“Winning Test series in SL and India more memorable than winning the World Cup” : Jason Gillespie

So Jason Gillespie interacts quite a lot on Twitter with fans etc. and has lately been answering some questions.

Thoughts on Rabada - 'Outstanding bowler'
Best batsman - 'Kane Williamson'
Alastair Cook - 'One of the very best test openers to ever play our great game'
Most memorable moment - 'Winning test series in Sri Lanka and India'.. follow up question - bigger than the World Cup? 'Yes'

So Jason Gillespie interacts quite a lot on Twitter with fans etc. and has lately been answering some questions.

Thoughts on Rabada - 'Outstanding bowler'
Alastair Cook - 'One of the very best test openers to ever play our great game'
Most memorable moment - 'Winning test series in Sri Lanka and India'.. follow up question - bigger than the World Cup? 'Yes'

This goes against the notion that winning an ICC trophy is more coveted than winning bilateral Test series.

Yes, I thought it was an interesting comment. I suppose the fact that Sri Lanka were a very strong team at the time with the likes on Murali in full flow made it a big deal to beat them away, plus India has always been a very strong team at home specially when all their greats were together in one team.

It's a no brainer

I guess he didn't pick ashes cuZ in his time they won every ashes almost

Yes, I thought it was an interesting comment. I suppose the fact that Sri Lanka were a very strong team at the time with the likes on Murali in full flow made it a big deal to beat them away, plus India has always been a very strong team at home specially when all their greats were together in one team.

Yes for cricket purists it would be and most professional players would also highly value winning a Test series in foreign conditions.

However, the desi mentality would be that winning an ICC trophy trumps all. I suppose even ODI's and T20s series take precedence over Tests nowadays with the common public.

Most people I know nowadays don't even watch Test cricket anymore.

I think opinion of player varies, if you ask ABD what would be more important to him, we all know what he is gonna reply. Similarly, Sachin felt more relief after winning a world cup than winning a series in England.
Even for fans specially south asian fans, World cup is most prestigous tournament.

I think opinion of player varies, if you ask ABD what would be more important to him, we all know what he is gonna reply. Similarly, Sachin felt more relief after winning a world cup than winning a series in England.
Even for fans specially south asian fans, World cup is most prestigous tournament.

Subcontinental teams have won series in England a few times so that's understandable.

I'm sure that if Sachin would have won a Test series in Australia, he would have ranked it very highly, possibly higher than winning the World Cup. Simply because of the magnitude of the challenge.

Subcontinental teams have won series in England a few times so that's understandable.

I'm sure that if Sachin would have won a Test series in Australia, he would have ranked it very highly, possibly higher than winning the World Cup. Simply because of the magnitude of the challenge.

Bhai, Test Fanatic Ho Kya?

It was a long unfulfilled Dream of Sachin to win the WC for the country , which India missed many a times before finally winning it. You could see how much it meant for him and the people.

You like Test Cricket that's fine, don't divide Cricketers into some imaginary Professional Non-Professional categories just because someone doesn't have the same taste.

Desi mentality? Bus Karo Yaar guilty feel Karwana, dekhne do logo ko jo pasand hai.

A tournament consisting of teams from all around the World would be higher than any of the series between two Nations. It's common sense.

FIFA World Cup, Rugby World Cup, Medals in Olympics all rank much higher.

Nice call. Talent, technical and mental aspects Kane is the best in the world but Smith is more of a fighter so will put Kane just behind Smith. If Kane was playing for a stronger team with better support he would have been the best by now.

If it was the ashes I would understand but I think winning the World Cup is more memorable then winning a series in SL.

Bhai, Test Fanatic Ho Kya?

It was a long unfulfilled Dream of Sachin to win the WC for the country , which India missed many a times before finally winning it. You could see how much it meant for him and the people.

I didn't say anything to the contrary, but I think winning a Test series in Australia is a tougher ask for a subcontinental team than winning a World Cup. Do you disagree?

You like Test Cricket that's fine, don't divide Cricketers into some imaginary Professional Non-Professional categories just because someone doesn't have the same taste.

Desi mentality? Bus Karo Yaar guilty feel Karwana, dekhne do logo ko jo pasand hai.

I'm afraid I didn't write anything about professional/non-professional or 'desi mentality' so I am not sure why this comment is directed at me. :13:

A tournament consisting of teams from all around the World would be higher than any of the series between two Nations. It's common sense.

FIFA World Cup, Rugby World Cup, Medals in Olympics all rank much higher.

My point is regarding difficulty. Asian Test sides have played 28 Test series in Australia and have never won a single one.

It's just a case of not knowing the worth of something when you have it.

He was part of a couple of World Cup wins, so I guess they lost their importance to him. It's just human nature to underrate things after achieving them.

Obviously, if you asked someone like de Villiers, he would give everything for a World Cup.

The series win in India was a monumental challenge. Totally understandable why he'd rate it above the World Cup.

india was the final frontier and they did go ahead and conquer it. also this is the australian team that won three world cups back to back so it's understandable why that wasn't his crowning glory.

personally i'd rate a test series win in australia equal to a world cup as well. it's taken us 65 years of trying so far and still have nothing to show for it.

I think any away Test series victory is bigger than a World Cup victory.

And a Test series victory in Australia, England or South Africa is equivalent to winning 5 World Cups.

So Pakistan recently won atleast one World Cup beating WI .... right ?!!

