Australia vs Pakistan | 3rd test | Hobart | Day 3- 16th Jan 2010

Great chance for Chaand Babu to play a historical innings in this dead rubber and cement his place for the next series just like Ijaz Ahmed Lassi Phelwan used to do.

I am actually looking forward to our batting. It will be interesting to see if Butt can go on to make a big one, if Malik can hold on to his title as 'The King of Dead-rubbers' and I want to see how Sarfraz bats.

Shoaib Malik is going to smash a double century. Salman Butt will smash a triple century.

Fine... now the truth.

Salman Butt will run out the whole team.

We will be all out for around 100 - Ponting will enforce the follow on and we will be 50/3 by the end of the day

I'll wake up in the morning and check the score on teletext.

Then I'll watch Amla and co bat.

Aamer and Sarfraz to top score.

Inshallah butt will make up for his two lapses in concentration!!

and malik will score 150 odd with sarfraz also nipping in a half century

some really negative comments!!!

i hope Malik and Butt and the team can give some fight back!

allways support Pakistan

Pakistan Zindabad!!!!!

Sohaib-789 said:
Inshallah butt will make up for his two lapses in concentration!!

and malik will score 150 odd with sarfraz also nipping in a half century

Honestly, your avatar is beautiful. I was thinking of using that one as well. Beautiful release and fantastic end result.

Also, love your optimistic view. I hope that is the case but it seems unlikely especially with the cloud cover in Hobart right now.

Aussies getting their ass whooped by Butt and Malik, Mark My words, they both get double centuries and woh bhi not out. Pakistan to declare 600 (267 not out from Butt and 249 not out from Malik)

kingusama92 said:
Honestly, your avatar is beautiful. I was thinking of using that one as well. Beautiful release and fantastic end result.

Also, love your optimistic view. I hope that is the case but it seems unlikely especially with the cloud cover in Hobart right now.

Thanks!! and yes im very optimistic i want the best for pakistan crciket and for the nation lets just hope :D

Inshallah the remaining batsmen will get us past the follow-on

Pakistan are playing with an incorrect approach.
In the scenario such as the current one, you cannot thrash your way out, you can ONLY bat your way out. Starting with winning sessions, bat the first session without losing a wicket, rotate strike gently but commit yourself to ground shots and pull back any risky shots.
In the next session Australia will change their strategy and slowly tire and then eventually deflate.
Too much T20 has spoiled these guys, and their technique and lack thereof is showing and its very ugly.
A loser like Marcus North looks awesome in the face of this Pakistani outfit.

The other option if you had stronger lineups would be to hammer the opposition to submission like a Sehwag or Gilchrist would have done, problem is we dont have stern spines coming after such batsmen.

I still think we can draw it, but have to take it session by session.
Even the loss of 1 wicket throughout a session is victory in itself.

Kiya aisa ho sakta hai??

After day 3

Pakistan
385/5
Malik 152 notout.
Sarfaraz 101 notout.

I doubt the aussies will follow on they will probably bat again to give their bowlers some rest.Batting again would suit pak better though rather then sulking in the field.

pak4life said:
I doubt the aussies will follow on they will probably bat again to give their bowlers some rest.Batting again would suit pak better though rather then sulking in the field.

I don't know. I think Ponting might take the weather into consideration. It's supposed to rain a lot for the remainder of this test thus he might look to follow on and have a good go at us before the rain comes in.

He has nothing to lose thus he might as well go all out with his attack.

The writing is on the wall. If they don't collapse till tea it will be a good achievement.

pak4life said:

a rest from what? They have hardly bowled and i dont think they will bowl many more overs to dismiss us

any one watching HK vs Eng u-19s match ?

This guy Irfan looks a pretty neat batsmen & apparently he bowls 80+ too , if hes pakistanis may be you guys should try getting him into Pak team..not test material , but can be a very good no7 in ODIs/T20s

Today could very well be the last day of the series. Hold on to your hats!

Yesterday MoYo should have clearly communicated to Butt that he is running three, but his communication is so poor that he even failed to do that. During running the communication should be loud and clear!!!!

Malik Malik he's our man, if he can't do it no one can!

chalo chalo shabash, sab team ke liye jaldi se dua karo!

As the Kaiser Chiefs would say - I PREDICT A RUNOUT!

