Australia v Sri Lanka | 1st Test | Brisbane | 8/11/07

Amjid Javed

PakPassion's 100,000 posts man
Australia have announced their squad for the new era with Phil Jaques, Shaun Tait and Brad Hogg in a 13-man squad for the first Test against Sri Lanka.
It is Australia's first Test series since Justin Langer, Glenn McGrath and Shane Warne retired after the Ashes.

Jaques opens with Matthew Hayden while spinner Hogg will vie with Stuart MacGill for Warne's place.

Brett Lee leads the pace attack as Tait and Mitchell Johnson compete for the place vacated by McGrath.

Chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch admitted the experience of picking a Test side after the retirements of three great players was daunting.

606: DEBATE
Who do you want to see in the final XI?

"It's the first time any of us have sat down and named a side that doesn't include the greats like Warne and McGrath," he said.

"But we're confident about the new era of Australian cricket which starts at the Gabba on Thursday (8 November)."

MacGill, 36, is likely to get the nod over Hogg, but Hilditch wants to see all 13 players train before making a final decision.

"We are replacing someone who will never be replaced in Warne," he said.

"But in Stuart MacGill we're really confident, he's a class leg-spinner with a great Test record.

"Having both in the squad gives us the opportunity to assess the conditions and then decide which selection is best."

Left-handed Jaques, 28, is set for only his third Test appearance, and first for 18 months.

MacGill, who has played 40 Tests in a career spanning nine years, said: "I'm close to taking 200 Test wickets and that will be an interesting one for me because I know I've only got two wickets to get there.

"If I get a game, then two wickets isn't enough really. I think it'll be a case of 'yep that's good, got that - now move on', and look forward to taking more and more wickets."

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Australia squad: Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Matthew Hayden, Brad Hogg, Michael Hussey, Phil Jaques, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Stuart MacGill, Andrew Symonds, Shaun Tait.

(Source Cricinfo)

Sri Lanka were highly competative in the last series between the Two in Australia and it will be intresting to see hwo they go in this series.

Jacques should get a chance to open, looks like symons is been persisted with and its hogg v MaCGill for spinners spot!

I'd say MacGilla has the inside running for the spinner's spot. It will be interesting to see how Jaques goes - I had picked Rogers to start ahead of him.

I'm curious to see how the post-Warne & Pidge era team performs. SL are a pretty decent Test outfit, though they haven't had much success in OZ.

This series might as well end up a draw.
batting: Slight edge to Australia
hayden-jaques ---- Attapatu-Jaya draw
Ponting-clark-hussey-symond ---- Sanga-jayawardene-Samaraweera-Silva Advantage Australia
+Gilly-McGill-Lee-Johnson-Tait ---- +Jaya-Maharoof/Fernando-Vass-bandara-Malinga Advantage SL.

Bowling:
Lee-Johnson-Tait-McGill-symond-clark ---- Maharoof/Fernando-Vass-Murali-Malinga-Jayasuriya.

Murali negates any advantage the aussies have over the SL in fast bowling. Sanath just takes care of Clark-symond combo.

This of course is the first test series the Aussies will be playing without Warne and McGrath. Whilst their bowling resources aren't as potent without the 2 legendary cricket cricketers I still feel they have more than enough variety in their attack to see off the Lankans.

its gonna e a good tight series i feel

but why the heck didnt sl play england first and then come to australia

Boi said:
its gonna e a good tight series i feel

but why the heck didnt sl play england first and then come to australia
because India will be there in Dec. SL goes back to Aus in Jan for ODI series

2 test series

Saj said:
This of course is the first test series the Aussies will be playing without Warne and McGrath. Whilst their bowling resources aren't as potent without the 2 legendary cricket cricketers I still feel they have more than enough variety in their attack to see off the Lankans.
It's not just their bowling, it's the might of their batting which is their strong suit. Add fielding and typical Aussie tenacity, and they remain a very formidable opponent.

