An Asad Shafiq special at the Gabba

Major

Test Star
What an innings, came into the innings under-pressure, his form was out the total is out of reach, he was about to be dropped from the team, but then he pull out this special innings.

He learned from each mistake he made today.

He also got his 100 in a special way, didn't let Wahab take the strike at the ends play, because he knew it was risky to leave Wahab at the at as the pressure mounts. Australia were acting smart by give Madison the over and allow Wahab have a go and throw his wicket.

He didn't leave his 100 to the next day, and thats what Australia should had done. Let play continue to tomorrow instead of taking the 8 overs. Pressure bowlers and batsmen with a 100 lingering around would had create more pressure and chances

His 100 showed his fitness aswell, ran alot of runs and what a way to get it

take that haters

His best innings ever, but unfortunately looks like it will turn out to be a useless one, which is the case with most of his hundreds.

Harsh.

Even if Pakistan lose this was a great innings.

One of the best I have seen.

To be fair... it's another soft one in that it has been scored when the game has been lost.

If he gets Pakistan over the line, it would be a special effort though.

Great knock..

Comparable to Sangakkara's classic 192 at Hobart.

Harsh.

Even if Pakistan lose this was a great innings.

One of the best I have seen.

A great innings as I said, but a useless one because it came too late in the game to influence the outcome.

Similar to the ones he scored vs SA and NZ in the UAE.

i think your vanity is getting in the way.

Absolutely wonderful innings, up there with Kohli at Adelaide and Sanga in Hobart as one of the best innings by a touring batsman in Australia. A shout out for Amir and Wahab too for some highly entertaining partnerships with Shafiq, and Azhar and Younis for batting time earlier in the day. All round it was an outstanding day for Pakistan today. Izzat has been restored and they should have plenty of confidence going into the rest of the series, no matter what happens tomorrow.

no century goes useless, they boost the teams morale, a players morale. A 100 is like a practice. It is better practice then net practice, as this practice is in a actual match situation with pressure on you. Thus, you over come your mistakes and the lack of confidence in some of your shots. You get the upper grip on your weakness and that upper grip is what helps you in future games. Not does it only help the player but also the team in the future.

This 100 was also a good one for his fitness aswell. Scoring 20 runs while running between the wickets isn't an easy job. He scored a 100, so he showed his fitness and ability.

He also showed he could over come pressure, like said earlier in this thread, he came in this match as his spot in the team was about to be given away, he was under immense pressure, media was not gonna leave him alone.

Another thing that Shafiq proved that, yes, slow batting is what helps you score big. Here most posters are t20 fans, who like watching a slog-fest in test cricket. Thus, Azhar ALi, Sami Aslam and Shafiq have been criticized. But Shafiq showed that the kind of batting needed on such tracks and he got this 100.

This 100 also shows Australia and the world that we are not a UAE only team. We could play away games and even at Australia. Australia won't be downplaying us in this series anymore, and they would be more cautious of all of our batsmen. Shafiq has probably made Australia more cautious of another batsmen in our team.

Its not about losing or being a dead rubber, its about going down while fighting, as that helps you more in future.

This innings could itself influence future match wins or series win

So please don't downplay this innings

Mashallah brilliant bounce back by Shafiq after a poor stretch of scores.

It may not be enough to win the game for Pakistan...:however it may just be In-Shaa-Allah.

Kidher hain yaar saaray Babar Azam fans??? [MENTION=136113]Barragan[/MENTION] [MENTION=57576]MRSN[/MENTION]

No century is useless

Especially coming from a guy who worships Kohlis Adelaide hundred lmao

A great innings as I said, but a useless one because it came too late in the game to influence the outcome.

It has not been a useless one. The Aussies have been made to toil hard with each bowler bowling 30 overs. This is going to take a toll as the series progresses. Plus it has been the most interesting day of play today with Pakistan fighting back.

The game is not over yet. If they can can the runs required down to 100, the aussies will panic and that may play into Pakistan's hands. 382 equals their highest chase and they are well on their way of breaking their record against SL.

I recently said Babar Azam's knock vs NZ was one of the best I have seen by a Pakistani batsman in foreign conditions... this one tops that..

The guy is now the highest century maker in Test Matches I think at no.6, did he surpass Sobers??

No century is useless

Especially coming from a guy who worships Kohlis Adelaide hundred lmao

Kohli's hundred at Adelaide was on a tougher pitch and the match was still alive when he walked to the crease.

Pakistan had already lost when Shafiq arrived. It's essentially no different to the hundreds he scored vs SA and NZ in the UAE.

Not comparable to Kohli's innings.

