Are Pakistani embassies/high commissions abroad doing their job right?

My experience in Pak embassies has been pretty bad. All of them seem to be run by very unprofessional people with no regards or empathy!

How about yours?

Prime Minister Imran Khan on Wednesday expressed his displeasure over an "indifferent attitude and unnecessary delays in routine services" by Pakistani embassies, particularly in the Middle East.

"Feedback that I have received from Saudi Arabia shows as if the staff is not working. The staff in Kuwait's NADRA office take bribes instead of guiding people and an official is involved in making wrong documents... I was shocked to learn all this," a disgruntled PM Imran said while virtually addressing Pakistani envoys deployed worldwide, adding that the concerned ambassador did not even make an effort to identify the official involved.

The premier said that the government received these complaints via the Pakistan Citizen Portal and a full-scale inquiry is underway over the issue.

He said that Pakistanis living in the UAE and Saudi Arabia give highest remittances and both embassies showed indifferent attitudes toward them. "I called you today to tell you that you need to change your attitude... Shah Ji (Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi] you must oversee it or have someone to look into it... we have received floods of complaints that your response is dissatisfactory," he warned the envoys.

The premier urged the envoys to give preferential treatment to those who haven't seen their families for six to eight months and are working abroad.

"They spend hefty amount but there is a lack of compassion from your end... serve them properly... they're the force this country is running on," he added.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/229846...ver-treatment-meted-out-to-pakistani-diaspora

I happen to have experienced the amazing service of Pakistan Embassy in Toronto and in Abu Dhabi. Abu Dhabi was 10 years ago, and Toronto was 4 years ago. Abu Dhabi one was horrible, and the staff wasn't really bothered in helping anyone.

Toronto on the otherhand was not as bad, but was still pretty bad. The NICOP system is so bad and outdated, you have to bring printed forms and 2 copies of your passport, marriage certificate, driver's license, old NICOP, etc. And if you don't have a copy, there is a charge of $1/page. Just a cash grab. All were PML-N workers in there, and they all looked shady. Some people actually pay cash under the table to get things done. In comparison, Canadian Passport renewal is a very quick and clean process, where you just have to submit a signed form and 2 pictures, and your data is pulled immediately for the issuance of the passport. Hence why I called that system the 80s system, and the photocopying scam that they were pulling off was pathetic. Imagine being a foreigner trying to get visa, and you seeing how miserable the service is, would you even want to visit Pakistan.

On the contrary, the Toronto embassy now is somewhat better (since 2019). Photocopying cash grab is gone, and thankfully photocopies are done by people there wiht no cost. Also only non-Paksitani items need to be photocopied, so no more old passport, old nicop, Pakistan address, etc. photocopies.

There is still room for improvement!

My experience in Pak embassies has been pretty bad. All of them seem to be run by very unprofessional people with no regards or empathy!

How about yours?

Last time I visited Pak consulate in NYC, it was a mess. It was quite long time ago as well, so not sure if things have changed?

There were two service windows in a very, very small room that could house about 10 people while there were about 20 people formed in two chaotic groups trying to get their turn.

There was absolutely no concept of forming a queue. Absolutely utter shameful to see folks in almost a scuffle, pushing and shoving each other to get to the service window.

There were a few females helplessly standing outside the room as they didn't dare to get in.

I had to bring out my hidden desi self, so I jumped into the pool of jahils as well. After about 15 minutes of physical struggle, I was able to reach one of the windows, where I informed the guy that I am here to meet Mr. (Falana). He said, OK wait here, and he went inside to inform the person I had come to see.

Mean while (and listen to this), I heard this guy on the next service window asking this question from the embassy staff member.
"Wo ji mein 10 saal pehlay umreeka aya tha, tou mein illegal tha, phir mainay ye chakkar chalaya tou mujhay green card mill gaya. Aur meray maa baap san sentalees mein Hijrat karkay Pakistan aaey thay aur mein ab India visit karna chahta hoon. Tou kia ab agar mein India kay visa k liye apply karoon, tou kia india embassy walay mujhay Pakistani passport pe India jaaney ka visa dey deyngey"?

This idiot had scuffled all the way to reach to the service window in the PAKISTAN consulate to ask this stupid question.

I wish if I could take off my shoe and slap the back of his neck.

The embassy staff person told him in a harsh and sarcastic tone (and rightly so), "Wo saamnay India ki consulate hai, wahaan jaa kar poocho".

