"Despite outstanding performances in T20Is against WI, I've still been dropped" : Kamran Akmal

قومی ٹیم کے مایہ ناز وکٹ کیپر بلے باز کامران اکمل نے مستقل مزاجی سے کارکردگی دکھانے کے باوجود قومی ٹی20 اسکواڈ سے ڈراپ کیے جانے پر مایوسی کا اظہار کیا ہے۔

پاکستان کرکٹ بورڈ نے ورلڈ الیون کے خلاف آزادی کپ کے تین ٹی20 میچوں کی سیریز کیلئے 16 رکنی اسکواڈ کا اعلان کیا ہے جس سے کامران اکمل کو ڈراہ کردیا گیا۔

وکٹ کیپر بلے باز نے ڈان نیوز سے خصوصی گفتگو کرتے ہوے کہا کہ تین سال ڈومیسٹک میں عمدہ کارکردگی دکھا کر قومی ٹیم میں واپس آیا جبکہ ویسٹ انڈیز میں کھیلے گئے ٹی ٹوئنٹی میچز میں بھی بہترین کارکردگی دکھائی لیکن اس کے باوجود ڈراپ کردیا گیا۔

انہوں نے کہا کہ ایک کرکٹر کیلئے ٹیم میں واپسی کیلئے فٹنس اور فارم سب سے اہم ہوتی ہے اور میں نے یہ دونوں ثابت کیں۔ اب یہ سلیکٹرز ہی بہتر بتا سکتے ہیں کہ کس بنیاد پر مجھے ٹیم سے باہر کیا لیکن مجھے ٹیم سے باہر کیے جانے پر بہت دکھ ہوا ہے۔

یاد رہے کہ کامران اکمل گزشتہ تین سال سے قائد اعظم ٹرافی میں بہترین کارکردگی کا مظاہرہ کر رہے تھے اور رواں سال پاکستان سپر لیگ میں بھی 353 رنز بنا کر سب سے کامیاب بلے باز رہے تھے جس کی بنیاد پر انہیں دورہ ویسٹ انڈیز کیلئے ٹیم کا حصہ بنایا گیا تھا لیکن پھر ایک سیریز کے بعد انہیں دوبارہ ڈراپ کردیا گیا۔

مجھے کیوں ڈراپ کیا گیا اس بارے میں سلیکٹرز ہی بہتر بتا سکتے ہیں اور ان کے جواب کے بعد ہی میں کچھ کہہ سکوں گا۔

انہوں نے کہا کہ میں ہمیشہ پاکستان کیلئے بہترین کارکردگی دکھائی اور اب بھی ڈومیسٹک سطح پر بہترین فارم اور فٹنس ثابت کرنے کی کوشش کروں گا، باقی ٹیم میں منتخب کرنا یا نہ کرنا سلیکٹرز کے ہاتھ میں ہے۔

کامران اکمل نے انکشاف کیا کہ سلیکشن کمیٹی کے رکن وسیم حیدر نے ٹیم سے اخراج کی وجہ میری خراب فیلڈنگ کو قرار دیا جس پر میں نے انہیں باور کرایا کہ میں ڈومیسٹک میں بھی صرف پانچ سے چھ میچوں میں فیلڈنگ کی اور میں تین سال بعد کم بیک کر رہا تھا اس لیے کارکردگی تھوڑی متاثر ہوئی اور اگر ٹیم کے ساتھ رکھا جاتا تو بتدریج کارکردگی بہتر ہوتی رہتی۔

انہوں نے پاکستانی ٹیم کیلئے نیک خواہشات کا اظہار کرتے ہوئے کہا کہ ملک میں انٹرنیشنل کرکٹ کی واپسی نیک شگون ہے اور اس سے مستقبل میں انٹرنیشنل ٹیموں کے دورہ پاکستان کی راہ ہموار ہو گی۔