Asad 'Romesh Tendulkar' Shafiq.... The sleeping giant has awaken

no century goes useless, they boost the teams morale, a players morale. A 100 is like a practice. It is better practice then net practice, as this practice is in a actual match situation with pressure on you. Thus, you over come your mistakes and the lack of confidence in some of your shots. You get the upper grip on your weakness and that upper grip is what helps you in future games. Not does it only help the player but also the team in the future.

This 100 was also a good one for his fitness aswell. Scoring 20 runs while running between the wickets isn't an easy job. He scored a 100, so he showed his fitness and ability.

He also showed he could over come pressure, like said earlier in this thread, he came in this match as his spot in the team was about to be given away, he was under immense pressure, media was not gonna leave him alone.

Another thing that Shafiq proved that, yes, slow batting is what helps you score big. Here most posters are t20 fans, who like watching a slog-fest in test cricket. Thus, Azhar ALi, Sami Aslam and Shafiq have been criticized. But Shafiq showed that the kind of batting needed on such tracks and he got this 100.

This 100 also shows Australia and the world that we are not a UAE only team. We could play away games and even at Australia. Australia won't be downplaying us in this series anymore, and they would be more cautious of all of our batsmen. Shafiq has probably made Australia more cautious of another batsmen in our team.

Its not about losing or being a dead rubber, its about going down while fighting, as that helps you more in future.

This innings could itself influence future match wins or series win

So please don't downplay this innings

You are romanticizing too much. He's an inconsistent player and will remain inconsistent.

I have defended him enough, and I defended him when others wanted him dropped, but I am done with his inconsistencies and false hopes.

He will follow this up with a string of weak performances as usual.

It may not be enough to win the game for Pakistan...:however it may just be In-Shaa-Allah.

The key for him was the positive intent he showed in scoring his runs. That is how one must play in Australia.

Kohli's hundred at Adelaide was on a tougher pitch and the match was still alive when he walked to the crease.

Pakistan had already lost when Shafiq arrived. It's essentially no different to the hundreds he scored vs SA and NZ in the UAE.

India were losing wickets on the other end so no one gave them a chance despite the flat wicket which had taken Aussie pace attack out of the reckoning

When India got close with under 100 runs to go he started playing some stupid shots and eventually lost his wicket off a brainless hoick

It was a great knock overall and definitely more panache but let's not have double standards

Nah [MENTION=139664]street cricketer[/MENTION] , I'm actually praising this Shafiq knock.

Mamoon has been in denial though. :P

This is probably better than the Kohli knock in Australia in the losing cause. Or the countless Tendulkar knocks :D

Bhai aap bohat mahaan hain... Asad should get out on a zero next innings, he's gotten into Mamoon's bad books now... What have you done Shafiq?? You got compared to Kohli.. How dare you??????

He has now centuries in England, south Africa, and Australia. And also against all teams except for India I guess. When was last a Pakistani scored century in Australia?

Amazing knock from Shafiq! The best he has ever played! If he can get us across the line I will rate this as one of the best innings ever!

i think your vanity is getting in the way.

Maybe, but I am struggling to spot the difference between the impact of this innings and the ones he has played before, and why I should be upbeat that he will turn a corner from here on. Been there, done that.

Played well and deserved his 100. With the wicket of Wahab the 2% chance we had has gone to one 1% but he has done his job.

Maybe, but I am struggling to spot the difference between the impact of this innings and the ones he has played before, and why I should be upbeat that he will turn a corner from here on. Been there, done that.

Uffff, the heartbreak... I can feel your pain man, its not easy to be a Shafiq supporter... you should change your username to Sanga's Dad...

India were losing wickets on the other end so no one gave them a chance despite the flat wicket which had taken Aussie pace attack out of the reckoning

When India got close with under 100 runs to go he started playing some stupid shots and eventually lost his wicket off a brainless hoick

It was a great knock overall and definitely more panache but let's not have double standards

India were in the game until Vijay got out. The situation was different.

Pakistan had already lost before Shafiq walked in. Brilliant innings, but it came too late. Too late.

so your argument is you dont have confidence in him, thus the innings he played here doesn't matter

Wow what a knock.

He was due.

Just hope this doesn't mean more failures in the next Tests..

Bhai aap bohat mahaan hain... Asad should get out on a zero next innings, he's gotten into Mamoon's bad books now... What have you done Shafiq?? You got compared to Kohli.. How dare you??????

Mai aik mamooli sa insaan hoon, just another poster like hundreds of others. Shafiq has not gone into my bad books. It is just that I have realized that he's an inconsistent player who will never be good enough to lead this batting lineup.

I have given myself enough false hopes in the past and have told myself many times that this is the start of something special. However, I was wrong every single time and I am not going to repeat the same mistake again.

