Between a rock and a hard place: Mohsin Naqvi's choices for ICC Champions Trophy 2025!

Which option should Mr. Naqvi take when it comes to CT2025?

So, if reports are to be believed, tomorrow Naqvi sahib will find out how the cookie will crumble as far as CT2025 is concerned.

What do you think will happen?

He will accept hybrid model and blame PTI for creating politcal chaos in the country. For now he will also say that Pak will not travel to Ind for any future events but when time come they will surely turn up.

Basically what I am saying is this staus quo will continue.

What I and and will happen - Majority of games, excluding those involving India, to be played in Pakistan

What I want to see happening just for giggles - ENTIRE tournament played in Pakistan, Tata India!

In the second case I am sure India will announce a parallel tournament in india and it will be fun to see how it pans out.

What I and and will happen - Majority of games, excluding those involving India, to be played in Pakistan

What I want to see happening just for giggles - ENTIRE tournament played in Pakistan, Tata India!

In the second case I am sure India will announce a parallel tournament in india and it will be fun to see how it pans out.

What I really want to see is PCB taking a stance and reject hybrid mode. I just want to see how this things played out then. For now lots of threats going on from both sides. Time for PCB to walk the talk and test the water. Abhi nehi to kabhi nehi.

Mohsin naqvi will not bow down, he will isolate India, where all their games will be played in UAE and rest of the party in Pakistan

Hope your right. I personally think, all this bravado so far is to strike the best deal financially for PCB before he inevitably agrees to the hybrid.

Should just say tournament is in Pakistan and that's it.

Otherwise everytime its pakistans turn to host an ICC tourney we will get the same bakwas.

The fact Indian government allows other sports contestants apart from its cricketers to go to Pakistan is nothing more than childish.

But that is exactly what India wants na? All India matches in UAE (incluing the one with Pakistan) and remaining matches in Pakistan. That is the hybrid model concept BCCI is asking. So what is Mohsin Naqvi not bowing down from?

:srt

What I really want to see is PCB taking a stance and reject hybrid mode. I just want to see how this things played out then. For now lots of threats going on from both sides. Time for PCB to walk the talk and test the water. Abhi nehi to kabhi nehi.
Yes, I genuinely want them to play without india. It will be a good showdown. I supported PCB when they took india to court in the past. I wanted PCB to face the reality and they did. Same will happen now.

But that is exactly what India wants na? All India matches in UAE (incluing the one with Pakistan) and remaining matches in Pakistan. That is the hybrid model concept BCCI is asking. So what is Mohsin Naqvi not bowing down from?

This is his way coping. Basically saying what BCCI wants is exactly what PCB is forcing india to go through 😂😂

He is just an embarrassment who will get a lot of abuse in coming days.

Indian posters need to learn to be mature like me. Accept the reality that India won't play and will only play in the uae but understand that your childish antics mean nothing and show how weak you are compared to Australians who travel everywhere across the world and dominate icc events

If India was ruled by Australia, you'd have a stronger nation.

Naqvi needs to make a stand if its hybrid model just withdraw pakistan from the tournament and tell the icc pakistan will never play an icc sanctioned tournament in India.

Financially pakistan cricket will be hurt but self respect shouldn't have a price .

The sky isn't going to fall down if we don't participate, afghanistan cricket us flourishing even with a government sanctioned and boycotted by the majority of the world.

Hybrid but don't play India - best of both worlds.
You still have a tournament that involves India but you send a strong statement to ICC that Pakistan matters.
Many teams in the past have refused to play opponents for various reasons. Cricket still survived. Don't see why Pakistan can't make a statement like that.

Hybrid but don't play India - best of both worlds.
You still have a tournament that involves India but you send a strong statement to ICC that Pakistan matters.
Many teams in the past have refused to play opponents for various reasons. Cricket still survived. Don't see why Pakistan can't make a statement like that.

Is there any penalty if we boycott the game against India?

As in financial penalty?

Is there any penalty if we boycott the game against India?

As in financial penalty?
Pakistan can forfeit the entire match and India will be awarded 2 points, and indian broadcasters lose out. there is no penalty
we are more likely to lose anyways so don't make us a difference

Pakistan can forfeit the entire match and India will be awarded 2 points, and indian broadcasters lose out. there is no penalty
we are more likely to lose anyways so don't make us a difference
So no fines from ICC?

no fines as far as I know in normal matches, not sure if rules changes for ICC tournaments
what are normal matches?

if they announce ahead of time that they will boycott, ICC will make necessary arrangements.

If they pull last min drama, it will suicide as every board will turn on them.

If pak had the guts they should have boycotted WC23

There are only two possibilities , will be announced tomorrow .

