"Ahmed Shehzad can be Pakistan's Tendulkar" : Abdul Qadir

cricwiz

There has been an exclusive interview of Abdul Qadir with express news posted on 16th March... The interview is in Urdu, so I would translate some of the important points he made specially about Youngsters:

"Bangladesh would surely become a top class side in few years"

"Pak-Aus series would be a good battle. And if Pakistani players work hard and play upto their potential than can beat the world champion. But Aussies do have far superior advantage fielding wise."

"A spinner can play big role in a team success, especially a leg-spinner. Current Australian team don't have a good leg-spinner, and its current batting line-up would struggle against quality leg-spinners. Yasir Shah is a good spinner. Besides him, Pakistan is lucky to have Shahid Afridi who is an experienced and good leg spinner"

"Since becoming chief selector, have been working day and night to hunt talent and already have compiled a list of best & upcoming talented players. Some of these good players are already making inroads in the Pak team, while there is bunch of talented youngesters who are ready to be part of National team"

"In opening department, Ahmed Shahzad can become Pakistan's Sachin Tendulker. "

"Muhammad Aamer is the future of Pakistan's fast bowling"

"Azhar Ali, Kashif Siddique, Naeem-ud-din all can look forward to be grab the opening slots"

"Lot of middle order talent is available with the likes of Umar Amin, Fawad Alam, Bazid Khan, Azeem Ghuman, Ashraf Ali, Usman Arshad in the ranks"

"Besides Kamran Akmal & Sarfaraz Ahmed, other wicketkeepers available are Zulifqar Jan, Salman Ahmed, Zulqarnain haider and Gulraiz Sadaf"

"Have high hopes from Wahab Riaz"

"Sohail Khan and Muhammad Talha are talented bowlers, but they should first try to remove their flaws by playing in domestic cricket"

"Kamran Hussain and Waqas Ladha can become good All-rounders"

Source: http://express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100585752&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20090316

1100585752-2.gif

really shows that Qadir has eye on virtually all the youngsters that are talked about in Pak Passion.

:qadir :qadir :qadir

all talk no action,

like letting khan and talha just play domestic cricket will sort out their action?

Qadir all the way!!!! Really like him as a selector. He was the one to convince Younis that Ahmed Shezad was good enough for the team.

The question is that will Pakistan make Ahmed Shehzad Tendulkar?

minhasuz said:
The question is that will Pakistan make Ahmed Shehzad Tendulkar?

Inshallah as hes got all the right ingredients and he is certainly better than Raina at this stage.

No mention of nas jamshed for the opening slot? poor guy, what has he done wrong.

Bazid khan??! ......

ok so the 'pakistan think tank' want left right combo

salman butt is nailed on for the leftie slot (that means no nasir jamshed unless salman butt is injured/dropped)
so then competition is for right hand slot and that competition is between Ahmed Shahzad and Khurrum Manzoor and maybe Yasir Hameed/Mohammed Hafeez/Azhar Ali

cricwiz said:

"Azhar Ali, Kashif Siddique, Naeem-ud-din all can look forward to be grab the opening slots"

So it appears Abdul Qadir thinks these batsmen are vying for the second opener slot:
Ahmed Shahzad
Azhar Ali
Kashif Siddique
Naeem-ud-din

What about Nasir Jamshed and Khurram Manzor? Also Khalid Latif just scored a double century. Should not he be in running too?

srh said:
So it appears Abdul Qadir thinks these batsmen are vying for the second opener slot:
Ahmed Shahzad
Azhar Ali
Kashif Siddique
Naeem-ud-din

What about Nasir Jamshed and Khurram Manzor? Also Khalid Latif just scored a double century. Should not he be in running too?

Read the date, 16th March.

i am very disapointed hi didnt menstioned the name nasir jamshed doesnt matter if anybody is good but he was performning already anyeays in odis, he played 9 odi and 5 fifties thats owsome record but unfortunatly shame on pak cricborad no body who comes they are all same.

