Discrepancies in the Benazir Income Support Programme

Syed1

ODI Captain
So when the PTI government took over they announced an overarching umbrella of social welfare under the Ehsaas Programme and Dr. Sania Nishtar was brought in from WHO and made its head. The existing income support programme BISP from the democracy-is-best-revenge governments was put under the Ehsaas Programme.

Since this is the best government in the history of the country, they took a good hard look at the actual people who are receiving this income support and eliminated nearly a million people who were getting the benefit when they did not deserve it. Just check how systematically they found and removed the people who were falsely included in the lists.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I wish to thank the Cabinet for approving my proposal: exiting 820,165 <a href="https://twitter.com/bisp_pakistan?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@bisp_pakistan</a> beneficiaries. Using forensic data analysis, we found they were ineligible for support based on the crtieria below. This translates into saving of PKR 16 billion for the government annually. <a href="https://t.co/diwEzQ1IGq">pic.twitter.com/diwEzQ1IGq</a></p>— Sania Nishtar (@SaniaNishtar) <a href="https://twitter.com/SaniaNishtar/status/1209547949937741824?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 24, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

They even checked the landline and cellphone bills of those who claimed to be so destitute they needed income support. Now if that is not going through the data with a fine comb I don't know what is :yk2

Thoroughly impressed. RIP patwaris and jiyalas. May Allah increase your misery and despair Ameen.

Well Dr Sania and her team, well done IK. That saving should be used to train the genuine claimants on this Income to stand on their feet, where ever possible.

This is really impressive. Good to see Pakistan using technology to clampdown on corruption.

Few things I don’t understand, the application of phone bills, passport and CNIC. The application of passport and CNIC is a standard stuff for every person who is the citizen of the country. PTCL bills , on the other hand, have historically been unreliable due to years of scamming the user more than the actual amount they owe it to the company.
It is also not unreasonable to assume that anyone who is living on an income support would try and save every penny just to find a better life outside the country. So, the application of visa is still an understandable issue from the point of view of recipients.
Similarly, a second hand motorbike is not that expensive in Pakistan if you can make shrewd savings from the income support. So the criteria needs a further breakdown in the make and model of the vehicle.
Other criterion I can understand. Travelling abroad once or multiple times indicates that you have enough money that you don’t need bisp. Being in a government job and still claiming BISP, to me, is a serious fraud and culprits should be made to pay hefty fines.

Few things I don’t understand, the application of phone bills, passport and CNIC. The application of passport and CNIC is a standard stuff for every person who is the citizen of the country. PTCL bills , on the other hand, have historically been unreliable due to years of scamming the user more than the actual amount they owe it to the company.
It is also not unreasonable to assume that anyone who is living on an income support would try and save every penny just to find a better life outside the country. So, the application of visa is still an understandable issue from the point of view of recipients.
Similarly, a second hand motorbike is not that expensive in Pakistan if you can make shrewd savings from the income support. So the criteria needs a further breakdown in the make and model of the vehicle.
Other criterion I can understand. Travelling abroad once or multiple times indicates that you have enough money that you don’t need bisp. Being in a government job and still claiming BISP, to me, is a serious fraud and culprits should be made to pay hefty fines.

Executive fee of CNIC and Passport is 2 to 3 times more thn normal fee and the criteria says executive fee was used as filter.

To get it quicker

You get in a wrek

And a lot of poor people, especially in the West, tend to do that. And that is where I have an issue with the filter. People can be in all sorts of troubles when applying for certain documents. It could be that government officials might be harassing them to produce certain documents. Or it could be that they might need those on the basis of health emergencies. There can literally be hundreds of reasons for people on bisp to apply for government documents on emergency basis.

And a lot of poor people, especially in the West, tend to do that.

What have poor people in the West got to do with BISP?
Also, the CNIC filter clearly reads:
Three or more family members applied CNIC with executive fee.

If you can get a CNIC card for yourself, your spouse and your child on an executive basis than it’s unlikely an emergency situation like the ones you allude to in your post.

And a lot of poor people, especially in the West, tend to do that. And that is where I have an issue with the filter. People can be in all sorts of troubles when applying for certain documents. It could be that government officials might be harassing them to produce certain documents. Or it could be that they might need those on the basis of health emergencies. There can literally be hundreds of reasons for people on bisp to apply for government documents on emergency basis.

Please read the tweet in the OP again

What have poor people in the West got to do with BISP?
Also, the CNIC filter clearly reads:
Three or more family members applied CNIC with executive fee.

