Alastair Cook happy to face Mohammad Amir but feels match-fixers should face lifetime bans

street cricketer

England captain Alastair Cook believes anyone found guilty of match-fixing should be permanently thrown out of cricket, although he would have no issue with facing Pakistan fast bowler Mohammad Amir in the forthcoming Test series.

Amir is poised to make a controversial return to Tests this summer – having made his comeback for Pakistan in the shorter formats earlier this year – and in a twist, his first match could be the scene of his crime.

The left-arm paceman served a five-year spot-fixing suspension and a three-month prison sentence after bowling no balls to order during the 2010 Lord’s Test, with HQ once again the venue for next month’s opener between the two countries. But if Amir is included in Pakistan’s team in London, having been named in the squad earlier this week, Cook would take the matter in his stride.

“It’s kind of ironic that his first Test match back will probably be here at Lord’s,” Cook said. “He’s served his time. He was punished for what he did, and quite rightly so, because we’ve got to protect the integrity of the game. I have no problem playing against him at all.”

However, Cook believes punishments nowadays should be more stringent and admitted he would be in favour of life bans for anyone found guilty of matchfixing.

“My only one thing is that I think if you get caught match-fixing you should be banned for life. The punishment should be that hard, because we’ve got to protect the integrity. That’s not to say Amir should not come back, because the rules were probably different then. From my point of view the punishment should be harsher ... but that’s from now on ... if I had any say in it.”

Cook was speaking ahead of the dead rubber against Sri Lanka at Lord’s, a Test series England have already wrapped up after wins at Headingley and Chester-le-Street. The left-hander, who passed the 10,000-run barrier in Tests in Durham, confirmed they would be unchanged, meaning Chris Woakes keeps his place ahead of the uncapped Jake Ball.

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2...-life-bans-mohammad-amir-pakistan-test-series

Match fixing is not spot fixing

Hopefully Amir will get you 8/8 times in single digits and your average plummets below 45

read the full article, he is not taking a dig at amir, he said the rule should be in placed first.

Am I mistaken or did Amir spot fix, not match fix? It's like all the English media keeps shouting about how he cheated and I'm fairly sure just spot fixed didn't he?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

The challenge is how to criticize Cook for demanding a life ban on fixers but at the same time, appreciate him for not showing any objection to playing against Amir.

Had he not done the latter, it would have been easy to criticize him because then he would have been scared of facing Amir bla bla bla.

Am I mistaken or did Amir spot fix, not match fix? It's like all the English media keeps shouting about how he cheated and I'm fairly sure just spot fixed didn't he?

He is talking about both in general

What a poor post.

He said match fixing from now on should be awarded with bans.

He didn't even attack Amir (nor called him match fixer cos he knows what is match and spot fixing). In fact, he said rules were different back but now no leniency should be shown.

Finally, he could be the most lulloo batsman in the world and still his point is 100% right.

Even though he used the term match fixing, he meant even spot fixing must be awarded life bans from now on which is the right view.

Rightly said, no matter which sport it is, fixers should be banned for life. Its like they are making a mockery of fans, opponents and the game itself.

The challenge is how to criticize Cook for demanding a life ban on fixers but at the same time, appreciate him for not showing any objection to playing against Amir.

Had he not done the latter, it would have been easy to criticize him because then he would have been scared of facing Amir bla bla bla.

Easy applaud cook because be is talking about match fixers and not spot fixers ;)

Cook will be the easiest of target and we know his current form, don't talk smack before series!

He is right match fixers should get a life ban. I won't say things like he's scared to face Amir it's cooks opnion at the end of the day and I respect that. I think Amir will dismiss cook at least once during the series though

Well I m kinda agree with cook regarding ban I would not definitely share dressing room with a fixer

What a poor post.

He didn't even attack Amir (nor called him match fixer cos he knows what is match and spot fixing). In fact, he said rules were different back but now no leniency should be shown.

Finally, he could be the most lulloo batsman in the world and still his point is 100% right.
This

Some people are soo narrow minded that if they dont like someones opinion, they get personal

Oh that is a piece of cake.

Just harp on how spot fixing is not match fixing and there u go.. Mission accomplished!

