Best Investment Ever - Bowling Machine

shirazi_r

After thinking it over, I decided I wanted to try and find a reasonably priced bowling machine. The idea had crossed my mind previously, though not playing any competitive cricket at the time had held me back from purchasing one.

I began to gloss over the Craigslist ads as well as Ebay for a deal on a used machine, and after little success I struck gold!

I had traveled to the United States for a mini shopping trip and while browsing the sporting goods shop, I came across the Heater Sports range of products. The company seemed to make inexpensive baseball training equipment and while I was a bit hesitant about the quality of the machine, I bought it anyway.

The model I picked up is one of their most inexpensive; the Heater Sandlot Pitching Machine. For a trifle less than $120 (Mind you, the auto ball feeder and balls are an additional cost), there was no way I could say no.

So having used the machine for a week now, I thought it's fair time to give it a review.

First off, the machine doesn't bowl/pitch cricket or baseballs; it uses a machine pitch dimple ball which is lighter and softer than a regulation baseball. While the ball is softer and suitable for indoor use, it still has enough "sting" when it hits you to feel satisfying (believe me, you want it to hurt!).

51YQynAE%2BbL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

As for the speed of the machine, it lacks a variable speed control so only pitches at a single speed. This can be counteracted however as there are 2 types of balls available, one meant to pitch 40mph and another meant to pitch 60mph. While neither of these speeds sound like much, it's important to note that when using the machine, you'll likely use it from half the distance of a standard cricket pitch which obviously makes the machine feel MUCH quicker than it is.

Since playing on the machine regularly, I'll comfortably say that my club bowlers now feel quite slow.

Naturally the machine does have certain limitations when using it for cricket. The first being that the feeder doesn't work well at the angle you have to set it to in order to be able to make the ball bounce. Secondly, it requires some extra effort and handy skills in order to be able to make the ball swing; one needs to build a stand out of some pipe (available at Home Depot) to hold the machine sideways.

Overall, as a personal training tool or even something to have a bit of fun with, the Heater Sandlot is a winner.

5181Cc25WbL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

I know it's hard to be able to judge a bowling machine based on some words, so here's a video of me trying the machine out:

[utube]YbExdOLwnAA[/utube]

Heater Sandlot Pitching Machine

Pros:
- Inexpensive
- Quiet
- Reliable (So far)
- Accurate
- 1 Year Warranty
- Safe for indoor use
- Good pace and bounce
- Useful for slip catching practice
- Potential to bowl swing

Cons:
- Balls aren't cheap
- Feeder not easy to use (still recommend one if you practice alone)
- Setting up for swing is difficult
- Stand is not as tall as one would like

Brilliant review, clearly the best review you can ever find on internet. JazakAllah Khair for this bro!

For $120 it is brilliant! I agree this is better investment than buying bats as this improves your game significantly.

I didn't understand the swing part etc do you mind posting a picture of the machine how you made it work etc ?

You're a legend! You installed in your basement, brilliant seriously :))

One thing I would advise is that since weather is getting better and better day by day and since you live in a house I would say take it to your garage and set it there. Why I am saying that is because of the hard surface pace will increase a bit and it will help you a bit more.

PS : Where did you get the Kookaburra Blade from ?

JazakAllah Khair

Brilliant review, clearly the best review you can ever find on internet. JazakAllah Khair for this bro!

For $120 it is brilliant! I agree this is better investment than buying bats as this improves your game significantly.

I didn't understand the swing part etc do you mind posting a picture of the machine how you made it work etc ?

You're a legend! You installed in your basement, brilliant seriously :))

One thing I would advise is that since weather is getting better and better day by day and since you live in a house I would say take it to your garage and set it there. Why I am saying that is because of the hard surface pace will increase a bit and it will help you a bit more.

PS : Where did you get the Kookaburra Blade from ?

JazakAllah Khair

Thanks CD.

I definitely find this to improve your game quite a bit, especially in ironing out big technical flaws and correcting your strokes. It also works well to get you used to a bit of pace and bounce (especially bouncers).

$120 is ridiculous for this thing, I would have easily payed double for it as I was expecting to pay at least 5 or 6 times that price for a used bowling machine. As it turns out, this is nice and compact and is much better for personal use than a professional machine.

The swing is based purely on the angle of the machine, so essentially you would want to turn it sideways to make it swing in either direction. I've picked up some pipes from Home Depot and I'll finish putting together the "swing stand" soon.