If you can get a CNIC card for yourself, your spouse and your child on an executive basis than it’s unlikely an emergency situation like the ones you allude to in your post.

A lot of poor immigrants in the West are willing to pay extra money to get their official documents quickly. And since we are touching that subject, can you tell me how much does it exactly take to get an executive document?

Something else doesn’t make sense in the data. How is it that there are more than 100,000 people on bisp who travel abroad, yet only around 700 people have a registered vehicle. Seems a bit weird to be able to travel abroad and yet not be able to afford a vehicle. Something seems off about the data. I would think that at least about 10% of these people would be to afford their own vehicle.

Look at the number below it.

43,746 = Spouses having one or more vehicles registered against their names

Spouses having vehicles registered to their name may sound shady but it will be a procedural hindrance in the court of law when prosecuting such people in court of law.

And the government would face a similar issue if a recipient decides to take the government to the courts.

It says 16 billion dollars of overall saving but how much does it translate to rs/family.

There are more thn 5 million families benefiting from this program. Current budget for BISP is Rs. 180 billion. This program pays each registered family a total of 5000 rupees after every 3 months that is around 1700 rupees a month.

To be eligible for BISP, families must earn less than RS 6,000 per month.

Families deemed ineligible for cash payments through BISP include those with:
Members holding a machine readable passport
Members with a National Identity Card for Overseas citizens

There are more thn 5 million families benefiting from this program. Current budget for BISP is Rs. 180 billion. This program pays each registered family a total of 5000 rupees after every 3 months that is around 1700 rupees a month.

To be eligible for BISP, families must earn less than RS 6,000 per month.

Families deemed ineligible for cash payments through BISP include those with:
Members holding a machine readable passport
Members with a National Identity Card for Overseas citizens

So here is an obvious question, what was the timeframe for disqualification? Is it during or before they became the recipients of bisp?

I believe they were already the recipients and it's a known fact that parties distributed BISP cards to their loyal voters bypassing the criteria.

I understand what you mean but my question was that whether the points of disqualifications happened during their claim or was it the case that the government took in the overall background data of the family spanning the timeframe of before and during the claim was made.

As I mentioned in my previous post, please read the tweet in OP all your questions have been answered, and WebGuru further clarified.

If you are being disingenuous on purpose let me try and answer some of your questions.

The BISP is an income support program to the tune of about Rs. 1700 per month for the poorest of the poor in society. To qualify for the program you have to be registered within the BISP with your CNIC and have income of less than Rs. 6000.

Now the criteria by which they eliminated the fraudulent beneficiaries were those that had taken one or more trips abroad. Even if a person is going to Dubai (perhaps closest/cheapest international destination from Pak) the return ticket is to the tune of Rs. 20,000 and definitely out of the reach of someone who claims to be poorest of the poor. Owning a vehicle is self explanatory. If a person is spending Rs. 1000 or more on landline and/or cellphone in a month, then no way in hell are they poorest of the poor and making do with the rest of their living in the remaining Rs. 5000.

You seem to have the greatest beef regarding those eliminated based on using the executive service of the NADRA/Passport Office. Below is the fee structure from NADRA website. While getting a new CNIC is completely free, somebody opting for the Executive service which costs upwards of Rs. 2000 will surely be well off enough to not fall under poorest of the poor.

Capture.jpg

Besides about 150,000 of those eliminated were government servants, and since PPP are the ones wetting their diapers regarding this it can be said with certainty that those beneficiaries were PPP siyasi appointments. Zinda hai Bhutto zinda hai.

News flash: there are discrepancies in a welfare program. You can trust PTI junoonis to start their bhangra over anything.

No welfare program that caters to such a large population can ever be completely efficient.

PTI of course knows all about inefficiency and wastage of money. They have wasted billions in the flop BRT project in Peshawar that is not still not close to completion.

And please don’t get me started on the Sehat Insaf card. People here are not aware of the ground realities.

What else can we expect from Imran and his cult-followers. They are the same folks who wanted to change the name of BISP before several PTI members told them to sit down.

BISP is not perfect but no welfare support program is. It has helped plenty of poor people and is one of the best - if not the best - social welfare initiative ever taken by a Pakistani government.

Shame on those who want to use it for political point scoring when their own party cannot even make a metro bus without wasting billions.

News flash: there are discrepancies in a welfare program. You can trust PTI junoonis to start their bhangra over anything.

No welfare program that caters to such a large population can ever be completely efficient.