Pakistan has to play cricket first for its players to become like Faisal Iqbal before even thinking pf becoming Tendulkar!

muhammad saad said:
Inshallah as hes got all the right ingredients and he is certainly better than Raina at this stage.
yaar it is not about right or wrong ingredients. What I am trying to say is that will PCB let him play as much matches as Tendulkar has played? If PCB had given those same amount of matches to Inzamam and Saeed Anwar then they would have as much runs as Tendulkar today and Insh Allah Shehzad will turn out better than Tendulkar

Qadir seems to be doing a lot of talking - he has bandied about loads of names BUT i still expect the usual suspects to continue being selected

Also feel sorry for Afaq Raheem, the guy doesnt even get a mention despite the runs he has made in domestic cricket over the past few years

Ahmed Shahzad hasnt played an international game yet lol!!! Comparing him to the likes of Tendulkar just makes Abdul Qadir look a tw@t.

He is not comparing him, he is saying 'he can be...' i.e. he has ability but he needs to show the application and perform to actually be as good

Ali888 said:
He is not comparing him, he is saying 'he can be...' i.e. he has ability but he needs to show the application and perform to actually be as good

He was making a comparison and you yourself has made the comparison in ability too (which is equally insane lol). I cant stand Tendulkar but it is completly insane to compare Ahmed Shahzad in ability to Tendulkar, in fact you sound kinda ludicrous if you do say it. Thisis just absurd and jazbaaati talk....if Shahzad had anywhere near the same ability as Tendulkar he would have been in the Pakistan starting XI a long time ago (because even a 75% Tendulkar is far better than any opener we have right now)lol

Qadir is someone who is just throwing names around right, left and centre - a lot of talk if I'm honest.

How can you compare someone like Ahmed Shehzad who hasnt even played an international game with a legend of the game like Tendulkar - its abbsoluely ridiculous and laughable.

btw having spoken to Ahmed Shehzad I think he thinks he is already better than Tendulkar. Keep your feet on the ground young man. Score a few runs, play a few times for Pakistan and then think you are a superstar.

I think here it needs some clearing about Nasir Jamshed's issue. I havent translated all what was said in the interview. If you read the Urdu interview yourself by clicking the source you would see that before mentioning the names of the youngsters he said something like that:

"Since he has become selector he has been working day and night to hunt talent and he has compiled a list of best & upcoming talented players. Some of these good players are already making inroads in the Pak team, while there is bunch of talented youngesters who are ready to be part of National team"

And then he starts mentioning names of few youngsters.

So I think being already in the BD squad, N Jameshed is already in plans of Younis Khan.

And he mentioned only Shahzad because he has been trying to highlight the potential of the youngster, as well as M Aamer..

I think I should add this part of his interview above, so that it nullifies the confusion

Saj said:
Qadir is someone who is just throwing names around right, left and centre - a lot of talk if I'm honest.

How can you compare someone like Ahmed Shehzad who hasnt even played an international game with a legend of the game like Tendulkar - its abbsoluely ridiculous and laughable.

btw having spoken to Ahmed Shehzad I think he thinks he is already better than Tendulkar. Keep your feet on the ground young man. Score a few runs, play a few times for Pakistan and then think you are a superstar.
Hey, you met the guy and spoke to him ? How was the experience like ?

Saj said:
btw having spoken to Ahmed Shehzad I think he thinks he is already better than Tendulkar

wow lots of Thinking out there :13:

besides joking, if Saj and Merc are saying that the kid thinks that much high of himself, than that can be fatal for him... Having confidence in your abilities is a great thing, but if its over-confidence than its realllyyyyyy realllyyyy bad

Bublu Bhuyan said:
Hey, you met the guy and spoke to him ? How was the experience like ?
I've not met him - I've spoken to him a couple of times and it was an interesting experience, and lets leave it at that. I hope the kid does well, but as I said before, sometimes people think they are superstars before they have actually achieved anything.

Ali888 said:
Ahmed Shahzad is better than Phil Hughes

That's nice.

