Are you satisfied with the PTI Government's handling of the motorway rape case?

• Poll closed .
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="und" dir="ltr">IG Police Punjab on <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/motorwayincident?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#motorwayincident</a>: <a href="https://t.co/JPWRqtlkJT">https://t.co/JPWRqtlkJT</a></p>— Azhar Mashwani (@MashwaniAzhar) <a href="https://twitter.com/MashwaniAzhar/status/1305117677384544257?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 13, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

PTI members and supporters have no right to criticize others for politicizing this tragedy after their disgusting attitude over the Zainab case in Jan 2018.

You reap what you sow.

What a sad person...

The performance of PTI government will be judged on how long they take to find the rapists and whether they hang them in public or not.

It shouldn't be judged by whether the CCPO continues his job or not. There is no doubt that he said something highly irresponsible and pathetic, however, we don't know his history and you can't just disregard a police officer's services for his nation because he made a stupid statement.

Who knows how many lives he has saved and how many rapes he was successful in preventing. To fire him for a moment of madness when he's put his life on the line for god-knows-how-long is unfair.

What a sad f-...

The performance of PTI government will be judged on how long they take to find the rapists and whether they hang them in public or not.

It shouldn't be judged by whether the CCPO continues his job or not. There is no doubt that he said something highly irresponsible and pathetic, however, we don't know his history and you can't just disregard a police officer's services for his nation because he made a stupid statement.

Who knows how many lives he has saved and how many rapes he was successful in preventing. To fire him for a moment of madness when he's put his life on the line for god-knows-how-long is unfair.

The rapist will be caught and will be hanged. PMLN was never judged on zainabs rapist being hanged.

Public hanging or hanging in jail at Fajr time is the same thing.

PTI's govt will be bashed for the security lapse that took place with regards to opening up the motorway while motorway police did not have enough staff and equipment to parole this road. Thats mistake no.1

Mistake no.2 is the promotion of CCPO after many red signs. Chalo, even if we ignore that, but when the CCPO blames the victim and even goes further to implying the victim as being a liar, than the govt will be judged and bashed if they dont remove him.

Showcause notice is a dramaybazi where the guy comes to the office explains and says yes sir galte hogi, you impose a fine gaal khatam.

Stupid statements have often led to removal. This is not some hawaldal. He is the Chief, and if the chief holds such views, people dont feel safe and they will keep on finding more stuff on him and bash the govt.

It is better for Punjab govt to sack him, but knowing our police, he will be transferred to Islamabad

Funny how the PPP supporters have the gall to talk about police performance.

The police in Sindh are the B team of the waderas. Please remember where you yourself stand otherwise people like me will be happy to remind you of it.

Btw Billoo Rani got a journalist murdered just because he exposed that poor people were being paid to attend Billoo's jalsas.

dont divert. you support CCPO even said.

It's not a diversion, it's showing a hypocrite like you a mirror. The CCPO hasn't commited a crime or anything remotely close to a crime. He will be judged on whether he catches the rapists. But you are more interested in him than why the rapists were out of prison with such a previous. Actions speak louder than words.

again nice try diverting.
I have made a post on abid ali yesterday when discussing with you where i already said that the judiciary holds blame aswell as PMLN if they were involved in his release through punjab police.

Like i said before, there have been instances where making insensitive statements leads to resignation or sacking.
If a doctor goes to a conference and admits to giving extra dosage of morphine to cancer patients or admit to helping them in their suicide, they would be fired and wont be able to get themselves hired. What they do might not be legal as morphine is given to a dyeing cancer patient to ease his pain as he dies, but it is still ethically wrong. And if doctors mention that in public could lead to trouble.

Chief of police making a statement dumb statements than calling the victim a liar would had warranted his sacking in some countries.

But as you said, you support due to political reasons so no point in arguing with you.

Funny how the PPP supporters have the gall to talk about police performance.

The police in Sindh are the B team of the waderas. Please remember where you yourself stand otherwise people like me will be happy to remind you of it.

Btw Billoo Rani got a journalist murdered just because he exposed that poor people were being paid to attend Billoo's jalsas.

bhai jaan, i myself say that PPP doesnt pay but infact force employees of Bahria Town to attend their jalsa. Infact, Bahria town are in bed with the Kohkars who were the PPP's right hand gunmen.