Even Sreesanth spot fixed that too in a circus league didn't he?

Something I said in another thread will copy it here.. 100% agreed with Cook..

Fixing is part of the game and will continue to be the part of the game.. One way of reducing it would be to make the punishments such that players getting involved are scared to fix..

Second way would be to have enough money in international cricket for players to live a decent life..

Just look at countries like Saudi or UAE the punishment for crime is so harsh that it discourages anyone from doing crime..

Hope Amir won't have to field near the boundary

Isn't it kinda of hypocritical that people who call for abolishing of death penalty are advocating death (life time ban for a sportsman) for fixing? Or I am reading too much into it.

This view is shared by a lot of people including me. Whilst you could argue it might be unfair, having a life ban on all types of fixing is the best deterrent.

Lol what a lame post but of course Cook will now be on the receiving end of abuse from Amir fans.

What a poor post.

I agree with his opinion on match fixing but then why was there a need to bring Amir into his opinion on match fixing when Amir was involved in spot fixing?

Sent from my SM-G361H using Tapatalk

Actually, the challenge is how to criticize Cook for not throwing a tantrum like Hafeez and Azhar and for not refusing to play against Aamir.

Cook is just scared that Amir will put him in his place like last time

Good tactics by Cook and will make for an interesting contest between him and Amir. Think Broad probably told off for being too 'friendly' with his remarks on Amir.

I agree with his opinion on match fixing but then why was there a need to bring Amir into his opinion on match fixing when Amir was involved in spot fixing?

He talked Amir's return to Lord's and then about match fixing. Now if he had stopped there, it would look like an attack on Amir so he clarified his stance with his next statement about rules being different back then but now they must be changed.

How can you know what he meant when he didn't even use those words?

Simple. Follow the pattern of statements and see the context.

Its obvious what he meant.

Match fixing always yielded bans even back then. But now he wants all forms of fixing to yield bans moving forward.

Amir was toying Cook for fun last time he played. Understandable why Cook is apprehensive to face him.

I think out of all the English batsmen Cook is the biggest threat for us. His dogged defense makes our bowlers impatient and then we do stupid things.

Will be tougher to remove him compared to Joe Root. For Root we still have Yasir in the bag, who is not that effective vs Cook.

Bairstow and later Stokes will also test Misbah's captaincy, both are naturally aggressive and you can't just stand with hand on your chin and just wait for them to throw it away.

He can handle it. He is a class batsman and besides Amir is quite overrated.

Best pace bowler in the country and Pakistan's chance of winning or getting anything out of this England series lie particularly with him. Funny how you call him overrated but you are the biggest admirer of Misbah who is by a mile the biggest liability in this XI due to his shoddy technique against pace.

Think before you post...

I think out of all the English batsmen Cook is the biggest threat for us. His dogged defense makes our bowlers impatient and then we do stupid things.

Will be tougher to remove him compared to Joe Root. For Root we still have Yasir in the bag, who is not that effective vs Cook.

Bairstow and later Stokes will also test Misbah's captaincy, both are naturally aggressive and you can't just stand with hand on your chin and just wait for them to throw it away.

No offense but do you even really watch Cricket?

Yasir dismissed Cook 3 times in the 4 innings he bowled to him in the last test series. How is Yasir "not that" effective vs Cook? Kindly explain to me.

In the last test series Pakistan played in England and Cooked faced Aamir and Asif, he averaged 23.85 in 4 tests. On top of that he has been in poor form since the Indian tour. I am not sure how is the biggest threat for Pakistan.

No offense but do you even really watch Cricket?

Yasir dismissed Cook 3 times in the 4 innings he bowled to him in the last test series. How is Yasir "not that" effective vs Cook? Kindly explain to me.

In the last test series Pakistan played in England and Cooked faced Aamir and Asif, he averaged 23.85 in 4 tests. On top of that he has been in poor form since the Indian tour. I am not sure how is the biggest threat for Pakistan.

Poor form since the Indian tour yet still made a double ton in the UAE and was the highest scorer in the series, not to mention he was averaging 55 in 2015, and you're questioning if I'm the one who watches cricket.

