Anyone here who learnt Pashto properly and fluently at a late age?

Savak

World Star
I could sure use some tips and a workable way on how to learn the language in record time

Is it for a girl?

Yes. Its a kattar pathan family and the entire family at home only interacts in Pashto. My parents mostly interact in Pashto with the family and the girl. I cannot put myself in a situation where the girl, her family, siblings, friends interact in Pashto and i have no clue about what is being said or discussed.

My parents especially if they wish to discuss top secret stuff always start interacting in Pashto.

Yes. Its a kattar pathan family and the entire family at home only interacts in Pashto. My parents mostly interact in Pashto with the family and the girl. I cannot put myself in a situation where the girl, her family, siblings, friends interact in Pashto and i have no clue about what is being said or discussed.

My parents especially if they wish to discuss top secret stuff always start interacting in Pashto.

Yara then it shouldnt be difficult for you. You can not learn complete pashto soon, but at least you can learn most of it in 2 or 3 months because as you said your family do interaction in Pashto. Shouldnt be hard then.

Btw, good luck marrying a pathan girl, infact a KATTAR pathan girl :) Allah ap k sir ki hifazat he kary

Just joking :)

Yara then it shouldnt be difficult for you. You can not learn complete pashto soon, but at least you can learn most of it in 2 or 3 months because as you said your family do interaction in Pashto. Shouldnt be hard then.

Btw, good luck marrying a pathan girl, infact a KATTAR pathan girl :) Allah ap k sir ki hifazat he kary

Just joking :)

I hope she doesn't have many older brothers, otherwise Savak bhai is in for some trouble :)))

He is pathan, I was shocked , he mentioned in the marriage thread.

Makes sense, pathans don't usually marry out of their race. That being said a couple of cousins married pathans and my mother in law is pathan.

Are you a pathan?

Not really. Mom is pathan, Dad is punjabi, but both were born and raised in Peshawar in their childhood hence they know the language very well. They never bothered to teach us. Since i dont know Pashto or Punjabi at all, i cant consider myself Punjabi or Pathan

What language do you guys use at home? Urdu?

It is a very difficult language, but on the plus side, you don’t have to learn how to read or write it. Unless you are into Pashto literature which you are obviously not, you will hardly ever need to read or write it.

Your wife to-be most likely can’t either, so you only have to focus on speaking.

It is a very difficult language, but on the plus side, you don’t have to learn how to read or write it. Unless you are into Pashto literature which you are obviously not, you will hardly ever need to read or write it.

Your wife to-be most likely can’t either, so you only have to focus on speaking.

Yup, would just like to know how to speak it and understand what is being discussed around me. My khala cant speak Pastho but understands it completely.

Ah ok got it , [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] correction on my part and looks like hardcore pathan parents are ok with marrying someone that can’t speak pashto.

Yup, would just like to know how to speak it and understand what is being discussed around me. My khala cant speak Pastho but understands it completely.

Ma yarega rora asana da dera zar ba zda kei

Daro nahi bhai asan hai bohut jald sik jauo ge