PTI of course knows all about inefficiency and wastage of money. They have wasted billions in the flop BRT project in Peshawar that is not still not close to completion.

And please don’t get me started on the Sehat Insaf card. People here are not aware of the ground realities.

What else can we expect from Imran and his cult-followers. They are the same folks who wanted to change the name of BISP before several PTI members told them to sit down.

BISP is not perfect but no welfare support program is. It has helped plenty of poor people and is one of the best - if not the best - social welfare initiative ever taken by a Pakistani government.

Shame on those who want to use it for political point scoring when their own party cannot even make a metro bus without wasting billions.
This is by far the dumbest post I've read on PP. You obviously didn't understand or didn't want to understand the real issue here. You are commenting as if BISP has already been shut down. It hasn't been! In fact the funds for it have increased. The only issue here is people unfairly taking advantage of this social safety net. What you don't realize is when that happens, that safety net weakens significantly which in turn allows a large portion of deserving population to fall throw. You begrudgingly acknowledge discrepancies in BISP and then in the same sentence you trivialize them not to mention your ridiculous comparison of BISP with BRT. What you don't seem to understand is when a gov. find discrepancies, it becomes it's duty to correct those discrepancies, not leave them as is or they become a festering sore causing other problems in the society as well. You don't seem to want this. You think such discrepancies are par for the course and should be left alone. If so then why even bring BRT into it? Shouldn't that be left alone as well?

Also, talking about scoring political points, BISP when it was launched was absolutely a political tool and nothing more. I still remember when it was launched only ppl who were PPP supporters or the ones recommended by PPP workers were being provided with BISP benefits so don't come here with your "keep politics away from it" line. And to use your logic any social safety program launched by any gov. will have political angles to it then as per your logic, c'est la vie...and we shouldn't be bothered by the current government's decisions based on political expediency.

Also, It shouldn't even have been named after such a controversial (being generous here) PM to begin with (A prime Minister who inflicted Zardari on Pakistan) if tax payers money was to be used to fund it and if PPP really wanted to keep the name then they should've used party funds to fund the program! They had no right to name it after their party's deceased chairman using Tax payers money.

Oh and PTI supporters are cultists? Really? The only part whose membership openly criticizes not just the leadership but also the founder himself if they see them/him making a mistake? This party is a cult? As opposed to other parties excluding JI (at least they actually hold proper elections) that pass the reigns down to their offspring when they believe they have come of age? Parties whose leadership has not just threatened violence but actually visited upon its critics and opponents? Really? You are going to make that comment and stick with it?

Btw how many times has Bilawal been launched now anyways? I know this is a little off field but I've lost track of it and really do want to know.

FYI, regarding BRT, KP government's decision to contest allowing FIA to investigate BRT is big punch in the gut to PTI followers, in fact their position should've been to not only allow it to happen but also anyone found responsible for the fiasco that BRT has become should be severely punished.

I think inclusion in one criteria excludes you once for all and, automatically, candidate is not filtered for another criteria.

This is by far the dumbest post I've read on PP. You obviously didn't understand or didn't want to understand the real issue here. You are commenting as if BISP has already been shut down. It hasn't been! In fact the funds for it have increased. The only issue here is people unfairly taking advantage of this social safety net. What you don't realize is when that happens, that safety net weakens significantly which in turn allows a large portion of deserving population to fall throw. You begrudgingly acknowledge discrepancies in BISP and then in the same sentence you trivialize them not to mention your ridiculous comparison of BISP with BRT. What you don't seem to understand is when a gov. find discrepancies, it becomes it's duty to correct those discrepancies, not leave them as is or they become a festering sore causing other problems in the society as well. You don't seem to want this. You think such discrepancies are par for the course and should be left alone. If so then why even bring BRT into it? Shouldn't that be left alone as well?

Also, talking about scoring political points, BISP when it was launched was absolutely a political tool and nothing more. I still remember when it was launched only ppl who were PPP supporters or the ones recommended by PPP workers were being provided with BISP benefits so don't come here with your "keep politics away from it" line. And to use your logic any social safety program launched by any gov. will have political angles to it then as per your logic, c'est la vie...and we shouldn't be bothered by the current government's decisions based on political expediency.

Also, It shouldn't even have been named after such a controversial (being generous here) PM to begin with (A prime Minister who inflicted Zardari on Pakistan) if tax payers money was to be used to fund it and if PPP really wanted to keep the name then they should've used party funds to fund the program! They had no right to name it after their party's deceased chairman using Tax payers money.