Phil Hughes averages 87.5 in Test cricket with 2 Test centuries and a fifity in 2 games against the best bowling attack in the world on their home pitches.

Hughes also averages 62.4 at first class level opening the batting in the toughest domestic competition in the world. 7 centuries and 12 fifties in 20 matches.

Shehzad averages 40.33 at first class playing on the flattest wickets in the world in the Pakistan domestic competition. 2 centuries and 4 fifties in 13 matches.

Wish Shezhad all the best but there is no real basis for you to make that comparision. Unless you are going back to junior cricket which has no real bearing on international performance.

Saj said:
I've not met him - I've spoken to him a couple of times and it was an interesting experience, and lets leave it at that. I hope the kid does well, but as I said before, sometimes people think they are superstars before they have actually achieved anything.

come on man, a little more details! what exactly does he think of himself? in his own words?

Yes in a high pressure World Cup U-19 quarter final Ahmed Shahzad scored infinity times Phil Hughes' score. Pressure brings out the best in some cricketers. There are plenty who have looked like nothing at domestic level but when they step up to International level look born to it.

Shahzad averages 40 in domestic. But when he faced Sri Lanka bowlers he killed them with 146no.

That is the measure of this kid.

He steps up.

Saj said:

I think this is a plus. A little attitude, pomp, and audacity is just what we need in the team. If he believes he's all that, then all the better for him. Let him get out there and prove it.

all those putting Ahmed Shahzad down should realise he has served his time for past indiscretions and is back in the bosom of Pakistan cricket so just forget history, you would think everyone on this board did absolutely nothing wrong when they were kids?!

i guess you were all born perfect?

But we want next Saeed Anwar or Aamer Sohail. Like you know the real match winner who don't care about century for the sake of team?

Ahmed Shehzad aims to be an aggressive batsman like Ricky Ponting, and he is well on his way if his top-order performances for Pakistan Under-19s are any indication. Shehzad made his first-class debut in January 2007, just two months after his 15th birthday, and has since established himself as an opening batsman for the U-19 team. His 167 in the same year helped Pakistan chase down a stiff 342 in the first Youth Test against England in Derby. He backed that up with impressive performances at home, scoring 315 runs - with a highest of 105 - as Australia Under-19s were thrashed 5-0. Another century followed in the Youth Test against Bangladesh, and he carried that form into the triangular tournament in Sri Lanka in 2008, which Pakistan won. He made it to the Pakistan Test squad for the home series against Sri Lanka the following year despite not being in the probables. A century in the tour game against the visitors changed his fortunes.
Cricinfo staff March 2009

This guy is the real deal.
This guy is a matchwinner.
This guy is 17 and already knocking on the selecters door.

and I can be the next lara!!!!

How many times we heard this talk b4. let him just play and be himself, stop putting undue pressure on the guy and the rest.

Of the names mentioned if a handful become of any substance we ll be lucky

Ali888 said:
Yes in a high pressure World Cup U-19 quarter final Ahmed Shahzad scored infinity times Phil Hughes' score. Pressure brings out the best in some cricketers. There are plenty who have looked like nothing at domestic level but when they step up to International level look born to it.

Shahzad averages 40 in domestic. But when he faced Sri Lanka bowlers he killed them with 146no.

He steps up.

Dude don't talk about the U19 final or the practice match. Phil Hughes is out there doing it in the real stuff and with a superb record.

Wait until your batsman actually plays for his country before declaring him better than Hughes eh? :)

Random Aussie said:
Dude don't talk about the U19 final or the practice match. Phil Hughes is out there doing it in the real stuff and with a superb record.

Wait until your batsman actually plays for his country before declaring him better than Hughes eh? :)

I think both have a long long way to go any comparisons are silly, hughes has the advantage as he has done very well in his short test career thus far but lets judge them when they ve played over a couple of years at least

Shahzad is only 17 and was eclipsing Hughes who is 4 years his senior !

5-0 thrashing of Australia.

Australia team are collectively his bunnies.

Shahzad deserves an honorific title normally reserved for someone like Shahid Afridi.

