Chennai becomes sixth Indian city with metro railway

Not only on sundays but on weekdays as well, especially office going and returning hours are crazy.
Two or three times I could not get out at my intended stop because the incoming crowing just rushed in without letting the crowd in the train exit, I had to get down at the next stop.

I mentioned Sundays, because it is supposed to have less congestion. Of course weekdays will be even more crowded.

Someone who has boarded the local train at 10AM in Dadar, Mumbai will find no train or place difficult.

Someone who uses their broken AC when it's 21 C outside will find that it actually works very well.

There is a separate coach for the women ? Is it only in Delhi or in every metros?

Yes i see, i don't think Kokott's metro tracks can handle bigger carts. From quick google image search, it looks like these metro's are lighter version of subways you see in Toronto and NewYork. Looks like only Chennai could handle big carts.

Bombardier produces planes too. There is a small airport near my university(6-7km away). They've been testing their new airplanes very often.
Kolkata metro upgradation and extension is going on.It will soon have Indias only underwater Metro line.

There is a separate coach for the women ? Is it only in Delhi or in every metros?

Yes i see, i don't think Kokott's metro tracks can handle bigger carts. From quick google image search, it looks like these metro's are lighter version of subways you see in Toronto and NewYork. Looks like only Chennai could handle big carts.

Bombardier produces planes too. There is a small airport near my university(6-7km away). They've been testing their new airplanes very often.

I interned at Bombardier one summer..

Needless to say one of the most bureaucratic and inefficient companies I have ever worked for. They had teams of project managers bigger than the teams that were actually doing the projects. 5 people managing one person..

Don't know about other cities but in Delhi metro the first two compartments are reserved for females only.

these are latest delhi metro phase 3 trains by Hyundai Rotem.small amount will be imported from South Korea and rest will be made in India.

View attachment 57920

These are also the first driverless trains of india. Delhi is the first one to deploy them.

BTW, Chennai is seventh metro , not sixth.

India is very underrated here on PP (not surprising it is a Pakistani forum). I have been regular here since two months and have seen that most of the news from India which makes on to timepass section is about the shortcomings of India. I don't know about the growth and development of Pakistan so can't comment on it but situation in India is definitely not as gloomy as is projected here

I think it has to do with the trolls coming from India only to annoy Pakistanis at PakPassion. That's why members of PakPassion don't trust them. But there are few Indian quality members who promote the good version of India, and because of their credibility in PakPassion, we take their words unconditionally just as we would your if you build similar credibility in PakPassion. Welcome to PakPassion. :)

What do you people think, is the main reason holding it back in Pakistan ? Is it money or mentality ?

Mentality. Technically, that metro bus given the land resources maximized in the biggest expensive city turns out the good price despite of what people would term it 'expensive' considering the similar project Imran Khan wanted to go with but albeit different company which he deemed it as cheaper and effective. After calculation of taking project into the account, it turns out that project ended up costing four times more and may be more than the successfully launched project in Lahore, Metro Bus, hence was rumored to be cancelled. I never heard about that project afterward.

Since it is Imran Khan vs Nawaz Sharif or as people make it about, Imranistan would go to certain length to undermine the effort of the contribution of Nawaz Sharif. Nawaz Sharif is not very likeable personality, and given the duel between Nawaz Sharif and Imran Khan, they would make sure that Pakistan benefits nothing from Nawaz Sharif. At the end, it is costing Pakistan, not Nawaz Sharif. Unfortunately, since they are not thinking for the welfare of Pakistan given their earlier attempted to take cities into hostage earlier and hosted largest dharna to impose on the already-struggling economy of Pakistan, it is understandable why they would spit on anything not built by Imran Khan regardless of whether this benefits Pakistan or not.

If it was Imran Khan, the nation would be willing to support him for his visions of Modern cities entailing Metro bus and Metro rail. Since it is being done by unlikeable personality as well as making it all about competition, get ready to expect the reactions which would beg investors to rethink before to invest there. Good thing that Nawaz Sharif went out of his way to assure investors that it is safe to invest in Punjab, at least for now, where he enjoys the influence, and not in Sindh and else where.

I guess Nawaz Sharif shouldn't have become PM, but then, we wouldn't be witnessing Zarb-e-Azb mission against TTP and its expanded mission all the way to Karachi through the official rangers against MQM, and more official investigations wouldn't be carried out, God knows best.

