Axact fake degree case: Court sentences Shoaib Sheikh to 7 years in prison [Update #80]

Former FBI agent claims Karachi-based IT firm still selling fake academic degrees: report

ISLAMABAD: A former agent of the Federal Bureau of Investigations in the United States has alerted the Pakistani mission in Washington about the possible resurgence of a Karachi-based information technology firm invovled in selling fake academic degrees, The News reported on Monday.

Five years ago, an expose into the illegal operations of the firm by The New York Times had led to the closure of the firm. The owners of the company were arrested and sentenced to jail. Authorities had raided the officers of the firm and seized several incriminating documents.

In a letter addressed to the Pakistani mission, the former FBI agent claims the firm has started offering fake academic degrees again. The letter was addressed to Asad Majeed Khan, the Pakistani Ambassador to the United States, according to The News.

”Axact is in business today, doing what they have for the past 16 years. Degree sales range from $199 for single victims. Axact’s main target for their degree and transcript sales, followed by reported up-sell (blackmail and extortion) continues to be the Middle East," the letter reads.

'At least 100,000 diplomas sold in the US'
"It is followed by the United States (29%). I believe 100,000+ diplomas and transcripts have been sold in the United States alone via the Axact call centers in Pakistan. Local sales were at least 83+ in the District of Columbia, 2,632+ in the State of Maryland," it adds.

"As is customary, these were probably accompanied by notary attestations, Embassy seals and stamps, and US DOS Apostille Attestations (most likely all counterfeit)," wrote Allen Ezell, former FBI agent who was also head of FBI’s DipScam diploma-mill task force.

"Axact touts its fake schools as being American, utilising many addresses and telephone numbers in the United States, along with the ‘US Presidential Scholarship’ as bait to attract new students," the letter addressed to the envoy in Washington notes.

"To further this ‘American’ illusion, many of these web sites contain pictures of the US Capitol building, along with the American flag appearing numerous times on these web sites," claimed Ezell in his five-page letter dispatched to the Embassy of Pakistan in Washington.

'Employees never left their desks'
"While Axact was changing its name on the front of their building (cosmetic only), their employees inside never left their desks nor stopped selling fake degrees. Its employees sit in their cubes selling diplomas on both old and new fake schools, along with other scams," it reads.

"The name of their employer was changed on their building ID cards p Axact has increased its online education business to accommodate the millions of students, who because of the pandemic, can no longer attend their traditional brick and mortar schools," claimed the former FBI agent.

In a blog published online with the Academic Credentials Evaluation Institute on 22nd April, the agent says that 5,000 student inquiries per month with about 40% ‘enrollment. Monthly gross revenue is close to $2,000,000 for the IT firm based out of Pakistan.

"As a sales incentive, a $10,000 bonus is being offered when there has been $1,000,000 in sales for a single school. Axact has about 900 employees at their Karachi and Islamabad call centers working mainly on their fake classes scheme," he claimed.

'Did not even get a courtesy call'
"They advertise via pop ups and banners in social media. They lure their victims through ‘spider web’ type sites by field of interest, such aswww.gulfonlineeducation.com, www.onlineengineeringguide.com and www.onlinedegreeprofs.com," he added further in his blog.

When asked to comment on his allegations, the former agent said he had left several messages to Pakistani authorities. "With about five voice mails left at [Pakistan] Embassy and two conversations with his [Ambassador Khan] secretary, I did not get even a courtesy call," he said.

"Since I am retired from the FBI I have no idea how many buyers have submitted the Internet based complaint to the FBI, USPO, USSS, FTC, etc. I am sure some have, but I do not have details. I know of no investigations in this country by anyone except the FBI," he added.

"I can't answer some of your questions without jeopardizing some sources. In the last several weeks I have spoken to an Axact/Crest fake school salesperson about a school, and seen new sample documents so I positively know the game is on," he told The News.

'Never contacted by anyone about Axact'
"I have only hit the high spots in this 20+ year fraud—it is like an iceberg, the likes of which the world has not previously seen. I am in the process of writing additional articles on the Axact criminal enterprise. I want to be accurate in my writings," he wrote in his letter.

Ambassador Khan, while talking to The News, said he was not in knowledge of any such development yet. "I have never been contacted by anyone regarding Axact during my time here as Ambassador. I don’t recall seeing anything from him. Nor any of my colleagues," he said.

