"Ahmed Shehzad and Kamran Akmal could become a really good opening partnership" : Mickey Arthur

Varun

Senior Test Player
"Ahmed Shehzad and Kamran Akmal could become a really good opening partnership" : Mickey Arthur

KARACHI: While expressing his delight at Pakistan’s series victory over current World Twenty20 champions West Indies, head coach Mickey Arthur predicts the multi-talented Shadab Khan would emerge as a genuine all-rounder.

In an exclusive interview with Dawn from Providence in Guyana, the venue of the three-match ODI series starting on Friday, Arthur lauded Sarfraz Ahmed’s charges for their 3-1 triumph in the T20 rubber — an outcome that has seen Pakistan moving up from sixth to fourth place in the ICC team rankings.

“I am really happy with how the [T20] series panned out for Pakistan and even more happy that the younger players did so well and won the games for us,” Arthur said.

“The most important aspect though is that all the players really embraced the culture we are trying to create and worked extremely hard in pushing and challenging themselves to get better, skill wise as well as physically, and I think that showed in our general performance especially in the fielding department.”

The coach blamed the sluggish nature of the pitches at Bridgetown’s Kensington Oval — where the first game was staged — and the Queen’s Park Oval in Port-of-Spain for the low totals throughout the first leg of the Caribbean tour. “I must admit it wasn’t an exciting series. The T20 games were not high-scoring due to the nature of the pitches. They were low and slow making attacking cricket pretty difficult to play.”

Arthur singled out 18-year-old Shadab — who on Wednesday was included in the 16-member squad for the three Tests against the West Indies — for special praise.

“I think Shadab was very good in this [T20] series and I just see him getting better and better. He is an extremely talented cricketer and has a very good cricket brain. He certainly brings all three disciplines to the table and in time will become a genuine all-rounder which is very exciting. Obviously bowling, his primary skill, is fantastic. He is gold to Pakistan cricket,” the coach remarked.

Looking ahead to the three ODIs at the Providence Stadium on Friday, Sunday and Tuesday, Arthur urged his players to guard against complacency as Pakistan bid to earn automatic qualification for the 2019 ICC World Cup in England.

“I think the ODI series is going to be a real challenge for us and one that we are really looking forward to given the importance it holds for both teams. We hear that the pitches are going to be a bit greener favouring quick bowlers more but we are confident that we have the team to take on any team in all conditions,” he said.

“I am not a big fan of momentum because every game is a new game and both teams start afresh but I am a believer in confidence and we certainly have taken some confidence out of this [T20] series into the next one.”

Arthur was overall satisfied with opening pairing of Kamran Akmal and Ahmed Shehzad who both were returning to the fold after gaps of two and one years, respectively, while saying they can contribute more.

“I was happy but we still need more from both of them and they will be the first to admit that we all want to be as consistent in our skills as possible. The signs are good though that they could become a really good opening partnership going forward in white ball cricket,” Arthur commented.

“I was impressed with their intensity at the crease and ability to manipulate the bowling. So, let’s hope that continues for us as a team because a good solid opening partnership is vital to our success going forward,” the head coach concluded.

Source: https://www.dawn.com/news/1325082/pleased-with-t20-exploits-arthur-cautions-team-ahead-of-odi-battle

Seems like 2005 coinciding with 2013. 10 years of difference between the two.

And this is the guy that is supposed to revolutionise our LOI fortunes.

I am extremely unhappy with drop akmal coming back. He can't keep and his batting is no where near international standards. So having him as a batsman only is waste of spot. We need to try someone of young age instead of tried and tested failures.

Excellent way to give confidence to the players.. That's what was missing from Pakistan cricket.. Continuous chop and changes and movement in batting order under Waqars régime..
No one was sure about their place and everyone was playing selfishly now the players know that they won't be dropped in the next match, they can move from series to series.

And this is the guy that is supposed to revolutionise our LOI fortunes.

Wah wah. Good to see the coach has high standards.

Kamran and shezad.... nough said!

what else is he supposed to say mid-tour ?

No no he should've said "sarfaraz open b krskta hai mje to nahi pata"..
Waqar was terrible in his pressers on tour..
At least Mickey supports his players on tour so they can perform under no pressure ..