So the point is, if almost 99% of the consulate staff is inept because they are all hired through nepotism and political connections, then a huge chunk of the clients are also clowns.

In the the mean time, the guy had came back on my service window, and he told me to enter into the main building by the side door.

I got out of that suffocating room, and found the door to enter the other side of the building.
This door had two panels.
The one that had handle was locked from inside. And the one that was unlocked but latched, had no handle.
I didn't know how to get in?

So I started knocking, banging and then kicking at the door, till finally someone arrived and opened the door from inside where the handle was placed on the unlocked but latched door.

I met the person and had my task done. And then I asked him about the chaos outside at the service window.

He said, "Sir, aap ney abhi kuch nahi deykha. Yahaan tou physical fights aur maa bhen ki gaaliyan chalti hain"

I asked him to at least designate an area for females. To which he said, yes one of the service window is reserved for females but this is beyond our control.

I think this particular consulate in NYC could be an outlier. The chaos was perhaps due to Pakistani population demographics in New York which is mostly cab and taxi drivers, and most of them have little to no education. Soon as they enter a Pakistani consulate or a local mosque, they feel at home and above all laws of order.

But yes, in my opinion, in almost all Pakistani consulates all over the world, majority of the staff is inept, incompetent and unprofessional, because they may be hired through political connections and nepotism.

The consulate service in New York is run very poorly. These guys work as if they are still in Pakistan, closing offices at 1 pm. Who shuts down business at 1 pm???

They never answer phone and they always seem to have new obstacles each time you go to them for something. For example, for making my nadra card, I had to provide all kinds of details like my parents nadra card, my grand parents etc. I hear things are getting better now because nadra has an online system but the consulate in NY can be a nightmare to work with. People come from all over north east, drive 3-4 hours only to be turned away by some bereaucratic non sense that could've been answered over the phone saving everyone's time. I have seen some funny things happening in the NY consulate.

The consulate service in New York is run very poorly. These guys work as if they are still in Pakistan, closing offices at 1 pm. Who shuts down business at 1 pm???

They never answer phone and they always seem to have new obstacles each time you go to them for something. For example, for making my nadra card, I had to provide all kinds of details like my parents nadra card, my grand parents etc. I hear things are getting better now because nadra has an online system but the consulate in NY can be a nightmare to work with. People come from all over north east, drive 3-4 hours only to be turned away by some bereaucratic non sense that could've been answered over the phone saving everyone's time. I have seen some funny things happening in the NY consulate.

Oh yes, I now remember that.
They close at 1:00 PM, and perhaps that was the reason why it was so over crowded.
This was a good 20 years ago. I hope things have changed now.

And you are right, who the heck closes the business at 1:00 PM in USA?

I find them to be mostly rude and insensitive. The Pak consulate near me seems to be much better though. They answer all questions and queries fast without any problems. Could be unrelenting criticism of their behavior has given them the reality check. As I once told them "your job is to help people not the other way round".

The Pakistan embassy in Bahrain decided to build a new building - fair enough

Ambassadors greeting area is huge, the actual service hall is approx 30% of that size!

Go figure.

I find them to be mostly rude and insensitive. The Pak consulate near me seems to be much better though. They answer all questions and queries fast without any problems. Could be unrelenting criticism of their behavior has given them the reality check. As I once told them "your job is to help people not the other way round".

Looks like the PM has also taken an initiative, so hopefully we will see some good change.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FrK-dTOAKwo

PM Imran's public criticism stirs uproar in Foreign Office

A day after Prime Minister Imran Khan publically castigated Pakistani missions abroad, there is an uproar in the Foreign Office with many diplomats lodged a strong protest with the foreign minister and foreign secretary for "scapegoating" them.

Sources confirmed that Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi on Thursday held more than two hours long meeting with senior officials at the Foreign Office after they expressed reservations over the premier’s public criticism.

In an unusual move, PM Imran on Wednesday expressed his displeasure over an "indifferent attitude and unnecessary delays in routine services" by Pakistani embassies, particularly in the Middle East.

His criticism stemmed from the recent incidents took place at Pakistani embassy in Saudi Arabia that prompted the prime minister not only to suspend the ambassador but also ordered an inquiry.

"Feedback that I have received from Saudi Arabia shows as if the staff is not working. The staff in Kuwait's Nadra [National Database Regulatory Authority] office takes bribes instead of guiding people and an official is involved in making wrong documents... I was shocked to learn all this," a disgruntled PM Imran said while virtually addressing Pakistani envoys deployed worldwide, adding that the ambassador concerned did not even make an effort to identify the official involved.

