- Joined
- Nov 25, 2023
- Runs
- 20,167
Marais Erasmus acknowledges that a mistake made by him and Kumar Dharmasana cost New Zealand the World Cup 2019 as England was erroneously awarded an extra run.
====
Marais Erasmus:
“The next morning I opened my hotel room door on my way to breakfast and Kumar opened his door at the same time and he said, ‘Did you see we made a massive error?’ That’s when I got to know about it. But in the moment on the field, we just said six, you know, communicated to each other, ‘six, six, it’s six’ not realising that they haven’t crossed, it wasn’t picked up. That’s it.”
Umpire Marais Erasmus, who was one of the on-field umpires during the 2019 World Cup final, has opened up about two errors made by the officials in the summit clash between England and New Zealand.
Law 19.8 in the MCC rulebook says: “If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side and the allowance for the boundary and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.”
Replays make it clear that Stokes and Adil Rashid did not cross at the “instant of the throw”, making them eligible for only five runs. Erasmus and Kumar Dharmasena were the on-field umpires during the clash, with Erasmus standing at the square leg when the incident occurred.
====
Marais Erasmus:
“The next morning I opened my hotel room door on my way to breakfast and Kumar opened his door at the same time and he said, ‘Did you see we made a massive error?’ That’s when I got to know about it. But in the moment on the field, we just said six, you know, communicated to each other, ‘six, six, it’s six’ not realising that they haven’t crossed, it wasn’t picked up. That’s it.”
Umpire Marais Erasmus, who was one of the on-field umpires during the 2019 World Cup final, has opened up about two errors made by the officials in the summit clash between England and New Zealand.
Law 19.8 in the MCC rulebook says: “If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side and the allowance for the boundary and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.”
Replays make it clear that Stokes and Adil Rashid did not cross at the “instant of the throw”, making them eligible for only five runs. Erasmus and Kumar Dharmasena were the on-field umpires during the clash, with Erasmus standing at the square leg when the incident occurred.