As for the garage, I find that such an abrasive surface ruins the balls quickly; plus, the black mat in the video is quite slippery so I put it in front of the machine when I want a little more pace.

I would definitely advise that you get one as well if you have enough space.

Thanks CD.

I definitely find this to improve your game quite a bit, especially in ironing out big technical flaws and correcting your strokes. It also works well to get you used to a bit of pace and bounce (especially bouncers).

$120 is ridiculous for this thing, I would have easily payed double for it as I was expecting to pay at least 5 or 6 times that price for a used bowling machine. As it turns out, this is nice and compact and is much better for personal use than a professional machine.

The swing is based purely on the angle of the machine, so essentially you would want to turn it sideways to make it swing in either direction. I've picked up some pipes from Home Depot and I'll finish putting together the "swing stand" soon.

As for the garage, I find that such an abrasive surface ruins the balls quickly; plus, the black mat in the video is quite slippery so I put it in front of the machine when I want a little more pace.

I would definitely advise that you get one as well if you have enough space.

Exactly, I agree it will improve your game significantly. Believe me or not but when I played against bowling machine at Hagee for 15 minutes once I noticed big change and improvements in my batting so one can imagine what this can do if you keep on doing it over and over again.

Personally I think this is very very good bowling machine, there is no need to buy those 3000 Pounds Bola Machine, that is insane and stupidness if you are buying for personal use. At the end the purpose of this cheap one and that expensive is same both are throwing balls.

Would you be able to post picture of it? I will give us better idea of it, JazakAllah Khair.

Ahh okay, that is true it will certainly damage the balls.

We moved to a new house in May and our basement is very messy and untidy but I really liked this, if I can create space then hopefully I will buy it but going across the border would be a problem lol

Exactly, I agree it will improve your game significantly. Believe me or not but when I played against bowling machine at Hagee for 15 minutes once I noticed big change and improvements in my batting so one can imagine what this can do if you keep on doing it over and over again.

Personally I think this is very very good bowling machine, there is no need to buy those 3000 Pounds Bola Machine, that is insane and stupidness if you are buying for personal use. At the end the purpose of this cheap one and that expensive is same both are throwing balls.

Would you be able to post picture of it? I will give us better idea of it, JazakAllah Khair.

Ahh okay, that is true it will certainly damage the balls.

We moved to a new house in May and our basement is very messy and untidy but I really liked this, if I can create space then hopefully I will buy it but going across the border would be a problem lol

Yup, it makes a huge difference in improving your footwork as well as being able to play the same shot over and over again. Definitely makes it easy to practice a specific weak point as opposed to the nets where bowlers just keep bowling wides!

Don't get me wrong, the expensive machines are probably great for county teams and those with way too much money, but this does 85% of what that does for 5% of the cost. I've heard people complain about the speed of bowling machines but in all reality we'll likely never face 90+ mph bowling so it's not necessary to have that. The other thing is that a bowling machine feels 5-10 mph faster than a real bowler as it is more difficult to pick the line and length out of the machine as opposed to someones hand.

I'll try and take a couple of pictures once it's all set up but in the meantime perhaps I'll try and take a video of the actual swing of the ball.

I don't think you actually have to go to the US to get the machine, it's probably available online though I haven't checked.

CD, this machine has a slightly different stand/base but you can see that the machine is turned sideways. This is essentially what one needs to do to make it swing.

p3299804_action_dt.jpg

Yup, it makes a huge difference in improving your footwork as well as being able to play the same shot over and over again. Definitely makes it easy to practice a specific weak point as opposed to the nets where bowlers just keep bowling wides!

Don't get me wrong, the expensive machines are probably great for county teams and those with way too much money, but this does 85% of what that does for 5% of the cost. I've heard people complain about the speed of bowling machines but in all reality we'll likely never face 90+ mph bowling so it's not necessary to have that. The other thing is that a bowling machine feels 5-10 mph faster than a real bowler as it is more difficult to pick the line and length out of the machine as opposed to someones hand.

I'll try and take a couple of pictures once it's all set up but in the meantime perhaps I'll try and take a video of the actual swing of the ball.

I don't think you actually have to go to the US to get the machine, it's probably available online though I haven't checked.

Bilkul sahi, your foot work improves and your hand eye coordination improves as well.