I even blame PPP for the death of the Parveen Rehman, a lady that was just doing her job.

WHere did i ever say i support police in sindh? Where did i say i support their killing.

But you guys admit that CCPO should be defended only due to political reasons

again nice try diverting.
I have made a post on abid ali yesterday when discussing with you where i already said that the judiciary holds blame aswell as PMLN if they were involved in his release through punjab police.

Like i said before, there have been instances where making insensitive statements leads to resignation or sacking.
If a doctor goes to a conference and admits to giving extra dosage of morphine to cancer patients or admit to helping them in their suicide, they would be fired and wont be able to get themselves hired. What they do might not be legal as morphine is given to a dyeing cancer patient to ease his pain as he dies, but it is still ethically wrong. And if doctors mention that in public could lead to trouble.

Chief of police making a statement dumb statements than calling the victim a liar would had warranted his sacking in some countries.

But as you said, you support due to political reasons so no point in arguing with you.

No diversion, just a mirror to your hypocrisy. All you guys victim shamed Cynthia, without calling for any investigation, and here you are calling for the head of the CCPO for the same thing. The best of it is that when it suits you, you become all pious but when it doesn't, you fall into your crooked political masters.

BuZdar sb follow Zia ul Haq model to deal with rapists and your popularity will surge

bhai jaan, i myself say that PPP doesnt pay but infact force employees of Bahria Town to attend their jalsa. Infact, Bahria town are in bed with the Kohkars who were the PPP's right hand gunmen.

I even blame PPP for the death of the Parveen Rehman, a lady that was just doing her job.

WHere did i ever say i support police in sindh? Where did i say i support their killing.

But you guys admit that CCPO should be defended only due to political reasons

Nobody is defending the CCPO. We all agree he made a poor insensitive statement and at the worst possible timing. What's worse is he refused to apologize.

All of PTI's top cadre have opposed his statement. He has also been conveyed to shut up. There is also disciplinary action on going against him.

However, the way you people are acting as if it is CCPO who did the rape and he should be sent to the gallows for it. Under what law he should be punished for a garbage statement?

Nobody is defending the CCPO. We all agree he made a poor insensitive statement and at the worst possible timing. What's worse is he refused to apologize.

All of PTI's top cadre have opposed his statement. He has also been conveyed to shut up. There is also disciplinary action on going against him.

However, the way you people are acting as if it is CCPO who did the rape and he should be sent to the gallows for it. Under what law he should be punished for a garbage statement?

The statement warrants a sacking. No need to be appointed somewhere else, he needs to be sacked, and the govt can do that.

The CCPO could than take his case to court if he thinks his sacking was unjust.

It is being reported that even Imran Khan's nephew complaint for suspension of the CCPO.

BuZdar sb follow Zia ul Haq model to deal with rapists and your popularity will surge

Zia isn't a benchmark. Infact, if Zia's hudood ordinance were applied, the rapist would be not guilty. As there arn't 4 witnesses. Infact, the lady would be charged for adultry.

People boost about very few rape cases happening in Zia's tenure on social media, but people dont know how stupid the laws were that a women couldn't prove that she was rape and thus they wouldn't report it or else you would have adultry charges.

The statement warrants a sacking. No need to be appointed somewhere else, he needs to be sacked, and the govt can do that.

The CCPO could than take his case to court if he thinks his sacking was unjust.

It is being reported that even Imran Khan's nephew complaint for suspension of the CCPO.

Its usually hard to fire people in law enforcement. So transferring him to a desk job, might be the best option available. He definitely does not deserve to be CCPO anymore.

The problem is that the whole of the Punjab Police doesnt have more a few people that are not sifarshis and none of the top leadership. On every potential officer the Sharifs will have a file and as soon as he is appointed, they remind him of his sexual preferences and his secret bank accounts.

The entire Punjab police force needs to be renamed as the Sharif Police Forces. Need to be purged of Raiwand influences from top to bottom.