Oh and PTI supporters are cultists? Really? The only part whose membership openly criticizes not just the leadership but also the founder himself if they see them/him making a mistake? This party is a cult? As opposed to other parties excluding JI (at least they actually hold proper elections) that pass the reigns down to their offspring when they believe they have come of age? Parties whose leadership has not just threatened violence but actually visited upon its critics and opponents? Really? You are going to make that comment and stick with it?

Btw how many times has Bilawal been launched now anyways? I know this is a little off field but I've lost track of it and really do want to know.

FYI, regarding BRT, KP government's decision to contest allowing FIA to investigate BRT is big punch in the gut to PTI followers, in fact their position should've been to not only allow it to happen but also anyone found responsible for the fiasco that BRT has become should be severely punished.

POTW

This govt increased BISP budget from Rs. 102 billion to Rs. 180 billion but some people just wana criticize every act of PTI govt just to look different while using same old keywords like cult that they use in every post.

[MENTION=39274]desi_boy[/MENTION]

(1) I am not justifying or defending the discrepancies in the BISP. My point is that any social welfare program that caters to a large population cannot be completely efficient. However, overall, the BISP has done more good than harm and is the only successful example of a large-scale welfare program in Pakistan.

If PTI has found discrepancies, then as the federal government it is their job to correct them. After all, the BISP belongs to the Government of Pakistan and is not owned by the PPP and is not exclusive Sindh. Hence, if PTI has found inefficiencies and is trying to make it efficient, they are simply doing their job and I say well done.

However, the problem is that PTI is a party of show-offs and they will not let go of any opportunity for political scoring. They love to toot their horn and then they expect others to join in as well. It is said that every PTI cabinet meeting starts with a discussion over governance matters before they end up abusing PMLN and PPP. It is not surprising considering the mentality of PTI cabinet members.

(2) Every initiative by the government is ultimately a tool for political point scoring. In November 2017, Pervez Khattak announced that construction of BRT and declared that it will be completed in time of the 2018 elections. In addition, he stated that the PTI government will show PMLN how to make a metro bus in quick time and also with a smaller budget.

Was that not as tool to for political point scoring? What do you think was the tactic behind inaugurating the project just before the election? Unfortunately, it backfired big time and here we are in 2020 and the BRT is still a disaster. Moreover, PPP was in power at that time and they had every right to name it after Benazir. There is nothing wrong with it.

However, Imran wanted the name changed because of his shallowness and pettiness. He did not want the name of Benazir to be associated with anything positive, but thankfully some of his members had more sense than him. Changing the name would not change anything.

(3) Yes PTI supporters are the biggest cult-members who have been infected by the tabdeeli virus. They do not see anything wrong with Imran’s shameless U-turns and worship him. Imran has completely flushed PTI’s manifesto down the toilet and backtracked on everything he stood for.

He welcomed third grade opportunists like Firdous Awan, Fawad Chaudhry, SMQ, Jahangir Tareen etc. in his party, he has a fake degree holder like Murad Saeed in his cabinet, he has taken a U-turn on Musharraf and on so many instances that I can hardly name and recall them all here. His loyalists have defended him at every opportunity and that is why PTI is a cult.

Jahangir Tareen is a sugar mill fraud who has been disqualified by the Supreme Court from holding his public office. Why is his 22 year old son investing in PSL with his black money? Is this tabdeeli? Why was his black money used to fund Imran’s election campaign and buy the loyalties of independents?

Why is Imran Khan running from his foreign funding case for 5 years and why is PTI demanding secrecy in investigations? Why doesn’t Imran Khan allow Akbar S. Babar to come in mainstream media and present his allegations to nation through proper channels?

There has no accountability over BRT because PTI is still in power in KP. If the BRT disaster was the doing of PMLN or PPP, PTI would be all over the case now and would be publicly highlighting the discrepancies and would be showing off now.

Pervez Khattak was the Chief Minister when BRT was launched and it has been delayed 6 times. Yes 6 times. Who is answerable for it? The same Pervez Khattak has now been rewarded with the Defense Ministry, the most useless ministry in Pakistan. The Defense Minister is nothing but the puppet of the Army Chief and takes his paycheck for sitting in his office and doing nothing.

Imran Khan said that accountability will start with him and his party. Unfortunately, that turned out to be nothing but a massive lie. He is the biggest con-artist and hypocrite this country has ever seen. Overseas Pakistanis get fooled by their social media propaganda, but the reality is that his joker government failed in KP and is now failing at the federal level. The only reason why they are still in power is because they are dancing to the tunes of the military.