The premier said that the government received these complaints via the Pakistan Citizen Portal and a full-scale inquiry is underway over the issue.

He said that Pakistanis living in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Saudi Arabia give highest remittances and both embassies showed indifferent attitudes towards them. "I called you today to tell you that you need to change your attitude... Shah Ji (Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi] you must oversee it or have someone to look into it... we have received floods of complaints that your response is dissatisfactory," he warned the envoys.

The premier urged the diplomats to give preferential treatment to those who haven't seen their families for six to eight months and are working abroad.

"They spend hefty amount but there is a lack of compassion from your end... serve them properly... they're the force this country is running on," he added.

Soon after the PM's public criticism many in the Foreign Office began to approach the foreign minister and foreign secretary to convey their strong reservations.

"I can tell you the PM's remarks have demoralised the entire foreign service," a Foreign Office official said while requesting anonymity.

"It appears the prime minister was not properly briefed about the working of the foreign service," the official said, adding that PM Imran should have taken proper briefing before giving the “sweeping statement”.

Meanwhile, FM Qureshi attempted to placate the Foreign Office officials who protested that they couldn't not be blamed for others' mistake.

One diplomatic source also said the prime minister was over simplifying the role of foreign missions.

Premier Imran, he said, foreign missions must work to bringing investment in the country. "But foreign missions alone cannot do anything. I wrote many letters to different ministries for arranging meetings with private companies but I never get a response from those ministries," another diplomat posted in an EU country said.

The Express Tribune has learnt that many serving diplomats approached the retired foreign secretaries and ambassadors to convey their resentment since they could not go to public.

It was because of this reason that many retired diplomats took to the twitter and rebuked the prime minister’s remarks.

"Deeply dismayed at the unwarranted criticism of the foreign ministry. There seems to be woefully inadequate understanding of embassies’consular work, the acute resource constraints, and the role of multiple departments which not under the control of ambassadors," former foreign secretary Tehmina Janjua said.

"Officers displaying colonial mindset? Far from it. Only during Covid, officers volunteered to be with community in Wuhan, embassies looked after stranded Pakistanis, distributed food. Systemic issues need to be addressed for quality consular services. Cannot be done through tweets," she added.

Jalil Abbas Jilani, another ex-foreign secretary, said foreign service suffered from decades of neglect, political paralysis and resource constraints.

"What is needed now is a renewal of diplomatic capacity, resources, appreciation and an effort that balances ambition with limits of the possible at a moment of growing difficulties at home and abroad," Jilani added.

Opposition parties also took a broadside at PM Imran for publically venting his anger at the envoys.

"Foreign Service is in no position to generate trade on it’s own. Yes it can provide better consular services at some missions, but publicly telling-off all ambassadors is never done. In key embassies they work round the clock with meagre resources; demotivating them is not a thing," commented PPP senior leader Sherry Rehman, who also served as Pakistan ambassador to the US.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2298652/uproar-in-foreign-office-over-pm-imrans-public-criticism

For once, the prime minister is absolutely justified in going after the imbeciles in the foreign office. Pakistan's diplomats that work in the foreign missions are for the most part an absolute embarrassment to the country. Incompetent parasites that think that a posting outside the country is no more than a glorified jolly.

Totally illiterate and unprofessional people are employed in Pak embassies not qualified at all to do the job. They neither have the required communication skills nor are able to engage fluently in the English language with foreign people. Most of the staff walk around in sandals, are having their dinner during working hours in front of visitors or arguing with family over the phone seem to be recent arrivals themselves. Any professional organisation would sack them on the spot.

When Afghan embassy looks like a massive upgrade, we know there is an issue with pakistan embassy.
Imran khan is doing the right thing here. Those who are incompetent and corrupt in foreign embassies will always cry.

Fawad Chaudhry defends PM Imran Khan's criticism of ambassadors

ISLAMABAD: Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting Fawad Chaudhry on Friday defended the prime minister's public criticism of Pakistan's ambassadors, saying he stood with the working class and not the elite.
"I am surprised at the PML-N for criticising the prime minister's speech to ambassadors," said Chaudhry, sitting beside Advisor to the Prime Minister on Commerce Abdul Razzak Dawood.

"If we can't raise our voices for overseas Pakistanis, we don't have any right to remain in government," he said, adding that the prime minister "stands with the working class, not the elite".