Pakistan had already lost before Shafiq walked in. Brilliant innings, but it came too late. Too late.

It still isn't too late man! They can pull it off.

The pressure was same.

Infact the Adelaide wicket was relatively flat from Indian perspective with only spin coming into play which Indians can boss.

The story is Kohli got his team very close and when target was within reach he started playing risky shots and eventually hoicks done to get out. Pressure got to him. But yes I'd still say overall better knock. However it's arguable that the conditions were tougher on the Adelaide match taking into account Indian strengths

so your argument is you dont have confidence in him, thus the innings he played here doesn't matter

It doesn't matter because the match is over already. I don't have confidence him anymore because I know that he fails more than he succeeds.

Gotta laugh, some posters predicted he would score now the game was lost and his spot was on the line :))

Shafiq you played a century knock too late man...

its your fault you bat at no.6.. why do you bat there huhhh? Whyyyyyy? See now you can't win us the match... even if you are the only Pakistani batsman to score a 100 in Aussie conditions in 4th innings in probably ever.. you are still too late... you will never be good enough... I don't like the look of you scoring runs when the game has gone... Please keep your courtesy runs away next time

Amazed that certain posters were advocating aggressively that Shafiq needs to be replaced by Umar Akmal as he is mentally shot down and needs time off from cricket. Yes - not advising him to go back to domestic cricket but advising him to leave cricket altogether for some time. I have doubts over the diagnosis conducted.

Mai aik mamooli sa insaan hoon, just another poster like hundreds of others. Shafiq has not gone into my bad books. It is just that I have realized that he's an inconsistent player who will never be good enough to lead this batting lineup.

I have given myself enough false hopes in the past and have told myself many times that this is the start of something special. However, I was wrong every single time and I am not going to repeat the same mistake again.
Lol what does being inconsistent have to do with this particular knock.

If anyone is expecting he'll become consistent after this then it's the problem with expectation

The pressure was same.

Infact the Adelaide wicket was relatively flat from Indian perspective with only spin coming into play which Indians can boss.

The story is Kohli got his team very close and when target was within reach he started playing risky shots and eventually hoicks done to get out. Pressure got to him. But yes I'd still say overall better knock. However it's arguable that the conditions were tougher on the Adelaide match taking into account Indian strengths

Current Indian team can't boss spin. They can defend but they can't attack spinners on turners like they could in the Fab Four era.

People who bet on the long run really dont have a lot of insight to offer tbh. about the present
You have been reading things very poorly in the moment. As you felt YK would be gone pretty quickly today.
Sure you may write a a thousand word essay summarizing everyones view in the end, but it is a poor substitute for reading the game in the moment.

I repeat, your vanity is preventing your objectivity.

Current Indian team can't boss spin. They can defend but they can't attack spinners on turners like they could in the Fab Four era.

Yes but it's still their relative strength.

We both know that

its your fault you bat at no.6.. why do you bat there huhhh? Whyyyyyy? See now you can't win us the match... even if you are the only Pakistani batsman to score a 100 in Aussie conditions in 4th innings in probably ever.. you are still too late... you will never be good enough... I don't like the look of you scoring runs when the game has gone... Please keep your courtesy runs away next time

The management trusted him with the number 3 position. What did he do? Yes it is his fault he's batting at 6.

You're right, I know that Shafiq will still remain inconsistent and will have more failures than top knocks.

But, for me today's was special and I accept that.

People who bet on the long run really dont have a lot of insight to offer tbh. about the present
You have been reading things very poorly in the moment. As you felt YK would be gone pretty quickly today.
Sure you may write a a thousand word essay summarizing everyones view in the end, but it is a poor substitute for reading the game in the moment.

I repeat, your vanity is preventing your objectivity.

Younis played well today barring the dismissal. If I am to ignore the long run, then yes this is a special innings, but I can't help shed the deja vu because of my vanity.

The management trusted him with the number 3 position. What did he do? Yes it is his fault he's batting at 6.

Yaaar he only played a few innings there... And a few zeroes here and there don't dampen the contributions he made

Certainly a pressure knock, will go down as one of Pakistans greats in test plenty of humble pie will be served.

Australia might still win this but this is probably the best ever knock played by a Pakistani batsmen in Australian conditions.

He scored a counter attacking 100 of 140 balls along with tailenders and ensured that they dont end up with a shameless defeat here.

This is better than Moyo's 111 in Melbourne scored in no pressure situation and had no influence towards the game.

Yes, he had strings of failures but what is good is good and should be appreciated just like they way players get criticised for a bad outing.

you do realize he batted against the new ball today

Consistency is the word. He doesn't have it, hence I am not interested in looking too much into this innings because I know that he will be a liability 7/10 times.