Whether its PTIs fault or not there is no doubt pakistani society and pakistan as a nation has failed. Absolutely disgusted by what has happened and the reaction of some people even having the audacity to justify the rape.
This country is finished. Will take decades to change our backwards mindsets.

Extremely disappointing. Motorway police should have been there to help her when she initially called for help or at least could have redirect her call to whoever could help. Village CCPO made it even worse. How do these guys even have jobs that require them to protect people if they can’t even be decent human beings?

The Zia Ul Haq model where you needed 4 witnesses to prove rape and women were to scared to even report the crime? You're a smart one aren't you?

Did the CCPO commit the rape?

What's the obsession with the CCPO? He has been given show cause notice by IG Punjab and given 7 days to respond.

Focus off the victim and on anyone connected to the Govt.

It’s been two years, and PTI cult-followers actually think that people will still entertain their rona dhona over previous governments.

It is quite interesting how PTI have positioned themselves via propaganda. If anything goes wrong, the blame goes to the previous government.

However, if anything goes right, they take the credit.

Unfortunately for them, people are seeing through this drama now and no longer have wool over their eyes.

This debacle is fully on PTI’s head. They had two years to reform Punjab police and they have failed. End of story.

If you ask them how long it will take for the reforms to show, they again will start talking in vague terms because they do not want their joker government to be held accountable.

Imran Khan has learned the difference between doing fantasy politics on top of a container and what it is like when you have the reigns in your hand.

The military have ousted him and his government from foreign policy and strategic affairs already. Is this government is incompetent that the military will now have to look after the police force as well?

Federal Minister for Science and Technology Fawad Chaudhry said Sunday calls for "hanging and burning [the rapists] alive" from prominent members of the PTI and the "educated faction" were a reflection of the society's "violent thinking".

Chaudhry, in a tweet, said: "The demands from the masses of burning them alive and hanging can be expected.

"But, our ministers and the educated class, without hesitation [calling for the same] is a reflection of the society's collective thinking that sees violence as the solution to every problem."

https://www.geo.tv/latest/307734-ch...nging-rapists-slams-minister-for-such-demands

LAHORE: The entire federal Cabinet should apologise for the 'victim-blaming' comments made by Lahore's Capital City Police Officer (CCPO) Mohammad Umar Sheikh, the city's top court remarked in a seething statement on Monday.

In a hearing over a petition to initiate a judicial inquiry over the Lahore motorway gang-rape case, LHC Chief Justice Muhammad Qasim Khan said the government may do so if it wishes and that it is legally possible.

"Read the law and let me know as well under what clause shall the court issue such an order," Justice Khan said. "Don't file petitions just to get them in the news."

The government-appointed lawyer told the court a first information report (FIR) had already been registered and an investigation underway.

Read more: Prime suspect in Lahore motorway gang-rape still at large

To which, the judge responded angrily, asking: "What kind of investigation is this where the CCPO is saying the victim is wrong? A lot of ministers issued distasteful statements," he added, wondering if it was "an investigation or a drama".

Justice Khan slammed the government, as well as Punjab's top brass, saying the "advisors and law ministers are going for photo ops whenever they get a chance".

"Is the law minister some investigation officer that he goes [to press conferences] so that his pictures are taken," he asked. "Later, they post those pictures on social media to show they're 'working'."

The judge sought the relevant committee's notification pertaining to investigation of the Lahore motorway gang-rape case, as well as the latest report on the incident. He also summoned CCPO Sheikh.

Also read: Motorway gang rape suspect surrenders before Lahore police

"What action has been taken on the CCPO's comments," he asked, to which the government's lawyer said the matter was "being investigated".

"Are you saying the CCPO's comments are being investigated," the judge asked, to which the lawyer responded: "No, the entire matter."

"There should have been strict action to reassure this nation's daughters," Justice Khan said, adding that everyone involved should be called to the court.

"We'll look into the matter then."

https://www.geo.tv/latest/307825-en...over-lahore-ccpos-victim-blaming-comments-lhc

Mubarak ho. The punjab police under the govt of pti ended up doing character assassination of waqar ul hassan. They broadcasted his pics and said he did two robberies

No but I'm not surprised. PTI is just another boring facade for the Establishment who aren't interested in discussing issues like women's rights. They want us to continue living under maulvi rule.