I don't think so. Shehzad and Sharjeel could have been better but Kamran is 35 already. Champions Trophy could be his last series if he gets picked again.

Anything but "I think Ahmed Shehzad and Kamran Akmal could become a really good opening partnership".

it means little, you cant bash ur players during a tour. He publicly backing Azhar while he was captain, but we know from the leaked reports that he privately wanted him gone

No no he should've said "sarfaraz open b krskta hai mje to nahi pata"..
Waqar was terrible in his pressers on tour..
At least Mickey supports his players on tour so they can perform under no pressure ..

LOL.

if this was the case then all the TTFs brigade would have been ATG.

kamran is done i used to be a big fan but he is done. Backing him or not doesnt make 0 percent difference.

Shezad bats at a sr around 75 and when he doest try to up the tempo he needs ugly heaves and in thd process gets out.

Besides shezad has other issues as well...

He is trying to give them confidence but actually knows that they are just pathetic.

No he should have said Kamran is a 35 year old with no future in international cricket and Ahmed Shehzad is a hack who just doesn't have the temperament for international cricket.

That would work out well for this series.

With sharjeel gone pakistans opening problems will continue , shehzad will never be a limited overs player who can fit in modern day cricket. Akmal , well , is officially 35 and has a pot belly. Problem is that we do not have any good batsmen coming around but still we need to give the young performers a chance and shehzad certainly scored tons of runs this LA season.

I'm all for giving Shehzad an extended run across formats, build his confidence on the international arena but Pak def need to look for a new long term opening partner. At 35, Kam isn't that guy. Yeah he's done ok so far but he at this stage his physical ability will deteriorate.

Maybe Zaman can be that guy but he is being wasted moved around the order...who else is there in terms of opening the bat in the domestic circuit? Preferably someone in their mid 20s.

Yes, what a fraud. He should have said that both are rubbish who should be booted out of the team.

cant understand micky .is he sacractically taking dig at pcb selectors ?
or is he actually meant that.
what happened to his earlier promise about changing pak loi fortune with youngster.
i guess he kinda given up after sharjeel lose

cant understand micky .is he sacractically taking dig at pcb selectors ?
or is he actually meant that.
what happened to his earlier promise about changing pak loi fortune with youngster.
i guess he kinda given up after sharjeel lose

He doesn't have a choice. Sharjeel and Shahzaib are history, while Latif was no youngster but he was a pretty clean striker, whose career is over as well. We don't have many options left.

fair enough.
so it looks like repeat of champions trophy debacle for Pak .

Shehzad must be good at making friends. Can't think of another reason why anyone would rate this TTF so high.

Hahaha yeah that's ppers logic... If we don't like someone we'll bash em but they were alright when mickey supported Azhar. .

Mickey just revealed how incompetent he is. Thank you Mickey.

Sad days. Sharjeel was the find of the last decade just so sad to see Shehzad and another Akmal being touted as the best we have.

I find it incredibly dimwitted to go back to 35 year old TTF if "the find of the last decade" cannot be picked. Why not try out the length and breadth of your domestic talent and if nothing good comes up then go back to players who have already been tried and may I remind you consistently failed for TWO HUNDRED MATCHES!!!!

Really if someone has to be blamed, blame Inzi. Mickey has no choice, he has to back the players atleast in public. He can't come around bashing his players before the series just to appease the PP crowd.

Inzi selected them in the first place, now Mickey has to to work with them and you can't work with someone when you call them a has been/never was before a series.

PPers once again are crying and moaning and distracted by sideline discussion...What choices he had?? - Sharjeel drop the ball, nothing to do with Coach or Selector...We don't have good player of pace in domestic circuit.

Kami is still better player of pace than Shezad at age of 35...Shezad is dud against pace, like Hafeez, we will see that time and again...If somebody has to leave the post of opening its Shezad not Kami ATM. Kami will pair better with Sharjeel (if by some miracle he is back in a year time)...

Mickey is not going to bash his players in public. However if Kamran and Shehzad fail in this latest recall, then he needs to wield the axe.

These two have had ample opportunities to prove their worth. I understand why they've been recalled because of the Sharjeel/Latif/Shahzaib situation and their performance in domestic and PSL - but against international grade bowling we know their limitations and it remains to be seen whether they've worked on them.