Ahmad 'Basher' Shahzad is my suggestion

Ali888 said:

Ok whatever, he is a far better player than Hughes. Lucky Pakistan are so strong he can't get into their team where Hughes has been lucky to walk into a pretty weak Australian side who are playing against minnows.

Happy?

Ali888 said:

5-0 thrashing of Australia.

Australia team are collectively his bunnies.

Shahzad deserves an honorific title normally reserved for someone like Shahid Afridi.

Ahmad 'Basher' Shahzad is my suggestion

For the last time, do not equate U19 matches with real matches.

Otherwise Pakistan would dominate world cricket and Australia would be 4th or 5th. We do not have the raw talent the Pakistan youngsters have, we have a much better development program.

Random Bunnie said:
Ok whatever, he is a far better player than Hughes. Lucky Pakistan are so strong he can't get into their team where Hughes has been lucky to walk into a pretty weak Australian side who are playing against minnows.

Happy?

You didn't have to change your username as well.

cricwiz said:
"Sohail Khan and Muhammad Talha are talented bowlers, but they should first try to remove their flaws by playing in domestic cricket"

http://express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100585752&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20090316

How on earth were you not able to figure out their flaws watching them in domestic or in the nets Mr. Qadir? And exaggerating the rest of the untested bunch and belittling Talha and Sohail shows he doesn't seem to have faith in them, doesn't know how to work with youngster and just likes to brag about young guns before their debuts.

And please don't even think about comparing anyone with Tendulkar as of yet.

He is so wrong on so many different counts it is hard to believe he actually said it or how he can be a selecter.

Maybe it is domestic cricket which has created the flaws! Rather than working them out they will just be reinforced.

how can you make any reasonable judgement without taking into account the fact the pitches were flat and even experienced bowlers were getting tonked?

I would just point out that nothing can correct Sohail Khans flaws of bowling in 120s but at least Talha was regularly in 140s and showed some promise with his yorkers and matched the more experienced Arafat whilst Sohail Khan just stunk the place out.

cricwiz, did you miss the part where Eagle-eye Qadir said Faisal Iqbal will be next Don Bradman! :qadir

Dont believe this ! He will have plenty of records but cannot lift the team to victory.....I wonder why Pak is grroming youngster like this.....anyway sachin is infamous in pak for lots of things isnt it?

If I remember, I think there was player named Hasan Raza who was taunted as Pakistan's Tendulkar then when he debut at age 14..... Where is he ..... ?

Taunted? :)))

He played in ICL. He is a good player but as with likes of Misbah never got a chance ahead of Faisal Iqbal ?!?

Actually Hasan Raza got his chances and he was useless - especially against the short stuff, sitting duck and wicket waiting to happen! lol

The next Sachin Tendulker.....really?

Whynot just say he's going to be the next Don Bradman if you're going down the line of over hyping players.

This Ahmed Shahzad better performs when he plays or this thread will be bumped up by our friends Across the border :) quite a few times.

i think they may be too busy answering calls from me complaining about my telephone/broadband/utilities etc

LOL..i have seen U-19 WC and have to say even though he was good there were atleast 3 batsmen from the Indian U-19 team that were superior to him.Not to mention the fact that success at the u-19 level doesn't guarantee success at the top level..else the likes of Aus and Eng wouldn't be able to compete with Ind and Pakistan.

Pakistan should consider himself fortunate if he turns out to be as good as some of the young Indian batsman. Tendulkar?? He won't even come close to.

maamrut said:
LOL..i have seen U-19 WC and have to say even though he was good there were atleast 3 batsmen from the Indian U-19 team that were superior to him.Not to mention the fact that success at the u-19 level doesn't guarantee success at the top level..else the likes of Aus and Eng wouldn't be able to compete with Ind and Pakistan.

Pakistan should consider himself fortunate if he turns out to be as good as some of the young Indian batsman. Tendulkar?? He won't even come close to.

Right Troll Arent Ya?

Ali888 said:

He steps up.