The indoor nets are good for bowlers but not for batters in 10 minutes you don't learn or you can't over come your weakness.

Good thing about this is that you don't have to pay for everytime you use and you can pretty much use it whenever you are in your house and wish to use it don't need to go anywhere either.

Thats what I earlier said, the purpose at the end of both is same! The level we play at this bowling machine is very good for it and we don't need to buy those Bola ones, that is clearly stupidness if you ask me.

The pace of bowlers in indoors is always faster than outdoors, you don't face 90+ mph as you said. If the speed of this bowling machine is anywhere above 75 mph I would say it is more than good.

JazakALlah Khair :)

Are they available anywhere here?

CD, this machine has a slightly different stand/base but you can see that the machine is turned sideways. This is essentially what one needs to do to make it swing.

p3299804_action_dt.jpg

Ahh okay make sense JAzakAllah Khair for this mate :)

Woah Riz bhai, I think out of all of the reviews on this forum this has to be out there as one of the best.

I completely agree with you and CD bhai, about it improving your technique because you can also just put a camera beside it and look at your batting.

I just have a couple of questions though, I hope you don't mind. In the picture above, it looks quite small, how do you get it to bounce?

Also how far away roughly have you put it away from yourself, as I might want to purchase one to put in the garage?

And as CD bhai said, you could try put it in your garage and just put some matting on the floor, so that the balls won't get damaged.

JazakallahKhair.:)

Woah Riz bhai, I think out of all of the reviews on this forum this has to be out there as one of the best.

I completely agree with you and CD bhai, about it improving your technique because you can also just put a camera beside it and look at your batting.

I just have a couple of questions though, I hope you don't mind. In the picture above, it looks quite small, how do you get it to bounce?

Also how far away roughly have you put it away from yourself, as I might want to purchase one to put in the garage?

And as CD bhai said, you could try put it in your garage and just put some matting on the floor, so that the balls won't get damaged.

JazakallahKhair.:)

I have a fairly large basement so I've put it about 25 feet from where I bat, from that distance the pace is more or less 80mph. As for the bounce, once you set the machine to deliver the ball with topspin, it gets bounce which is absolutely perfect for cricket. If you put it atop a large box, you can get even more bounce but I doubt it's necessary.

As I'm sure you saw in the video, the bounce is pretty good so it should suffice. As long as you have a sheet/carpet/rug where the ball is bouncing, you'll get optimal life out of the balls.

CD, I haven't seen anywhere in Toronto that sells these machines so best bet is to check the company website; it may be a couple of extra dollars for shipping but hopefully not too much.

http://www.heatersports.com/

Note: If anyone decides to buy one, make sure it's the Heater Sandlot as I haven't tried the other machines.

That's a really good deal for such a machine. Have you though about engineering it so its turned 90*? or getting two and splicing them together like a bowls machine? The swing in a bowling machine comes from the difference in speed between the left and right wheels.

Could help it sorry but from the video a couple of things for your technique, first when you stand, you shouldn't have you weight resting on your bat, when you pick up the bat you can see that your head (and the rest of your body) start to fall over to the off side. Try and stay centered on top of your feet so that you can go either off or on side.
Second, when you pick up the bat, your picking it up in a circular motion with the bat coming back to 10/11 o'clock then it come back down in the same path from 10/11 o'clock to 5 o'clock, in a circular arc, that means your not giving the full face of the bat to shots. Try and bring the bat through straight from the top of your back lift, best example of this is watch Tendulkar, he brings the bat through straight.

That's a really good deal for such a machine. Have you though about engineering it so its turned 90*? or getting two and splicing them together like a bowls machine? The swing in a bowling machine comes from the difference in speed between the left and right wheels.

Could help it sorry but from the video a couple of things for your technique, first when you stand, you shouldn't have you weight resting on your bat, when you pick up the bat you can see that your head (and the rest of your body) start to fall over to the off side. Try and stay centered on top of your feet so that you can go either off or on side.
Second, when you pick up the bat, your picking it up in a circular motion with the bat coming back to 10/11 o'clock then it come back down in the same path from 10/11 o'clock to 5 o'clock, in a circular arc, that means your not giving the full face of the bat to shots. Try and bring the bat through straight from the top of your back lift, best example of this is watch Tendulkar, he brings the bat through straight.