Not unbeatable though, but the loss of Sangakarra is crippling. I can see S.L being skittled in this series, which is a shame, because with Sanga in the side, this would have been a good hard series.

I see the Aussies destroying S.L in the first test and S.L coming back with a respectable draw in the second.

Prediction: 1-0 Aus

Tait is out

Australia's talented paceman Shaun Tait says he is uncertain when he will be fit enough to play cricket again.
The 24-year-old was withdrawn from Australia's squad for the first Test against Sri Lanka starting on Thursday due to recurring elbow problems...

He has been replaced in the 13-man Australia squad by Tasmania fast bowler Ben Hilfenhaus....

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/cricket/other_international/australia/7078640.stm

To celebrate 25 years of playing each other the series will be called the murali v warne series.

Good move!

Salam Amjid bhai
hope you are fine Inshallah

I wish Pakistan would ask boards like Sri Lanka have to name test series after great players.
Should be The Bob Woolmer Trophy v Saffies, The Imran-Kapil series v India, Javed-Border trophy v Aussies etc.

V salam Fessal bhai,

Am good mashallah, i agree with your idea PCB should look into this.

The S.A v Pak series should have been the called the Bob woolmer trophy.

I think its going to be 2-0 to the Aussies.

Aussies have finalised their 11 mitchell johnson, Brett lee, Macgill and Stuart clark will make up their new look test attack. Jacques will open with Haydos.

Australia v Sri Lanka - 1st Test Preview Thread

squads have been announced

Australia 1 Matthew Hayden, 2 Phil Jaques, 3 Ricky Ponting (capt), 4 Michael Hussey, 5 Michael Clarke, 6 Andrew Symonds, 7 Adam Gilchrist (wk), 8 Brett Lee, 9 Mitchell Johnson, 10 Stuart Clark, 11 Stuart MacGill.

Sri Lanka (probable) 1 Sanath Jayasuriya, 2 Marvan Atapattu, 3 Michael Vandort, 4 Mahela Jayawardene (capt), 5 Thilan Samaraweera, 6 Chamara Silva, 7 Prasanna Jayawardene (wk), 8 Chaminda Vaas, 9 Dilhara Fernando, 10 Lasith Malinga, 11 Muttiah Muralitharan.

australia should win the first test easily if you ask me. who would u put ur money on?

This is a good test series. From a purely cricketing angle, it is a superior series to India-Pak that is currently taking place. Im afraid India-Pak are two very poor teams with Pakistan being a lot poorer then India. It is a bad time to be a Pakistan supporter. We have just two genuine test-class batsmen in YK and Moyo. Our best bowler is still a 32 year old injury prone drugs cheat and a despicable character. And we have absolutely no talent coming through. Our domestic cricket structure is a disgrace. Our board are a bunch of corrupt idiots led by a man who doesnt know the first thing about cricket. It will take a cricketing revolution and many years of work before Pakistan can become a cricket power again. And quite frankly, cricket is the furthest thing in the mind of most Pakistanis at this moment in time.

looking forward to it. starts in 8-9 hours I think

PS: SA-NZ also starts in about 17-18 hours

Sri Lanka Vs Australia 1st Test Brisbane?

Hey Everyone does anyone know in how many hours this match starts U.S Time. Also what channel is showing this match Cbn, Cricket Plus? Thanks!

game will start in about 5 hours time from now i recon.

I hope I get some good links to watch it. This is going to be some series. The most exciting team (to watch) and the most efficient team. I wish Sangakkara was playing though. He is in a different dimension altogether.

I´m not very excited for the match because it´s going to be a dead-rubber. Sri Lanka haven´t really played that well away from home and have been particularly bad in Australia.... Will exciting to see how the crowd behaves with Muralitharan though, and if whether he will break Shane Warne´s record. I reckon Aussies will see him of well and won´t let him break the record. One thing is for sure, they are not going to defend against him, instead they will go after him to attack, that´s crystal clear.