Yaar the pressure in an U-19 match cannot be compared to the pressure in an international test match between the two best sides in the world!

There are so many bowlers and batsmen who did well in U-19 but couldnt measure up to international cricket

minhasuz said:
yaar it is not about right or wrong ingredients. What I am trying to say is that will PCB let him play as much matches as Tendulkar has played? If PCB had given those same amount of matches to Inzamam and Saeed Anwar then they would have as much runs as Tendulkar today and Insh Allah Shehzad will turn out better than Tendulkar

Inshallah this & Inshallah that, you keep using Quranic words on sentences/lines you have no idea about what the heck you going on about.. A shame really...

cricwiz said:
"A spinner can play big role in a team success, especially a leg-spinner. Current Australian team don't have a good leg-spinner, and its current batting line-up would struggle against quality leg-spinners. Yasir Shah is a good spinner. Besides him, Pakistan is lucky to have Shahid Afridi who is an experienced and good leg spinner"
Atleast he rates Yasir Shah. Anyone other than Kaneria.

"Since becoming chief selector, have been working day and night to hunt talent and already have compiled a list of best & upcoming talented players. Some of these good players are already making inroads in the Pak team, while there is bunch of talented youngesters who are ready to be part of National team"
Atleast he is trying.

Why put un-necessary pressure on the kid. Just let him become pakistan's Ahmed Shehzad.

"Muhammad Aamer is the future of Pakistan's fast bowling"
Lets see him in action then. Good ole 90s style, sink or swim.

"Lot of middle order talent is available with the likes of Umar Amin, Fawad Alam, Bazid Khan, Azeem Ghuman, Ashraf Ali, Usman Arshad in the ranks"
How is Bazid Khan near the team? This is an old favour selection me feels. What I saw of him, his techinque is very restricted and he hasnt had the best of domestic seasons.

"Besides Kamran Akmal & Sarfaraz Ahmed, other wicketkeepers available are Zulifqar Jan, Salman Ahmed, Zulqarnain haider and Gulraiz Sadaf"

What he meant to say was "Besides Kamran Akmal....no other keeper will be selected on my watch!"

"Have high hopes from Wahab Riaz"
Then why is he nowhere near the team? Why drop him after one bad performance against one of teh strongest batting line ups in the world?

Well clearly they learnt nothign in domestic or they would not have those flaws. Keep them near the international set up and work with them.

"Kamran Hussain and Waqas Ladha can become good All-rounders"
I liked Kamran Hussain, wish he got more of a chance.

Mixed bag on my end. I apperciate taht atleast he is trying and looking at new players. However, I would like to see him put his words into action.

@ roti

(Inshallah is not a quranic line btw. it is arabic for "Allah willing" the islamic equivalent of "God willing".

So he is saying shehzad will turn out better god willing)

Anyway..i think the comment from qadir is a bit far-fetched especially since we havent seen a lot of him yet. But no harm in praying i suppose...he might need it

Romali_rotti said:
Inshallah this & Inshallah that, you keep using Quranic words on sentences/lines you have no idea about what the heck you going on about.. A shame really...

Do you know what you are going on about?

The kid is just saying God Willing or more modernly, "hopefully." Whats wrong with that? I am sure any Pakistani...hell any cricket fan who cheers for a team, will HOPEFULLY want one of their players to outscore Tendulkar as it will be a great honour.

Now lets just hope he isnt a big a choker as Tendulkar in the world cups, but that is not here nor there.

Amir said:
Do you know what you are going on about?

The kid is just saying God Willing or more modernly, "hopefully." Whats wrong with that? I am sure any Pakistani...hell any cricket fan who cheers for a team, will HOPEFULLY want one of their players to outscore Tendulkar as it will be a great honour.

Now lets just hope he isnt a big a choker as Tendulkar in the world cups, but that is not here nor there.