The swing in a bowling machine comes from the spin imparted by the ball; while having two wheels may impart maximum spin, a single wheel is very capable of imparting a generous amount of spin on the ball. In this case, I'm working on a stand that will hold the machine at a 70 degree angle (anything more imparts enough spin to make the ball turn off the pitch as well as in the air).

Thank you very much for the advice in regards to technique! I'll definitely be keeping both those things in mind next time I take batting practice. Come to think of it, I think a coach once mentioned something about my backlift, but a lack of practice against quality bowlers made it difficult to correct. Perhaps having unlimited time on the machine will help!

Mashaallah zabardast.
I was my self looking for something similar and this look really really amazing I would love to have one of this at my place.

Can you show us how you setup you stand and what exactly is needed to run this ? I mean some electric cable or generator is possible too secondly is it possible to bought it online some where ? I would love to try it if it is avaliable here in Germany.

But many congrats and MASHALLAH a very great thing to buy I am getting this soon INSHALLAH.

:)) :)) Why are you using this in your house!

Snow on the ground here in the winter. I line up the cushions from patio chairs in my basement and lay a carpet down so I can practice my variations when bowling :P

Machine looks good, another PP member and I thinking of getting one. We are going to try to engineer it to see if we can add some swing on it or spin.

Snow on the ground here in the winter. I line up the cushions from patio chairs in my basement and lay a carpet down so I can practice my variations when bowling :P

Machine looks good, another PP member and I thinking of getting one. We are going to try to engineer it to see if we can add some swing on it or spin.

Ah, we have home baked engineers among us (don't worry, I'm the same way!). It's actually very easy to extract both swing and spin out of the machine; if you can create a stand that will hold the machine at a 90 degree angle, it will drift and spin like a madman! For a good amount of swing, try turning the machine to about a 70 degree angle, anything less and you won't get much bounce.

Essentially I've turned the machine upside down on the stand it came with in order to derive more topspin and in turn, more bounce. If you use the machine the way it is meant to be used, it simply hits the ground and stops due to the backspin on the ball (imagine a REALLY good Shane Warne flipper).

I've pretty much got this thing figured out so if you need any advice making the machine do certain things, don't hesitate to ask.

I'll be putting up a video of the machine bowling some spin and swing quite soon so check back for that.

Nice nice. I am nto really the engineer, he is (member name Tupac). He was talking about air ducts and reducing air flow and what not, but your idea seems much simpler and effective :P My idea was to put a board beside the machine and angle it to the board so it redirects but I don't think that would work :P

As for a stand, did you ever just consider using a ladder? Maybe project a may realistic releasing point for a bowler.

Also post some vids of the machine bowling some bouncers....would like to see the batsmen tested :P

Nice nice. I am nto really the engineer, he is (member name Tupac). He was talking about air ducts and reducing air flow and what not, but your idea seems much simpler and effective :P My idea was to put a board beside the machine and angle it to the board so it redirects but I don't think that would work :P

As for a stand, did you ever just consider using a ladder? Maybe project a may realistic releasing point for a bowler.

Also post some vids of the machine bowling some bouncers....would like to see the batsmen tested :P

Hmmm... I have't tried increasing the height all that much, simply because it's been quite good as it is but there's certainly no harm in trying. As for air ducts, that's a pretty serious task, especially considering just turning the machine sideways works brilliantly.

Haha, I'll be sure to include some bouncers in the video, they're always fun to play!

Awesome idea and Well done OP.

I almost bought one of those baseball machines few years back just to try them out. The one I was looking at was about $350. But the one you got looks pretty similar.

Were there any other models (under $500) that could bowl faster and were good value for money (like your machine).

Its a pity that cricket machines are so expensive and we are lagging behind so much in this area.

Even Tennis machines are so good and don't cost the sky as cricket ones do.

Why haven't Pak or Indian companies tried this area and come out with a few economy versions?? I am sure there would be demand- especially in bigger cities. Also, lots of pushy parents (my son will be the next Sachin T) who will buy these!

Awesome idea and Well done OP.

I almost bought one of those baseball machines few years back just to try them out. The one I was looking at was about $350. But the one you got looks pretty similar.

Were there any other models (under $500) that could bowl faster and were good value for money (like your machine).

Its a pity that cricket machines are so expensive and we are lagging behind so much in this area.

Even Tennis machines are so good and don't cost the sky as cricket ones do.

