Azhar Ali is a fighter!

Statsman

Yes, he isn't as talented as a few others. :uakmal

But full points to him for at least trying to do the best he can for the team. Be it in tests or ODIs.

Playing a little gem here with other batsmen falling around him.

But full points to him for at least trying to do the best he can for the team. Be it in tests or ODIs.

you are kidding right...stop trolling

He came into bat 24-1, there was no pressure. He went on to bat at 50 SR for the first 50 balls. Sorry that's garbage

Yet still not good enough..

We all admire his work ethics and effort but he isn't the player we need. Right now he is putting in a hell of a lot of effort yet can't manage a SR of 100.

Plus he is a poor captain

you are kidding right...stop trolling

He came into bat 24-1, there was no pressure. He went on to bat at 50 SR for the first 50 balls. Sorry that's garbage

He's made 49 off 59 (83 SR). The rest of the team has made 52 off 74 if you don't count the extras.

Ye lo ji Babar bhi gaya

Now don't expect Azhar to up the ante anymore. He made 33 off 30 in the partnership. Babar made 12 off 21.

He's made 49 off 59 (83 SR). The rest of the team has made 52 off 74 if you don't count the extras.

please please cricket is not defined by stats. Stats are just a supplement. Look at the innings, look at the actual freaking batting...its terrible. You are the freaking captain batting at 50 SR in the first 10 overs....

Ye lo ji Babar bhi gaya

Now don't expect Azhar to up the ante anymore. He made 33 off 30 in the partnership. Babar made 12 off 21.

Babar was trying to mimic Azhar...why should he bat quicker when his captain takes 50 balls to start scoring

Sorry nothing is stopping Babar from hitting runs >57 SR when his partner is making 33 off 30 in a partnership.

Yes he fights for his spot and not the team. In that sense he is a big fighter..

He can do fine as an ODI batsman for low-mid scoring games, but not good enough when chasing down anything > 350.

But with your talented phaast bowling you shouldnt be chasing anything more than 300 in the first place ;-)

Azhar is a good ODI batsmen. You need him around your hitters. Sarfraz batting at a sR of 50 but thats not an issue. Its only an issue when Azhar bats like that. Neither is it an issue if Sami, Malik, Babar bat at that sort of SR. Only Azhar.

Safraz does not bat at 50 SR in every inning but Azhar does.

Like someone else pointed out- he's fighting for his ODI career and Pakistan Captaincy

That's aboot as much of a fighter he is

totally agree. this is the best thing about him.

He is a fighter like shoaib Mohammad who never could make it into the odi team

You call this a gem? He is struggling to keep it near 100 SR

I am not saying he is playing the innings of the century, but he is making an effort and not giving up. Most importantly he has improved his game. He can hit sixes and can find gaps as well. Needs good partners.

Of course, he can very well slap the next 4 balls all over the ground and leave at 72 off 85. Which won't be bad considering his other team mate's scores but Pakistan will end at 190.

You really expect him to start playing at 120 SR with other useless batsmen falling around him?

He wasn't before and he isn't now . He has no situation awareness he is playing for himself not the team

He knows if the rr is not near 6 Pakistan will lose this match but he is just plodding along .. hoping not countering

SR of 75 only.

This is a rubbish knock unless he carries on and takes his SR to 90 with a score of 130+.

Fighter or not...perfect template for respectable losses unless he kicks in.

SR of 75 only.

This is a rubbish knock unless he carries on and takes his SR to 90 with a score of 130+.

and when your team is imploding around ya, what do you do?? Knuckle down and try and get to a score...

Unless he is dismissed at a strike rate of 130 it is a rubbish innings.

SR of 75 only.

Why is he expected to make 130+ at 90 SR when his team is 153/5? Azhar Ali hai bhai, not superman.

He knows and everyone knows if rr is not high Pak will lose so right now he is only playing for his ave

And that's an excuse for... who ?

He is the captain. He gets out now, we don't get to 200! Thats the sad state of affairs. You can't expect him to be irresponsible. What do you think he is? A machine? Press the button and hit a six. The wicket is slowing up badly and turning and none of our batsmen could get in. Only Azhar batted well.

He has more power than most in this team but still needs to rotate the strike more, 50's would become 70s, 70s would become 90s and so on.

and when your team is imploding around ya, what do you do?? Knuckle down and try and get to a score...

nooo you dont do that you go for a brainless chukka to increase your strike rate..who is stopping the otehrs from playing their shots? azhar has one end covered, he's set, why cant the other lulloos do anything? we really need to just get some better players who can play better odi cricket. jettison these pretenders!!

Another useless knock

When you are set so don't give your wicket away and he does it for the second time

Azhar departs. Pakistan still has 12 overs left. Should make at least 120 in the remaining overs now that the slow batsman has left.