Amir Mansoob, consul for Axact, in his response to this retired FBI agent’s letter, strongly rebutted the claim. A similar letter of some FBI official was produced before the FIA investigation team in Pakistan as an evidence, which later courts did not consider as admissible evidence, the firm’s counsel claimed.

“Our firm’s representative challenged that one FBI’s official letter in a local court in US. where it was proved years back that the Axact was not doing an illegal operations anywhere in US. Nothing found wrong or unlawful and there existed no such issue of fake or forged degrees/diplomas operations," the lawyer further argued.
https://www.geo.tv/latest/287421-fo...rm-still-selling-fake-academic-degrees-report

Former FBI agent claims Karachi-based IT firm still selling fake academic degrees: report

ISLAMABAD: A former agent of the Federal Bureau of Investigations in the United States has alerted the Pakistani mission in Washington about the possible resurgence of a Karachi-based information technology firm invovled in selling fake academic degrees, The News reported on Monday.

Five years ago, an expose into the illegal operations of the firm by The New York Times had led to the closure of the firm. The owners of the company were arrested and sentenced to jail. Authorities had raided the officers of the firm and seized several incriminating documents.

In a letter addressed to the Pakistani mission, the former FBI agent claims the firm has started offering fake academic degrees again. The letter was addressed to Asad Majeed Khan, the Pakistani Ambassador to the United States, according to The News.

”Axact is in business today, doing what they have for the past 16 years. Degree sales range from $199 for single victims. Axact’s main target for their degree and transcript sales, followed by reported up-sell (blackmail and extortion) continues to be the Middle East," the letter reads.

'At least 100,000 diplomas sold in the US'
"It is followed by the United States (29%). I believe 100,000+ diplomas and transcripts have been sold in the United States alone via the Axact call centers in Pakistan. Local sales were at least 83+ in the District of Columbia, 2,632+ in the State of Maryland," it adds.

"As is customary, these were probably accompanied by notary attestations, Embassy seals and stamps, and US DOS Apostille Attestations (most likely all counterfeit)," wrote Allen Ezell, former FBI agent who was also head of FBI’s DipScam diploma-mill task force.

"Axact touts its fake schools as being American, utilising many addresses and telephone numbers in the United States, along with the ‘US Presidential Scholarship’ as bait to attract new students," the letter addressed to the envoy in Washington notes.

"To further this ‘American’ illusion, many of these web sites contain pictures of the US Capitol building, along with the American flag appearing numerous times on these web sites," claimed Ezell in his five-page letter dispatched to the Embassy of Pakistan in Washington.

'Employees never left their desks'
"While Axact was changing its name on the front of their building (cosmetic only), their employees inside never left their desks nor stopped selling fake degrees. Its employees sit in their cubes selling diplomas on both old and new fake schools, along with other scams," it reads.

"The name of their employer was changed on their building ID cards p Axact has increased its online education business to accommodate the millions of students, who because of the pandemic, can no longer attend their traditional brick and mortar schools," claimed the former FBI agent.

In a blog published online with the Academic Credentials Evaluation Institute on 22nd April, the agent says that 5,000 student inquiries per month with about 40% ‘enrollment. Monthly gross revenue is close to $2,000,000 for the IT firm based out of Pakistan.

"As a sales incentive, a $10,000 bonus is being offered when there has been $1,000,000 in sales for a single school. Axact has about 900 employees at their Karachi and Islamabad call centers working mainly on their fake classes scheme," he claimed.

'Did not even get a courtesy call'
"They advertise via pop ups and banners in social media. They lure their victims through ‘spider web’ type sites by field of interest, such aswww.gulfonlineeducation.com, www.onlineengineeringguide.com and www.onlinedegreeprofs.com," he added further in his blog.

When asked to comment on his allegations, the former agent said he had left several messages to Pakistani authorities. "With about five voice mails left at [Pakistan] Embassy and two conversations with his [Ambassador Khan] secretary, I did not get even a courtesy call," he said.

"Since I am retired from the FBI I have no idea how many buyers have submitted the Internet based complaint to the FBI, USPO, USSS, FTC, etc. I am sure some have, but I do not have details. I know of no investigations in this country by anyone except the FBI," he added.

