unified India Day. On several occasions, its top leaders have made a case for the reunification of Akhand Bharat, including parts that got separated from India such as Afghanistan and Pakistan but not through coercion.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/india-news/jaish-module-planning-to-disrupt-i-day-celebrations-busted-in-jammu-4-arrested-101628934533897.html

Whenever Modi speaks I feel like doing the following especially the Akhand Bharat part in OP :inti

200w.webp

He shouldn't forget the Gujarat riots either.

When is gonna observe Gujarat horror remembrance day?

This guy's ilk disappeared into holes during the British raj and during partition. Only came back to assassinate Gandhi.

In the stakes of chivalry and bravery, the RSS/BJP are not even a footnote.

This is a clear proof that india hasn’t recognized the creation of Pakistan. This simple fact is their major motive of sending raw spies in Pakistan, organizing terrorist activities within Pakistan and trying their best to destabilize Pakistan.

I am not surprised though as Modi is an RSS terrorist leader.

What a vile man to make this August 14.

This is a long-overdue recognition that Partition resulted in violence, displacement of millions of people, incidents of killing and rape of those who came from the present-day Pakistan. The stories are still vivid and observing this day is a recognition of their sacrifices. Partition was a tragic part of history and the violence that followed it as well. PM Modi has shown tremendous courage by acknowledging the same,” Chauthaiwale said.

More Muslims came to West Pakistan then Hindus/Sikhs went to India. They intentionally ignore Muslim victims, to spread hatred. Make Hindus/Sikhs think they were the only people who suffered, and to keep Indian Muslims in their place.

Pakistan on Saturday called out Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi for "distorting history" after he announced that August 14 — Pakistan's Independence Day — will be observed as "Partition Horrors Remembrance Day" in India.

As Pakistan celebrated its 75th day of independence, the Indian prime minister took to Twitter to make the controversial announcement.

"Millions of our sisters and brothers were displaced and many lost their lives due to mindless hate and violence," he tweeted. "In memory of the struggles and sacrifices of our people, August 14 will be observed as Partition Horrors Remembrance Day."

"May [this day] keep reminding us of the need to remove the poison of social divisions, disharmony and further strengthen the spirit of oneness, social harmony and human empowerment," Modi added.

In a statement, Foreign Office spokesperson Zahid Hafeez Chaudhri dubbed Modi's move "a political and publicity stunt", and said that "no modern state is so much in contradiction with itself as the Indian state - the so-called 'largest democracy'."

"It is shameful that the practitioners of 'Hindutva' ideology, and purveyors of hate and violence, would so hypocritically and one-sidedly invoke the tragic events and mass migration that occurred in the wake of Independence in 1947.

“Distorting history and stoking communalism is the special forte of the RSS-BJP regime. Far from doing anything to heal old wounds, they would go to any extent to sow further dissensions for electoral gains," he said.

The FO spokesperson said that Pakistan was sure that the people of goodwill in India would reject this "political and publicity stunt" that only seeks to divide.

Meanwhile, the government of India also notified the decision to observe the day of Pakistan's Independence as “Partition Horrors Remembrance Day”.

The gazette notification, shared by the Indian news agency ANI, stated that the move was aimed at reminding “the present and future generations of Indians of the pain and sufferings faced by the people of India during the Partition”.

DAWN

More Muslims came to West Pakistan then Hindus/Sikhs went to India. They intentionally ignore Muslim victims, to spread hatred. Make Hindus/Sikhs think they were the only people who suffered, and to keep Indian Muslims in their place.

Partition was completed on 14th August so ofcourse thats the date for the remembrance day.

Secondly, this remembrance day is for those who suffered the pain of partition and then on 15th august became Indian citizens.

So ofcourse there is nothing to talk about pakistanis. Pakistan is free to have its own remembrance day or whatever.

Lets not forget what muslims did on direct action day. So only an idiot in India will try to have any sympathies with pakistanis on that day.

Fancy terminology coming out of someone who bears a responsibility for some of the worst religious violence ever seen in independent India.

Partition was completed on 14th August so ofcourse thats the date for the remembrance day.

Secondly, this remembrance day is for those who suffered the pain of partition and then on 15th august became Indian citizens.

So ofcourse there is nothing to talk about pakistanis. Pakistan is free to have its own remembrance day or whatever.

Lets not forget what muslims did on direct action day. So only an idiot in India will try to have any sympathies with pakistanis on that day.