Why haven't Pak or Indian companies tried this area and come out with a few economy versions?? I am sure there would be demand- especially in bigger cities. Also, lots of pushy parents (my son will be the next Sachin T) who will buy these!

Heater sports makes quite a few different machines but this is the only one I've used so I can't speak for the other ones. What I will say though is when looking for a pitching machine for cricket use, flexibility of the head is vital.

If your budget is <$500 then I would certainly say that this machine is a great value, especially if you won't be using the machine from a full 22 yards. Mind you, most of us don't use the machine from a full distance so anything that pitches between 40 and 60mph is perfect; anything more is probably excessive.

There's a company producing pitching machines called ATEC and from what I've seen, they make the best machine for your price range. It's called the ATEC Power Streak and it bowls pretty much any type of delivery you can imagine.

Here's a link to the product:

http://www.dickssportinggoods.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2908333

I personally would have bought that machine had I not come across the one I have already purchased. Mind you though, like my machine, it only pitches slightly lighter balls which work well for use on carpet/astroturf/matting as opposed to concrete.

Another note, if you require a feeder, keep in mind that the price of the feeder is directly proportional to the price of of the machine. On the Power Streak, it runs about $200 for the feeder, whereas on the Heater machine it's about $40.

The balls themselves cost about $30-40 per dozen depending on the type of ball.

Thanks Buddy!

Can you do another video showing the feeder and also of the bowling machine throwing balls.

Want to see how it will come towards the batsman? From half the pitch as u said.

I have tried as a couple of machines. The Cannon from SA cost me £900 inc postage. But it only used tennis-type balls and the speed was very limited. The setting up of the machine was a nightmare. So I sold it on the 2nd hand market. A lot of wasted time and money.

I have since rented the real thing - the Bola. This is the genuine article and can bowl at a top speed of 95mph. I have been very impressed with this. However, the cost is prohibitive. It costs over £2000 which I cannot afford to buy personally or for the club.

woah beautiful
good review and nice bargain but does te line and length chage it self or do you have to do it urself?

any link or adresss for any store which sell these machines? toronto? new york area?

i am definetly looking to buy one after seeing your great review?

hey bro, awesome work!!

I have a question about the automatic ball feeder?

1) is it in add on you have to purchase or is it something you made? if you purchased it, how much was it?
2) how many balls can you get before a reload?

any link or adresss for any store which sell these machines? toronto? new york area?

i am definetly looking to buy one after seeing your great review?

You can purchase it from Dick's Sporting Goods if you're in NY, as for Toronto, I haven't seen it anywhere so your best bet is to check online.

www.heatersports.com

hey bro, awesome work!!

I have a question about the automatic ball feeder?

1) is it in add on you have to purchase or is it something you made? if you purchased it, how much was it?
2) how many balls can you get before a reload?

The feeder is an optional purchase and it cost me $40. Keep in mind, I had to be a bit crafty in the way I attached the feeder so that I could have the machine deliver the ball at a cricket like trajectory.

The feeder holds 12 balls which is pretty standard for any pitching/bowling machine using baseball sized balls.

hey shirazi!

Thanks a lot for all your info!

Can you post a link for the automatic feeder and possibly post a picture of your configuration? I'd love to replicate this at home!! Thanks :)

also yaar can you compare this product on the heater site as well?

http://heatersports.com/product_details.php?id=SL129BB&c=Pitching Machines

this slider is $160, with automatic ball feeder. Also goes at variable speed....

With the other one the ball feeder is also not included. What do you think?

While the Slider is actually a pretty good machine, it's not feasible for cricket use due to the nature of the stand. The machine has to be rotated 180 degrees and that's only possible with the Heater Sandlot or PowerAlley Lite.

I'll try and post pictures when possible, just been very busy as of late.

While the Slider is actually a pretty good machine, it's not feasible for cricket use due to the nature of the stand. The machine has to be rotated 180 degrees and that's only possible with the Heater Sandlot or PowerAlley Lite.

I'll try and post pictures when possible, just been very busy as of late.

thanks shirazi!

Looks like a good machine.

Are you please able to tell me what the power specs on the machine is? (i.e current, watts, volts etc)

Actually I have been paying £30 per hour. This is price for use of one net and Bola bowling machine. Things are very expensive here in UK, especially where I live.

I really want a bola bowling machine, I can afford it though it is expensive at over £2000.
The problem is my brother just thinks it will not make a big difference/improvement to my batting but I wonder what others think ?