"I can't answer some of your questions without jeopardizing some sources. In the last several weeks I have spoken to an Axact/Crest fake school salesperson about a school, and seen new sample documents so I positively know the game is on," he told The News.

'Never contacted by anyone about Axact'
"I have only hit the high spots in this 20+ year fraud—it is like an iceberg, the likes of which the world has not previously seen. I am in the process of writing additional articles on the Axact criminal enterprise. I want to be accurate in my writings," he wrote in his letter.

Ambassador Khan, while talking to The News, said he was not in knowledge of any such development yet. "I have never been contacted by anyone regarding Axact during my time here as Ambassador. I don’t recall seeing anything from him. Nor any of my colleagues," he said.

Amir Mansoob, consul for Axact, in his response to this retired FBI agent’s letter, strongly rebutted the claim. A similar letter of some FBI official was produced before the FIA investigation team in Pakistan as an evidence, which later courts did not consider as admissible evidence, the firm’s counsel claimed.

“Our firm’s representative challenged that one FBI’s official letter in a local court in US. where it was proved years back that the Axact was not doing an illegal operations anywhere in US. Nothing found wrong or unlawful and there existed no such issue of fake or forged degrees/diplomas operations," the lawyer further argued.
https://www.geo.tv/latest/287421-fo...rm-still-selling-fake-academic-degrees-report

The Axact case is funny, but mostly tragic.

Firms in all countries break the law, but in some countries pay for their actions and in other countries don't.

Axact still has a website in which it proclaims:

"Axact, World’s Leading IT Company was founded during the dot-com boom in 1997"

"Axact’s 10 diverse Business Units offer more than 23 world class products to some of the most prestigious clients worldwide"

"At Axact, we work to be the number 1 with more than 50% of the revenues and profits of every global market we enter and at the same time deploy our core competencies towards the socio-economic development"

"Mr. Shoaib Ahmed Shaikh revealed Axact’s Plan 2019 for a prosperous and a thriving Pakistan, and the role Axact, BOL, our government, other IT firms and each and every Pakistani will play in the realization of this dream"

"Axact aims to increase Pakistan’s IT exports by $50 billion, by expanding its workforce to 100,000. To respond to this increasing number of workforce, Axact planned and initiated massive projects of infrastructure developments as well as expansions"

It has a page called "Products" in which, for example, the items "Axact CRM", "Axact ERP", "Axact HRM" all link back to the referring page, a circular link leading nowhere.

In India there was Satyam which was a firm with multi-billion dollar revenues from genuine products which was found to have committed accounting fraud by overstating its revenues. Within a few days its founder was in jail, and the firm disappeared (sold to Tech Mahindra).

Why is Axact still around? Why hasn't the Pakistani government seized its website and put an end to this nonsense?

The whole indian IT business is full of frauds of all sorts like fake cvs, fake experience, proxys working remotely, Fake Certifications, fake consulting companies etc etc compared to that Axxact’s fake degree business is nothing.

Also issuing a fake degree is just like printing a meaningless credential on a piece of paper, many such diploma mills exist all over the web. So don’t understand what the fuss is all about.

Even the proper legit Unis (in US, UK, Aus etc) are after the easy $$ and are handing out degrees, as long as the International students are paying the premium tution fees. I ve seen quite a few ‘graduates’ myself, who really make you wonder, that how on this earth they went through a Univ education.

The whole indian IT business is full of frauds of all sorts like fake cvs, fake experience, proxys working remotely, Fake Certifications, fake consulting companies etc etc compared to that Axxact’s fake degree business is nothing.

You think a firm like TCS has revenues of $20 billion a year selling "fake consulting" produced by employees with "fake CVs" and "fake experience"?

https://finance.yahoo.com/quote/TCS.NS/financials?p=TCS.NS

Also issuing a fake degree is just like printing a meaningless credential on a piece of paper, many such diploma mills exist all over the web. So don’t understand what the fuss is all about.

Even the proper legit Unis (in US, UK, Aus etc) are after the easy $$ and are handing out degrees, as long as the International students are paying the premium tution fees. I ve seen quite a few ‘graduates’ myself, who really make you wonder, that how on this earth they went through a Univ education.

Yes, the way forward is to shrug off fraud by saying it is not significant.

Being from Hyderabad you obviously know very well what I am referring to.