53 ٹیسٹ، 153 ون ڈے اور 58 ٹی20 میچوں میں پاکستان کی نمائندگی کا اعزاز رکھنے والے وکٹ کیپر بلے باز نے کہا کہ پاکستان میں کرکٹ کی واپسی کا تمام تر کریڈٹ چیئرمین پی سی بی نجم سیٹھی کو جاتا ہے جو کئی سال سے اس سلسلے میں محنت کر رہے تھے۔ جو بھی غیر ملکی کرکٹرز ورلڈ الیون کے ساتھ ہمارے ملک آ رہے ہیں میں ان کا شکریہ ادا کرتا ہوں۔

کامران اکمل نے چیئرمین پی سی بی نجم سیٹھی سے اپیل کی کہ وہ ان کی گزشتہ دو سے تین سال کے عرصے کے دوران دکھائی گئی کارکردگی کو مدنظر رکھتے ہوئے سلیکشن کمیٹی کے فیصلے پر نظر ثانی کریں۔​

https://www.dawnnews.tv/news/1063661

Translation

'I made a return to the international team after three years of excellent performances in domestic cricket; despite outstanding performances in the T20Is against West Indies, I've still been dropped from the team.'

'To make a comeback to the side, a cricketer has to prove his fitness and form and I have done just that. The selectors know better as to why I was dropped and what was the reasoning behind it. I am very hurt at being dropped.'

'I have always performed outstandingly for Pakistan and I will continue to try and showcase my form and fitness in the upcoming domestic season.'

'Selection committee member, Waseem Haider, said the reason for my omission from the team was bad fielding. I stated that I only fielded 5-6 times in domestic matches and was making a comeback after 3 years which is why my performance were slightly lacking. If I stay with the team, the performances will gradually improve.'

He expressed his good wishes for the Pakistani team, saying that the return of international cricket in the country is good and it will open the door for tours of international teams to Pakistan in the future.

'The credit for the return of cricket in Pakistan goes to PCB Chairman Najam Sethi who has been working hard on this matter for many years. I thank those foreigners who are coming to our country with World XI.'

'I appeal to Chairman PCB Najam Sethi to review the decision of the selection committee while keeping my performances during the last two to three years in consideration.'

Man these two brothers are the biggest whiners around. Just getting ridiculous.

'Selection committee member, Waseem Haider, said the reason for my omission from the team was bad fielding. I stated that I only fielded 5-6 times in domestic matches and was making a comeback after 3 years which is why my performance were slightly lacking. If I stay with the team, the performances will gradually improve.'

:murali

What a guy.

"If I stay with the team, the performances will gradually improve."

Last time he consistently stayed with the team, Akmal ended up with the honor of worst WK in cricketing history. Gradually decline more like it.

These brothers seem to have no shame.

His fielding has always been a problem, with or without gloves.

I mustve been watching a different series against the windies because i didnt see any outstanding performances from him

Either that or we have different definitions of outstanding

On the contrary his performances with the bat and in the field were bordering on the mediocre if anything

the guy could end up scoring 3 golden ducks and still have a reason to say why he deserves selection.

His batting avg itself is a joke.

Guys like Babar Azam had to wait years for selection in the team, and that kid had the stats to back him.

This guy on the other hand has terrible stats, yet he has played for Pakistan.

What a massive liar. I remember arguing with his 'fans' then as well. In all T20s his dot ratio was a sickening 70-80% and barely an SR of 100. Those were bang average performances.

22 off 17
0 off 5
48 off 37
20 off 21

Outstanding :kakmal

He probably only remembers his 48 off 37 in the series. Just like UA only remembers is 2 tons for Pakistan.

These guys are just becoming ridiculous infact there has to be another word that has to be developed just to indicate how low their standards really are...

Kamran akmal saab it's a bit late to start learning to field now.

Averaged 22.50 at SR 112.5 in T20s. Not good but not abysmal.

Averaged 22.66 at 89 in ODIs. Which is downright terrible. Especially when he was the worst specialist batsman in the team, with four batsmen averaging over 65.

He was dropped from the team for his combined performances. There's no future in just playing him in T20s if he's a senior. And wasn't given a long run in the team to excel due to his age, general below fitness, below average fielding (which we can't afford for him to improve over time) and no secondary bowling option (as he's not keeping). Plus the fact he's been given so many chances before.