A futile innings. A sign of it was that he never played senior partner to any of the other batsmen. Neither did he dominate at any stage of his score. Pakistani batsmen need to understand that no team in the world is scared of their batsmen scoring high 50's at a strike rate of 80

The other players are not kids. Why do they need senior partners? Good batsmen do not come to the crease expecting their partners to hand hold them.

Secondly, why should he dominate in these conditions? His team is tottering at 150/5 and not even 1 batsman is looking capable of hitting run a ball. Yet, Azhar who is at least holding up one end needs to "dominate". By the way, in his partnership with Babar he did make 33 off 30 while Babar made 12 at an SR of 57. Guess Azhar wasn't doing the role of senior partner properly.

This

We are simply not good enough in ODI even if we change all our playing 11. You still have to identify the problems in your side and Azhar is a problem and many more in the team.

The other players are not kids. Why do they need senior partners? Good batsmen do not come to the crease expecting their partners to hand hold them.

Secondly, why should he dominate in these conditions? His team is tottering at 150/5 and not even 1 batsman is looking capable of hitting run a ball. Yet, Azhar who is at least holding up one end needs to "dominate". By the way, in his partnership with Babar he did make 33 off 30 while Babar made 12 at an SR of 57. Guess Azhar wasn't doing the role of senior partner properly.

Senior = whichever batsmen is at the crease for longer

He was actually going well when batting with Babar. He hit 2 sixes in consecutive overs but then babar couldn't rotate the strike and was batting poorly. He then threw it away completely. Can't blame Azhar. He played his role. If everyone else had also, we'd be close to 300.

Bus karo

We will be trashed in this game so no point only blaming him but he is also part of the problem that exists for last six years.

He is not a problem but very much part of the solution.

Azhar knows his game, In an investment portfolio he's like Govt. bond, no amazing returns but safe and secure.

Its the others in the file that are a problem. Inconsistent, cannot rotate strike, cannot score quickly!!

I'd rather have Azhar in this team than Sharjeel. The issue is people are happy with Sharjeel's return because its more exciting to watch.

He was actually going well when batting with Babar. He hit 2 sixes in consecutive overs but then babar couldn't rotate the strike and was batting poorly. He then threw it away completely. Can't blame Azhar. He played his role. If everyone else had also, we'd be close to 300.
Babar and Azhar slowed down simultaneously. Babar had played 15 odd balls azhar Ali had batted 60 balls by then.

Azhar Ali looks like someone who can improve.

No one else showed anything.

Sharjeel - hacked on the leg side as usual.
Sami - limited to the core
Babar - flimsy shots as usual. stand and deliver. zero substance.
Sarfraz - he cannot clear the circle. cannot clear the boundary.
Rizwan - he just cannot play Adil Rashid.

No point in talking about anyone else. Give or take and even complain that he is slow in the start but he fights for it and is working on his game. If you can't see that, you deserve Ahmed Shehzad.

He is not a problem but very much part of the solution.

Azhar knows his game, In an investment portfolio he's like Govt. bond, no amazing returns but safe and secure.

Its the others in the file that are a problem. Inconsistent, cannot rotate strike, cannot score quickly!!

I'd rather have Azhar in this team than Sharjeel. The issue is people are happy with Sharjeel's return because its more exciting to watch.

We suck in ODI even if we persist with Azhar or we don't. The team is not good enough.

Azhar Ali is a problem like all other batsmen, I stand firm on this. We are going nowhere and don't see us improving.

Azhar is not Rohit Sharma or Amla, but he's not that bad a player. Can't blame him when the rest are so much worse! Yeah it'd be nice if he scored quicker, but you take what you can get. Pakistani batting stocks just look so......poor.

I remember Shehzad used to play such knocks with strike of around 70 and he was abused here on PP:moyo lol

This is not 90s where scoring at 90 SR needs supreme skills.

A few singles and occasional boundaries and 80-90 SR will be achieved unless the pitch is hard.

Accumulators are getting more and more useless every day in modern era.

Collapse or not, you gotta keep it at 80 atleast (unless the pitch conditions are bad enough to warrant scoring below it).

75 SR in 2016 is like scoring at 68 SR in 90s.

Useless.

I remember Shehzad used to play such knocks with strike of around 70 and he was abused here on PP:moyo lol

Only problem is that he used to get out at 30-35

Azhar is not Rohit Sharma or Amla, but he's not that bad a player. Can't blame him when the rest are so much worse! Yeah it'd be nice if he scored quicker, but you take what you can get. Pakistani batting stocks just look so......poor.

Our pitches in domestic cricket and UAE are so slow so how can Pakistani fans expect good stroke players ?

We suck in ODI even if we persist with Azhar or we don't. The team is not good enough.