Boundary View said:
This is a good test series. From a purely cricketing angle, it is a superior series to India-Pak that is currently taking place. Im afraid India-Pak are two very poor teams with Pakistan being a lot poorer then India. It is a bad time to be a Pakistan supporter. We have just two genuine test-class batsmen in YK and Moyo. Our best bowler is still a 32 year old injury prone drugs cheat and a despicable character. And we have absolutely no talent coming through. Our domestic cricket structure is a disgrace. Our board are a bunch of corrupt idiots led by a man who doesnt know the first thing about cricket. It will take a cricketing revolution and many years of work before Pakistan can become a cricket power again. And quite frankly, cricket is the furthest thing in the mind of most Pakistanis at this moment in time.

Comparing India-Pak to Aus-SL is just plain overboard.

And how is India a poorer team than Lanka. SL lost to us in conditions that are way more familiar(i.e in India) with the same lineup they are playing now.Both tests and ODIs. Last time we toured down under, we atleast drew it that too in a 4match series. All others are losing by number of matches in a series to 0. SL even lost to a state team just a week ago.

For all SL's poweress in ODI, they just lost at home, 4-1 to Eng of all people . And ENG rarely wins a thing in Asia baring an odd match here and there..

And yeah, SL too got only a couple of world class players.. Sanga and Murli.. Rest are hometown bullies. Jayasurya used to be something, hardly anymore... and was an average test player even in his prime.

JosheelaKaptan said:
Comparing India-Pak to Aus-SL is just plain overboard.

And how is India a poorer team than Lanka. SL lost to us in conditions that are way more familiar(i.e in India) with the same lineup they are playing now.Both tests and ODIs. Last time we toured down under, we atleast drew it that too in a 4match series. All others are losing by number of matches in a series to 0. SL even lost to a state team just a week ago.

For all SL's poweress in ODI, they just lost at home, 4-1 to Eng of all people . And ENG rarely wins a thing in Asia baring an odd match here and there..

And yeah, SL too got only a couple of world class players.. Sanga and Murli.. Rest are hometown bullies. Jayasurya used to be something, hardly anymore... and was an average test player even in his prime.

I agree with you. Just because Sri Lanka reached the World Cup 2007 Final doesn´t they are superior than India or Pakistan. Actually Sri Lanka is poorer (except for fielding) team than both of these teams. It´s just that they aren´t criticized a lot because the expectation level is quite low and there Media isn´t like the one of Pakistan or India which dedicates one entire page in criticizing players.........

Most visiting teams top orders tend to fail misreably in Australia and even thou Jayasuriya and attapattu are quality players i cant see that trend changing, the loss of sangakarra is a huge blow. Australias possible weak spots are the middle order of clarke and symonds and the bowling may get tested but overall Australia should have to much fire power for sri lanka unless murali weaves his magic.

DirecTV has started showing video. Channel 9 feed :) and they are showing the ground. but now the cooking show host (can't remember his name) is talking. 15 min to start

Jayawerdene has won the toss and SL will bowl first. Malinga is not playing

The Englishman's legs are showing. I think that is a no no. Either wear longer socks or keep your pant legs down.

12thMan said:
DirecTV has started showing video. Channel 9 feed :) and they are showing the ground. but now the cooking show host (can't remember his name) is talking. 15 min to start

Jayawerdene has won the toss and SL will bowl first. Malinga is not playing

The Englishman's legs are showing. I think that is a no no. Either wear longer socks or keep your pant legs down.
any streams?

check the streams thread. some posted links at the end might be on for this match as the Ind-Pak match doesn't start for another 8 hours

decent crowd. Not a full house. I'll say maybe .6 full

pitch doesn't have much grass. Taylor and Healy not sure why SL chose to field first

Aleem Dar couldn't get Visa sorted out (I would think he would have a long multiple entry Visa) so he might have been replaced by Rudi or the other umpire. How did the other umpire (or Rudi) get their Visa sorted out so quickly? Was Aleem Dar being Lazy?

stupid move to drop malinga. Mahroof doesn't warrant a place in a test team.