Outstanding performances is a joke lol. However I do think it's pretty harsh to give a guy just 6 games to perform from a long time out of international cricket and drop him if he doesn't perform. However I agree with his dropping, we've got guys waiting in the wings already, and Kamran's already been given so many chances. When you did badly for the majority of your career spanning for near 2 decades, you're not going to be given many chances to return when you're on the older side. Partly the PCB/management's fault, this man should have been dropped for long periods of time before and allowed to improve instead of being persisted. This sort of mid 20 average is what we expected of Kamran in the past, he'd get a clap on the back and job done in the past. These days our standards have change, and of course people don't put up with his batting as he doesn't keep (which was never good enough to put up with his batting in the first place, he was one of the worst batsmen for a wicketkeeper on the circuit).

Seriously, I dont think players of any other country diss the selectors in media like some Pakistani cricketers do(specially Akmal bros)

PCB need to show some spine and sort this mess out. If they go unpunished, many more cricketers in future would follow the Akmal way.

YK, Afridi, Akmals, Ahmed Shahzad list
goes on...who have used media to get back in team.

satisfactory becomes pathetic when you factor in his fielding

and at 35, he has no room for improvement

I will always have a soft corner for him, he won us T20 WC (along with umer gul), won us test match in india ...and he is one of the two (other is his brother), who can actually play against genuine fast bowlers.

Main point is that its hard to have two keepers in one dressing room, esp when one is the skipper.

I will always have a soft corner for him, he won us T20 WC (along with umer gul), won us test match in india ...and he is one of the two (other is his brother), who can actually play against genuine fast bowlers.

Main point is that its hard to have two keepers in one dressing room, esp when one is the skipper.
????

I really hope Inzi gets asked about this statement of Kamran by a reporter during some press conference and then Inzi replies in jis typical Inzi style:

"Ji jonsa app Kamran se poochiye jaa ker k unki OUTSTANDING ki definition kya hai..."

What outstanding performance? I swear, sometimes I think these Akmals are on that good "stuff"

I mean one has to have some self-respect/self-awareness. You have not improved your game a single bit since you began playing cricket. If anything it has gotten worse.

Incompetence by selectors, Both Akmal brothers and Afridi ji should be drafted back in the team ASAP.

He needs to be told in plain terms that one more word from him will result in him being never considered for selection again (not that he is ever getting selected anyways).

What a phony jabroni!

To be fair whenever they have given him a chance in t20s it has been underhanded and unfair. He is a free flowing confidence player in situations where he is comfortable. They are putting undue stress on him by playing him as opener where you have a chump like Shehzad as opening partner whose dot balls pressure Kami to take more risks.

Think they should play him at 3 or 6 depending on the situation. If we are 100-1 in about 10 overs or so then he should be sent in at one down to take the game out of the opponent's reach as there will be no pressure on him. But if we are 20-2 in 4 overs then he should be protected and saved for the last 3 overs or so where he doesn't need to curb his game and can play stress free cricket.

He is a little more sensitive and as his fan will admit not mentally the strongest, so to get the most out of him they need to create a situation for him where he can play freely rather than mocking him and dropping him which will only frustrate him more. It was the same thing with his keeping, they kept latching onto few dropped catches which began haunting him. Leave him alone.

1 in 4 performance is outstanding ?

These Akmals are a constant stream of self-pity, excuse making and delusion.

I find it absolutely amazing that people are still debating Kamran's inclusion in the team.

His 2009-2010 performances should have been enough to end his career there and then. All comebacks since then have been average to poor at best. He's 35 years old now (probably older) and a line really should have been drawn under this a very long time ago.

I blame the PCB for not having a word in his ear to retire several years ago. As to the fans who still support the Akmals, I'll get banned from here if I expressed how I feel about them.

To be fair whenever they have given him a chance in t20s it has been underhanded and unfair. He is a free flowing confidence player in situations where he is comfortable. They are putting undue stress on him by playing him as opener where you have a chump like Shehzad as opening partner whose dot balls pressure Kami to take more risks.