* MQM and PPP are responsible for chaos in Karachi, yet their supporters don't support PMLN and blame everything on PMLN and Punjab.
* Imran Khan is responsible for putting TTP on the map. In return, TTP had killed more than 50,000 civilians and dangerous enemy of Pakistan. Yet Imranistan hate PMLN and blame everything on PMLN.
* Given the history of Pakistan Army and Nawaz Sharif, from the Marshall Law to TTP/MQM being flourished under the ruling of Pakistan General, Musharraf, is responsible for what happened to Pakistan, yet his supporters and related to Pakistan army blame everything on PMLN.

It is more of blind-love or blind-hate mentality that prohibits them from thinking for the long term of Pakistan. :sanga

actually india is third richest country in the world behind usa and china only in terms of ppp economy its in trillions and its growing more than china this decade though we are far behind them ..india is rich its people are poor actually and god knows about corruption only in this country...but do you think pakistan really need metros?? you dnt have much population problem like us in india

Yes, Pakistan needs metro given the expensive transits in the biggest cities. In fact, i have witnessed the developed metro bus of Rawalpindi-Islamabad in the crowded cities, trust me as i say, that the crowded cities could use metro bus and metro rail given the overcrowded population and traffic lacking highways and whatnot. Rich people don't but poor and middle-class people do. Only rich people opposes this project given their blind-love for Imran Khan hyped as in famously known "burgers".

With the reasonable turnovers of metro bus and metro rails, Pakistan government can afford to pay back with interest while profit from the the revenue they make from metro bus and metro rails. You cannot borrow loans to invest in non-profit equity such as education and health and not profit anything to not be able to pay back with interest as well.

Those who complain about lack of education and health should start paying taxes, and until then, the federal government has to do with whatever it does to make do with the situation as presented.

Keep in mind that first India made itself economically stable before taking on these projects whereas Pakistan is doing it during a period of economic uncertainty.

Kolkata metro upgradation and extension is going on.It will soon have Indias only underwater Metro line.

I interned at Bombardier one summer..

Needless to say one of the most bureaucratic and inefficient companies I have ever worked for. They had teams of project managers bigger than the teams that were actually doing the projects. 5 people managing one person..

Don't know about other cities but in Delhi metro the first two compartments are reserved for females only.

Like the English channel, coool

LOL, what project were you involved in ? few years ago Bombardier got sued because one of the HR said "we don't give jobs to muslims" . The HR was actually and Indian :facepalm:

Interesting. Do they have camera's inside them ?

Looks like India currently has like 10+ Metros under construction/pre planning.

Mentality. Technically, that metro bus given the land resources maximized in the biggest expensive city turns out the good price despite of what people would term it 'expensive' considering the similar project Imran Khan wanted to go with but albeit different company which he deemed it as cheaper and effective. After calculation of taking project into the account, it turns out that project ended up costing four times more and may be more than the successfully launched project in Lahore, Metro Bus, hence was rumored to be cancelled. I never heard about that project afterward.

* MQM and PPP are responsible for chaos in Karachi, yet their supporters don't support PMLN and blame everything on PMLN and Punjab.
* Imran Khan is responsible for putting TTP on the map. In return, TTP had killed more than 50,000 civilians and dangerous enemy of Pakistan. Yet Imranistan hate PMLN and blame everything on PMLN.

Kindly elaborate on the TTP part

Read the history between Imran Khan and TTP from 2007-2013.

Keep in mind that first India made itself economically stable before taking on these projects whereas Pakistan is doing it during a period of economic uncertainty.

India made itself economical by investments on energy sectors, expanding the transits to metro bus and metro rail to ease on the crowded cities or else they will be stuck there forever, its policy on international trades, and long highways as connecting routes for efficient, trades between cities, that bore fruits which led to stabilize and later to expand its economy despite of million people in poverty, and its priority on investment for strengthening the economy over health and education.

Once the economy stabilizes and expand, and only that more funds [from the flourishing economy] will be created which will be able to afford non-profit entity; health and education, not by holding dharnas and taking cities as hostage to damage the economy.

Let's take a look at what Nawaz Sharif has done; known for investments on highways as well as his latest projects working on the metro highways between Peshawar as connecting routes to Punjab and and Punjab to Karachi which is on-going project. Not to mention the greatest project of all the time connecting to China and Kashmir.

Now on trades especially International which includes India as several times he came close to ensure the existence of trades between India and Pakistan despite of Pakistan army.

Nawaz Sharif is the first one to invest on energy sectors which he just did as soon as he came to the power despite of Musharraf and Zardari that came before him did noting. Although, he borrowed billion dollars for those projects which people complained about the priority by ignoring health and education.