What about those idiots in India who have sympathies with Gujatat riots victims? :inti

Fancy terminology coming out of someone who bears a responsibility for some of the worst religious violence ever seen in independent India.

By treating one of the worst communal violence as mere "fancy terminology", you are proving this move (to commemorate the incident) as apt and desirable.

I think you will note that we aren't all stupid here to not realize what he meant.

He is a vile man and has the blood of Muslims in Gujarat on his own hands.

Of course he is free to say what he wants but then we are also free here to interpret it the way we want.

Sadly the rapes and murdering of minorities are still happening in India in huge numbers today.

Yeah, so many Muslim families were murdered and women raped during the partition

I think you will note that we aren't all stupid here to not realize what he meant.

Of course he is free to say what he wants but then we are also free here to interpret it the way we want.

Do note that many Hindus died as well to start with (may be some sympathies for them as well). Also note that he was found not guilty of any deliberate wrong doing.

Before someone questions the integrity of justice system, this happened while congress was in power till 2014. They threw the entire machinary at him to convict him but alas without any success to the shock of those prejudiced about his guilt.

India was always a banana republic. You think anyone outside India believes that your third world country has an equitable justice system? India literally executes Kashmiris through the same judicial "machinery". Also just for the record, us Pakistanis view the Congress as the same as the BJP/RSS - they're all Indian nationalists who seek to establish Indian hegemony in the region. They're two sides of the same coin.

Ofcourse you are free to say what you want.

As we are free to make sure our generations remember what happened during the partition and who were responsible and we honour our own who suffered. At the same time make sure that those who were responsible never get a place in our country and our history.

For a country that is 10 times the size of Pakistan such events and activities comes across as very petty.

India was always a banana republic. You think anyone outside India believes that your third world country has an equitable justice system? India literally executes Kashmiris through the same judicial "machinery". Also just for the record, us Pakistanis view the Congress as the same as the BJP/RSS - they're all Indian nationalists who seek to establish Indian hegemony in the region. They're two sides of the same coin.

You think anyone outside pakistan believes any of the narrative that pakistanis try to spread?

Yeah....just like nobody was found guilty for demolishing Babri Masjid.

Nothing new here

Unfortunately for you, in India, its our judiciary that decides our domestic matters. Rest of the opinion is just noise.

Yeah....just like nobody was found guilty for demolishing Babri Masjid.

Nothing new here

Its amusing hearing pakistanis talk about babri masjid, when they support Erdogan changing Hagia Sophia to a mosque. Its even funnier that pakistanis believed tha Muslims had a claim to a separate country and got one, but will jump up and down in fury if Hindus take back their temples.

Well Hindus and Muslims on both sides suffered heavy property damages, women were raped and lives were lost. It’s delusional to think that partition was a smooth migration. Good to see someone acknowledge the horrors on what was the biggest human migration in history and had more casualties/destruction than the genocide or as much as world wars. Glad to see Modi acknowledging the humanitarian aspect. Nothing but respect. Not sure why people cannot get over this simple fact that everyone is aware of.

Rapes/casualties/destruction continued on 15 August.

Why should 15 August be celebrated as independence day and not a remembrance day as well?

Rapes/casualties/destruction continued on 15 August.

Why should 15 August be celebrated as independence day and not a remembrance day as well?

Because till 14th there was still doubts if the partition would be actually implemented and it was the day reality sunk in for people of either sides.

Why does it have to be an insult to Pakistan?

Violence happened and it’s better if we acknowledge it and I personally have no problem if Imran Khan said that 15th was equally brutal. I would Infact agree with him.

No lol, it's typical of him. He's a petty little man.
You need to be a petty little man to become the head honcho of the worlds largest democracy without any background/ wealth or in a culture (subcontinental) where there is a status quo and a dynastic culture. To get to that level Thoda pettiness to banta hai bro :afridi

its funny if anyone believe the date chosen has any other reason than the obvious one behind it. pakistan lives in indian politicians and their web warriors' heads' rent free. :))

Modi could have came out and congratulated Pakistan on its independence day and showed that he is a proper man but alas not to be.

Yet it was a RSS member, Godse, who assassinated Ghandi, thus affirming the Hindu terrorist group lay the sole blame on Hindus for the partition. Decades later Modi would be banned from entering the USA and UK for his role in Gujrat massacre.

any person will have visa issues or you call as ban when there is a court case going on involving them, and that's judiciary system of a country.
We all saw what happened later, modi walking and hugging Trump and Johnson in their lands.