As an outsider this all is quite intriguing for me to see. The moulvi rule is real but what do you propose should be done about it in realistic terms? Keep in mind the power that these moulvis wield and the public reaction that could result in the aftermath of any abrupt action. In my humble opinion, your problems are way deeper.

Har koi apna agenda la kar bhoonk raha hai. What Maulvi rule???? People doing politics on the basis of Islam hardly gather 10% of the seats. Sit down liberal loser.

Mubarak ho. The punjab police under the govt of pti ended up doing character assassination of waqar ul hassan. They broadcasted his pics and said he did two robberies

Them broadcasting his pics led to him turning himself in which led to the arrest of Shafqat.

Har koi apna agenda la kar bhoonk raha hai. What Maulvi rule???? People doing politics on the basis of Islam hardly gather 10% of the seats. Sit down liberal loser.

Maulvi rule which we have seen openly in streets of Karachi in recent days.

Has IK or PTI condemned what has happened?

Maulvi rule which means stone age laws like 295-C exist. Maulvi rule which means Asia Bibi and countless others suffer because of bogus blasphemy claims.

Just because our Establishment exploit religion to further their own wealth doesn't mean we should be OK with it. We need to realise our society has crumbed because of the Maulvi-Military Raj.

Lahore gang-rape didn’t take place on motorway: Murad Saeed

Minister for Communications Murad Saeed said on Monday that the Gujjarpura gang-rape of a woman that enraged the whole country didn’t take place on the Sialkot-Lahore motorway.

The woman was raped in front of her children by two unidentified men on the motorway on September 9. She was driving to Gujranwala when she ran out of fuel near Lahore’s Gujjarpura area.

One of her suspected rapists, Shafqat Ali, has been identified and he has confessed to his crime, according to Punjab Chief Minister Usman Buzdar. The police were carrying out raids to arrest another suspect, Abid Ali, the chief minister said in a tweet.

“Let me repeat it again, the incident didn't take place on the motorway,” Saeed said in the National Assembly. The minister, however, didn't specify the area where it took place.

The rape survivor had reportedly made a call to the motorway police after she ran out of fuel near Gujjarpura. But the motorway police declined to help her, saying that section didn’t fall under their jurisdiction.

Saeed said he heard the call himself and the motorway police didn’t hang up on the survivor.

“Speaker sahib, I myself heard the call,” the minister said. “A call was made to 130 and he doesn't say it is not their jurisdiction.”

The minister said the motorway police connected the woman to those who had jurisdiction over the area.

Saeed’s statement came hours after Lahore Capital City Police Officer Umar Sheikh told the Lahore High Court that the section of the motorway where the crime took place was not under the motorway police’s jurisdiction.

“This portion [of motorway] was neither handed nor taken over,” he told the court. “I have said in earlier meetings that we don’t have the personnel to depute.”

The Lahore CCPO said the motorway helpline official had arranged a conference call between the woman and a Frontier Works Organization major. If I say something, I’ll be blamed once again, Sheikh said. She should have called 15, it’s common sense.

The LHC chief justice asked him why the survivor was supposed to make a call herself.

“When she had called 130, they should have contacted 15," the judge said. "The major she talked to should have informed 15.”

https://www.samaa.tv/news/pakistan/...ape-didnt-take-place-on-motorway-murad-saeed/

KARACHI: The Aurat Foundation has slammed the law enforcement agencies for their “total failure” in protecting the citizens and "strongly condemned" the gang rape of a woman at the motorway, said the women's rights group in a press release on Tuesday.

"It is the duty of the state to protect its citizens, women, men and children, irrespective of the time, whether it is day or night, whether they are travelling alone or are in the company of others", said the statement.

The statement came after Lahore police chief Umar Sheikh blamed the victim for travelling late at night and selecting the route that she took. The officer has apoogised over his insensitive remarks which drew ire from the public.

The foundation said that rape has been declared a "crime against humanity" by the international community through a resolution of the Security Council of the United Nations in 2008.

It added that it was "unfortunate" that a senior police official blamed the rape-survivor for travelling alone and being influenced by the security situation in France.