Think they should play him at 3 or 6 depending on the situation. If we are 100-1 in about 10 overs or so then he should be sent in at one down to take the game out of the opponent's reach as there will be no pressure on him. But if we are 20-2 in 4 overs then he should be protected and saved for the last 3 overs or so where he doesn't need to curb his game and can play stress free cricket.

He is a little more sensitive and as his fan will admit not mentally the strongest, so to get the most out of him they need to create a situation for him where he can play freely rather than mocking him and dropping him which will only frustrate him more. It was the same thing with his keeping, they kept latching onto few dropped catches which began haunting him. Leave him alone.

He prefers opening lol. It's the place where he gets the most freedom. He rarely plays stressed out cricket, has one of the lowest values on his wicket I've seen, which is why his average is so low, he gifts his wicket so much. We tried playing him down the order the time before and it was a disaster, didn't work and even himself he wanted to open instead.

His keeping as bad as it was wouldn't have been criticised as much if he performed with the bat. Sarfraz is evident of this even if he's a better keeper, he makes a lot of errors keeping. When you've got a mid 20 average and poor keeping you're gonna be criticised, I don't really understand why he was given so many chances. We gave no other keeper long enough to both adapt to the gloves and bat (which takes time) in the period kamran kept regularly. It takes longer for a keeper to adapt to handling gloves and bat, we saw that even in Sarfraz. For Kamran to have played hundreds of games and yet still be both poor with the gloves and bat was unacceptable, someone else should have been given a chance and a good run.

I don't think it's like umar akmal where we did wrongly went overboard criticising him which I think did lead to his detriment. We had a guy who averaged high 30s/40s at a good SR in the past and we criticised him too much for throwing his wicket and not finishing games. He was young at the time, and feel like it would have come with time and experience wasn't something to worry about. Instead think he got disheartened, worked less on his technique and fitness, repeatedly dropped and brought back. And now spouting to the media. Think it destroyed him.

Him and his brother are the worst cricketers to have played over 50 games for Pakistan.

How is this satsifactory lol?

Lol??
He was the second in the most runs list for pakistani batsman (babar was first)
He was second in the high score list. (Shehzad was first)
He was also second in the list, if we consider RR (malik was first)

So you can see only one player coming up in above list...and that's kami.
Lol??

What a massive liar. I remember arguing with his 'fans' then as well. In all T20s his dot ratio was a sickening 70-80% and barely an SR of 100. Those were bang average performances.

he has fans? :))

He prefers opening lol. It's the place where he gets the most freedom. He rarely plays stressed out cricket, has one of the lowest values on his wicket I've seen, which is why his average is so low, he gifts his wicket so much. We tried playing him down the order the time before and it was a disaster, didn't work and even himself he wanted to open instead.

His keeping as bad as it was wouldn't have been criticised as much if he performed with the bat. Sarfraz is evident of this even if he's a better keeper, he makes a lot of errors keeping. When you've got a mid 20 average and poor keeping you're gonna be criticised, I don't really understand why he was given so many chances. We gave no other keeper long enough to both adapt to the gloves and bat (which takes time) in the period kamran kept regularly. It takes longer for a keeper to adapt to handling gloves and bat, we saw that even in Sarfraz. For Kamran to have played hundreds of games and yet still be both poor with the gloves and bat was unacceptable, someone else should have been given a chance and a good run.

I don't think it's like umar akmal where we did wrongly went overboard criticising him which I think did lead to his detriment. We had a guy who averaged high 30s/40s at a good SR in the past and we criticised him too much for throwing his wicket and not finishing games. He was young at the time, and feel like it would have come with time and experience wasn't something to worry about. Instead think he got disheartened, worked less on his technique and fitness, repeatedly dropped and brought back. And now spouting to the media. Think it destroyed him.

He's a good player and might go down as a Pakistani great, but is just misunderstood.

He performed better than Shehzad who's still in the team which is a good enough reason to be upset.

He's a good player and might go down as a Pakistani great, but is just misunderstood.

