Australia v Pakistan | 2nd ODI | Sydney | 23/01/10 [Aus Inngs]

critical

After the first defeat, which Pakistan team will turn up today? Will it be the the winning Pakistan we all love or the losing Pakistan we love to hate?

Who is your matchwinner(s) today?

my prediction is if we bast first

Butt out for under 20
Akmal quick fire 40
Younis 80 runs
yousuf 35
Umar 55
Malik 40
Afridi 27 runs
Aamer 5
Umar 15
Asif 8
Ajmal 0*

I reckon Asif will be our Star bowler today And Afridi playing a major part to

critical said:
After the first defeat, which Pakistan team will turn up today? Will it be the the winning Pakistan we all love or the losing Pakistan we love to hate?

I have feeling umer akmal will score a century today InshaAllah

critical said:

Doug Bollinger. Picking up a 5 wicket haul.

Its really cloudy here in Sydney today. Has been some rain around overnight and pretty heavy in the morning a few hours ago. Stopped now. There is rain forecast throughout the day. Hope it stays away.

hashman said:
Its really cloudy here in Sydney today. Has been some rain around overnight and pretty heavy in the morning a few hours ago. Stopped now. There is rain forecast throughout the day. Hope it stays away.
Oh no :(

Well, if we get any play, let's hope we win today because we badly need it to lift our moral.

Afridi set up the match so nicely only to give it away in a space of three deliveries.

Hopefully we will draw level here.

The forecast is for light rain mostly in the morning but remaining cloudy throughout the day. There might a small interruption or two but i think it will be a 50 over game.

Really hope it doesnt get rained off and Afridi & Co smash us into a 1-1 level series

Flamin heck!!! Ive still not recovered from the other night... Bad headache! Why do we do it? (sigh)

My top 3 to watch out tonight

WLFC's top 3 players to watch out tonight.

Afridi - With more responsibility , Afridi can produce a match winning spell of bowling and a burst of cameo to lift the team score to respectability. On Sydney's spinning track, he can rattle the Aussies with his mind boggling bowling and while batting he can cause havoc with his blistering assault.

Rana - Whenever you need him, he delivers. The only guy other than Afridi in our team who hasn't dropped a catch yet while playing a match in Australia Tour. He was superb in run out of Michael Clarke which brought us back. Prolly at the moment most hardworking guy while fielding and with the ability to slog & bowl really well at the death, he is one of my man to watch out tonight.

Younis Khan - He is going to score a lot tonight on this spinner friendly track. Dont ask me why i think that, its my feeling that he will do something big today.

WLFC's top 4 forummers to watch out tonight

1. Afridi_Fan - Watch him going beserk when Afridi is playing a big one

2. Big_Mac - biggest Rana fan to date. Pretty tough to win an argument against him. Speaks to the point.

3. Sledger & On_the_Up - Analysis of the match. Both are superb at this.

Please add your top 3 players n forummers to watch out tonight.

It's Akmal brother day today.

Kamran Akmal 50-70
Umar Akmal 70-90
Mohammad Yousuf 50

Game is starting in 3 hours and 13 minutes-ish, toss in 2 hours and 43 minutes :P

I'd play an unchanged lineup. This game is pretty much a do-or-die. There is pretty much no way we can win the next three games in a row, if we end up losing this one. Well, there is, but does anyone seriously expect Pakistan to win 3 ODI's in a row against Australia to win the series in an awesome comeback? :))

Not a fan of his but I really hope Butt fires today. He's been great this tour for Pakistan. And if there's one thing we need most, it's a good/or atleast a decent opening partnership. Sure, Akmal might make a quickfire 40 or even a 60-odd while opening, but Butt is the one who'll need to hold anchor and play some big knocks for us this series.

if he is taking watson and ponting first im afraid the middle order and tailenders have already been taken up :afridi

But if he doesnt then an afridi 10-for is on offer :afridi

im sure someone said on forum asif injured and will be replaced by gul?

by the way what is the pitch like? bat first or bowl?

makaveli786 said:
im sure someone said on forum asif injured and will be replaced by gul?

by the way what is the pitch like? bat first or bowl?

If their is moisture on the pitch, and its overcast, then i think we should bowl, otherwise bat and put up around 280-300.

Player to watch for me would be

1. Aamir
2. Butt
3. Moyo

Afridi has done his job in the 1st ODI, don't expect much from him now.

YK was very lucky last time. He still has a long way to go, not seeing him
lasting long.( YK prove me wrong please:) )

Both Akmals will make runs in 30's and leave.