I really want a bola bowling machine, I can afford it though it is expensive at over £2000.
The problem is my brother just thinks it will not make a big difference/improvement to my batting but I wonder what others think ?

Dont go for Bola, they are very expensive.

Look here:

http://www.spinballsports.com/

Im planning to buy one for myself as well from that website

I agree with nitrous, unless you're a professional, and need to pick out and rectify all your flaws it's a waste of money in my opinion.

Go for the thing that Riz bhai has recommended or what nitrous has given the link for.

Shiraz bhai, just wanted to see if you had a chance to take some pictures. I talked to a friend today and we have agreed to get a pitching machine.

In addition to that, how would you compare this machine to the poweralley lite & poweralley pro?

And lastly, you had mentioned that the balls may not work on a concrete area. Is that correct? We are planning on using this in a tennis court.

By the way, what are your thoughts on this machine: http://amzn.com/B001ET6TYC (there is a video also on the product page)

Your help is much appreciated!

Thanks

YAar Adil Bhai there is no way this machine can be placed on concrete? I mean what if I put it on drive way and bat in garage letting ball bounce there? I can probably keep a mat or two where the ball will pitch.

I'm on my BB but will Amazon one will be shipped to Canada?

Not really sure if Amazon will ship to Canada. I am sure it's doable but you may have to pay import tax.

As for using a mat or carpet vs concrete, the issue is that mat or carpet takes away pace but may provide more bounce depending on the type of ball being used; whereas, concrete may not have that much bounce at all.

Hopefully Shiraz bhai can shed some light on this as I am certain that getting a machine is the best way to go to improve game.

Ah okay, I will check it once I'm on my MB.

Yes, carpet takes the pace but how does it generates bounce? The harder the surface bouncier it will be, no ?

As far balls are concerned don't they come with the machine? I mean speed of 40 mph and 60 mph?

My guess is that only 1 or 2 balls may come with the machine. It seems like the accessories (feeder, balls, batteries, etc.) are expensive so I am guessing that's where the companies make their money from.

As for the bounce, it depends on the type of plastic being used for the balls. I will probably go to a Sports Authority store nearby and checkout the machine and balls as well.

I really want this. The machine, feeder and 12 balls will set you around $200. Very reasonable only its costs over $1000 to get it into the UK :(

The one in UK is proper cricket bowling machine, this is like baseball machine hence it is cheaper

Yup. These are often referred to as "backyard pitching machines". If you were to get professional baseball pitching machines they easily start from $1500+

If you search on youtube for home made pitching machines there are videos of people who have used snowblowers, treadmills, chainsaw etc. etc.

The one in UK is proper cricket bowling machine, this is like baseball machine hence it is cheaper

yes i know but they cost a fortune and take up too much space. It would cost me over £5k to get everthing set up including the net and frames ect.

Didn't get a chance to stop by the local sports authority store today, but I will do in a day or two inshallah and report back

One other thing worth mentioning is that most of these machines require A/C power source and if you are in a similar position as me where the machine will be used outside in a remote location such as tennis court, then getting access to a power source may be difficult.

yes i know but they cost a fortune and take up too much space. It would cost me over £5k to get everthing set up including the net and frames ect.

Does anyone know whats the procedure of setting nets up is?

Do they put the frames in the ground (cement) etc and then put nets on top??

Anyone know how much it costs to get the nets like these setup?

I would say just put a danda and put mesh :))

Basically like Badminton I would say where you have poles and then mesh connected.

i just purchased this today because my batting has seriously seriously dipped!!!!

can someone tell me how to set it up so it can bowl balls that bounce.

i read something about flipping the stand or something. please guys can someone help me?

Nice!

I am assuming you bought the Heater Sandlot machine. Based on the information I have read here, I think you want to try and see if the head of the machine can be angled to the floor by turning it sideways. See post # 7 above.

Please try that and report back. Also, can you please take a picture and post it here :)

Nice!

I am assuming you bought the Heater Sandlot machine. Based on the information I have read here, I think you want to try and see if the head of the machine can be angled to the floor by turning it sideways. See post # 7 above.

Please try that and report back. Also, can you please take a picture and post it here :)

thank u man for the help! i ordered it off amazon yesterday and they dont ship till monday so i can expect it to come in by wednesday or thursday. so ill take pictures as soon as i get it.