There is more discussion and reaction about this in Pakistan than India. This, like article 370, triple talaq, CAA, farm laws is a totally internal event has no impact/affect on Pakistan.

Of course, your PM is insulting our country by making this on August 14. There were 364 other days he could have chosen. Only good thing is it shows our liberal Aman ki Asha fools the true face of the majority of Indians.

Because till 14th there was still doubts if the partition would be actually implemented and it was the day reality sunk in for people of either sides.

Why does it have to be an insult to Pakistan?

Violence happened and it’s better if we acknowledge it and I personally have no problem if Imran Khan said that 15th was equally brutal. I would Infact agree with him.

Because the 14th of August is Pakistan's independence day... Its like if Pakistan makes 15th August a day to honor the Muslim victims of partition, while ignoring the Hindu/Sikh ones.

Both countries can choose any other date besides from 14th and 15th August, to honor the victims.

Muslims of East Punjab and Delhi were Indian citizens as of August 15, 1947. These people were expelled. They did not leave voluntarily.

Its about portraying an accurate description of what happened. One sided stunt like what Modi does shows IK was right when he said small man in big office.

What IK should do is observe another date that honors all victims of partition regardless of their religion.

Bigot knows what sells in India so he is just being a salesman who is successfully selling hatred to his ardent devotees and this thread is living proof of that.

This guy's ilk disappeared into holes during the British raj and during partition. Only came back to assassinate Gandhi.

In the stakes of chivalry and bravery, the RSS/BJP are not even a footnote.
Sanghis though have tried to appropriate freedom struggle heroes. That's their biggest contribution to Indian freedom struggle.

Of course, your PM is insulting our country by making this on August 14. There were 364 other days he could have chosen. Only good thing is it shows our liberal Aman ki Asha fools the true face of the majority of Indians.

Its not like this is a new yoga day he is proposing. If we talk about partition, August 15th was THE demarker and for us, partition happened right before then (before the birth of the country).

Something analogous for you would be 13th August.

It's important to not forget, so that the terrible things that happened, don't happen again.

But this is Modi as usual trying to cover up the colossal failure he has been in terms of doing anything useful for the country. The idea is to keep the wounds festering and open new ones among current Indians who have no memory or trauma from those events. My Sindhi peers seem the most anti-Pakistan and even they have only stories from their grandparents' times.

The choice of day is very basic, whatever reasons you might ascribe. They did this to us and the next day we'll celebrate our independence from them. The subsequent feeling that would seep into someone who buys into this emotion is - but what about the rest of the Muslims here. When and how do we gain independence from them?

It's so obvious and low.

Modi ji expresses love for Pakistan when there are no elections but takes refuge in partition as soon as polls come. Prime Minister Narendra Modi had begun the preparation of UP elections. He had greeted Pakistan on March 22 on the occasion of Pakistan Day and given greetings and good wishes to the people of Pakistan on their Independence Day," Congress chief spokesperson Randeep Surjewala said.

https://www.deccanherald.com/nation...artition-horrors-remembrance-day-1019771.html

The reality of the fact is, we celebrate 14 August and you guy copy us the next day. Simple as that!

It's important to not forget, so that the terrible things that happened, don't happen again.

But this is Modi as usual trying to cover up the colossal failure he has been in terms of doing anything useful for the country. The idea is to keep the wounds festering and open new ones among current Indians who have no memory or trauma from those events. My Sindhi peers seem the most anti-Pakistan and even they have only stories from their grandparents' times.

The choice of day is very basic, whatever reasons you might ascribe. They did this to us and the next day we'll celebrate our independence from them. The subsequent feeling that would seep into someone who buys into this emotion is - but what about the rest of the Muslims here. When and how do we gain independence from them?

It's so obvious and low.

The rememberance day is national and secular. The choice of bringing religion is anyone's prerogative or personal agenda. This will help identify those closet sicular politicians and sympathaizers. The action is a master stroke win-all choice.

It's so obvious and low.

My family suffered the pain of partition. My grandfather left everything to come to India to restart his life. His family had textile mills in East Pakistan. He came to Kolkata and started with a Shop that they had opened few years before 1947.

Most of His brothers could never make it out. And most of his cousins and their family perished in 1971. Today except us most of my father's side's family live in London, having migrated in 1970s.

It was our sheer good luck that the grants made by the Raja of Mayurbhanj to us in return of cloth supplies, turned out to be lands holding iron ore reserves. Else our family would be on the streets and begging their bread when most of the extended family came to Kolkata in 1971 as refugees.