And a Test series victory in Australia, England or South Africa is equivalent to winning 5 World Cups.

just curious how much is a series win in India worth in your opinion ?

You're probably the only one who thinks that.

So by that logic - we just won a WC by beating WI and won 2 WC's in 2015 when we beat Bangladesh and SL away from home? :13:

Sussex Cricket have announced that Jason Gillespie will leave the club at the conclusion of the 2020 cricket season.

Gillespie will return to Australia to take up a role with the South Australian Cricket Association.

He will continue in his role as Head Coach of Sussex until our season concludes.

Sussex Cricket Chief Executive, Rob Andrew said: “We are very sorry to see Jason leave after three years at the club, but fully understand and support his decision to return home to a new role in South Australian cricket.

“He will stay in Hove to see out our season and continue the great work with the development of our young and exciting team.

“We will have the chance to say thank you and wish him well in the next stage of his coaching career. We will not be making any decision on a replacement for Jason until 2021.”

Background - I argued that ANY away Test series victory is bigger than a World Cup win.
So by that logic - we just won a WC by beating WI

Absolutely.

I remember how close Pakistan came in the West Indies in 76-77, 87-88 and 99-00.

To me, winning the Test series in the West Indies in 2016-17 was far more important than winning the 1992 World Cup.

Background - I argued that ANY away Test series victory is bigger than a World Cup win.

Absolutely.

I remember how close Pakistan came in the West Indies in 76-77, 87-88 and 99-00.

To me, winning the Test series in the West Indies in 2016-17 was far more important than winning the 1992 World Cup.

Simply, as an economist would say, a case of decreasing marginal utility. After 5 WC wins, the value of one more is correspondingly lower. In contrast series wins in India and SL are rarer.

The thing is, it's relatively easy to win a 20 or 50 over World Cup without being particularly good. The examples of:

India 1983
Australia 1987
Pakistan 1992
Sri Lanka 1996

stand out as those teams were inept in ODI series before and after those victories.

It's harder to fluke Test victories. Much harder.

Sachin missed two matches in that series,harbhajan also missed two matches.
So basically Jason Gillespie rates a victory against a depleted indian side higher than a world Cup win.:inti

Sachin missed two matches in that series,harbhajan also missed two matches.
So basically Jason Gillespie rates a victory against a depleted indian side higher than a world Cup win.:inti

Don't you know it only works that way when the Aussies are depleted. It's immaterial when the shoe is on the other foot.

As an England fan I can confirm that winning the ODI World Cup is amazing, however, I do believe that the greatest achievement in English cricket this century was when the Test side won away series in Australia (2011) and in India (2012).

It largely depends on what you have and what you don’t.

England traditionally value Test cricket more, but they were completely desperate and hungry to win the home World Cup last year.

South Africa are also desperate to win the World Cup and you could how much it meant to the likes of de Villiers.

As an England fan I can confirm that winning the ODI World Cup is amazing, however, I do believe that the greatest achievement in English cricket this century was when the Test side won away series in Australia (2011) and in India (2012).

Perhaps it’s different for people over there. As an Indian fan, I can’t even recollect what year we won series in England(I know we did in 2000s) but I can recollect every single moments of 2011 WC.

For majority of Indian fans, winning a WorldCup is more prestigious than winning a test series( which often is ridicule by weak squad, flat pitches, umpiring errors, neighbour’s dog died etc).

WORLDCUP ALL THE WAY

Don't you know it only works that way when the Aussies are depleted. It's immaterial when the shoe is on the other foot.

I think more than Aussie media/fans it’s our padosis who where downplaying the series win. It perfectly make sense for them to ridicule our achievements down under considering how they have failed to even draw a test match since 1999.

However, they will never mention anything about India missing players when Australia won in 2004. #StrangeLogic

World Cup may seem like a boring trophy for Australia as they have won it many times. However, they generally don't win in subcontinent and hence they may rate subcontinental wins higher.

The thing is, it's relatively easy to win a 20 or 50 over World Cup without being particularly good. The examples of:

India 1983
Australia 1987
Pakistan 1992
Sri Lanka 1996

stand out as those teams were inept in ODI series before and after those victories.

It's harder to fluke Test victories. Much harder.

That India team was good, continued to win LDI world events for the next few years

Sri Lanka was very very good, De Silva was a terrific player.
Agreed on the other two

That India team was good, continued to win LDI world events for the next few years

Sri Lanka was very very good, De Silva was a terrific player.
Agreed on the other two

Not quite.

The 1985-87 India ODI team was superb - but it didn't include Roger Binny and Madan Lal and ** Sandhu!

The team which won the 1983 Final was slaughtered home and away by the West Indies in the months before and after their fluke victory in damp English conditions in a low-scoring match.

Not quite.

The 1985-87 India ODI team was superb - but it didn't include Roger Binny and Madan Lal and ** Sandhu!

The team which won the 1983 Final was slaughtered home and away by the West Indies in the months before and after their fluke victory in damp English conditions in a low-scoring match.

To be fair to India, they beat WI in the group match too.

Seeing England win the WC after 44 years was more a relief than a pleasure. Seeing Nasser win in Pakistan and SL, Strauss win in Australia and Cook win in India were happier experiences for me.

Australia are desperate to win a series in India. They have won the world cup in every continent so you can't call them FTBs in ODI cricket.