POTW

This govt increased BISP budget from Rs. 102 billion to Rs. 180 billion but some people just wana criticize every act of PTI govt just to look different while using same old keywords like cult that they use in every post.

Reminds me of some desi liberals who had an issue when Khan opened langar khanay.... Matlab samaj nahi ati kisi mein itna bara keera kaisay hosakta hai... Science-daan jawab deh gaye hain.

[MENTION=39274]desi_boy[/MENTION]

(1) I am not justifying or defending the discrepancies in the BISP. My point is that any social welfare program that caters to a large population cannot be completely efficient. However, overall, the BISP has done more good than harm and is the only successful example of a large-scale welfare program in Pakistan.

If PTI has found discrepancies, then as the federal government it is their job to correct them. After all, the BISP belongs to the Government of Pakistan and is not owned by the PPP and is not exclusive Sindh. Hence, if PTI has found inefficiencies and is trying to make it efficient, they are simply doing their job and I say well done.

However, the problem is that PTI is a party of show-offs and they will not let go of any opportunity for political scoring. They love to toot their horn and then they expect others to join in as well. It is said that every PTI cabinet meeting starts with a discussion over governance matters before they end up abusing PMLN and PPP. It is not surprising considering the mentality of PTI cabinet members.

(2) Every initiative by the government is ultimately a tool for political point scoring. In November 2017, Pervez Khattak announced that construction of BRT and declared that it will be completed in time of the 2018 elections. In addition, he stated that the PTI government will show PMLN how to make a metro bus in quick time and also with a smaller budget.

Was that not as tool to for political point scoring? What do you think was the tactic behind inaugurating the project just before the election? Unfortunately, it backfired big time and here we are in 2020 and the BRT is still a disaster. Moreover, PPP was in power at that time and they had every right to name it after Benazir. There is nothing wrong with it.

However, Imran wanted the name changed because of his shallowness and pettiness. He did not want the name of Benazir to be associated with anything positive, but thankfully some of his members had more sense than him. Changing the name would not change anything.

(3) Yes PTI supporters are the biggest cult-members who have been infected by the tabdeeli virus. They do not see anything wrong with Imran’s shameless U-turns and worship him. Imran has completely flushed PTI’s manifesto down the toilet and backtracked on everything he stood for.

He welcomed third grade opportunists like Firdous Awan, Fawad Chaudhry, SMQ, Jahangir Tareen etc. in his party, he has a fake degree holder like Murad Saeed in his cabinet, he has taken a U-turn on Musharraf and on so many instances that I can hardly name and recall them all here. His loyalists have defended him at every opportunity and that is why PTI is a cult.

Jahangir Tareen is a sugar mill fraud who has been disqualified by the Supreme Court from holding his public office. Why is his 22 year old son investing in PSL with his black money? Is this tabdeeli? Why was his black money used to fund Imran’s election campaign and buy the loyalties of independents?

Why is Imran Khan running from his foreign funding case for 5 years and why is PTI demanding secrecy in investigations? Why doesn’t Imran Khan allow Akbar S. Babar to come in mainstream media and present his allegations to nation through proper channels?

There has no accountability over BRT because PTI is still in power in KP. If the BRT disaster was the doing of PMLN or PPP, PTI would be all over the case now and would be publicly highlighting the discrepancies and would be showing off now.

Pervez Khattak was the Chief Minister when BRT was launched and it has been delayed 6 times. Yes 6 times. Who is answerable for it? The same Pervez Khattak has now been rewarded with the Defense Ministry, the most useless ministry in Pakistan. The Defense Minister is nothing but the puppet of the Army Chief and takes his paycheck for sitting in his office and doing nothing.

Imran Khan said that accountability will start with him and his party. Unfortunately, that turned out to be nothing but a massive lie. He is the biggest con-artist and hypocrite this country has ever seen. Overseas Pakistanis get fooled by their social media propaganda, but the reality is that his joker government failed in KP and is now failing at the federal level. The only reason why they are still in power is because they are dancing to the tunes of the military.

That is another long essay of rubbish. BTW as you are an expert, what happened to the Nooras and the PPP reply when they were asked about their foreign funding? I can't wait for you to explain!

I wonder why PMLN top leadership is avoiding to comment on Musharraf?

PPP don't even have the records of funding and are saying they can't provide it while PMLN reply in ECP was one page of paper.