"There cannot be any excuse or justification for any crime, in particular for a heinous crime like rape. Is this admission of the inability of the law-enforcers that they cannot guarantee safety and security to its citizens?" asked the women's rights organisation.

The foundation called upon the prime minister, chief minister Punjab and Punjab Police chief to "prosecute and punish" the suspects in the case. The group said that justice should be provided to the rape survivor to dispel the impression that "law of the jungle" reigns supreme in the country.

Screenshot_20200915-123009_Samsung Internet.jpgScreenshot_20200915-123027_Samsung Internet.jpg

The Islamabad police on Tuesday rejected the US Embassy’s statement regarding the recent spike in street crimes in the capital city, stating that the information is based on assumptions and no such incidents took place in the areas mentioned in the official document.

On Monday, the US Embassy in Islamabad had issued a statement, claiming the recent surge in street crimes in Islamabad – where most incidents have taken place in sectors G-6, F-6, F-7, F-10, I-9, and I-10.

“These street crimes have included muggings, armed robberies, and thefts of mobile phones, purses, and automobiles. US citizens are reminded that police response times to reported crimes can vary,” read the statement, warning the citizens travelling within these sectors and especially while visiting markets to exercise caution and remain alert.

In Pakistan, the conviction rate in rape and sexual assault cases is abysmally low, under 3%, estimates the Karachi-based War Against Rape (WAR).

“Unfortunately, rape and sexual assault is still a taboo subject in Pakistan,” Shehraz Ahmed, program coordinator at the non-governmental organization WAR, told Geo.tv, “Cases of rape are underreported and conviction is even lower, under 3%, across the country.”

Women who do report the crime are forced to visit male-dominated police stations, where they are asked unnecessary questions, Ahmed adds. “At police stations, they face a kind of secondary victimization and harassment by policemen.”

The low conviction rate persists despite Pakistan passing an anti-rape law in 2016, under which government officials can be punished for disclosing the identity of a victim or for attempting to hamper an investigation.

The law also calls for cases of rape and sexual assault to be decided within three months to one year.

“We have the legislation, but it needs to be implemented,” said Ahmed, “Such cases should be concluded in three months, but even today they can drag on for five years, during which the victims are under a lot of pressure to drop the proceedings.”

Another urgent need for effective implementation of the law and to drive up the conviction rate is to recruit more medico-legal officers in the country. These officers are primarily tasked to conduct the medical and physical examination of survivors and prepare a report.

“We have seen over the years that when such examinations were done on time — between 24 hours to 72 hours — the suspects were convicted.”

At the moment, as per WAR’s data, there are only four medico-legal officers in Karachi alone, a city of over 14 million.

“There need to be more medico-legal officers in every city, both male and female,” Ahmed said.

ISLAMABAD: The government will create a national sex offenders database, Senator Faisal Javed Khan said Wednesday, a day after he said the ruling PTI aimed to propose stricter punishments for child rapists.

Speaking to the media here in the federal capital, Javed said sexual abusers often blackmail survivors and their families. "A database of rapists will be set up," he added, noting that a consensus was needed for public hangings of rapists.

"Those who abuse children and women will be punished severely," the senator told the media. "The prime minister has made it clear that no concessions should be made to such monsters."

'Debate on laws of public execution'

He added that there would be legislation to mete out the harshest punishment to predators and sexual abusers and laws enacted to keep the identities of rape survivors secret.

"Such criminals blackmail victims of abuse," he added.

Read more: Will propose stricter punishments for child sexual abusers, says Faisal Javed

Javed stressed that an example would be made out of sexual abusers and child rapists through legislation. "There needs to be a debate on laws of public execution," he said,

Speaking on PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif's insensitive comments on the Lahore motorway gang-rape case a day prior, the senator said the former Punjab chief minister should not be let off the hook so easily just because he apologised for his statement.

'Shehbaz Sharif should resign'

The PTI leader called for Shehbaz to step down, saying he "should resign over his statement".

The PML-N representatives in the House were banging the desks following the party president's comments, he added.

A day earlier, Shehbaz had apologised for the insensitive remarks he made during his speech in the National Assembly wherein he credited his brother, former prime minister Nawaz Sharif, for having the Sialkot motorway constructed during his tenure.