Most likely , tournament will be moved to SA, other possibility Hybrid model. No chance entire CT to be played in Pakistan . I think considering the volatile security situation in Pakistan , its Pakistan's best interest to let it go for SA. Pakistan is not capable of handling so many teams for so long. One incidence and Pakistan cricket will be in isolation for years.

In other words, you mean a hybrid model? Isn't that what the ICC and the BCCI are shooting for? So the PCB is going to give exactly what BCCI want?

India plays all its matches in UAE pakistan still play all its matches in PK

Cult supporters of course want Naqvi to fail so they can celebrate. Anything at the expense of their selfish desires. They are snakes and pathetic.

I hope Naqvi stands his ground, whatever rug they intend to pull. No matter what the consequences, i dont want us to play India anywhere.

Right. That is what BCCI wants. Play CT but not in Pakistan.
You Indians are not reading, keep jumping thr gun in excitement

Let's be honest everyone can agree it would be hilarious if India were removed from the tournament. Just for the laughs and entertainment purposes.

But more realistically, I am expecting a hybrid model + compensation + Pakistan getting a hybrid model in return for Indian-hosted tournaments.

One interesting wrinkle that might be included would be the ICC announcing the 2026 T20 WC will also have a hybrid model with all of Pakistan's matches being played in SL (which is already the co-host).

Mohsin Naqvi: "It is not acceptable that we play cricket in India, and they don't play cricket here. Whatever happens, will be on an equal footing.

Yes equal footing than generate revenues for ICC like BCCI , sold the ICC broadcasers right for pakistan territory like Indian, 3 Billion.

Hai dum???

You Indians are not reading, keep jumping thr gun in excitement

You are describing the hybrid model. India bases itself in UAE and other teams travel to UAE to play matches with India. Non India matches are played in Pakistan. That is exactly what BCCI wants.

Never possible from a dishonest person to stay on right. He will accept money and betray us.

I see a hybrid model coming TBH. ICC cannot push INDIA out of the event were to much money is involved so yeah, most probably a hybrid model is coming.

But PCB is clearly said no to hybrid model .

So Either entire champion trophy out of pakistan or to be postponed.

Mohsin Naqvi: "It is not acceptable that we play cricket in India, and they don't play cricket here. Whatever happens, will be on an equal footing.

Yes equal footing than generate revenues for ICC like BCCI , sold the ICC broadcasers right for pakistan territory like Indian, 3 Billion.

Hai dum???
@BouncerGuy or any other pakistani expert have any answer? Lets talk about equal footing which PCB chief was talking about? :kp

He is talking about cricket vs cricket, bro. Equal footing for me means Pakistan goes to India to play cricket and in return, India comes to Pakistan.

This is equal footing... Money cannot be equal between BCCI and PCB.. no comparison in terms of many bruh....

He is talking about cricket vs cricket, bro. Equal footing for me means Pakistan goes to India to play cricket and in return, India comes to Pakistan.

This is equal footing... Money cannot be equal between BCCI and PCB.. no comparison in terms of many bruh....
Cricket vs cricket than we can Only Talk about cricket to be played in the ground not where it can played.

You can't have equality in deciding the venues if you can't generated enough money for ICC. Its very simple.

Cricket vs cricket than we can Only Talk about cricket to be played in the ground not where it can played.

You can't have equality in deciding the venues if you can't generated enough money for ICC. Its very simple.
ICC has given Pakistan the right to host.. people can go and protest outside the ICC headquarter why they did that

Pakistan, with its rich cricketing history and passionate fans, deserves a fair share of hosting rights.

The security situation in Pakistan is quite bad. I believe it was a disastrous decision by the ICC to even allocate an ICC tournament to Pakistan given the situations involving the country. By their logic they will allot an ICC tournament to Afghanistan in a few years and put everyone in danger. Let’s give it a few more years until the situation in Pakistan improves considerably before even considering their case. Until then the tournament should be moved entirely to another place. This was ICC’s blunder and it is for ICC to correct it now.

ICC has given Pakistan the right to host.. people can go and protest outside the ICC headquarter why they did that

Pakistan, with its rich cricketing history and passionate fans, deserves a fair share of hosting rights.
Now same ICC is asking for hybrid model. So lets ICC will decide what is best solution .

I don't get this random idea of "deserving something" at international level. There are no laws or rules at international level. You win and grow by making allies and actually growing yourself strong, nothing else gives anyone out of the goodness of their heart. The only other way countries get something out of nowhere is being a lucky by-stander in the tussle between major geo-political powers. In cricket Bangladesh has benefited the most because of animosity between India and Pakistan.

Since 2000, Bangladesh has hosted 1 ODI World Cup, 1 T20 World Cup and 4 Asia Cups, Pakistan has hosted just 2 Asia Cups (1 as hybrid), India hosted 2 ODI world Cups, 1 T20 World Cup and zero Asia Cups. And despite hosting all these tournaments Bangladesh is still the embarrassment of a team for full time members. All India Pakistan tussle has done is to subsidize and fill the coffers of corrupt Bangladesh Cricket.

