C Lynn
M Marsh
G Maxwell
M Wade
J Faulkner
P Cummins
M Starc
B Stanlake

Interesting. Head opening, no Khawaja. No specialist spinner. THREE 90 MPH+ bowlers. :malik

Will have to take advantage of Maxwells overs and milk Faulkner when he comes on to bowl in the middle of the innings.

Australia XI: David Warner, Travis Head, Steve Smith (c), Chris Lynn, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Billy Stanlake

Australia announce lineup for first ODI:

D Warner
T Head
S Smith
C Lynn
M Marsh
G Maxwell
M Wade
J Faulkner
P Cummins
M Starc
B Stanlake

Interesting. Head opening, no Khawaja. No specialist spinner. THREE 90 MPH+ bowlers. :malik

Head opens for South Australia and I've wanted him in for Finch for a while.

Australia generally haven't played a specialist spinner in Australia for ODIs for a while now

Will have to take advantage of Maxwells overs and milk Faulkner when he comes on to bowl in the middle of the innings.

:afridi1

Faulkner is a wicket taking bowler, he bowls with lots of variation also can surprise with a quicker one.. Pak batsmen will be deceived and he will get more wickets for sure..Faulkner will be the man to collapse Pak batting lineup if they survive an early collapse

They are not dumb like Pakistan such as to field one swing bowler, non-swing pacy (wahab) and two spinners in green mambas...

Lol true there attack does have variety. Maxwell and Head are both off spinners so thought they may want a leg break bowler as we only have sharjeel as a left hand batsmen in the top order.

See u got the answer when you are in the shoes of an aussie.. think like pak then u will add zampa and lyon to the lineup at gabba..

Australia's pace attack honestly scares me. I'm thanking God James Pattinson is injured. Otherwise it would've been:

Mitchell Starc
Stanlake
Cummins
Pattinson

All bowlers equally capable of hitting 150 KPH. These guys are bringing back West Indies of the 80's. How Australia is able to produce so many express fast bowlers all the time is beyond me. I bet they still have a couple more playing domestic cricket.

"It's nice to have three guys who can get it up around 150kph - it's never nice to face." - Steven Smith on slotting in fast bowler Billy Stanlake alongside Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins

Australia on an allout attack... Surviving an early collapse will be very tough for pak, playing hafeez at 3 will be suicidal if they do so.. pak should go with 4 pacers at the gabba one of the bouncy pitches in Australia.

My lineup would be

1. Sharjeel
  2. Azhar
  3. Babar
  4. Malik
  5. Umar
  6. Rizwan
  7. Imad
  8. Hasan Ali
  9. Amir
  10. Wahab
  11. Junaid

Most of the time Mickey has matched with my guess for team selection, lets see tomorrow.

"It's nice to have three guys who can get it up around 150kph - it's never nice to face." - Steven Smith on slotting in fast bowler Billy Stanlake alongside Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins

Australia on an allout attack... Surviving an early collapse will be very tough for pak, playing hafeez at 3 will be suicidal if they do so.. pak should go with 4 pacers at the gabba one of the bouncy pitches in Australia.

My lineup would be

1. Sharjeel
  2. Azhar
  3. Babar
  4. Malik
  5. Umar
  6. Rizwan
  7. Imad
  8. Hasan Ali
  9. Amir
  10. Wahab
  11. Junaid

Most of the time Mickey has matched with my guess for team selection, lets see tomorrow.

This Pak batting will struggle..

Hafeez and Umar are making a comeback.
Sharjeel is a bit of a miss and hit.
Baber too inexperience to expect more..
Sarfraz back in home.
Kami is also making his comeback.
Rizwan is all over the place playing his boundary shots..

This is why consistency in selection is very key. You can't keep on making changes every other series and drop the guys you have invested so much for 1 year and bring them back on a tough tour.

My lineup would be

1. Sharjeel
  2. Azhar
  3. Babar
  4. Malik
  5. Umar
  6. Rizwan
  7. Imad
  8. Hasan Ali
  9. Amir
  10. Wahab
  11. Junaid

Agreed. To be honest, these Pakistani bowlers are pretty good in their own right in terms of pace themselves. We've all seen Wahab and Amir hit 150 many times. Junaid and Hasan are both pretty skiddy so I think it'll be a good competition. However, I'm not too sure you want to play Amir after such a long, tiring series. He's had a lot of workload. Same goes for Wahab.

Lynn, Marsh, Maxwell, Faulkner hard-hitting lower order...looks scary provided pak death bowling is atrocious..

Hopefully no 444 again

This Pak batting will struggle..

Sharjeel is a bit of a miss and hit.
Baber too inexperience to expect more..
Sarfraz back in home.
Rizwan is all over the place playing his boundary shots..