Wish Asif was playing.

kkmix said:
It's Akmal brother day today.

Kamran Akmal 50-70
Umar Akmal 70-90
Mohammad Yousuf 50

It will be Akmal brother's day if you think a score of 30 would be good. Kamran due to mess up behind the stump.

Hope Asif is fit to play.

If this wicket is anything like the test wicket he will be extremely useful.

Butt loves to play at Sydney, I hope he continues his good form and scores big again

Nazir_ Rules said:
A century from Umar Akmal (comming in at 3 or 4)
Salam Nazir Bhai, how are you? Hope he does, but the reality is he won't, he will make his 30-40 and get out

azfar wali said:
So if we win the toss is it a bowl first kind of track or bat first?

Over cast conditions would suggest to ball first and if rain comes into play later on in the day atleast we will have a DL score in mind which we would be aiming to chase........................i think :S but then again what does iStare think? :moyo

Inshaallah Pakistan will win, I am from US will stay all night for the match.

Walekum Assalam Momo sahib. Sahi waqt par tashreef haazir ki hai aap ney. Kuch meetha peysh kii jiey

According to Jang, Asif is injured and will be replaced by Gul.

WithLoveFromCanada said:
WLFC's top 3 players to watch out tonight.

Afridi - With more responsibility , Afridi can produce a match winning spell of bowling and a burst of cameo to lift the team score to respectability. On Sydney's spinning track, he can rattle the Aussies with his mind boggling bowling and while batting he can cause havoc with his blistering assault.

Rana - Whenever you need him, he delivers. The only guy other than Afridi in our team who hasn't dropped a catch yet while playing a match in Australia Tour. He was superb in run out of Michael Clarke which brought us back. Prolly at the moment most hardworking guy while fielding and with the ability to slog & bowl really well at the death, he is one of my man to watch out tonight.

Younis Khan - He is going to score a lot tonight on this spinner friendly track. Dont ask me why i think that, its my feeling that he will do something big today.

WLFC's top 4 forummers to watch out tonight

1. Afridi_Fan - Watch him going beserk when Afridi is playing a big one

2. Big_Mac - biggest Rana fan to date. Pretty tough to win an argument against him. Speaks to the point.

3. Sledger & On_the_Up - Analysis of the match. Both are superb at this.

Please add your top 3 players n forummers to watch out tonight.

dont see the point of listing our top 3 forumners lol, there all great and some of us got better things to do ;-)

It will be interesting to see how involved MOYo will be today after Ijaz Butt's premature announcement regarding new captain after this series. We may see a divided team with 5 wanna be captains doing their own things today.

live_image_00001.jpg

itduzz said:
According to Jang, Asif is injured and will be replaced by Gul.

Where have you heard this? Ali888 has not been on PP for a couple of days.

Momo is here, salam :)

Will be a good and funny match with him around :P

Cheers Lethal, Hammad.

And by the way, very well played yesterday, Hammad! :)

Cheers Lethal, Hammad.

And by the way, very well played yesterday, Hammad! :)
Thank you sir :P

By the way, I love your Funny Clips thread in time pass.

Hello all.

Toss in around 25 minutes.

I'm not entirely sure what Pakistan should do if they win the toss.. the rain might come back later in the day, so should we put down a target in the board and get Australia off to a slow start so we're ahead on DL? Or do the opposite?

Inswinger said:
Any updates on the weather?

Obviously isn't raining anymore as the Pakistanis are out there practicing on the field. There are a few drops of rain on the camera though but I'm sure it's from earlier this morning. Just overcast out there.

Does anyone notice something very similar to a few weeks ago?

Sydney Test - rained before the game, overcast conditions when the game started
Sydney ODI - rained before the game, overcast conditions when the game starts

Sydney Test - heartbreak in the end for Pakistan after a lovely start
Sydney ODI - heartbreak in the end for Pakistan after a lovely start? :(

Interesting comment by Moyo on Captain's corner. He said YK helped him set up the field in the first ODI:)) So I guess they both think alike. Make Afridi the captain:))

Might be some more drizzle or a light shower developing in the evening but shouldnt be worse than that. And will stay cloudy all through the day

iHammad said:
Definetely looking forward to his innings today! Cmon :yk show the Aussies the real batsman you are.
even if he got a century, yousuf will ensure that it counts for nothing :(

saadjhussain said:
even if he got a century, yousuf will ensure that it counts for nothing :(
Moyo never has to try for anything, he has other 10 players doing the job for him