Now he is working on metro bus expanding from Lahore to Rawalpindi and Islamabad, and introducing modern metro-rail in Lahore in the history of Pakistan while his future plans [metro bus/metro rails] on Karachi is still on the board as soon as TTP, PPP, and MQM are addressed forever leaving huge vacuum for Nawaz Sharif to fill uninterruptedly.

Karachi is a big cities which deserves metro bus and metro-rails despite of people voted for those powers that did nothing for Karachi, as being crowded city that happen to be economical port that doesn't help either. In fact, had Musharraf not interfere during the leadership of Nawaz Sharif, MQM would have been finished, and Pakistan would be bearing the fruits from the energy sectors to modern infrastructures by now, not to mention peaceful Karachi and no nuisance TTP either.

Excellent stuff. Metro makes travel during the day much more convenient during the hot summer months. One commendable aspect is the prices. They are priced reasonably enough that even poor people can travel using the metro.

However, what I'm most surprised about is how clean they remain to be. Year after year whenever I go back to Delhi expecting them to have turned smelly and rusty like the railways coaches, I'm surprised to find them shiny clean.

Kolkota needs metro carts like this we have here in Toronto. I believe Delhi metro bought some subway trains from Bombardier(Canadian). I wonder why Delhi went with smaller carts when they could have bought these once, they are big, wide and you would never be stuck in just one cart.

View attachment 57912

Ask them when will they have these on the green line first :P

That's because India wanted to build the coaches domestically via a technology transfer agreement so it gets the know-how to manufacture these coaches for projects in other cities.

During the first phase, it imported some from South Korea, and manufactured some at home. During the second phase of the expansion for the Delhi Metro which ended in 2011, they did buy some coaches from Bombardier.

Apparently, when I was travelling to Mexico, I saw that they had metro coaches by Bombardier as well (although seemed from the 80s). However, the system in Mexico City beats Toronto hands down in terms of reach and ticket prices.

lol sorry yaar, but that was a nice pic..but thats a massive crowd in delhi...how do you guys get around? very brave...

That's Delhi for you. It scares outsiders but the people enduring it every day are pretty happy. Must visit Indian city.

That's because India wanted to build the coaches domestically via a technology transfer agreement so it gets the know-how to manufacture these coaches for projects in other cities.

During the first phase, it imported some from South Korea, and manufactured some at home. During the second phase of the expansion for the Delhi Metro which ended in 2011, they did buy some coaches from Bombardier.

Apparently, when I was travelling to Mexico, I saw that they had metro coaches by Bombardier as well (although seemed from the 80s). However, the system in Mexico City beats Toronto hands down in terms of reach and ticket prices.

Toronto metro system isn't very extensive, it is also quite slow..

Montreal has a much better system in place.

Toronto is fairly a new city, it is growing and so we can't compare our metro with Mexico city which is the largest city in western hemisphere lol Toronto is not condensed as these Indian cities are, are you attending any Pan Am games ?

Toronto is a newer city, MTL was the biggest city in Canada till the late 70s lol. They didn't expect Toronto to grow this big

Oh yeah was in Montreal a couple of weeks ago and it is significantly better than TTC. At a time when GTA's population is growing crazy, our politicians are stuck bickering over what's the best type of transit (LRT vs subway) to fund. We need some investment now, otherwise the overload on the system is obvious.

Toronto is fairly a new city, it is growing and so we can't compare our metro with Mexico city which is the largest city in western hemisphere lol Toronto is not condensed as these Indian cities are, are you attending any Pan Am games ?

Yes, see my other post where I acknowledged GTA is growing much faster than they anticipated, but we should have been making decisions

I move back between Toronto and Ottawa a lot, and I'm in Ottawa these days. Will see if I can make some time out to go to Toronto for the games. How about you? I heard they are using UTSC's pools for the swimming events. I should get alumni discounts. :(

Yes, see my other post where I acknowledged GTA is growing much faster than they anticipated, but we should have been making investments in transit infrastructure 5 years ago. Transit systems take years to build, and governments need to anticipate and build for the future. But the bickering in city hall, especially during the ludicrious Rob Ford years has meant our transit system is heavily overloaded. Hopefully John Tory is visionary enough to get the ball rolling.

On a side note - I think they should abolish the fixed fare system, and introduce a distance-based fare on the TTC. Will improve their revenues a lot, and would also mean they don't have to go begging to the City and the Province for large sums of money, something which leads the TTC to being held at ransom for infrastructure project decisions.