I wonder why PMLN top leadership is avoiding to comment on Musharraf?

PPP don't even have the records of funding and are saying they can't provide it while PMLN reply in ECP was one page of paper.

The Mush one is ironic because it was they that helped to bring the case and now they are too scared to even comment. Whatever happened to vote ko izat...
As far as the Foreign Funding case goes, he ran last time I asked him. So [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] whats going on with the Nooras and the PPP funding cases. Afterall this was an ECP they appointed and always danced to their tune. Can we please have long essay on this.

Reminds me of some desi liberals who had an issue when Khan opened langar khanay.... Matlab samaj nahi ati kisi mein itna bara keera kaisay hosakta hai... Science-daan jawab deh gaye hain.

There is a reason we have a multi page thread on PP exposing these desi liberals...

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Here is the province-wise breakdown of the 820,165 ineligible ⁦<a href="https://twitter.com/bisp_pakistan?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@bisp_pakistan</a>⁩ beneficiaries that have been exited from the system ⁦<a href="https://twitter.com/Ehsaas_Pk?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Ehsaas_Pk</a>⁩ ⁦<a href="https://twitter.com/MoIB_Official?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@MoIB_Official</a>⁩ ⁦<a href="https://twitter.com/pid_gov?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@pid_gov</a>⁩ <a href="https://t.co/l7ieGa1owH">pic.twitter.com/l7ieGa1owH</a></p>— Sania Nishtar (@SaniaNishtar) <a href="https://twitter.com/SaniaNishtar/status/1210454921327337472?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 27, 2019</a></blockquote>

As I mentioned in my previous post, please read the tweet in OP all your questions have been answered, and WebGuru further clarified.

If you are being disingenuous on purpose let me try and answer some of your questions.

The BISP is an income support program to the tune of about Rs. 1700 per month for the poorest of the poor in society. To qualify for the program you have to be registered within the BISP with your CNIC and have income of less than Rs. 6000.

Now the criteria by which they eliminated the fraudulent beneficiaries were those that had taken one or more trips abroad. Even if a person is going to Dubai (perhaps closest/cheapest international destination from Pak) the return ticket is to the tune of Rs. 20,000 and definitely out of the reach of someone who claims to be poorest of the poor. Owning a vehicle is self explanatory. If a person is spending Rs. 1000 or more on landline and/or cellphone in a month, then no way in hell are they poorest of the poor and making do with the rest of their living in the remaining Rs. 5000.

You seem to have the greatest beef regarding those eliminated based on using the executive service of the NADRA/Passport Office. Below is the fee structure from NADRA website. While getting a new CNIC is completely free, somebody opting for the Executive service which costs upwards of Rs. 2000 will surely be well off enough to not fall under poorest of the poor.

View attachment 98000

Besides about 150,000 of those eliminated were government servants, and since PPP are the ones wetting their diapers regarding this it can be said with certainty that those beneficiaries were PPP siyasi appointments. Zinda hai Bhutto zinda hai.

All I asked was whether they applied the criterion retroactively or not. I don’t need a whole essay just for asking a simple question. A person could be rich a lifetime ago and still be destitute today, so knowing the timeframe is important.

You questions are nit picking.

What part of knowing the timeframe is nitpicky? Knowing the history of gaffes by federal governments it would be prudent to know the timeframe of the application of criterion. I would personally hate to see a poor family robbed of their bisp if turns out that 20 years ago they were enjoying various ‘luxuries’ of life in Pakistan only to have lost all their money due to any of the many possibilities. So yes, knowing the definitive timeframe is important.

You are asking procedural details on a forum. Aren't you better off asking the DG of the programme. Send off an email and let us know.

Removal of 800,000 people from BISP grave cruelty, says Bilawal at Liaquat Bagh rally

Pakistan People's Party (PPP) Chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari on Friday lashed out at the government for removing more than 800,000 beneficiaries from the Benazir Income Support Programme (BISP), terming the move a grave cruelty on part of the government.

Speaking at a public gathering held to observe former prime minister Benazir Bhutto's death anniversary at Liaquat Bagh — the venue of her assassination — in Rawalpindi, Bilawal said the country was in danger and it was the duty of his party "to complete the mission of Benazir Bhutto".

"Benazir was a chain that united the federation of Pakistan, but this was not acceptable to her enemies," he added.

"Look at the state of this democracy. The parliament is locked, media is not free, there are attacks on the 18th amendment, the judiciary is not free," lamented the PPP chairman. "Terrorists may have been defeated but extremism is present all over the country," he added.