So don't tell me what i need to remember or what i need to forget. This attempt of trying to erase this part of history and white washing it is insulting to those who suffered this pain

The people need to remember what mistakes we made and why we had to suffer that painful moment and who were responsible for it. White washing the partition and trying to remove its memories will only result in a bigger catastrophe befalling us.

Of course, your PM is insultingShouur country by making this on August 14. There were 364 other days he could have chosen. Only good thing is it shows our liberal Aman ki Asha fools the true face of the majority of Indians.

India doesn't need to look at pakistan to have a remembrance day for its citizens.

14th August was the last day of British India, the day partition was complete. Next day Independent India came into being.

Muslims of East Punjab and Delhi were Indian citizens as of August 15, 1947. These people were expelled. They did not leave voluntarily.

Its about portraying an accurate description of what happened. One sided stunt like what Modi does shows IK was right when he said small man in big office.

What accurate description? This day is for remembrance of the hardships that citizens of India had due to partition. Not for those who went to pakistan.

Pakistan is free to have a remembrance day for them and i dont have a problem if its on 15th august.

My family suffered the pain of partition. My grandfather left everything to come to India to restart his life. His family had textile mills in East Pakistan. He came to Kolkata and started with a Shop that they had opened few years before 1947.

Most of His brothers could never make it out. And most of his cousins and their family perished in 1971. Today except us most of my father's side's family live in London, having migrated in 1970s.

It was our sheer good luck that the grants made by the Raja of Mayurbhanj to us in return of cloth supplies, turned out to be lands holding iron ore reserves. Else our family would be on the streets and begging their bread when most of the extended family came to Kolkata in 1971 as refugees.

So don't tell me what i need to remember or what i need to forget. This attempt of trying to erase this part of history and white washing it is insulting to those who suffered this pain

The people need to remember what mistakes we made and why we had to suffer that painful moment and who were responsible for it. White washing the partition and trying to remove its memories will only result in a bigger catastrophe befalling us.

Well you need to do a ghar wapsi to Bangladesh. Amar bando Bhai. You speak the basha, get your textile mill back whilst you're there.

India is my ghar. If i wanted to go to another country, i would have gone to Europe or UK.

Its enemy property now under laws. Or have they changed it?

The rememberance day is national and secular. The choice of bringing religion is anyone's prerogative or personal agenda. This will help identify those closet sicular politicians and sympathaizers. The action is a master stroke win-all choice.

Who is a closet sicular politician? Someone who sympathizes with Pakistan? Someone who sympathizes with Muslims? Someone who sympathizes with anyone that is being treated unfairly?

Does your closet have a garbage bin from where this trash is leaking?

If Hitler or Stalin had/have grandchildren, would you want to punish them? You didn't go through all that trauma. Your grandparents are fully justified in harboring pain and even hatred for what they went through. But it doesn't make sense for a couple generations-later to be holding these grudges or being taught, as is the case now, to hate people on the basis of something that's just history.

Making sure that no one in today's India has to suffer this ever again is different from the slow attempts to punish those alive, who had nothing to do with it.

It makes no difference what India thinks of Aug 14. For Pakistanis it is a great day for us and always will be.

Its a strange one really. The pain of partition must have been felt on either side of the border, families getting uprooted loved ones lost etc. There is no doubt about the sufferings.

But to mark this particular date for remembrance is nothing more than a cheap shot. No, the partition didnt take place on Aug 14th and certainly not the horrors associated with it. Both were a long drawn out process.

In fact Indian flags were being flown around in villages on 15th August around now Pakistani Punjab believing them to be on the right side of the borders. The Border commision( Radcliffe plan) was only published a couple of days after India's independence, most of the migrations started well after a month or so.

Yes we can all have the respect for the dead and their losses but lets not do it by throwing mud on each other.

Interesting that Modi acknowledges from facts that founding fathers of India ordered the murder of 1.2M Muslims.

In comparison 85K hindus were unfortunately also murdered in response.

What a shameful post. Wrong things from your leader is also supported by you. RSS members hve no limit!

“Became Indian Citizens”??
What citizenship did these people have before 15th Aug? American? British? Canadian? No? Australian may be? How about Mexican?

It is so touching that so many people remember the horrors that happened way back in 1947.

So when are we going to remember our own muslim citizens massacred in the Gujarat riots in 2002?

It is so touching that so many people remember the horrors that happened way back in 1947.

So when are we going to remember our own muslim citizens massacred in the Gujarat riots in 2002?