This is why consistency in selection is very key. You can't keep on making changes every other series and drop the guys you have invested so much for 1 year and bring them back on a tough tour.

Making a comeback yes but hafeez not in my lineup
- is he selected? when? who is day dreaming? u or me?

This is why consistency in selection is very key.
- Same old team that played WI series and the last ODI in england.. Only two changes Sarfraz out U Akmal in which is fair and Nawaz out Junaid in which is pitch demanding...

Australia's pace attack honestly scares me. I'm thanking God James Pattinson is injured. Otherwise it would've been:

Mitchell Starc
Stanlake
Cummins
Pattinson

All bowlers equally capable of hitting 150 KPH. These guys are bringing back West Indies of the 80's. How Australia is able to produce so many express fast bowlers all the time is beyond me. I bet they still have a couple more playing domestic cricket.

I think that's about it for genuine 150k bowlers even in domestic. But 140-145 bowlers there's be a few.

I'm really not sure how quick Stanlake will be, I suspect low reads at low140s but often feels quicker due to bounce (a bit like the early McGrath years).If he is a genuine 150 then I'll be praying for him to stay fit, he could be a terror. Take Starc off and replace him with another giant, express lefty after opening burst!

I also haven't seen Pattinson hit more than low 140s since his first injury and seems to operate 135-142 mostly from his last comeback.

I think that's about it for genuine 150k bowlers even in domestic. But 140-145 bowlers there's be a few.

I'm really not sure how quick Stanlake will be, I suspect low reads at low140s but often feels quicker due to bounce (a bit like the early McGrath years).If he is a genuine 150 then I'll be praying for him to stay fit, he could be a terror. Take Starc off and replace him with another giant, express lefty after opening burst!

I also haven't seen Pattinson hit more than low 140s since his first injury and seems to operate 135-142 mostly from his last comeback.

Yeah, perhaps you are right considering 150 is no joke. But all these blokes are young and should be able to serve Cricket Australia well for the coming years given they stay fit. Stanlake will only get quicker from here. He's on 21 and fast bowlers reach their peak pace around 27-30.

As for Pattinson, its still early days for him in his comeback. Saw him getting a couple into the late 140's this BBL so I expect him to get better with time in terms of pace as he's coming back after a year.

:afridi1

Faulkner is a wicket taking bowler, he bowls with lots of variation also can surprise with a quicker one.. Pak batsmen will be deceived and he will get more wickets for sure..Faulkner will be the man to collapse Pak batting lineup if they survive an early collapse

That's why I said milk him in the middle Overs. He isn't too difficult to milk

Azhar, Sharjeel, Hafeez, Babar, Malik, U Akmal, Rizwan, Amir, Wahab, Hasan, Junaid

Expecting this, although Imad would be handy. 4 seamers and Malik/Hafeez to make the fifth.

Pakistan is going to get thrashed. Better off the youngsters getting thrashed than the old men...I'm sure Mickey realises this. Malik is the only old man Pakistan should have in the team...No Wahabs and Professors.

milking someone at his home is not easy. You are underrating Faulkner. He can crank up to 140s easily but he has got variations and is a clev

You are underestimating Faulkner. He is a pretty good bowler but I think he will be used only in death overs or when our batsmen need quick runs. He is a very good death overs bowler and uses a lot of variations.

Looking at Aussie line-up I am getting shivers already. Only an extraordinary performance can win us . I just hope Babar fires coz that will help the team to post big score or chase down one.

Pakistan don't have bowlers to exploit the pitch conditions. We have out of Nick Amir, flat and wayward Wahab, and a newbie Hassan . They have done a big mistake by not developing a fast bowling all-rounder for these conditions.

My team would be.
1 Sharjeel.
2 Azhar.
3 Babar.
4 Malik.
5 Rizwan.
6 Umar ( played well in the WUp game).
7 Imad.
8 Amir.
9 Hassan.
10 Wahab.
11 Junaid.

I will open the bowling with Amir and Hassan, use the yorkers of JK at the death and bring Wahab for short fierce bursts.

Looking at Aussie line-up I am getting shivers already. Only an extraordinary performance can win us . I just hope Babar fires coz that will help the team to post big score or chase down one.

Pakistan don't have bowlers to exploit the pitch conditions. We have out of Nick Amir, flat and wayward Wahab, and a newbie Hassan . They have done a big mistake by not developing a fast bowling all-rounder for these conditions.

My team would be.
1 Sharjeel.
2 Azhar.
3 Babar.
4 Malik.
5 Rizwan.
6 Umar ( played well in the WUp game).
7 Imad.
8 Amir.
9 Hassan.
10 Wahab.
11 Junaid.