Oh ok. Which one did you get? The Sandalot from Heater or Atec Jet?

yo i have the oppritunity to cancel the order because they didnt ship it yet.

which machine is better and more efficient for cricket use?

edit: actually too late the order has been processed already! damn but lets see how the heater machine works.

i got the heater sandlot, the balls, and the automatic ball feeder.

mr. shirazi i wud appreciate it if u can tell me how to set up the automatic ball feeder so that it pitches cricket trajectory.

And.... I'm back!

For all those requesting pictures of my setup, here you are. Apologies for the lengthy delay, I've been excessively busy over the last little while.

This is how the machine is setup straight out of the box and for baseball use:

DSC08057.jpg

As you can see in the following photo, the machine needs to be rotated 180 degrees to create a suitable angle for cricket. This is easily done by loosening the black knob and turning it over.

DSC08058.jpg

Stay away from the ATEC Jet, it doesn't rotate in the manner the Sandlot does. If you want to take a step up, the ATEC Power Streak is a solid machine with a full feature set.

Nevermind bowling machines, get a sidearm.

We have a sidearm at my club and while it has the potential to be useful, you need someone with a bit of experience using it as it can be dangerous if used incorrectly.

Personally, I'm not a huge fan of the sidearm but I can see how it would have it's uses.

And.... I'm back!

For all those requesting pictures of my setup, here you are. Apologies for the lengthy delay, I've been excessively busy over the last little while.

This is how the machine is setup straight out of the box and for baseball use:

DSC08057.jpg

As you can see in the following photo, the machine needs to be rotated 180 degrees to create a suitable angle for cricket. This is easily done by loosening the black knob and turning it over.

DSC08058.jpg

Stay away from the ATEC Jet, it doesn't rotate in the manner the Sandlot does. If you want to take a step up, the ATEC Power Streak is a solid machine with a full feature set.

We have a sidearm at my club and while it has the potential to be useful, you need someone with a bit of experience using it as it can be dangerous if used incorrectly.

Personally, I'm not a huge fan of the sidearm but I can see how it would have it's uses.

bhai i just bought the machine and its coming really soon. how do i set up the automatic feeder so that it bowls cricket trajectory? thanks for the help!

+1 on the auto feeder question asked by hqmusik10.

Also, Shiraz bhai, according to reviews posted here:
http://www.sportsauthority.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3883358
& here:
http://www.dickssportinggoods.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3883358

There are complaints that the rubber starts to fall apart after very nominal usage. Have you experienced anything like that? How has been your experience so far?

By the way, thanks a lot for the pics. Inshallah I will be getting it in a couple of days.

Also, one other question I have is..

do you think we can use a tape ball bat for these balls? if not, do you think that hard-ball bats can be damaged with these balls?

So....today me and a friend stopped by at Sports Authority to look at the pitching machines and they didn't have the sandlot version. They had the poweralley pro which looked good but it was $199. Then we saw an assembled version of Mattingly Sports Hit Man Pitching Machine. It was on sale for $299 (reg. price $399) and then another $50 in store off. So basically we paid $250 +tax.

Here is what it looks like: http://www.mattinglybaseball.com/details.cfm?id=222

We haven't opened or assembled it yet. The head unit is flexible in the sense that it can rotate horizontally and vertically.

So far here are the pros and cons...

Pros:
-Adjustable head unit
-Comes with 24 ball auto feeder
-Comes with 12 balls
-Dual power option (can run on 110v or from car battery - 12v)
-40 to 80 mph
-2 wheels spin to pitch the ball with individual speed controls (ideal for spinning and swinging the ball)

Cons:
-Dimple balls are very soft and very light

The first challenge will be to see how we can setup the unit so that the ball comes perfect for cricket style as opposed to baseball. Then we have to figure out how to use some other type of ball.

Hopefully in a week or so I will post a detailed review of our experience with the machine.

Hey bro I am a local club player living in Mississauga. I really liked your bowling machine thread. I wanted to know if you still have that machine and how its working for you now, do you still recommend it? I am very interested in buying one and might pick one up from amazon. Just wanted to get in touch with you and pm some questions. It would be greatly appreciated. Let me know thanks.

This is available in Pakistan or Not?

If available where i can bought this?

And also price???????

Please

I have bought a slider machine with heater sandlot stand. You explained your setup here but the pics are no longer available. Can you please upload those old pics again or take new ones? It will be really helpful.