He said if Pakistan wanted to progress as a nation, it would have to uplift the working class. The minister recalled that the prime minister had only instructed his ambassadors to take care of the needs of overseas Pakistanis.

The information minister spoke about an incident involving an overseas Pakistani woman, saying that she was being subjected to unjust treatment over the past three years.

"When she contacted an [Pakistani] embassy, she was told, 'The police should take action against you for marrying thrice'," said Chaudhry.

He expressed disappointment over the PML-N's criticism, saying the party was not ready to cooperate with the government on any issue.

Chaudhry said the prime minister had, on many occasions in the past, said he was proud of Pakistan's ambassadors. He said a few embassies had "closed their doors" on overseas Pakistani labourers, adding that action should be taken against those found guilty.

Speaking about the prime minister's trip to Saudi Arabia, Chaudhry said it would strengthen ties between the two brotherly countries.

"PM Imran Khan desires peaceful relations between Iran and Saudi Arabia," said Chaudhry. "Mohammed bin Salman has also spoken about improving ties among Muslim countries," he added.

Speaking about the NA-249 by-poll, Chaudhry said the PML-N and other Opposition parties' move to challenge the by-election's verdict was welcome news.

He called on the Opposition to sit with the government on national issues and present their point of view.

"I once again urge the Opposition to demonstrate seriousness on the issue of electoral reforms," he said.

Indifferent attitude towards expats 'unforgivable', PM tells ambassadors
On Wednesday, PM Khan had addressed Pakistani ambassadors stationed across the globe, days after he had called back the country's envoy to Saudi Arabia over the alleged mistreatment of the Pakistani expat community by the latter's staff.

"Overseas Pakistanis are precious assets of the country," the premier had said, adding that it is unfortunate that Pakistani ambassadors do not treat them well.

"The feedback provided by Pakistani expats living in Saudi Arabia was shocking," the premier had said. "An indifferent attitude towards the expat community is "unforgivable." He had also read out complaints received on the Citizens Portal and slammed the "callousness" displayed by embassy workers.

"The job of embassies is to serve their citizens," the premier had said.

Last week, PM Khan had recalled Pakistan's Ambassador to Saudi Arabia Raja Ali Ejaz and members of the latter's staff after reports of their alleged 'mistreatment' of the Pakistani expat community surfaced.

Special Assistant to PM on Overseas Pakistanis Zulfi Bukhari, making the announcement, had said the ambassador was recalled as the Pakistani community and Embassy staff had repeatedly lodged complaints against him over the past couple of months.

Following Ejaz's removal, retired Lt Gen Bilal Akbar had taken over the post, Foreign Office Spokesperson Zahid Hafeez Chaudhri had said in a statement.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/349140-fawad-chaudhry-defends-pm-imran-khans-criticism-of-ambassadors

My experience of the PK Consulate in Birmingham has been mixed- the old Bismillah building was appalling and dirty and the treatment of the users was awful. But i have been in more recent times and they have improved and are doing a fair job. I would like to see a late opening for one of the nights to serve those that work office hours. Overall much better.

I once saw a Bollywood movie where Anil Kapoor accepts the challenge of Amrish Puri to become chief minister for a day. He then goes undercover sacking all inept and unprofessional people on the spot by mobile phone or fax accepting no excuses. This is how such people should be dealt with.

Pakistanis consulates should consider outsourcing of visa and passport services to VFS or BLS or similar. So may nations do it and it has improved quality and delivery for those nations

I once saw a Bollywood movie where Anil Kapoor accepts the challenge of Amrish Puri to become chief minister for a day. He then goes undercover sacking all inept and unprofessional people on the spot by mobile phone or fax accepting no excuses. This is how such people should be dealt with.
That was a brilliant movie. All the corrupt United against Anil Kapoor in that movie. We kinda see something similar these days since PM Imran Khan took the oath.

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Imran Khan retracted on Tuesday his public criticism of Pakistani diplomats, saying the Foreign Office was doing a great job, especially in highlighting the Kashmir issue at different forums across the world.

The clarification came from the prime minister during a live Q&A session with the public when he was asked by an expat about the problems faced by overseas Pakistanis and the government’s steps to mitigate them.

A few days back, the prime minister had lambasted the country’s top diplomats for failing to serve the Pakistani diaspora in their respective countries of residence. He had also ordered an inquiry against the envoy in Saudi Arabia for mistreating Pakistani workers.

However, he had to face severe reactions from opposition leaders as well as foreign service personnel who conveyed their anger to the concerned authorities.