We're not in the UAE anymore and these are English conditions, it's fair to assume Yasir won't be the main enforcer in conditions alien to him.

In any case those 6 years stats don't hold much weight now given that Asif isn't in the team and Amir hasn't played a test in 6 years himself.

Poor form since the Indian tour yet still made a double ton in the UAE and was the highest scorer in the series, not to mention he was averaging 55 in 2015, and you're questioning if I'm the one who watches cricket.

We're not in the UAE anymore and these are English conditions, it's fair to assume Yasir won't be the main enforcer in conditions alien to him.

In any case those 6 years stats don't hold much weight now given that Asif isn't in the team and Amir hasn't played a test in 6 years himself.

Shoaib Malik, of all people, scored a double in that test too. What did he do in the rest of the series? The first test pitch was a graveyard for bowlers and Yasir did not play that match. And by your logic Yasir will not be effective as the series will be played in England, then how will Yasir be effective vs Root and not Cook? Contradicting yourself?

Cook could not buy a run vs SA and has been mediocre so far vs SL as well. There is no evidence that suggests that he will be a threat for Pakistan.

On the other hand, history and current form suggests that he will fail.

Thursday's Daily Express back page: Ban the fixers for life

Thursday's Daily Express back page reads 'Ban Fixers For Life'. Alastair Cook's been too harsh on Mohammad Amir, no? Calls him cheat too.

Some of the comments on this thread are downright ridiculous. There is no difference between match fixing or spot fixing. You are selling your integrity and under performing for cash. Also, people tend to assume that it was the first spot fixing instance for the trio. Who knows? Maybe they did it before but were caught this time.

Everybody gave Amir a benefit of doubt because he was very young and seemed gullible. His talent didn't hurt him either. However, the chapter 's closed now. Butt and Asif should have been given life bans but were saved because of Amir as ICC didn't want to discriminate. Even though I agree with Cook's views, I just hate him and Broad for bringing this up now. English cricketers stooping so low to gain some sort of psychological advantage is pathetic.

While I agree with Cook, but why talk about match fixing etc right now. I can understand media talking about it, but he should have avoided talking about it just before Pakistan is going to play there. It's a tactics to put pressure.

Totally agree with cook here. Although he wasn't particularly talking about amir here, it was more of a general comment on match fixing. But even he'd said that crook like amir should've been banned for life, it would've been perfectly fine with me.

I also feel that a proven crook like AMIR has got away rather easily. This sort of lenient attitude from ICC will just encourage other cricketers to do the same thing like amir.

Isn't it kinda of hypocritical that people who call for abolishing of death penalty are advocating death (life time ban for a sportsman) for fixing? Or I am reading too much into it.

Erm.... You are reading / imagining toi much into it.

SO the message will go spot fixing is ok, pakde bhi gye to sirf kuchh saal ban so chalta hai,nahi pakde gye to malamaal, rules should be more strict

I hope Cook doesn't think Amir was involved in match fixing. He wasn't even technically involved in spot fixing as no bets were placed on those no balls.

The scourge of fixing is the illegal underground gambling syndicate in India. As long as powerful people with vested interest are involved, fixing will always be a problem in this sport. It's ironic that the most profile case on fixing had nothing to do with that. Mazhar Majeed was a greedy businessman with financial difficulties. The fake Sheikh took advantage of that to manufacture a big story for himself. The last thing NOT cared about was the integrity of the game.

If anyone is interested to know the full story backed up by relevant evidence, Atherton has a brilliant piece on his website:

http://www.mikeatherton.co.uk/2012/mohammad-amir/

It's not really the same.

Doctors can get their licenses revoked permanently if they are found indulging in serious malpractice.

It's not really the same as getting a death sentence (eventhough it is called as a professional death sentence).

Totally agree with cook here. Although he wasn't particularly talking about amir here, it was more of a general comment on match fixing. But even he'd said that crook like amir should've been banned for life, it would've been perfectly fine with me.

I also feel that a proven crook like AMIR has got away rather easily. This sort of lenient attitude from ICC will just encourage other cricketers to do the same thing like amir.