Well for starters I have been reading his past few pasts and it makes no goddamn sense at all, Natalia tried to put some sense into him but seems like she is speaking to a brick wall...The highlighted part was I was referring to was the Inzi/Anwar/SRT connection... This new Pak batting sensation may or may not become as good or better than Tendulkar that is not the issue here; seems to me this poster is a bit; blind ?.. Also I dont wish to turn this into a Tendulkar's WC performance issue I am sure he has one of the highest avgs by any batsmen to have every played in the World Cup and also remember this game is a 'team' sport which does consist on 11 players on the field. In some cases '13'....

Romali_rotti said:
Well for starters I have been reading his past few pasts and it makes no goddamn sense at all, Natalia tried to put some sense into him but seems like she is speaking to a brick wall...The highlighted part was I was referring to was the Inzi/Anwar/SRT connection... This new Pak batting sensation may or may not become as good or better than Tendulkar that is not the issue here; seems to me this poster is a bit; blind ?.. Also I dont wish to turn this into a Tendulkar's WC performance issue I am sure he has one of the highest avgs by any batsmen to have every played in the World Cup and also remember this game is a 'team' sport which does consist on 11 players on the field. In some cases '13'....

if it is about Inzi and Anwar and SRT, then leave it at that. Talk about that.

No need to bash his use of Inshallah considerign you do not knwo what it means. He clearly did not use Inshallah in any sense abotu Inzi/Anwar or SRT (considering Inshallah is a future tense term).

You seem frustrated.

Amir said:
if it is about Inzi and Anwar and SRT, then leave it at that. Talk about that.

No need to bash his use of Inshallah considerign you do not knwo what it means. He clearly did not use Inshallah in any sense abotu Inzi/Anwar or SRT (considering Inshallah is a future tense term).

You seem frustrated.

Not frustrated at all, I couldnt care less; I love to state my opinions regardless, you should know that after all this time....

Romali_rotti said:
Not frustrated at all, I couldnt care less; I love to state my opinions regardless, you should know that after all this time....

Not a matter of opinion or you caring. Its how you express yourself that indicatesyour frustration. Like I said, I am not srue why you ripped the kid on saying Inshallah adn then you claim you had beef about Inzi/Anwar where he did not use Inshallah for them.

Anyways we are digressing, lets get back onto topic and leave it at this.

Romali_rotti said:

Your comments are as ignorant as these ones by Varun Gandhi:

"According to footage aired by the NDTV news channel, Varun Gandhi also said Muslims "have scary names like Karimullah, Mazullah" and that "if you meet them at night you will be scared."

Just because he said Inshallah, it doesn't mean he is reading QURAN verses after/before each sentences :))) . As others just told you, it just means "God willing". For some strange reason, a lot of hindus get angry if Pakistanis use Inshallah.

As for the comparison with Tendulkar, it's quite stupid and there is no need for that. I am sure Qadir didn't mean he is as good as Tendulkar , he just meant that he is very talented and still young but there is no need for this in any case.

Waseem said:

"According to footage aired by the NDTV news channel, Varun Gandhi also said Muslims "have scary names like Karimullah, Mazullah" and that "if you meet them at night you will be scared."

Just because he said Inshallah, it doesn't mean he is reading QURAN verses after/before each sentences :))) . As others just told you, it just means "God willing". For some strange reason, a lot of hindus get angry if Pakistanis use Inshallah.

As for the comparison with Tendulkar, it's quite stupid and there is no need for that. I am sure Qadir didn't mean he is as good as Tendulkar , he just meant that he is very talented and still young but there is no need for this in any case.
No offence to anyone but if you look at his previous posts you will see that he uses INSHALLAH AND MASHALLAH way too much which doesnt make any sense

pullshot said:
No offence to anyone but if you look at his previous posts you will see that he uses INSHALLAH AND MASHALLAH way too much which doesnt make any sense
i dont think he uses them too much..and maybe he is pious after all pious people do tend to use these types of phrases in all types of religions.

Infinitee786 said:
i dont think he uses them too much..and maybe he is pious after all pious people do tend to use these types of phrases in all types of religions.

Yeah. I think some of us have been quite harsh on Minhasuz mate:22:........

Waseem said:

That was interesting:)):)):))):)))!!!!