No, I don't have the faintest idea what you are referring to when you write "The whole indian IT business is full of frauds of all sorts like fake cvs, fake experience, proxys working remotely, Fake Certifications, fake consulting companies etc etc compared to that Axxact’s fake degree business is nothing."

Then carry on playing dumb (or perhsps you actually are).

A simple google search For: ‘H1b fraud‘ and ‘IT fraud’ will give you numerous examples of what i said about Indians being at the forefront of all these frauds. After that you are turning up here and giving us a lecture is a bit audacious.

Chal nikal pattli gulli se..

Then carry on playing dumb (or perhsps you actually are).

A simple google search For: ‘H1b fraud‘ and ‘IT fraud’ will give you numerous examples of what i said about Indians being at the forefront of all these frauds. After that you are turning up here and giving us a lecture is a bit audacious.

Chal nikal pattli gulli se..

I worked in IT and my family is full of IT consultants/contractors. I realise how mediocre IT people are from India (generally). There is definately fake experience, CVs and companys involved. In a consulting team of 10, I would say that there would be two people who are legit but the rest dont know much if anything. There is a culture of helping each other in these teams so the hopeless people get by. Generally, there is so little creativity from the guys from India, no thinking outside the box.

Instead of acknowledging the fact that the largest IT firm of Pakistan was caught selling fake academic certificates, some of the posters here are ridiculing Indian IT professionals.
No wonder the country is in such a mess.

O chacha, indian IT fraudsters are a common knowledge and everyone in IT industry knows about them. We are not ridiculing them for the sake of it, the posts here are “in reply” to you fellow desh vasis coming here to preach us.

Jao ja k pehle apna ghar theek karo.

Instead of acknowledging the fact that the largest IT firm of Pakistan was caught selling fake academic certificates, some of the posters here are ridiculing Indian IT professionals.
No wonder the country is in such a mess.

I don't endorse either but people living in glass houses shouldnt throw stones at others.

No, I don't have the faintest idea what you are referring to when you write "The whole indian IT business is full of frauds of all sorts like fake cvs, fake experience, proxys working remotely, Fake Certifications, fake consulting companies etc etc compared to that Axxact’s fake degree business is nothing."

Chal tu bhi kya yaad karray gi. I googled for you:

https://www.ice.gov/news/releases/i...25-million-global-settlement-north-texas-visa

https://qz.com/india/1377844/h-1b-visa-fraud-indian-ceo-accused-of-duping-us-immigration/

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-51740214

And not just limited to IT, some Indians apna aur jagah bhi Muunh kala karwa rahay hain (here a literal example) ��

https://www.bostonmagazine.com/heal...-posed-as-a-black-man-to-get-into-med-school/

It is hardly surprising that the Indian IT industry which exports $130 billion a year will have some criminals.

From a few instances to jump to "The whole indian IT business is full of frauds of all sorts like fake cvs, fake experience, proxys working remotely, Fake Certifications, fake consulting companies etc etc compared to that Axxact’s fake degree business is nothing" is just delusional.

Delusional thinking like yours is why Pakistan exports IT services of $2.5 billion while India exports $125 billion.

IT services delivered by Indian IT firms are purchased by the world's largest firms. If you don't understand that the product has to be of high quality for the industry to generate $130 billion in exports, I really can't help you.

Is this the same company for which one of the pak minister said “degree degree hiring hai”

Bhai you seem to have less knowledge about IT industry in India. Let me illuminate you Infosys TCS are not the only companies in India they would make up combined 5-10% of IT workforce.
I have worked there for a couple of years
So there are lot of product companies eg Microsoft has its second biggest campus in India and Amazon has also built a campus of 15000 ppl. All the major banks of America have a development office.
Off course it started with off shoring back in 2000 but now Indian teams are major contributors to product development. Engineer in Amazon and Microsoft gets almost 10-12 lac inr salary as a fresh graduate 20 year old. I worked for Amazon at close to 40 lac a year.
So instead of blaming everyone is fake look inside and introspect that despite having same culture and history why Pakistan exports are measly 2.5 billion dollars. It has the potential to be around 60-70 billion dollars and it will generate lots of jobs