Whilst I agree with the notion that fixing should result in life bans, I don't see how a five-year ban 'encourages' players to commit crimes for a bit of money. It's quite a long time, and in most cases, only players just starting their careers will be able to make a comeback once it's over. And when you add up all the potential earnings you lose over those 5 years, it's quite a stupid thing to do unless you're being paid silly money (talking from a strictly financial perspective here).

The current punishment doesn't encourage players to engage in fixing, but a harsher punishment would deter more players from doing it.

I hope Cook doesn't think Amir was involved in match fixing. He wasn't even technically involved in spot fixing as no bets were placed on those no balls.

The scourge of fixing is the illegal underground gambling syndicate in India. As long as powerful people with vested interest are involved, fixing will always be a problem in this sport. It's ironic that the most profile case on fixing had nothing to do with that. Mazhar Majeed was a greedy businessman with financial difficulties. The fake Sheikh took advantage of that to manufacture a big story for himself. The last thing NOT cared about was the integrity of the game.

If anyone is interested to know the full story backed up by relevant evidence, Atherton has a brilliant piece on his website:

Amir was guilty of fixing. Spot or match fixing, either way it was a serious crime. There are fixers in India or Tanzania, it does not change anything.

People can make mistakes and they should be able to get a second chance. For most people, a 5 year ban will end their career. If they are dedicated enough to return after 5 years, they aren't going to repeat their mistake.

That's fine but where will you draw the line between deserving a second chance and permanently banned from the profession.

Some of the comments on this thread are downright ridiculous. There is no difference between match fixing or spot fixing. You are selling your integrity and under performing for cash. Also, people tend to assume that it was the first spot fixing instance for the trio. Who knows? Maybe they did it before but were caught this time.

Everybody gave Amir a benefit of doubt because he was very young and seemed gullible. His talent didn't hurt him either. However, the chapter 's closed now. Butt and Asif should have been given life bans but were saved because of Amir as ICC didn't want to discriminate. Even though I agree with Cook's views, I just hate him and Broad for bringing this up now. English cricketers stooping so low to gain some sort of psychological advantage is pathetic.

While I agree with Cook, but why talk about match fixing etc right now. I can understand media talking about it, but he should have avoided talking about it just before Pakistan is going to play there. It's a tactics to put pressure.

Cook perfectly balanced the line between wanting harsher punishments for fixers (as most of us do) and not calling Amir a cheat.

As for the timing, I expect every team to play this card (or at least the first few teams he plays against, and proves to be mentally strong). If Amir is not mentally strong, this will give the opponents an advantage. If he is strong, after the first couple of teams, the psychological battles will stop. Its part and parcel of the game and nothing wrong in it.

Nice article was a good read. Just goes to show you how vulnerable these young kids are..

Mohammad Amir and Cook will play for the same team today

So today the new round of county fixtures will start and they will be day night fixtures.

Essex will play Middlesex and they have announced their squad. Amir will make his county debut and one of his fellow team mates will be Alastair Cook.

Could be an awkward dressing room?

So today the new round of county fixtures will start and they will be day night fixtures.

Essex will play Middlesex and they have announced their squad. Amir will make his county debut and one of his fellow team mates will be Alastair Cook.

Could be an awkward dressing room?

I'm sure Cook won't go out of his way to make friends with him. Harder playing against a guy who fixes. If the opposition chooses to select a fixer, that's often their business, easier to get over. If you're playing with them difficult to show that comradery to them. Plus isn't Cook captain? Means he'll have to select Amir over someone else (who's possibly been more loyal to Essex, more of a history.

Kind of surprised a county has recruited Amir. Remember how upset ECB were with Kaneria thinking he came over and recruited fixers. Would have thought they wouldn't want Amir back in their domestic set up even though I agree chance of Amir fixing after being caught is close to zero. Not sure Amir gets much from playing in England either, guy already knows how to bowl in England, in fact he's arguably better at it then asian conditions where he hasn't done as well as we'd have expected. And a bit scared he might go the way of Ajmal (before ban for chucking), that repeated exposure of him allows him to be worked out.

Our batsmen would benefit more from playing in England, but England don't tend to recruit them sadly.