All the teams in the 2019 World Cup have some fight in them, besides Pakistan

slice

Local Club Regular
Seen Srilanka,seen WestIndies,seen Bangladesh,now even seen Afghanistan.Literally everyone has a fight in them,all except Pakistan.

After all this time,after unearthing some decent players,after a bit of improvement,it really has remained the same old story for Pakistan---a batting lineup which cannot stand up for itself under pressure.No one seems to want to force himself on the opposition.Cant score runs,cant bat fast.Once you are through the top order of Imam,Fakhar (who is looking increasingly suspect these days),Babar...you might as well forget about stringing together a hundred runs even at a below 100 SR.
Sometimes I wonder if replacing the middle order with the tail might give us better results ?
Non existent spin attack.
A pace attack which looked promising but has mysteriously sabotaged itself.
A Wicket keeper captain who would be put to shame by many tailenders.

Impressed with West Indies really. Pretty much the whole lineup can hit big and are looking more and more like proper batsmen.
Bangladesh line up really seem to be what Pakistani lineup aspires to be.Not slam bang but measured solid practical batting.
Even Afghanistan batting is looking far more professional and their spin attack would walk into a lot of teams.

Most importantly its the character ,the grit,the purpose of these bating line ups.Ours is pretty much aimless,going through the motions,a collapse waiting to happen every other match. Dont quite know what the fans are banking on now.

Look at our results for the last decade, we have lost the vast majority of our billateral series against the major teams. We have only really performed against Sri Lanka, West Indies but have struggled against the Big 5 and Bangladesh. Watching the Pakistani players you get the impression that they are still preparing for games and playing the games like in the 90's whereas the rest of the world is very serious about fitness, skills and fielding.

This professional approach needs to be followed in domestic cricket, only then will you have professional oriented players coming up the ranks to the national team. But this is an overall problem, our education structure is terrible and it reflects why our players lack the ability to think big and set the bar higher for themselves.

In sha Allah we will win the last 4 matches. I believe in my team. Pakistan Zindaabad!

All blame must fall on Mickey and Sarfraz in this area.

It is the responsibility of the coach and captain to motivate players and bring the best out of them.

South Africa, choking aside, was an excellent ODI team in the 90s, yet they did not have a single ATG ODI player. They were still second to Australia only.

The reason was that they had an excellent captain in Cronje who brought the best out of average to good players like Kristen, Cullinan, Rhodes, etc.

Correction, Pakistan does have lot of fight, it's just not on the pitch, it's within the team/establishment!

Amir has fought it with his every bit, but can’t say that for others.

In cricket, Captain motivates squad lot to fight it out and Sarfraz has been absolute flat in that regard. Now, he is blaming critics which is last resort. The way Amir is competing in the middle, instead of Sarfraz, had he been captain, I am sure this team would have shown much, much better fight with same set of players.

We have played so many zaeef players.... becharay thori hi dair mein thak jatay hain.

Onka bhi kasoor nahi, onki Allah Allah karnay ki umar hai aur hum onhein cricket khelnay pe majboor kar rahay hain.

Fakhar is a hit or miss player, but Imam puts so much pressure, not just on him, but also on Babar with his snail-like Test match batting. His dot balls literally kill our innings in the powerplay. He is a nepotistic selection. He should be discarded after the WC along with Inzamam, Arthur, Azhar Mahmood, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz, Hasan Ali, Hafeez, Wahab, and Asif Ali. This is what the ODI squad should be. Make Amir the captain.

1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Babar Azam
3. Haris Sohail
4. Saud Shakeel
5. Umar Akmal
6. Imad Wasim
7. Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
8. Shadab Khan
9. Mohammad Amir (c)
10. Junaid Khan
11. Shaheen Afridi
12. Haris Rauf
13. Mohammad Hasnain
14. Shan Masood
15. Mohammad Nawaz

That West Indies game was pathetic. All we had to do was see off the bouncers and we would have scored runs as others teams have done against West Indies.