Recounting the struggles of his mother, Bilawal said, "Every street of Rawalpindi, all its walls and buildings and its land is witness to what happened to Benazir".

"You people are witness to the atrocities faced by Bhutto. You are witness to how people's rule was ended. You are witness to the atrocities faced by jiyalas (party workers)".

Bilawal said Benazir continued the struggle of her father, confronted two dictators, faced 'selected' politicians and extremists but despite all that she "provided rights to women, freed the media and prisoners and also got missile technology for the country".

The PPP chairman said his mother had come back to Pakistan to establish awaami raj (people's rule) in the country once again but on "December 27th she addressed her last political gathering at this very ground".

"From one family, the father, two sons and then the daughter was also martyred".

Bilawal vowed to restore people's rule in the country once again. "Rawalpindi, stay witness for I will restore the power of the public, give rights to the youth and proper compensation to farmers for their efforts."

"I will continue the struggle of [Zulfikar] Bhutto and complete the mission of Benazir."

Before Bilawal came to address the crowd, PPP co-chairman and former president, Asif Ali Zardari, also addressed the gathering via a video message that was broadcast on a giant screen at the venue.

Speaking from a hospital bed, Zardari criticised the government for leading the country into its current political and economic situation. He said the present ruling regime "has nothing to do with the problems being faced by the country's poor".

He expressed hope that PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto will be able to solve these problems very soon and "will lead the nation".

Ahead of today's event, the venue and roads leading to Liaquat Bagh were decorated with PPP flags and pictures of Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, Benazir and Bilawal.

More than 50,000 seats were arranged at the venue.
https://www.dawn.com/news/1524713/r...ve-cruelty-says-bilawal-at-liaquat-bagh-rally

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">True: 2,543 exited from <a href="https://twitter.com/bisp_pakistan?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@bisp_pakistan</a> are government officers/their spouses Grade 17 and above. We have written to Chief Secretaries and Ministries officially. At <a href="https://twitter.com/bisp_pakistan?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@bisp_pakistan</a> disciplinary action is underway. Safeguards built for future under <a href="https://twitter.com/Ehsaas_Pk?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Ehsaas_Pk</a> governance reform</p>— Sania Nishtar (@SaniaNishtar) <a href="https://twitter.com/SaniaNishtar/status/1214818238502252544?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 8, 2020</a></blockquote>

Look at the false reporting regarding Ehsaas, Dr. Sania Nishtar herself had to tweet and dispel the fake news.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">MPs are not being given the powers to enroll beneficiaries in the <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Ehsaas?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Ehsaas</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Kifalat?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Kifalat</a> program. Prime Minister has given no such instructions. Selection of beneficiaries in all <a href="https://twitter.com/Ehsaas_Pk?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Ehsaas_Pk</a> programs will be strictly apolitical and rule-based. <a href="https://twitter.com/MoIB_Official?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@MoIB_Official</a> <a href="https://t.co/7ObUOTRH5n">pic.twitter.com/7ObUOTRH5n</a></p>— Sania Nishtar (@SaniaNishtar) <a href="https://twitter.com/SaniaNishtar/status/1220629711996493824?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 24, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

It seems as if the those who want to keep the status quo hate the fact that PTI government is actively working for the bottom 10% of Pakistanis. They made fun of langar khanay and pana gahs and now trying to make the Ehsaas program controversial. With "Pakistanis" like these who needs enemies.

[MENTION=133397]WebGuru[/MENTION] [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION]

Look at the false reporting regarding Ehsaas, Dr. Sania Nishtar herself had to tweet and dispel the fake news.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">MPs are not being given the powers to enroll beneficiaries in the <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Ehsaas?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Ehsaas</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Kifalat?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Kifalat</a> program. Prime Minister has given no such instructions. Selection of beneficiaries in all <a href="https://twitter.com/Ehsaas_Pk?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Ehsaas_Pk</a> programs will be strictly apolitical and rule-based. <a href="https://twitter.com/MoIB_Official?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@MoIB_Official</a> <a href="https://t.co/7ObUOTRH5n">pic.twitter.com/7ObUOTRH5n</a></p>— Sania Nishtar (@SaniaNishtar) <a href="https://twitter.com/SaniaNishtar/status/1220629711996493824?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 24, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

It seems as if the those who want to keep the status quo hate the fact that PTI government is actively working for the bottom 10% of Pakistanis. They made fun of langar khanay and pana gahs and now trying to make the Ehsaas program controversial. With "Pakistanis" like these who needs enemies.