Bhai you seem to have less knowledge about IT industry in India. Let me illuminate you Infosys TCS are not the only companies in India they would make up combined 5-10% of IT workforce.
I have worked there for a couple of years
So there are lot of product companies eg Microsoft has its second biggest campus in India and Amazon has also built a campus of 15000 ppl. All the major banks of America have a development office.
Off course it started with off shoring back in 2000 but now Indian teams are major contributors to product development. Engineer in Amazon and Microsoft gets almost 10-12 lac inr salary as a fresh graduate 20 year old. I worked for Amazon at close to 40 lac a year.
So instead of blaming everyone is fake look inside and introspect that despite having same culture and history why Pakistan exports are measly 2.5 billion dollars. It has the potential to be around 60-70 billion dollars and it will generate lots of jobs

I never said or implied every Indian techie is fake. In fact i ve worked with quite a few smart ones. And good if Indians are contributing to product development of larger companies. May be some day, they may be capable of launching a known IT product of their own.

All i was alluding to is that IT fraud is rampant amongst Indians. In the US i know of many dodgy IT consulting companies, who act as bodyshops and use fake resumes, fake experience etc etc Now this must be happening with other nationalities as well (for e.g Russians, polish etc) but there seems to be a commonly accepted culture of dishonesty and fraud amongst us Desis. Hyderabad is known to be a hub for these dodgy activities.

An Islamabad district and sessions court on Friday granted the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) three-day physical remand of Axact chief executive Shoaib Ahmed Sheikh in connection with a graft case registered against him and a former additional sessions judge of Islamabad.

Sheikh was arrested by FIA’s Anti-Corruption Circle on Thursday on charges of bribing a judge. According to the first information report (FIR), the Anti Corruption Circle Islamabad conducted an inquiry in response to a reference sent by the additional registrar of Islamabad High Court (IHC) on Feb 17, 2018.

After his arrest, the chief of the BOL television network was presented before a court today where FIA’s investigation officer (IO) and prosecutor Ashfaq Naqvi were present. Sheikh’s lawyers Latif Khosa and Sher Afzal Marwat were also in attendance.

Against the FIA’s request for a 10-day physical remand, the court granted them three-day physical remand of Sheikh and issued directives for him to be produced before the court on March 13.

DAWN

An Islamabad district and sessions court on Friday granted the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) three-day physical remand of Axact chief executive Shoaib Ahmed Sheikh in connection with a graft case registered against him and a former additional sessions judge of Islamabad.

Sheikh was arrested by FIA’s Anti-Corruption Circle on Thursday on charges of bribing a judge. According to the first information report (FIR), the Anti Corruption Circle Islamabad conducted an inquiry in response to a reference sent by the additional registrar of Islamabad High Court (IHC) on Feb 17, 2018.

After his arrest, the chief of the BOL television network was presented before a court today where FIA’s investigation officer (IO) and prosecutor Ashfaq Naqvi were present. Sheikh’s lawyers Latif Khosa and Sher Afzal Marwat were also in attendance.

Against the FIA’s request for a 10-day physical remand, the court granted them three-day physical remand of Sheikh and issued directives for him to be produced before the court on March 13.

DAWN

So as soon as Bol show IK, this guy gets taken in. Mir Shakil Rehman was blackmailed by Bajwa with a 30 year old case( a genuine case) and then brought into the regime change operation. Our Generals have exposed themselves as the most corrupt and evil people in PK

I recall the words of a relative in Pakistan - "any fake qualification can be sorted out, as long as you are willing to pay for it. The higher the qualification, the more you will have to pay for it, but it can be done."

A Pakistani software company earned millions selling fake degrees. Its main market was India

Walsh’s damning report revealed how a secretive Pakistani software company with the motto of ‘winning and caring’ earned millions of dollars from selling fake qualifications globally.

The degrees had no true accreditation. The university campus existed only on the internet. The professors were paid actors.

The company behind this massive scam was called Axact and it was run by Shoaib Shaikh, a young man who portrayed himself as a self-made tycoon with a passion for charity and plans to educate 10 million children in Pakistan.

Shaikh operated Axact from the port city of Karachi and had over 2,000 people on its rolls.

Most of them were telephone sales agents working in shifts round the clock. Their main job was to pose as professors and counsellors of fictitious Western universities and manipulate those seeking a real education into signing up for expensive courses.