Also read: Shehbaz apologises for insensitive comment on motorway rape case

"Since this incident took place at the Sialkot motorway, I think it won't be inappropriate to say that this motorway was also built under Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif's supervision by the PML-N," Shehbaz had said during his speech.

However, the PML-N president had said he was "sincerely sorry" for his remarks that came across as insensitive.

"Couldn’t properly contextualize my comment during NA speech & it came across as insensitive. I didn’t mean it that way & am sincerely sorry for it.," Shehbaz had said on Twitter.

The Senate Functional Committee on Human Rights on Wednesday expressed strong displeasure over the absence of Lahore Capital City Police Officer (CCPO) Umer Sheikh, who recently garnered widespread criticism over his remarks shifting the blame of the motorway gang-rape on the victim.

Last week, two robbers on the Lahore-Sialkot motorway had gang-raped a mother of two in front of her children in an area falling within the Gujjarpura police jurisdiction. The incident caused a countrywide outpouring of anger and brought sexual violence against women into national focus.

The Senate human rights committee had directed the CCPO to appear at its meeting today in person, but Sheikh failed to do so without notifying the body of a reason.

Read: The motorway rape case has exposed once again the failure of our law-enforcement and legal systems

"Has the CCPO descended from the sky?" asked committee chairman Senator Mustafa Nawaz Khokhar. "Top officials are present here but the CCPO did not show up."

He added that the police officer's absence was "unacceptable".

The committee decided to submit a privilege motion against the Lahore CCPO and issued summons to ensure the officer's presence at its next hearing.

On Monday, CCPO Sheikh had publicly apologised to the motorway gang-rape victim for his earlier remarks implying that she shared responsibility for her rape.

Following the rape, the CCPO had invited criticism when he pontificated that the victim had failed to take due precautions before setting off for her journey.

According to the Lahore police chief’s logic, the woman could have avoided being at the wrong place at the wrong time. He said she should have taken the more populated GT Road to Gujranwala instead of going via motorway, and that she ought to have checked how much fuel her car had before setting off.

The CCPO's comments had triggered a strong reaction from civil society and human rights activists, who condemned the statement and called for his removal from office. He was subsequently issued a show-cause notice over his remarks by the Punjab Inspector General of Police Inam Ghani.

'No administrative failure'
During the meeting, the chairperson of the National Highway Authority (NHA) briefed the committee on the rape.

Officials of the communications ministry told Senators that the incident "did not take place on the motorway" but on another road managed by the NHA.

Inspector General (IG) National Highways and Motorway Police Dr Syed Kaleem Imam informed the committee that the victim had called the Motorway Police helpline at 02:01am after her car ran out of fuel. The call was received by an operator named Abid, who was told by the woman about her situation.

The operator told the woman that her location did not fall within the Motorway Police's jurisdiction and after the call informed the Frontier Works Organisation (FWO) about her situation in a conference call, according to IG Imam.

"Who was responsible for the incident?" the committee members asked IG Imam, who responded that the road was managed by the federal government and overseen by the NHA.

He said Motorway Police is deployed to a road after its construction is completed and where Motorway Police is absent, the policing responsibility lies with the local police.

Committee members further inquired who was responsible for the victim not receiving timely help.

"The woman talked very normally during the call and did not inform about her children," IG Imam said, adding that there was "no administrative failure" that resulted in the incident.

While the prime suspect of the gang-rape, Abid Malhi, remains at large, an anti-terrorism court on Tuesday sent another member of his alleged gang, Shafqat Ali, to jail on judicial remand for 14 days. Police also arrested a ‘third suspect’, identified as Iqbal alias Bala, on the information provided by co-suspect Shafqat during interrogation.

Related: Key suspect in motorway case still at large as gang member held

A senior police official said although Iqbal was not directly involved in the rape case, being an active member of the gang he might disclose possible hideouts of the key suspect and gang leader, Abid.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1580006/h...dy-irked-at-lahore-ccpos-absence-from-meeting

RAWALPINDI: Following the Punjab police’s request to prevent the prime suspect of the motorway gang-rape from leaving the country, the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) has placed his name on its ‘black list’ and alerted the law enforcement authorities about it at all checkpoints across the country.