I travel between Toronto and Ottawa a lot, and I'm in Ottawa these days. Will see if I can make some time out to go to Toronto for the games. How about you? I heard they are using UTSC's pools for the swimming events. I should get alumni discounts. :(

Oh yeah was in Montreal a couple of weeks ago and it is significantly better than TTC. At a time when GTA's population is growing crazy, our politicians are stuck bickering over what's the best type of transit (LRT vs subway) to fund. We need some investment now, otherwise the overload on the system is obvious.

Plus there are plans to close down Gardener Expressway for reconstruction..

Good luck reaching down town if that happens

Yes, see my other post where I acknowledged GTA is growing much faster than they anticipated, but we should have been making investments in transit infrastructure 5 years ago. Transit systems take years to build, and governments need to anticipate and build for the future. But the bickering in city hall, especially during the ludicrious Rob Ford years has meant our transit system is heavily overloaded. Hopefully John Tory is visionary enough to get the ball rolling.

On a side note - I think they should abolish the fixed fare system, and introduce a distance-based fare on the TTC. Will improve their revenues a lot, and would also mean they don't have to go begging to the City and the Province for large sums of money, something which leads the TTC to being held at ransom for infrastructure project decisions.

I travel between Toronto and Ottawa a lot, and I'm in Ottawa these days. Will see if I can make some time out to go to Toronto for the games. How about you? I heard they are using UTSC's pools for the swimming events. I should get alumni discounts. :(

I'm not sure how the distance-based fare would work. The students would take suffer this way, but then again there are people who are paying the full price to travel 7-8 stops. Rob Ford only won the election earlier because his opponents were a Gay and a Jew. He also moaned about how Toronto not being able to take care of incoming immigrants. Tory looks like a decent man. It is funny how Ford supporters tried to turn the last election into a Tory the rich guy vs Rob the poor guy aka "people's guy man" when Rob Ford is living of his dad's fortunes. His dad made over 100 million lol.

Ya UTSC is hosting the aquatics, York is hosting the athletics, Hamilton is hosting some games and Ryerson is hosting basketball. I'm a York student, the York athletics stadium is almost done but they are racing against the clock. York's new stadium can be easily converted into a cricket ground, it looks pretty decent. The subway extension looks like it is also racing against time and Im sure it won't be completed by next year. I'm not an athletics kinda guy, I'm interested in watching a game or two of basketball. It will be played at Ryerson, the tickets are either $15 or $25 and there are only about 2,500 seats. I'm also a bit nervous about attending these games after the last two terrorist attack lol. I'm trying to avoid the Downtown area during that time lol.

Miss my city ,miss my country so much ,metro or no metro I would love every place!

Jaipur metro is working pretty fine.
Much better alternative compared to crowded buses.

Miss my city ,miss my country so much ,metro or no metro I would love every place!

How often do you get to visit India? I try to get back at least once every year, generally during the winter. Summers in Delhi are too hot to get out of the house.

I just came to states last October and already home sick.

Cheer up, the first year is tough, after that it gets better :)

With the internet, it is much easier to now stay in touch with friends. 20 years ago it was much harder.

Cheer up, the first year is tough, after that it gets better :)

With the internet, it is much easier to now stay in touch with friends. 20 years ago it was much harder.

Yeah hoping the same..it's summer so at least it's not boring in Chicago , some festival or the other, today was Pride parade fun stuff.

Was in Chennai over the weekend - looks like the metro is in full swing. Right after you step out of the airport you can see them whizzing right overhead.

Surprised the coaches haven't melted because of the heat though haha.

Also - whose bright idea was it to advertise a car on a public transport instrument? ::J

1839556419.jpg

I think Chennai metro has a single line that touches port, central railway and airport making it most unique line in India.

Yeah hoping the same..it's summer so at least it's not boring in Chicago , some festival or the other, today was Pride parade fun stuff.

Lived in Chicago for five years. Lakeshore is beautiful this time of the year, I used to go there often in the summer. Evanston (Northwestern Univ) is also quite pretty.

Be careful about where you go. In India we are used to going wherever we please, but in many US cities there are many places which are very unsafe. Find out if a place is safe before you go there. South Chicago is generally unsafe, except for the rectangle bounded by Cottage Grove, the Lake, 53rd and 61st St.

Also - whose bright idea was it to advertise a car on a public transport instrument? ::J

1839556419.jpg

The big question is, after 1 year will it remain clean like above or will it go down the railway platform way?

I saw Hyderabad metro a little bit and it is dirty. Cleanliness is something we can never teach the public.