By that stretch, Faisal Iqbal and host of mediocre others will qualify as well LOL, you have some standards

It's not about my standards, it's about the facts, it's about what the experts and ex cricketers who played at the highest level think. Doesn't matter what you or me say here.

I can say Kami is a garbage player, but that would just make me ignorant to his service to our nation as a cricketer. He is a senior player who batted for our country for more than a decade and gave good memories as well, and you must respect him, you don't have a choice.

These brothers are in an ignorant bubble, within a mental bubble, which in-turn is full of crap.

What a shameless couple they are.

It's not about my standards, it's about the facts, it's about what the experts and ex cricketers who played at the highest level think. Doesn't matter what you or me say here.

I can say Kami is a garbage player, but that would just make me ignorant to his service to our nation as a cricketer. He is a senior player who batted for our country for more than a decade and gave good memories as well, and you must respect him, you don't have a choice.

His only memorable innings was against India. That's it. Otherwise there has been never been a more garbage player who's career's memories and highlights are:

-The Sydney disaster, and his other utterly shoddy performances as wicket-keeper in all formats
-his constant controversies wrt to him hanging around with notorious fixers
-his ''comebacks'' which have been utter garbage
-and his numbers and stats, which highlight what a garbage player he has been

All this nonsense comes first in everyone's minds, as this thread shows, rather than his few wonders here and there. The only ones who can't see that are his blind fans.

Rashid and Moin are far bigger greats than him. Either you have really low standards or its just your normal poor posting. ''Batted for our country'' doesn't mean anyone is a legend, batting WELL for our country makes people legends. Otherwise every lullo panjoo to play can claim the right to be called a legend.

These brothers are in an ignorant bubble, within a mental bubble, which in-turn is full of crap.

What a shameless couple they are.

Fans like the one above quoted post of yours posting are the reasons these players live in clouds and cuckoo land.

Outstanding :91:

Only [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] and [MENTION=136729]Suleiman[/MENTION] think so

Thoughts and prayers with Akmal family. Wish they were born in a top 8 country with more thankful and grateful cricket fans.

Poor Dostoevsky. When he wrote his The Brothers Karamazov, he had no idea that his masterpiece would be so easily surpassed by a Pakistani masterpiece, The Brothers Akmal.

that is problem with pakistani fans.They remember international performances from past years such as 2009 wcup runs and wkts but dont consider how unfit he is now and next t20 is in year 2020.
whenever pakistan squad is announced half of the comments on official PCB facebook page are--- where are imran nazir and Abdul Razzaq...

Saaay what, which services are those: 100's of dropped catches, numerous missed stumpings, low scores upon low scores, one sure shot test def lost for Pakistan against Australia and only God knows how many more he made Pak lose with his illogical fumblings etc? Thanks God he is no where the team to contribute 'More of these Services to Pak team'!

Keep digging the whole bigger and bigger for yourself...someone who averages 30 in Tests and less than that in ODI's is nothing but a failure...even Afridi with a lesser battting technique and less chances came up with a few blinding knocks in tests despite playing only a few tests compared to Akmal's 53. And the main thing, his average and SR are much better than this 'Great' (in your words) and made a huge impact in those matches.

Now that is some insult to be considered a good enough batsman to be included in team purely on his batting (in the silly minds of his fans) and yet him averaging much less than Afridi...in Tests!

Even in ODI's, depsite having a 2-3 point higher average for Akmal, if we look at the overall impact Afridi had with his bowling and fielding as well, Kamran is beaten by some distance in that format as well.

This coming from someone who never considered Afridi as a 'Great' or even decent player yet he over powers any/all performances of this so-called 'Great' player in your mind

Working hard to make comeback, says Kamran

ISLAMABAD - Test discarded wicketkeeper batsman Kamran Akmal lauded Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Najam Aziz Sethi and termed him saviour of Pakistan cricket and a man of commitment.

Talking to The Nation, Kamran said: “It was Najam Sethi, who fulfilled his promises one after another, as the PSL was the brainchild of Sethi, then he arranged Zimbabwean team tour to Pakistan, successfully conducted PSL-2 final in Lahore with the help of armed forces and was applauded not only by local people, critics and former greats but also by international players and boards’ heads.”