Shehzad looks slightly better than last time but he hasn't been tested against quality pace yet and the ODIs will show whether he can up his strike rate when needed.

Kamran looks the same as ever, still gifting his wicket away with soft dismissals and has been poor in the field.

A much better team this time. May not go beyond the group, but it will perform far better this time.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] I think domestic selections are poor this time. Should have selected likes of Ahsan Ali in List A to evaluate more options for limited overs opening spot.

However for Internationals Kami is a mere stop gap maybe maximum for an year or till CT. Not sure about Shehzad still as he seem to be having same issues against pacers though spin game improved

Mickey just revealed how incompetent he is. Thank you Mickey.

What do you think? Two of players selected in your team, One of them (Shehzad) playing all three formats and as a coach you will be going into saying they don't even deserve to be selected?

Mickey is a professional.

I find it incredibly dimwitted to go back to 35 year old TTF if "the find of the last decade" cannot be picked. Why not try out the length and breadth of your domestic talent and if nothing good comes up then go back to players who have already been tried and may I remind you consistently failed for TWO HUNDRED MATCHES!!!!

The usual rona dhona by every player of not getting enough chances is also a reason for this. I don't get why the supposedly better players we have need THAT much time to adjust. They all have one job of being a professional cricketer yet they implode due to self inflicted pressure. Talent aside you need character to perform when it matters.

So Kamran Akmal will be 37 by next world cup. So will be an even worse fielder and will lose his reflexes. Not worth the investment at all.

The fact that Arthur said "Ahmed Shehzad and Kamran Akmal could become a really good opening partnership" shows he has doubts about their abilities.

If Arthur really believed in their ability than he should have said " Ahmed Shehzad and Kamran Akmal will become a really good opening partnership"

I don't even think that Kamran will stay in the team for long, maybe a couple more series, that's it, he's going down. Whereas Shehzad will stay in the team for a long time.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] I think domestic selections are poor this time. Should have selected likes of Ahsan Ali in List A to evaluate more options for limited overs opening spot.

However for Internationals Kami is a mere stop gap maybe maximum for an year or till CT. Not sure about Shehzad still as he seem to be having same issues against pacers though spin game improved

Kamran's form had to be cashed in the short-term, but we need to adopt a policy of drafting batsmen from the U-19s straight into the national setup before they regress in domestic cricket, i.e. batsmen like Ahsan Ali, Saad Ali, Zeeshan Malik etc. This is something Bangladesh has done and it has paid dividends. It is a low-risk policy: these young players will either sink or swim - if they sink, they can always go back and improve because they are at an age where the learning curve is going up.

However, the likes of Fakhar Zaman and Asif Zakir are bound to fail. The former represents everything that is wrong with Pakistan domestic cricket. Things could have been different had he been picked early, but now the damage has been done. He is officially 27 and unofficially close to 30, which means it is too late to reconstruct his batting and teach him new tricks. Had he been given international exposure, when he was unofficially 25-26, i.e. 4-5 years ago, things could have been different.

Unfortunately Inzamam hasn't proved to be any better than the previous selectors. He lacks vision and that was clear during his captaincy days as well. Anyone with a good understand and feel for the game can see that Hussain Talat at an official age of 21 and unofficial age of 23-24 is a much better investment than Fakhar. He can make it at the top level if he is picked now. However, let him rot in domestic cricket for another 4-5 years and he will get into the incorrect habits that you need to score runs in our domestic cricket, which means that if he is picked for Pakistan at an unofficial age of 29-30, he will be another Fakhar.

As far Asif Zakir is concerned, I saw the highlights of his batting posted in another thread and some of the shots that he played showcases his natural ability. However, I can categorically tell you that he is bound to fail in international cricket against quality opposition. Someone who is unofficially 36-37 and has had no exposure to international while playing all his cricket in the Pakistan domestic circuit has no chance of performing against teams like Australia, England, South Africa, India etc. Much like Fakhar, it could have been a different story had he been identified and picked 10 years ago.