I will open the bowling with Amir and Hassan, use the yorkers of JK at the death and bring Wahab for short fierce bursts.

Australia is a very good ODI team there is no doubt about that. When there test team failed badly in SC their ODI team has always looked like a true Australian team despite many key players retiring. Pakistan have gone worse so yes it will be carnage tomorrow. Pakistani fans should not be surprised if they see Aus winning comprehensively tomorrow.

So, are taking bets on how long before Hafeez is called again? Or rather, what will happen first: him getting dropped or him getting called?

Hafeez shouldn't of even be picked in first place, MY 11 would be...

1 - Sharjeel
2- Azhar
3 - Babar
4 - Umar
5 - Malik
6 - Rizwan
7 - Imad
8 -Wahab
9 -Hasan
10 - Junaid
11 - Amir/Rahat

I would choose between RAHAT, AMIR OR WAHAB Depending on Fitness and Form, We deffo miss a Bowling/Batting All Rounder wonder what happened to Anwer Ali and Asghar

The most common sense selection would be Imad with 4 pacers. On batting its Hafeez vs Akmal but Akmal gets selected on decent record against AUS and the warm up game.

With Irfan and Sarfraz out, the team pretty much selects itself.

Hafeez shouldn't of even be picked in first place, MY 11 would be...

1 - Sharjeel
2- Azhar
3 - Babar
4 - Umar
5 - Malik
6 - Rizwan
7 - Imad
8 -Wahab
9 -Hasan
10 - Junaid
11 - Amir/Rahat

I would choose between RAHAT, AMIR OR WAHAB Depending on Fitness and Form, We deffo miss a Bowling/Batting All Rounder wonder what happened to Anwer Ali and Asghar

This is perfect except that Amir is a sure starter and it's between Rahat and Junaid for the 4th pacer. Amir is a brilliant ODI bowler

Not sure why some posters think it will be a thrashing.
Pakistan will win. Aus have many weak links - their batting line-up is the worst I have ever seen. Warner and Smith are their only consistent and reliable batsmen. Head is inexperienced and personally I see nothing special with him at all. Lynn is unproven at international level - T20 is completely different to ODI, stupid decision to select him due to being a good bash player. Marsh and Maxwell are as inconsistent as the Pakistan team!

All we need is a couple of good batting partnerships, then let the bowlers do their thing. Imad will be the best player in this one day series, and this will be the series where Hasan Ali makes his mark and introduces himself to the cricketing world.

This may be the wrong thread, but there would be nothing more I would love right now than to see Pakistan train (in Melbourne). If anyone has any idea when they'll train in Melbourne prior to their MCG match on Sunday, it will be greatly appreciated. I may never get another opportunity to watch them train. Thank you in advance.

1.) Sharjeel Khan
2.) Azhar Ali
3.) Babar Azam
4.) Mohammad Rizwan
5.) Shoaib Malik
6.) Umar Akmal
7.) Imad Wasim
8.) Mohammad Amir
9.) Hasan Ali
10.) Wahab Riaz
11.) Junaid Khan

Anyone can get good figures in Pak domestics. He is total trundler.

Mind sharing why do you think he is a trundler. Any data to back it up. PCB is blamed for his fitness. They didn't use him carefully. Irfan is a wicket taking asset and brings more to the table than wahab and rahat. He has a physical presence, pace, and bounce unlike anyone else on our team. He wasn't utilized properly. His full time job is bowling so it's unfair to start his criticism from batting and fielding Show me a world class fielder on our entire squad.

Not sure why some posters think it will be a thrashing.
Pakistan will win. Aus have many weak links - their batting line-up is the worst I have ever seen. Warner and Smith are their only consistent and reliable batsmen. Head is inexperienced and personally I see nothing special with him at all. Lynn is unproven at international level - T20 is completely different to ODI, stupid decision to select him due to being a good bash player. Marsh and Maxwell are as inconsistent as the Pakistan team!

All we need is a couple of good batting partnerships, then let the bowlers do their thing. Imad will be the best player in this one day series, and this will be the series where Hasan Ali makes his mark and introduces himself to the cricketing world.

If we go by our performance in the 2015 QF I'm sure we'll give them one hell of a fight.

As long as Riaz gets going, don't have to worry about Rahat dropping dollies either this time around.

People are underestimating Pakistan. We are strong and Aussies are inexperienced. Just need to get both Smith and Warner out under 70-80 odd runs.

It will be another humiliating day for Pakistan!

Bhai Jaan. Kabhi Positive bhi soch liya karo. Inshallah Pakistan acha khele ga aur jeeta ga. Be Positive in Life Please, Result matter nahi karta, acha khel zaroor matter karta. Win or loss but do your outmost best...👍