To boost profits, the agents would often follow up with ruses that included impersonating top American and UAE government officials to persuade customers to cough up money for authentication charges.

Declan Walsh took three months to put together the story after being tipped off by a whistleblower. I don’t want to take away anything from him. It was a great story. It led to Shoaib Shaikh’s arrest and got everyone from the FBI and Interpol excited.

It’s just that I had uncovered the racket nearly a year earlier. And I had done it in less than two weeks without anyone’s aid.

My report, published in Gulf News on 4 June 2014, details how hundreds of vice presidents and CEOs in the UAE had climbed the corporate ladder on the basis of academic credentials from universities that didn’t exist. All these online degree mills were run by Axact.

Sadly, my editor didn’t allow me to mention Axact’s name in our story. ‘What’s the point of uncovering a racket if we don’t tell readers who’s behind it,’ I argued. It was a wasted effort.

‘No name means no names,’ he growled at me from behind his thick-rimmed spectacles. ‘If you insist, I will kill the story. I don’t want any debate on this.’

I stormed out of his room in disgust. As soon as our story went online, I shot out emails to senior journalists in India categorically mentioning Axact’s name and their fake universities uncovered by me. I hoped it would raise the antennae because my investigation suggested that Axact was backed by the notorious D Syndicate run from Pakistan by India’s most wanted gangster and international terrorist Dawood Ibrahim.

Here’s a verbatim reproduction of the email I sent on 6 June 2014, nearly eleven months before Walsh’s report in The New York Times:

The D company has found a new way to make money—selling degrees; and trust me it’s more lucrative than trafficking and smuggling put together.

Shockingly, several Indians are unwittingly filling up their coffers.

Visit any of the following links:

ww.edgebrookuniversity.com

www.affordabledegrees.com

www.midtownuniversity.com

They are all non-existent colleges offering college degrees based on life experiences. Prices range from $500 to $4000. Open any of them and go to the chat option and ask for a college degree.

We did a story today.

It has now emerged that all of these bogus universities—there are hundreds of them worldwide—are backed by the Pakistan-based company AXACT.

They have set up call centres where Brit-US educated Pakistan students masquerade as US professors in heavily accented English.

This is their main business … The annual turnover according to an insider is $500 million—The sad part is anywhere between 2,000–4,000 unsuspecting Indian job aspirants/students enrol for their bogus courses every day. (India is their biggest market in Asia), thus unknowingly funding the D empire.

I thought the journalists would jump at the story, but they ignored the lead.

I was tempted to embarrass them by resending my email with the link to the article of The New York Times. I didn’t do that. Not because I am a gentleman but because it would have been akin to the pot calling the kettle black.

Indian media weren’t the only ones who had a scoop and sat over it. We did that too.

Before reaching out to Walsh, Axact whistleblower and former employee Yasir Jamshed had visited the office of Gulf News thrice with incriminating evidence against the company.

Jamshed came looking for me but I was vacationing in India those days. Each time he came to the office, he was turned away by a junior Arab reporter who was sent to the reception to meet him.

‘She would listen to me intently and then ask, so what’s the story?’ Jamshed told me later as we sat at Tim Hortons in Sharjah’s Al Majaz Waterfront from midnight to dawn.

‘I got so frustrated by your newspaper’s response that I rang up the desk of The New York Times who heard me out. A few days later they flew Walsh into Dubai to meet me. The rest as they say… ’

‘Yes, I know,’ I said lamely.

Jamshed recalled the reaction at Axact’s office when my report came out in May 2014. ‘It rattled us because you named some of our most lucrative online mills. But why didn’t you mention our company? Did you not know it?’

I didn’t have the heart to tell him the truth.

Even without Axact’s name, our story had created shockwaves in the region.

As part of my investigation, I conducted a simple experiment. I went to LinkedIn and typed in its search box the names of the bogus universities + UAE + CEO + manager.

I found a deluge of profiles flaunting qualifications from these universities.

From vice presidents and CEOs to top managers, they were all there.

Many were unsuspecting victims. In fact, they didn’t know that their costly degrees weren’t even worth the paper they were printed on.

The realisation left them shattered. Many immediately pulled off their profiles from LinkedIn after our story came out. Others remained in denial.

SOURCE: https://theprint.in/pageturner/exce...ke-degrees-its-main-market-was-india/2243443/