"Adnan Akmal is the best wicket-keeping batsman in Pakistan": Wasim Bari

Ex Pakistan wicket-keeper, Wasim Bari, spoke on TV tonight

"Misbah went into the 2nd Test with a simple rule of thumb; never change a winning combination."

"Adnan Akmal is the best wicket-keeping batsman in Pakistan."

"If you won't give your youngsters consistent chances, you cannot produce great players."

"Every player who has represented Pakistan had done it based on his performances."

"Shan Masood has the ability to replicate the performances of Inzamam-ul-Haq and Mohammad Yousuf."

"An important role of the team management is to keep all the players united."

"The pitch will not be easy to bat on in the 4th innings, so Pakistan need to score at least 400 runs in their 1st innings."

"In my view, Zimbabwe have already posted ample runs on the board to make a match of it."

I think he is as good a keeper as anyone in the world.

Top quality keeper and very solid batsman. He will average 35 which is good for a keeper.

Agree re Shan too.

Adnan Akmal is our best selection for tests, until I see Rizwan and if he seems good then he should play

Ex Pakistan wicket-keeper, Wasim Bari, spoke on TV tonight

"Every player who has represented Pakistan had done it based on his performances."

Ammaan muunh na khulwao abb...itna jhoot acha nahin, Allah ko jaan bhi daini hai tumm nain

i love the way these pundits start talking a lot of sense when they are not selectors. When he was a selector a few years ago he would make the most ridiculous selection decisions. Thank god he is showing that at last he can recognise a decent keeper batsman.

Best keeper yes , best keeper bat , I have my doubts.

Also I hope shan is worth half the hype

Well he is quite good with the gloves and a fighter with the bat..:misbah

He's played some decent innings and has been quite good as keeper.
I'm hoping he continues to improve because atm I wouldn't want any other keeper for the Test squad.

wow..big call for Shan Masood...i wish we could find an opener who can bowl half decent..that would permanently kick out Hafeez for good.

Adan has been bitterly dissapointing, he needs to go . Give Rizwan the next series against Sri Lanka. He if he fails give Sarfraz NZ in Uae tour.

Dropped opponents best batsmen that has avg 74 against you means you are mediocre.

He really does need to go. I have ABSOLUTELY no idea how the hell he got into the team to begin with?! He can't bat, he is annoying behind the stumps, he is a coward, he doesn't play in the spirit of the game, but most importantly, he CAN'T KEEP! This team and the selection policy is an absolute joke!

Unless he scores 200-300 to make up for the de Villiers drop (which I can bet my house on he won't), Rizwan must replace him and be persisted with. The lad scored a 50 at brisk pace today, largely due to his team collapsing I can only assume.

If he is the best, then you cant say much for the others. Surely, there must be a guy who can bat and wk in Pk. So far all the guys that they have tried have been absolutely useless.

This good for nothing clown is one of the prime reasons we have never developed any talent over the last couple of years. No wonder he cant find any one better than the Akmals.

Give Sarfraz a chance in UAE conditions.

Adnan gets to bat in UAE while Sarfraz is given chances in South Africa, how fair is that

Relax guys, it was a tough chance by ABD. Adnan Akmal have been very good, probably the best keeper in recent times for Pakistan...

Sarfaraz is garbage of a keeper and a batsman. Why do our people have such short term memories. The way sarfaraz holds that bat tells you how a batsman he is.

Adnan is not bad still, he has been useful but you can't count him in the top category off course.

Maybe Rizwan should be given a go for a series or two instead of recycling between Sarfaraz and Adnan over and over and expecting a different result out of no where.

Maybe its time to think outside the box and go for the u19 WK. At least he can keep. I am not sure if he can bat but even if he cant, he will be no worse than Adnan or Sarfraz.

we have wicket keepers who can keep but not bad and we have keepers who can bat but not keep . We have no one who can do both so we will continue to struggle for balance in the side

Everyone needs to stop looking for the quick fix. The only way Pakistani cricket will progress if the best young players are identified and their progression is helped every way possible through immediate domestic games, international experience through A tours and subsequent mental preparation through progression into the full team.

Sarfaraz is garbage of a keeper and a batsman. Why do our people have such short term memories. The way sarfaraz holds that bat tells you how a batsman he is.

Adnan is not bad still, he has been useful but you can't count him in the top category off course.

Maybe Rizwan should be given a go for a series or two instead of recycling between Sarfaraz and Adnan over and over and expecting a different result out of no where.
Sarfraz is a lot better wicket keeper than Adnan. There is no 2 ways about it.
But Sarfraz is a horrible horrible batsman. So he is not the answer.
Look at Mohammad Rizwan or Bismillah Khan.

106* on Day 1 for Southern Punjab - good stuff from Adnan

Good for him, he's barely played in the past few years, quite unlucky with that thumb injury back then

"Shan Masood has the ability to replicate the performances of Inzamam-ul-Haq and Mohammad Yousuf."

Reading this is hilarious lol

I think he is as good a keeper as anyone in the world.

I don’t know how is he now but as a pure keeper he was up there with Rashid Latif for us. Very smooth keeper

He was a complete natural like Saha and P. Jayawardene. Unfortunately he had no potential with the bat.

If he had Umar/Kamran’s batting ability or if they had his keeping ability, Pakistan wouldn’t have had any WK woes.

Reading this is hilarious lol

Yousaf once scored 8 test centuries in a calendar year - the year that Shan Masood scores half that number of centuries in a calendar year, I will start taking him as a serious batsman. Can it happen in 2020?

Adnan has been the best keeper in Pakistan for years but Sarfraz has been the preferred keeper during that time, as Adnan has never been a white ball cricket batsman. He is older than Sarfraz and with Rizwan and then young Rohail Nzir in the line, Adnan has no International future.

Being physically weaker out of three brothers, he probably got less chances of batting in their backyard or garage cricket, cost him international career. :sarf

Looked decent with the gloves but his batting fell away. Behind in the pecking order these days though.

WK these days need to be good with the bat , otherwise there is no point in playing them , moreover Pakistan does not have a strong batsmen in the side to afford a poor WK

A superb unbeaten hundred from Adnan Akmal and an incisive three-wicket spell from Zia-ul-Haq allowed Southern Punjab to take control of their four-day first-class Quaid-e-Azam Trophy round-nine match against Sindh on day two at the National Stadium on Tuesday.

Wicketkeeper-batsman and number two among the Akmal brothers, Adnan stroked his way to 107 runs from 152 balls with 14 fours, his second century of the season. Adnan’s other two brothers, Kamran and Umar had scored hundreds for Central Punjab last week against Sindh at the same venue.

It was Adnan’s innings and his ninth wicket partnership of 66 runs with Umaid Asif (37 from 54 balls) that allowed Southern Punjab to declare their first innings on a massive 517 for nine after lunch [Round 9 of QEA]