The Punjab police, which have been desperately searching for Abid Malhi, the prime suspect in the gang-rape case, had made the request to the FIA and sent the particulars of the suspect to multiple teams which are working to trace his whereabouts.

Capital City Police Officer of Lahore Umer Sheikh told Dawn that the FIA had been asked to prevent Malhi from leaving the country and his name had been placed on the watch list.

He said that since placing the name of a suspect on the Exit Control List (ECL) was a lengthy process, the police immediately informed the FIA at all airports and land and sea check-posts to prevent the ‘most wanted’ suspect from leaving the country.

The CCPO said that police teams were working hard to trace the suspect and hopefully he would be captured soon.

Police teams have been conducting raids on different places in various cities to arrest Malhi, but are still unable to trace his whereabouts.

A senior official of the FIA said that whenever the police asked them to prevent anybody on their wanted list from leaving the country, his name was placed on ‘black list’.

Punjab information minister Fayyaz-ul-Hasan Chohan on Thursday announced that the Lahore motorway gang-rape victim has identified both perpetrators of the crime.

"The lady has identified both Abid and Shafqat," Chohan told a press conference in Lahore.

"It was due to Waqar-ul-Hasan's arrest that we were able to reach Shafqat," he added.

Abid Ali, the prime suspect in the case, remains at large, while Shafqat Ali was arrested on Monday for his alleged involvement in the case.

The next day, he was remanded into police custody for 14 days by an accountability court.

The incident has drawn nationwide condemnation from human rights activists, politicians and the public in general over a lack of safety over the route as well as the attitude of the lead investigator, Lahore Capital City Police Officer (CCPO) Umar Sheikh.

Sheikh had blamed the victim for going through the route that she chose and said that she should have checked her petrol tank before getting on the said route. He was served a show-cause notice by the Punjab government for what the chief minister termed an "irrelevant" statement.

There have also been protests across the country calling for extreme punishments for rapists.

Furthermore, the incident has laid bare the "failed" police patrolling system of the province, as observed by Lahore High Court Chief Justice Muhammad Qasim Khan.

Meanwhile, the Punjab government has offered a Rs2.5 million reward for any information leading to the arrest of Abid. The identity of those bringing forward any information will be kept confidential.

The incident
The two suspects had allegedly robbed and gang-raped a woman in front of her children on September 9 in an area falling within Gujjarpura police station's jurisdiction.

The woman was driving to Gujranwala along with her two children when she was forced to stop at around 1:30am at the Gujjarpura section of the motorway after reportedly running out of fuel.

She immediately called a relative and sent him her location. He asked her to dial the Motorway Police helpline 130 in the meanwhile.

In the meantime, the two robbers reportedly approached the car, broke the window, and took the woman and her children to nearby bushes where they allegedly raped her in front of the children.

They also allegedly snatched her purse carrying Rs100,000 in cash, one bracelet, car registration papers, and three ATM cards.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/308391-la...ictim-has-identified-both-perpetrators-chohan

LAHORE: Punjab Police's special teams have failed to arrest the key suspect, Abid Ali, even after more than 10 days have passed since two armed men allegedly gang-raped a woman stranded on the Lahore-Sialkot Motorway with her children before robbing her.

The deputy inspector-general (DIG) of police for investigations, Shahzada Sultan, however, seems hopeful, saying Sunday the fugitive, Abid Ali, would also be arrested soon like his accomplice, Shafqat Ali, was apprehended earlier this week.

Sultan — who heads a six-member special investigation team set up by the inspector-general (IG) of police for Punjab, Inam Ghani — explained that at least eight designated raid teams were working in trying to search for and arrest the key suspect in the Lahore motorway gang-rape case.

Read more: Prime suspect in Lahore motorway rape may change appearance to evade arrest

The eight teams have personnel from Punjab Police's Crime Investigation Agency (CIA), the Counter-Terrorism Department (CTD), and the Special Branch, he said.

The Punjab Police has also laid an integrated network, including rapid-response teams, in different districts across the province based on tip-offs about the presence of Abid Ali as well as his known hideouts.