Both umpires are not here. Dar and Bucknow. Rudi Koertzen and Tony Hill (NZ) are replacements. Both original umpires had some paper work problems :)

After one over covers coming on
Aus 0-0

I was really excited to see Malinga bowl on this tour....why'd they drop him?

kablooee87 said:
I was really excited to see Malinga bowl on this tour....why'd they drop him?
Apparently the pitch was too slow for him. Some nonsense of that sort

really don't know about prefernce to Maharoof over Malinga. Haven't seen much of both in tests. I wanted to see Malinga too as he has played a few matches and batsmen have faced him before. So not a surprise package for the batsmen

The picture looks darker now then before. No news on start of play yet or even if it is raining

picture looks better. covers are coming off and Koertzen is on the ground at Lalu Khet end doing bhangra

The cooking show man is talking to McGrath. He has the 4th and pinky finger of right hand taped

Players are getting malished so they are all tundrust and relaxed. Play about to start

Jacques still to score a run. Fernando coming on
Aus 15-0 after 8 overs

Fernando spent 10 days in Australia in March to sort out some action (not chucking) - Tony Grieg
But he was playing WC then :13:

Murali on to bowl. one over left to lunch :)) only 9 overs

12thMan said:
Murali on to bowl. one over left to lunch :)) only 9 overs
Really?

Thats where cricket is stuck in the middle ages - why not play through as theve had plenty of time off so far!

I think I heard Tony G say lunch after Murali over and now he is saying after this over. They could have just delayed the start for 20 min and not have a break now

Ump talking to Fernando about stepping on the pitch

Both umpires are not here. Dar and Bucknow. Rudi Koertzen and Tony Hill (NZ) are replacements. Both original umpires had some paper work problems :)
Lunch time
Aus 22-0 after 11 overs

sri lanka is a one man team. make that 2 man team.

i got this feeling australia will win by an innings an X runs.

Michael Slater thinks Dhoni will be a good choice for next captain
This test to come on cricket show - Murali, Master class, Jaques, MacGill and Hilfenhaus

Players on the field and play to start after lunch
Aus still 22-0 which is the same score before lunch

Hayden still in form. Nice drive to wide mid off and a cut to covers for fours

Aus 39-0 after 14 overs
I am going to take a nap now as Pak plays at midnight

by dropping Malinga SL have made a disgusting attempt to kill the prestigious culture of extreme pace and reverse swing hence now i am rooting for AUS. :16:

22.2 Vaas to Hayden, OUT
ML Hayden c Muralitharan b Vaas 43 (97m 63b 5x4 0x6) SR: 68.25

22.2 Vaas to Hayden, OUT, first blood! Hayden walks down the track, looking to go over mid-off, but he's early into the shot and splices a leading-edge up over extra cover, and Murali, running backwards and to his left from mid-off, keeps his eyes on it takes a great catch away from his body out near wide long-off
ML Hayden c Muralitharan b Vaas 43 (97m 63b 5x4 0x6) SR: 68.25

PlanetPakistan said:
by dropping Malinga SL have made a disgusting attempt to kill the prestigious culture of extreme pace and reverse swing hence now i am rooting for AUS. :16:

I would have Maliinga in there especially because of the variety he provides.
Vass, Fernando, and Mahroof are almost of the same pace.

Anyways AUS looking good as usual. No major threat from Sri Lankan attack, and not much swing.

Was it Jacques who piled heaps of runs against PAK A or was he someone else?

the true passionist said:
I would have Maliinga in there especially because of the variety he provides.
Vass, Fernando, and Mahroof are almost of the same pace.

Anyways AUS looking good as usual. No major threat from Sri Lankan attack, and not much swing.

Was it Jacques who piled heaps of runs against PAK A or was he someone else?
No mate- Fernando is a lot quicker than the other 2.

Yeah i think it was jaques.

183/1. Ponting 56, Jaques 80. sl bowlers have been largely ineffective

Murali spins his web. Gets Ponting stumped with the doosra. Quality keeping from Sangakarra too.

Ponting gone for 56.

2/186