As long as our domestic pitches don't improve (and we got a glimpse of it in the PSL final), the modus operandi should be to fast-track U-19 talents. The U-19 World Cup is a much better gauge than the F/C cricket of Pakistan because it is a test of skill and temperament against opposition that is playing in a far superior setup at the same age (cheating age has become quite difficult at the U-19 level these days, even for Pakistanis), some of whom will become world class players for the countries in the next few years.

You are right that domestic selection also needs improvement, but it won't make a difference unless these kids are given early exposure. Apologies for the long post, but you brought up an interest point.

Both amongst the runs today but one cannot ignore the problems with the approach. Having said that, both are necessities in light of the circumstances and good or bad, I'm not interesting in analyzing their performances game-by-game. Let's see where both stand after the Champions Trophy, and then we go from there.

Kamran's form had to be cashed in the short-term, but we need to adopt a policy of drafting batsmen from the U-19s straight into the national setup before they regress in domestic cricket, i.e. batsmen like Ahsan Ali, Saad Ali, Zeeshan Malik etc. This is something Bangladesh has done and it has paid dividends. It is a low-risk policy: these young players will either sink or swim - if they sink, they can always go back and improve because they are at an age where the learning curve is going up.

However, the likes of Fakhar Zaman and Asif Zakir are bound to fail. The former represents everything that is wrong with Pakistan domestic cricket. Things could have been different had he been picked early, but now the damage has been done. He is officially 27 and unofficially close to 30, which means it is too late to reconstruct his batting and teach him new tricks. Had he been given international exposure, when he was unofficially 25-26, i.e. 4-5 years ago, things could have been different.

Unfortunately Inzamam hasn't proved to be any better than the previous selectors. He lacks vision and that was clear during his captaincy days as well. Anyone with a good understand and feel for the game can see that Hussain Talat at an official age of 21 and unofficial age of 23-24 is a much better investment than Fakhar. He can make it at the top level if he is picked now. However, let him rot in domestic cricket for another 4-5 years and he will get into the incorrect habits that you need to score runs in our domestic cricket, which means that if he is picked for Pakistan at an unofficial age of 29-30, he will be another Fakhar.

As far Asif Zakir is concerned, I saw the highlights of his batting posted in another thread and some of the shots that he played showcases his natural ability. However, I can categorically tell you that he is bound to fail in international cricket against quality opposition. Someone who is unofficially 36-37 and has had no exposure to international while playing all his cricket in the Pakistan domestic circuit has no chance of performing against teams like Australia, England, South Africa, India etc. Much like Fakhar, it could have been a different story had he been identified and picked 10 years ago.

As long as our domestic pitches don't improve (and we got a glimpse of it in the PSL final), the modus operandi should be to fast-track U-19 talents. The U-19 World Cup is a much better gauge than the F/C cricket of Pakistan because it is a test of skill and temperament against opposition that is playing in a far superior setup at the same age (cheating age has become quite difficult at the U-19 level these days, even for Pakistanis), some of whom will become world class players for the countries in the next few years.

You are right that domestic selection also needs improvement, but it won't make a difference unless these kids are given early exposure. Apologies for the long post, but you brought up an interest point.

Mammon bhai,most of your posts are rubbish and not worth-reading but some of your posts are so amazing that one can not help reading them again and again.Your this post looks like straight from your heart.POTW from my side.

Not sure if you praised me or insulted me, but I shall thank you anyway.

Perfect Post. Very good example of Bangladesh.

There are some guys which needs to be looked at and given more exposure so there could be an evaluation about future prospects and having players come through setup.

Recent selections in List A cup were astonishing, No new players from U19 or Regions picked up to play, There was a mention of guy called Rafay.

Fakhar Zaman isn't worth investing, He has serious flaws, Doesn't have age on his side either and is likely to be an international failure.

Not sure if this is the dream opening team!

I am starting to doubt the coaching ability of this guy, honestly.

Shehzad 3(14) Kami 0(1)
:danish

Really pathetic opening partnership

Can't wait to hear from Mickey that, "Hafeez can become a good opener"

Oh god Mickey, please end the torture.

As someone who's supposedly a good eye for talent, I'm sure you can see these two are a busted flush (not that they were a flush to begin with).

I hope this is the case like with Azhar where he backed him in public but wielded the axe in private.