So touching that you remember about the death of muslim citizens.

Only if you had the heart to remember the burning of hindus in Godhra and the 100s who died in the riots.

Who is a closet sicular politician? Someone who sympathizes with Pakistan? Someone who sympathizes with Muslims? Someone who sympathizes with anyone that is being treated unfairly?

Does your closet have a garbage bin from where this trash is leaking?

If Hitler or Stalin had/have grandchildren, would you want to punish them? You didn't go through all that trauma. Your grandparents are fully justified in harboring pain and even hatred for what they went through. But it doesn't make sense for a couple generations-later to be holding these grudges or being taught, as is the case now, to hate people on the basis of something that's just history.

Making sure that no one in today's India has to suffer this ever again is different from the slow attempts to punish those alive, who had nothing to do with it.

Those who do not learn history are doomed to repeat it.'

My children will not suffer what my grand parents suffered. They will not be lulled to believe that things like the partition didn't happen.

Partition is a misnomer, I much prefer the word "independence" was a bloody event yet very necessary as well. The British left the subcontinent then the great Quaid Jinnah took full advantage off it. No one cares what India or Modi calls it.

Only if you had the heart to remember the burning of hindus in Godhra and the 100s who died in the riots.

Last I checked, far more muslims died in the riots than hindus.

So yeah, the Gujarat riots will always be more about the muslim deaths.

This topic, or in reality, all topics regarding India-Pakistan will fall into heavy political streams.

Governments and politicians on both sides will make references to the situation to ignite the lavish amounts of patriotism in both countries.

The same politics is applied in other facets, such as getting votes and covering up problems.

It's seen on both sides, where the topic of India-Pakistan is often used to garner public unity against a common "enemy".

You cannot expect a Pakistani to sympathize or even take their time to understand an Indian political opinion on the partition because it is a historic event with mixed feelings and emotions.

For India, they think it is important to remember the tragedies of the conflict, and it is the same for Pakistan.

The only political aspect attached to this is why Modi chose August 14th, because there is no justification apart from a political stance as August 16th could have also been chosen without a problem.

Hindus and Muslims both died in gujarat riots but why isn't Modi and his followers want to remember or even discuss that?

This here is a perfect example of Terrorist RSS Rightwing thinking:-

"This is a long-overdue recognition that Partition resulted in violence, displacement of millions of people, incidents of killing and rape of those who came from the present-day Pakistan"

I feel sorry for the Indians who believe in these people

now today at 15th August 2021, will be remembered as Afghan Taliban victory Day in Afghanistan from NATO and thre wanna be suppwa pawa tatto alliances ...... :)

This topic, or in reality, all topics regarding India-Pakistan will fall into heavy political streams.

Governments and politicians on both sides will make references to the situation to ignite the lavish amounts of patriotism in both countries.

The same politics is applied in other facets, such as getting votes and covering up problems.

It's seen on both sides, where the topic of India-Pakistan is often used to garner public unity against a common "enemy".

You cannot expect a Pakistani to sympathize or even take their time to understand an Indian political opinion on the partition because it is a historic event with mixed feelings and emotions.

For India, they think it is important to remember the tragedies of the conflict, and it is the same for Pakistan.

The only political aspect attached to this is why Modi chose August 14th, because there is no justification apart from a political stance as August 16th could have also been chosen without a problem.

sorry but you are wrong.

Pakistan doesnt really use India to ignite patriotism.... This is always done by the local media, and as Pakistani media is free they dont do this as much as India does.

Pakistan can use religion to unite the people, but they dont do an India-Pakistan thing to garner public unity. India does that very much so, but not Pakistan

Its clear that Modi is doing this just to incite hatered for Pakistan. They specifically choose 14 August aswell.

They dont really care about remembrance of those who died that day.

Anyways, I do always believe that there needs to be a remembrance day for those who died during the migration. Infact, it should be a common day because deaths occurred on both sides, and that day should be used where the deaths of both sides are recognized and isnt used to further sprout more hatred.

Even though more deaths happen to the people coming to Pakistan and was mostly lead by Sikhs under the leadership of Tara Singh

Many fail to realise that it's not the creation of Pakistan that haunts India per se, it's the fact India was carved into pieces and lost land to Pakistan that haunts them. India's dream of a united SC after the British left just never materialised. If Dalits decided to create their own land in 47 instead of Muslims, then India would still be crying.

India is scared of being carved up into pieces, precisely why the Indian government invoked operation Blue Star.