Let's be honest everyone can agree it would be hilarious if India were removed from the tournament. Just for the laughs and entertainment purposes.

But more realistically, I am expecting a hybrid model + compensation + Pakistan getting a hybrid model in return for Indian-hosted tournaments.

One interesting wrinkle that might be included would be the ICC announcing the 2026 T20 WC will also have a hybrid model with all of Pakistan's matches being played in SL (which is already the co-host).
Hybrid model for CT and extra compensation for PCB will happen. So basically PCB will get hosting fees plus extra money for co-hosting the tournament in UAE which will be shared with Emirates Cricket Board.

However, Pakistan getting a hybrid model in return for all India hosted tournaments will NEVER happen. India will host Asia Cup 2025, T20 WC 2026, CT 2027 and WC 2031. You think BCCI will let go all Ind v Pak games, 1 semi final and final to another country for sake of Pakistan? It will never happen in million years.

Yes the tournaments where there is already a co-host, like 2026 T20 WC, Pakistan games (except Ind match) will be played outside India. However, they need to come to India to play play offs and finals. This exact scenario already happened in 2011 WC. So nothing new will happen this time.

However, Pakistan getting a hybrid model in return for all India hosted tournaments will NEVER happen. India will host Asia Cup 2025,
Indian Govt have not given security clearance for asia cup 2018.so i don't think they will bother about 2025 too.

Hybrid model for CT and extra compensation for PCB will happen. So basically PCB will get hosting fees plus extra money for co-hosting the tournament in UAE which will be shared with Emirates Cricket Board.

However, Pakistan getting a hybrid model in return for all India hosted tournaments will NEVER happen. India will host Asia Cup 2025, T20 WC 2026, CT 2027 and WC 2031. You think BCCI will let go all Ind v Pak games, 1 semi final and final to another country for sake of Pakistan? It will never happen in million years.

Yes the tournaments where there is already a co-host, like 2026 T20 WC, Pakistan games (except Ind match) will be played outside India. However, they need to come to India to play play offs and finals. This exact scenario already happened in 2011 WC. So nothing new will happen this time.
If it happens, 2011 type scheduling is the best case scenario Pakistan will get and the beneficiary will be Sri Lanka. I don't see India sharing hosting rights with Bangladesh anytime soon.

As per reports:

The ICC board is set to meet to resolve the hosting dilemma for the 2025 Champions Trophy, with options including a hybrid model where Pakistan hosts most matches but India’s are played elsewhere, moving the entire event outside Pakistan, or holding it solely in Pakistan without India—a commercially damaging choice.

The PCB has largely rejected the hybrid model unless it comes with reciprocal arrangements for future India-hosted tournaments, as Pakistan's government is unlikely to permit travel there due to strained political relations. PCB chairman Mohsin Naqvi emphasized prioritizing Pakistan’s interests without being swayed by financial incentives.

I understand your points.

But then I ask, what will happen if the PCB says it does not have government clearance to play in India? The ICC will cut Pakistan from the tournaments?

Of course, this is just an opinion but I find this highly unlikely.

Oh bhai where did I said pakistan will play a single match in UAE only India plays in UAE
Hybrid does not mean only Pak. playing outside Pakistan. It involves any match of CT not played in Pakistan. For example, if Aus, Eng, NZ etc. travel to UAE to play India, and play other games in Pakistan, that would be a hybrid model.

As per reports:

The ICC board is set to meet to resolve the hosting dilemma for the 2025 Champions Trophy, with options including a hybrid model where Pakistan hosts most matches but India’s are played elsewhere, moving the entire event outside Pakistan, or holding it solely in Pakistan without India—a commercially damaging choice.

The PCB has largely rejected the hybrid model unless it comes with reciprocal arrangements for future India-hosted tournaments, as Pakistan's government is unlikely to permit travel there due to strained political relations. PCB chairman Mohsin Naqvi emphasized prioritizing Pakistan’s interests without being swayed by financial incentives.
Well done PCB

As per reports:

Champions Trophy- Every member board is with India and all of them have backed the hybrid model

PCB stands alone. If they agree good, else they lose the tournament.

As per reports:

Champions Trophy- Every member board is with India and all of them have backed the hybrid model

PCB stands alone. If they agree good, else they lose the tournament.
Might as well lose the tournament

Now it all depends on how Mohsin Naqvi responds if all other members support the hybrid model. I think he must boycott the CT in that case.

Pakistan should just boycott the competition, seems all ICC members have got on their hands on knees to kiss BCCIs feet. No shock really.

Cowards will always be more concerned about money then integrity of the tournament itself.