Revisiting his earlier stance, the premier said that the criticism of ambassadors was aimed at some individuals and his comments should have not gone live.

He said he wanted to make it clear that Pakistan’s embassies and the Foreign Office had rendered great services in promoting the country’s good image abroad and raising the Kashmir issue at the relevant forums.

PM Khan said his comments were taken as if he was criticising the entire Foreign Office, which was not true. He said he was appreciative of the good work of Pakistan embassies abroad.

Qureshi blames India for creating ‘a storm in a teacup’
Speaking on the issue separately, Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi said he believed that everything was fine at that event where the prime minister spoke about the ambassadors.

However, whatever was said should have not been publicised in a negative manner.

The foreign minister said Pakistan’s opponent countries, especially India, blew the issue out of proportion and created a storm in a teacup over it.

He said there should be no ambassador bashing at all, and they should be respected for the great services they were rendering for the country.

Ex-ambassadors dismayed over public criticism

Inamul Haque, president of the Association of Former Ambassadors, said in a letter to the prime minister that the public reprimand of ambassadors “was ill-advised and reflected a lack of understanding of the work that our diplomatic missions are performing despite major constraints and impediments”.

Haque had told the premier in his letter that the association, comprising more than 100 retired officers of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, “has noted with dismay your public castigation of the Pakistan embassies in a televised address to Pakistani ambassadors abroad”.

The letter said: “There are always some lapses in any organisation. These should be rectified and those responsible for any transgression must be held to account after a thorough and full inquiry.

“To denounce an entire institution, without a proper and impartial investigation, is unconscionable,” added the letter.

GEO

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2305444/three-diplomats-at-embassy-in-riyadh-found-guilty-of-misconduct

A fact-finding commission has found three officers of the Pakistani embassy in Saudi Arabia guilty of misconduct and administrative incompetence.

In its report submitted to Prime Minister Imran Khan, the body found the embassy's mechanism to address grievances to be “ineffective”.

According to the report, three officers — former ambassador Raja Ijaz Ali, deputy head mission Zeeshan Ahmed and counsellor Aurangzeb — were found to be guilty of misconduct.

Even through there were no complaints of extortion received against the embassy staff, the number of complaint resolution mechanisms in place were not fully serving their purpose.

“An overwhelming number of overseas Pakistanis desire an improvement in the quality of existing consular services including handling by the consular staff, infrastructure at the missions and processing time for the services,” the report read.

The inspection commission has recommended increasing the workforce of the mission in Saudi Arabia. It also noted that the missions should minimise the dependence of the Pakistanis living abroad on private companies.

In addition, it has suggested setting up a one window portal to address the grievances of the Pakistanis living in the kingdom.

Every mission should have an officer dedicated to addressing grievances.

It has further recommended the setting up of a 24-hour service helpline.

The foreign ministry has also been asked to set up an overseas Pakistan division headed by an additional secretary.

The commission in its report has recommended that the foreign and overseas Pakistanis ministries should submit an annual report on the plight of the citizens living abroad.

It has also sought financially empowering the heads of missions through existing community welfare revenue stream so that they could obtain legal services and hire Arabic interpreters.

It recommended centralised standard operating procedures (SOPs) for developing consular services.

Besides, maximum use of ICT has been suggested to reduce in-person applications and digitally transform consular services. An open court will be set up in Saudi Arabia on the prime minister’s instructions to ensure Pakistanis living there were heard.

The premier has issued instructions to ensure the implementation on the recommendations.

In April this year, the foreign ministry had recalled seven officials posted at the Pakistan embassy in Saudi Arabia, including the ambassador, and ordered a high-level inquiry after complaints of demanding bribes from expatriates.

Foreign Office spokesperson Zahid Hafeez Chaudhri confirmed during a weekly briefing that Prime Minister Imran Khan had directed for the inquiry, adding that the prime minister’s directions were being fully implemented.

"Our Ambassador of Pakistan to Saudi Arabia has already returned and orders have been issued for the recall of six more officers of the diplomatic, community welfare and consular wings of the embassy," Chaudhri told reporters.

“The Government of Pakistan attaches high importance to the welfare of overseas Pakistanis. The Overseas Pakistanis are our greatest asset. Their role in national development is indispensable,” he added. “There is zero tolerance, whatsoever, for any lapse in the public service delivery.”

The high-level inquiry had been ordered after reports emerged that certain embassy officials in Saudi Arabia were allegedly involved in taking bribes from the labourers.