He said now the visit of World XI comprising top mega stars of present era is round the corner. “The World XI tour to Pakistan clearly indicates that the ICC and world boards have so much faith in Sethi and Pakistani security forces. The visit will pave the way of full-fledge revival of international cricket in Pakistan and international teams will feel safe and sound to play in this part of the world. Everybody knows how much passionate and cricket-mad Pakistani people are, as they give so much respect, love and hospitality to their guests.

“I can easily say that World XI tour will put a new lease of life in Pakistan cricket. The mega world stars, the heartthrobs of millions of cricket fans all over the world, will not only teach a great deal to our players but they will also bring smiles to the faces of long-deprived suffering fans of Pakistan.”

When asked about his exclusion from Pakistan team, Kamran said he was shocked not to see his name in Test and T20 squads for Sri Lanka series. “As for the last three years, I have given performances on consistent basis and that’s why deserve places in both formats, if not in ODIs, as one or two bad days overshadow all my achievements. Anyhow, I am a born fighter and I will continue to work harder and it is up to selectors to notice and include me in the national team.

“I have never lost hope and I know there is a lot of cricket left in me. It won’t sit back and instead keep on working hard and hard and I am sure I will succeed in booking berth in the national squad sooner or later. Although I was not a part of World XI team, yet I will come and watch my team playing in Lahore. I returned from West Indies to play National T20 Cup, but it was postponed, so now I am training and working on my fitness levels.”

About Umar Akmal-Mickey Arthur saga, Kamran said: “The PCB chairman should interfere and resolve the issue, as domestic and international cricket is coming fast. Umar and Arthur must shun differences as Pakistan cricket can’t afford prolonging controversies and I can easily say Sethi is the right man to resolve this issue, as it is not good for Pakistan and cricket. I can’t comment further but I can hope and pray that the issue must be end as quickly as possible.

“I am working very hard on my fitness and game and leave the rest on the selectors. I will never lose hope and continue my job of performing with gloves and willow and will be waiting for my day, when I will be recalled for the national squad,” Kamran concluded.

http://nation.com.pk/sports/02-Sep-2017/working-hard-to-make-comeback-says-kamran

Thoughts and prayers with Akmal family. Wish they were born in a top 8 country with more thankful and grateful cricket fans.

Had they born in any of top 8 country, they would've been disposed of long ago. No other cricket board will put up with Akmal bros off field crap.

Dhoni would've never had a career if India had Kami. Not an opinion but a fact of life..

Dhoni is arguably the best Wicket keeper batsman in ODI history. Even a peak Kami would never replaced aged Dhoni, let alone Peak Dhoni.

and thats #Fact

Is Suleiman related to Kamran Akmal? India wouldve never had Dhono? Are you serious?

We all remember what Kami has done for Pak. The test in India and the other one in Karachi are easily my most favorite memories of him. I never count Kamran as a hero of the WT20 win as that praise mostly belongs to Afridi and Umar Gul.

That being said, why are his fans so dense as to not understand the absolute pathetic failure he has been since then? So dense to not understand how his (and umar akmals) behavior off the field and rebellious nature with authorities is setting the wrong precedence for younger players? Im a fsn of umar akmals batting in LOIs but let's face it, the complete package we get with umar akmal is not worth it.

As for other teams giving them a chance... England discarded KP and Aus discarded Symonds, two players whose height neither brother could dream of reaching.

Are you serious, or your comments are in jest ? India would not have a wicketkeeper who drops so many catches. Indian had Parthiv Patel who debuted ahead of Dhoni, but he is now nowhere, because he dropped too many catches (cost India two test series against Australia). In addition, the prima donna attitude that Kamran Akmal is showing will not be tolerated in India.

One of the tests was Sydney test, the final test of the series in 2004. Parthiv Patel dropped catches and Australia, who were staring at defeat escaped with a draw. But for Pathiv Patel's butterfingers, India would have won the test series 2-1 in Australia.