CT 2009 | The Final | Australia Vs New Zealand | Oct 5, 2009 | Centurion

MIG

So this is it.

Australia looking like giants once again with New Zealand the new giant killers.

The equivalent of an India Pakistan confrontation - should be an interesting battle.

Semi Final 2: Australia vs New Zealand, ICC Champions Trophy, 2009: October 5th, 2009

Venue: Centurtion

Stats say: (last five completed matches, most recent first)

Australia - WWWLW

Ominously they are peaking at the right time. Even more ominously they have survived the one token scare that champion sides face, in the game against Pakistan.

New Zealand - WWWLL

Their weakened line-up has made the rest even more determined. They will rely a lot on their bowlers and fielders to find a balance between defence and attack, and restrict Australia like they did Pakistan.

Pitch : Always a mystery! However Cricinfo says:

Centurion, apart from the Pakistan-Australia game, has had flat batting pitches, which could made it harder for New Zealand to pull off an upset. A 30% chance of precipitation means we should get a complete game.

Team Updates:

From cricinfo:

Both teams gave satisfactory performances in the semi-finals, and both are more or less settled - even if not entirely by design.

Australia (probable): 1 Shane Watson, 2 Tim Paine (wk), 3 Ricky Ponting (capt), 4 Michael Hussey, 5 Cameron White, 6 Callum Ferguson, 7 James Hopes, 8 Mitchell Johnson, 9 Brett Lee, 10 Nathan Hauritz, 11 Peter Siddle.

A discussion on allrounder Brendon Diamanti has its merits - Neil Broom hasn't had much to do in the tournament - but New Zealand are not likely to tinker with a winning combination. And the way Elliott came through the semi-final, a big worry for them has been taken care of.

New Zealand (probable): 1 Brendon McCullum (wk), 2 Aaron Redmond, 3 Martin Guptill, 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Neil Broom, 6 Grant Elliot, 7 James Franklin, 8 Daniel Vettori (capt), 9 Kyle Mills, 10 Shane Bond, 11 Ian Butler.

Match scheduled: 14:30 local time (12:30 GMT)

Toss : NZ win toss and decide to bat

Weather report (BBC/weathercity.com)

40% chance of showers but given past record of these forecasts, may well be an uninterrupted game.

Cricinfo says:

The pitch looks like one you'd want to bat first on. There's a few small patches of green which weren't there last time, which means the ball may sit up from there. The general view is that this is a drier pitch. Win toss, bat first.

So this is it.

Australia looking like giants once again with New Zealand the new giant killers.

The equivalent of an India Pakistan confrontation - should be an interesting battle.

Sorry but no..Kiwis have been getting pumped by Australia on a regular basis for years. There's no animosity between the countries.

Damn this blasted daylight savings ! I thought the game started now, but my clocks have been pushed forward an hour :inti

Breaking News: Vettori out

Im afraid this halves New Zealands chances in the match

Oh no.

I am sure Elliot will now continue where he left off.

Alternately, Kiwis should pretend that their team bus broke down and they couldnt get to the field on time.

Alternate to Alternately - what better excuse to give when they lose this match?

NZ would have got battered with Vettori - this could be over sharpish!

Aus to win by miles and retain the CT!

NZ win the toss and bat, I'm glad we lost the toss and NZ get to bat as it should make it harder for Aus.

Vettori's out. Bummer. We want the strongest team out there.

NZ would have got battered with Vettori - this could be over sharpish!

Aus to win by miles and retain the CT!

Do you have a hat handy? :)

Fish says the truth, NZ have only Bond now.

OZGOD said:
Vettori's out. Bummer. We want the strongest team out there.

I was looking forward for the hobbits to munch on the kangaroos...but looks like the roos are gonna kick the hobbits on their back side. What say OZ?

Bl'dy Vettori had to play our match didnt he ?

Vettori has pulled a hamstring and will not play.

I think the chances of Aus winning just went up from 80 to 99.8%.

I am willing to stake my entire life on this game.

In the favor of Australia.

NZ chose to bat....so what is a good total 270? Don't think NZ will go above 225 - my prediction.

Sussie from Denmark emails in: "I'd just settled in early from college, coffee, chips, salsa, ready to yell for NZ.....then first thing I hear "Vettori out with hamstring". Im going back to college. Well played Australia."

Lmfao.

slix10 said:
Sussie from Denmark emails in: "I'd just settled in early from college, coffee, chips, salsa, ready to yell for NZ.....then first thing I hear "Vettori out with hamstring". Im going back to college. Well played Australia."

Lmfao.

I think NZ biding time until their flight leaves.

Should we start Air New Zealand pls start your engines thread?

New Zealand 8 for 1 after 6 overs.

Sensational blistering start.

What a one sided match already :110:

The Aussies must have been delighted the moment Pak lost the semi final. This should just be a formality.

In an unbelievable and extraordinary twist, New Zealand have taken a single

They're aiming for 90+ runs altogether.

18/1 in 9 overs - slow and steady start - NZ have been watching our videos ...

Their best batter(who happens to be their best bowler as well) is not playing...There would be struggle,struggle and struggle for Kiwis all the way today.. :butt

`what an atrocious decision by gould!!!

the batsmen clearly nicked it behin and he gave it not out!

The lowest score in the first ten overs is 23 - the mandatory Powerplay - and that was what England scored against New Zealand. New Zealand have broken that.

Wow.

What an ugly player Aaron Redmond is!..NZ must get him out or call him back otherwise they shouldnt turn up in the Aus inns for bowling..

Just got back from breakfast. What's happening? Are they all out yet?

I'm only following this out of duty to PakPassion......although I might have to make my excuses soon.....

OZGOD said:
Just got back from breakfast. What's happening? Are they all out yet?

Yes, Ponting re-invited NZ to bat. No wonder they are playing so slow.

well he did hit 2 fours :p

NZ-54 for 1 in 16 overs...... one of them had to bat through till late....

I think we are being mislead by the apparent lack of urgency by NZ

Fact is that NZ are batting according to a plan here.

Simon Doull has just published this plan in his private web site and I quote

The plan is to bore the pants off Australia.

The way this works is simple.

Play normal NZ cricket.

40 overs of the innings, just about get to 120

Next 10 overs hot out and score 600 based upon half of Aussie team being asleep on the field.

Remember, if things dont go our way, there is a Daily Mail article waiting to be published

Boring yaar............ why cant they just make it Ind-pak finals irrespective of the earlier results...... :D

I think we are being mislead by the apparent lack of urgency by NZ

Fact is that NZ are batting according to a plan here.

Simon Doull has just published this plan in his private web site and I quote
:))) ohh sorry then ,only Simoun Doull could have worked this plan out.. :))) .

oh god nooooooooooooooooooooooo.............redmond out stumped... :(

Is Simon Doule continuously giving us his words of cricket wisdom?

Oh ok............... nobodys bothered anymore.............bye

Bhai jaan agar yehi kerna tha tu hum ko he finaal khelney detey.

Ross taylor goneeeeeeeeeeeeee...................johnson strikes......... NZ 81/4.............falling apart............

Hot on the heels of this scintillating encounter is another day to mark on your calendars

Ken V Zim Oct 12th.....

New Zealand struggling here now.

Hot on the heels of this scintillating encounter is another day to mark on your calendars

Ken V Zim Oct 12th.....

Are tickets available?
How much are tickets?
Who's showing this in the UK?
Who's showing this in USA?
Who's showing this in Canada?

The Suji brothers have to play this match! Suji ka halwa time!

Aur ab Australia waalon ney Kiwis ko khairaat mein kuch runs deney ka faisla ker liya.