DIG Sultan noted that two suspects have been found to be involved so far in the Lahore gang-rape case — one that has sent shockwaves across Pakistan, sparked major protests, with many demanding capital punishment for the perpetrators, and prompted a conversation on sexual abuse in mainstream debates.

Related: Man in custody confesses to involvement in motorway rape but prime suspect still at large

Earlier, on Friday, police had warned citizens and security personnel to be wary of the prime suspect as he may change his appearance in an attempt to hide his identity.

As security agencies ramp up search efforts, widen the scope of the investigation, and put technology to use to apprehend the suspect, authorities circulated various possible appearances that Abid may change into in order to avoid being caught.

Also read: Women rush to buy pepper sprays, pocket knives post motorway rape incident

These images were sent out via WhatsApp and plastered across police stations so that anyone who spots an individual bearing resemblance to one of the photos may inform authorities.

Among the four photos distributed, one shows Abid with his original face and hairstyle, a second one with a bald head and moustache, another where he is clean-shaved with a bald head, and the last with a French beard. In all four, his primary features have not been altered.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/308941-la...l-to-nab-key-suspect-abid-ali-over-10-days-on

Islamabad’s first anti-rape crisis cell (ARCC) was established at the Pakistan Institute of Medical Sciences (Pims) on Monday to provide timely response and expedite justice for victims of sexual violence.

The cell was set up by the ministries of health and law and justice with support from the UK government, the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) and the Legal Aid Society.

According to a press release issued by the law ministry, the inauguration of the ARCC came as a part of the implementation of the Anti-Rape (Investigation and Trial) Act, 2021, which necessitated the establishment of anti-rape cells across districts to provide survivors with access to multiple services including the registration of first information reports (FIR), collection of evidence and a medical examination within six hours.

“Survivors of sexual violence suffer tremendously from physical impacts emotional trauma and even social stigmatisation. Therefore, confidential and quick medico-legal services must be available to help them receive justice and hope,” it said.

“This ARCC will be helpful in addressing the critical issues of gender-based violence,” the press release quoted Raja Naeem Akbar, secretary of the law ministry, as saying.

“We are working, through the Special Committee on Anti-Rape Law and National Commission on Rights of Child, with all provinces to ensure that similar Anti-Rape Crisis Cells are established and are fully functional across Pakistan to ensure timely and effective assistance to survivors of rape,” he added.

Meanwhile, Ministry of National Health Services Regulations and Coordination Secretary Iftikhar Ali Shallwani noted that the need for a 24/7 helpline or app was suggested as a means for survivors to access the services provided, particularly in light of the stigma attached to speaking up about rape.

He also emphasised the need for self-defence training for girls in schools.

Ayesha Raza Farooq, the chairperson for the Special Committee on Anti-Rape Law and National Commission on Rights of Child, stated that the government’s goal was to allow every citizen, especially women, to claim public spaces and travel on public routes without any fear of sexual violence.

Separately, UNFPA representative Dr Luay Shabaneh termed rape “an ugly crime” and a crisis that warranted a “collective response”.

“I hope this Anti-Rape Crises Cell will be the first building brick based on the Sexual Violence Response Framework and will be expanded throughout the country,” he said.

Speaking at the inauguration, Pims Executive Director Dr Rana Imran Sikandar asserted that rape cases would be addressed through a holistic approach and with respect, care and confidentiality throughout the medical examination.

According to a report published by Sahil — a non-profit organisation — last year, 12 children on average were subjected to sexual abuse every day in Pakistan from January to June 2023.

It stated that in 2023, the total number of abuse victims was 2,227, of which more than half (54 per cent) were girls. The number of boys abused had risen to 1,020.

Meanwhile, a policy brief released by the National Commission for Human Rights (NCHR) on March 8, 2023, said that around 63,000 cases of gender-based violence (GBV) had been reported in Pakistan over the past three years.

The NCHR, quoting Ministry of Human Rights data, said 80pc of these cases were related to domestic violence, while some 47pc pertained to domestic rape, wherein married women experienced sexual abuse. The data was based on reported cases; the actual number is feared to be much higher.

Dawn