Azhar Ali is a problem like all other batsmen, I stand firm on this. We are going nowhere and don't see us improving.

I just posted the below somewhere else......

England is a well oiled ODI unit now, one of the best, while Pakistan is struggling to find itself in limited overs cricket. This is why the results of this series are looking this bad. Pakistan have a few quick fixes: - Replace Azhar with Sarfraz as captain. He captained the Galdiators very well, understands what to do in high pressure limited over situations. Azhar looked lost against the Hales onslaught. - a 1-2 month camp to improve fitness and fielding These 2 quick fixes itself will make a huge difference. Pakistan's bowling line up is already top class. better captaincy under Mickey Arthur's guidance will turn it around. The batting will need time, but there's time till the next world cup. Azhar, Sarfraz and Sharjeel are given. Need to find a few more batters and work on them. Pakistan are playing against a very very good ODI side. Its a different beast compared to the test side under Cook.

This is not 90s where scoring at 90 SR needs supreme skills.

A few singles and occasional boundaries and 80-90 SR will be achieved unless the pitch is hard.

Accumulators are getting more and more useless every day in modern era.

Collapse or not, you gotta keep it at 80 atleast (unless the pitch conditions are bad enough to warrant scoring below it).

75 SR in 2016 is like scoring at 68 SR in 90s.

Useless.

Had he scored at 80 (btw he made his fifty at 83 SR when I opened this thread) he would have made a grand total of 3 runs more than what he just made.

People expect him to score 130+ at 90+ SR when his team is falling around him. How many batsmen in the world right now do that?

Good innings for azhar.
But awful for the team.

80 of 104 balls. Strike rate of 76.
Thats 228 runs if equated for 50 overs.

As azhar has used 1/3 of our balls that leaves our other bats to score 220 from 176 to get 300. Never going to happen.

The bottom line is, azhar shehzad sami malik shafiq younis these players if they don't perform e.g. 1 (11) 10 (22) 30 (65) we may lose but if they do perform e.g. 55 (82) 71 (101) 82 (110) we will definitely lose.

Had he scored at 80 (btw he made his fifty at 83 SR when I opened this thread) he would have made a grand total of 3 runs more than what he just made.

People expect him to score 130+ at 90+ SR when his team is falling around him. How many batsmen in the world right now do that?

You are taking the lowest possible point.

I mean dynamic enough. Not barely 80.

Closer to 90 with more rotation of singles so that when he gets to his 100, he can accelerate and take his SR to 110-120.

In fact 130 runs at 90 SR isn't good enough too cos that would be 130 at 140 balls. I was being too kind with that number.

See Imad is striking at 133 after 7 wickets fell and that too against pacers. If others can play like this, then 130 at 90 SR is fine.

Just the demands of modern ODI.

You are taking the lowest possible point.

I mean dynamic enough. Not barely 80.

Closer to 90 with more rotation of singles so that when he gets to his 100, he can accelerate and take his SR to 110-120.

In fact 130 runs at 90 SR isn't good enough too. I was being too kind with that number.

See Imad is striking at 133 after 7 wickets fell and that too against pacers.

Its freaking slog overs, the clue is in the title- throw your kitchen sink

Yes...but how is he batting at 133 which is damn good for slog overs.

Plus he bating from 40overs not 48-49 where he is throwing the kitchen sink.

In fact, he is hitting LOTS of 4 instead of 6s PIERCING the field.

Then go send him to compete in wrestling. No place in ODI cricket for him.

The only positive thing about him is that he is better than Shehzad and some others. He is the best person to play the anchor role but the problem is that modern ODI cricket has no place for such cricketers. The ones who hold the innings together do so at a SR of 85+ and once they get to 80 odd they up the ante not get out.

Replace the name of Azhat with Misbah and the comments by posters have been the same for the last 6 years. Pakistanis want corrupt fast bowlers with floppy hair.....it's makes them happy.
In the end Misbah had the last laugh. I don't really care for his SR at the moment. What matters is runs on the board. It's the sloggers at the other end who are failing.

Sharjeel scored 10 odd but being the new darling of PP gets a free pass. not to mention posters wanting him to be given an extended run.

Azhar scores 80 something, holding one end, at a decent click I might add, "BURN HIM"

Lol seems like most PPers have made up their mind about Azhar and want the back of him.. Didn't see the Pakistani innings so can't really comment but I think if you have played 100 balls in an ODI then you should have the ability to carry on your innings and accelerate... Problem with Azhar in this match and first match was if he had made 30 odd extra runs in next 12-15 balls he would have played a good innings but he failed that part and innings seem to be meh types..

Still I guess he's better than the alternatives you guys got now..

Problem now is that the series is done.

All he does will be some face saving and guess saving a whitewash would be considered some achievement

Game could've been closer had a few batsmen supported Azhar Ali.