Guyz i'd just like to mention my grandad has had a heart attack and wud really appreciate it if you guyz made dua 4 him thanks. :(

cricketpassion said:
Butt and Malik will score centuries inshallah

their not looking to win now, there looking for a draw as yousuf said in that interview..nothing exciting about to happen today

Sohaib-789 said:
Guyz i'd just like to mention my grandad has had a heart attack and wud really appreciate it if you guyz made dua 4 him thanks. :(
Inshallah he will be fine. Will keep him in my prayers.

Shezada said:
their not looking to win now, there looking for a draw as yousuf said in that interview..nothing exciting about to happen today
Did Yousuf actually say that in public.. dear oh dear. Fair enough if thats your plan but you aren't meant to announce that you don't believe you have any hope left in the match.

if the team's paying for a draw on the 3rd day of the Test match, they're going to lose.

Sledger said:
Did Yousuf actually say that in public.. dear oh dear. Fair enough if thats your plan but you aren't meant to announce that you don't believe you have any hope left in the match.

he said "It is difficult to save this game. It is a very flat wicket, but if we play for the country and try to survive sessions, not go for runs, every session we try to save, maybe we can save the game. It is difficult but not impossible. We cannot give up on it."

theres no way we'll win like that by just trying to survive, so he must be thinking draw

And his average has actually REACHED 30 now - WELL DONE SALMAN! :D

Sohaib-789 said:

May Allah give him shafa and good health.Aamin

Malik looks like he's kept the form he had in NZ. :))

Everyone knows that it is a loss for Pakistan and if somehow 2-3 batsmen survive for atleast a session each (one atleast 2) this innings then all they can hope for is a draw.

There is nothing to hide or to say to pump up the team or the fans. Realisticly Pakistan will be batting again today. Show he say it or fans just know

I think :malik wants to make Punter proud by 'batting time'.

Sohaib-789 said:

Allah kareem

Sohaib-789 said:

May Allah SWT grand your granddad complete shifa. Ameen.

Butt saab ko bathao single kasi lathi hei! damn..this is pathetic..international player 112 bowls and only three singles..butt saab ko baryani kei plate dekhao..phir woh doori gei! damn this is pathetic

:four

These odd boundaries are fine. But you MUST ROTATE THE STRIKE.

Shezada said:
yousuf ne salman ko upnee wicket pur ankhe thekhai thee lol

yeap i thought that was hilarious..MoYo does have an aggressive side..but just not on the field..

like they say a picture tells a thousands words..well that one shot told a thousand words..Butt probably did take a taxi to the hotel and when Yousuf did yell..probably cried to big Butt the chairman..

gollumbird said:
:four

These odd boundaries are fine. But you MUST ROTATE THE STRIKE.

No wonder Butt doesn't get higher scores and hundreds..he doesn't score any singles..

My goodness. The stare from Yousuf gave me chills. I would never want to have him looking at me like that. Terrifying :)).

He was ticked off for sure.

kingusama92 said:
My goodness. The stare from Yousuf gave me chills. I would never want to have him looking at me like that. Terrifying :)).

And Butt did the right thing by looking down at the ground.

kingusama92 said:

Ok fine. He was ticked off. But this is no way to humiliate your teammate in front of the whole world by staring at him for 2 minutes.

gollumbird said:
Ok fine. He was ticked off. But this is no way to humiliate your teammate in front of the whole world by staring at him for 2 minutes.

if your pissed your pissed lol That was really pathetic by Butt's standards as well

gollumbird said:

some players deserve to be humiliated otherwise they will never learn butt is one of them.

gollumbird said:

your right,akmal should of done it instead after butt gave off the 2nd run-out a few overs after

gollumbird said:

I would have agreed with you but the fact that Butt was the culprit.. I think Yousuf should have stood longer.

The guy shouldn't even be in the team cause he can't bat properly and then he can't even run. What rubbish.

Although the stare and calling out of Butt might turn out to be a masterstroke by Yousuf (accidentally of course but still) if Butt scores big.

Shezada said:
your right,akmal should of done it instead after butt gave off the 2nd run-out a few overs after

Nah. Akmal should have smashed his head in with the bat. :)

pak4life said:
some players deserve to be humiliated otherwise they will never learn butt is one of them.

How well did he learn his lesson! He ran another one one few moments later :)))

gollumbird said:

Agree , plus he spoke too much in media which he shouldnt .poor captaincy .shoud have spoken to him in private