I have been more patient with him than with any other player, and I am not thrilled with the fact that I used to defend him.

Its like people saying that why you playing football ball and scoring goals in the last few minutes...despite the fact that you know the game is lost??? Something in that context

What were you doing in the first 88 minutes of a football match?

By that logic teams who win matches in injury time shouldn't do it coz they didn't deserve it during the course of 90 mins

apparently only warner congratulated him at the end of days play :/

Disappointed he decided to take a 3 in the last over of the day.

Yes he could have easily gone for 2 and then taken a single later in the over. But I guess it was in the heat of the moment that he decided to go for 3.

Yaaar he only played a few innings there... And a few zeroes here and there don't dampen the contributions he made

He did fail, and he proved people (including me) wrong that he is inconsistent because he bats at 6.

I used to argue that he will improve if he bats at 3, but I was wrong. It's now clear that he's simply inconsistent, regardless of where he bats.

No boy the south africa and NZ were sure losses, we lost both matches by an innings,it did nothing but this innings brought the new enthusiasm in the team that we surely needed for next two tests :djb and if similiar century was scored by eg kane williamson and Virat kohli you guys will praising them, For sure...:kohli

Very good knock esp after his 50,Imo he looked a bit edgy before that but credit to him and even Amir for that important partnership.

Asad's knock might get the necessary media attention incase Pak wins but even if they don't hope its well recognized.

fortune favors the brave , he played his shots. Got a couple of chances but credit to him that he continued to score.

Yes the blame is on the no 6 who gets a 100 when the top 5 haven't gone on from their starts.

You have nailed it.

Players have their set positions, if he gets runs at 6, a ton in 4 different continents at least, what's the desperation to succeed in other positions.

He did. Couldn't play a single substantial innings, not even in the UAE vs WI. Doesn't get easier than that.

Asides from the pair of ducks against WI he did pretty good honestly

shafiq needs to be consistent , a good knock today and he got lucky on a couple of occassions.

Soft 100? Lol.

I was watching the game. Starc bowled at least 10 deliveries to Shafiq that he got Sarfaraz out on and the former negotiated them with ease.

The track is an absolute belter but he is facing some good quality pace bowling with scoreboard pressure.

Asides from the pair of ducks against WI he did pretty good honestly

Should have scored a hundred at the very least. Had the opportunity to cash in like Azhar but couldn't.

Bah gawwd do you believe in miracles, i doubt they can now I would be more positive if Shafiq had a recognised batsman as his partner, Yasir can hang around but not long enough for us to score 100

This is the biggest issue with Shafiq he will play these innings however they are played when it doesnt matter. The odds of Pak winning is very low and this innings will eventually just serve his appetite. For me a 50 in match winning cause is more valuable then a worthless 100.

Lets hope that we can see this more often and in the 1st innings when game is up for grabs.

Epic knock by Shafiq under immense pressure, tremendous fight back

Special knock but I feel bad for him because his knocks haven't helped Pakistan win, he will always be under the radar after a few low scores.

To think before crossed 50, Waqar was suggesting that Pak might drop him for the next test shows you the place he is in right now. A player like him who has done well away as compared to his other team-mates he should be part of your core, not someone who is dispensable. Maybe with that confidence he becomes a key contributor.

good knock. I believe yasir can score 30-40 runs so shafiq must pace his inning better than him to score 50-60 if we want to go for a win.

I salute this man. What a knock. Besides Kohli and Sangakkara, tell me another player who has done this in the past 15 years of the game in Australia. These are not easy runs. Two supposed "ATG" of the modern era (Root and Williamson) have not even come close to playing such a knock in their careers. Put that into perspective please.

AB chased down 400 in Perth in 2007.

Amla got 196 at Perth.

Faf got a century at Adelaide in process to save the game.

Not that most of overseas players have poor outing there.

AB chased down 400 in Perth in 2007.

Amla got 196 at Perth.

Faf got a century at Adelaide in process to save the game.

Not that most of overseas players have poor outing there.
Rosco scored a triple at Perth last year after Australia put on a huge score in the first innings.

First ever touring player to score 300 in Australia.

Rosco scored a triple at Perth last year after Australia put on a huge score in the first innings.

First ever touring player to score 300 in Australia.

That was a ridiculously flat wicket. But nevertheless a great achievement but I think he got 290 there not a triple one.

Yeah, my bad, forgot he fell just short... Still was the highest score ever by a touring batsmen since the 20's or something like that.

Bandwagoners jumping on the Asad train after his performance today.

Will want him dropped the next match if he fails.:mv