[MENTION=133397]WebGuru[/MENTION] [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION]

Ehsaas is the best initiative of this govt and it's bound to succeed that will result in PTI getting back the votebank they are losing because of the tough decisions in last 1 and half year. THat's why the beneficiaries of status quo trying their best to malign Ehsaas

I read that about 140,000 students applied for the undergraduate scholarship and the Kamyaab Jawan programme also has had lakhs of applicants. The fruits of these programmes will start to emerge in 2-3 years. Just in time for the next elections :ssmith

Yes and that's why they want this Govt to go so the long term policies of this govt when they start showing the results at that time there will be another Govt taking all the credit while bashing the PTI.

I don't believe in this new theory of National Govt under PMLN that will do the electoral reforms and thn announce new elections but if it actually happens i can see these $$$ reserves being burned by that national govt to give short term subsidies to awaam and fool them once again to secure the upcoming election.

Cases against over 2,000 govt employees who benefited from BISP sent to FIA

The government has referred cases against more than 2,000 government employees who fraudulently benefited from the Benazir Income Support Programme (BISP) to the Federal Investigation Agency, Special Assistant to Prime Minister (SAPM) on Accountability Shahzad Akbar announced on Wednesday.

Addressing a press conference in Islamabad on Wednesday, Akbar said the government has also written to all chief secretaries and the Establishment Division for taking departmental action against, and recovering funds from, the government officers who benefited from BISP, which is aimed at providing financial support to the deserving poor and destitute.

It was decided to ask the FIA to register criminal cases against the said government officers and the people who assisted them in the withdrawing of BISP funds because the expenditure was carried out from the federal budget, the SAPM explained, terming it "a straightforward case of fraud".

He said government analysis had revealed that as many as 140,000 government employees or their spouses benefited from BISP funds meant for the poor.

A major chunk of the 140,000 people were government employees of grade 1 to 16 while the rest (2,037) were officers of grade 17 to 22.

"This is a lack of transparency of the system and its regulations that this went on for years and the officers continued to withdraw money," Akbar said, adding that it was important to "name and shame" people who consumed funds meant for the poor.

Giving a breakdown of the cases identified across the country, the SAPM said the number of government employees of grade 17 and above whose spouses fraudulently benefited from BISP was nine in Azad Kashmir and 40 in Gilgit-Baltistan. As many as 554 officers or their spouses benefited from the programme in Balochistan, 342 in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 101 in Punjab and 938 in Sindh.

A total of 39 employees of grade 1 to 16 and four officers of grade 17 and above who worked for BISP itself benefited from the programme; they have now been fired. Among employees of the federal government, this number was 48.

SAPM Akbar also revealed names of several officers from the education department in Balochistan who had two wives, both of whom were benefiting from BISP.

Last month, Special ****is*tant to the Prime Minis*ter on Social Protection and Poverty Alleviation Dr Sania Nishtar had announced that the government had conducted forensic data analysis and identified 820,165 undeserving people who were availing the BISP assistance. She had said the government was "exiting" these people from the programme, adding that this exercise would be conducted annually to weed out any beneficiaries who had achieved financial stability so that the funds could be disbursed to more deserving people.

Launched in July 2008, the federally-funded BISP is Pakistan’s largest social safety net, catering to women and benefiting around 5.4 million people, according to data released in 2016.
https://www.dawn.com/news/1531259/c...employees-who-benefited-from-bisp-sent-to-fia

Rs18.5 million recovered from fake BISP aid recipients in Sindh

DADU: The Federal Investigative Agency (FIA) has recovered Rs18.5 million of Benazir Income Support Programme from 150 out of 224 wives of government officers who had been illegally drawing the financial aid meant for poor women.

Most of the women were spouses of officers in grade 18, 19 and above posted in various departments of federal and Sindh governments who had withdrawn the BISP aid over several years.

The FIA had issued notices to 92 such women of Dadu and Jamshoro districts asking them to appear in FIA office Hyderabad circle on Monday, said FIA inspector Ramesh Kumar.

He said that a total of 224 errant women belonged to Hyderabad region and FIA had so far recovered Rs18.5 million from 150 and the process was under way to take back the amount from the remaining women.

He said that nine FIRs had been registered against the illegal beneficiaries of BISP. The FIA had cleared Matiari and Tando Allahyar as it had recovered the BISP amount from illegal beneficiaries in the two districts, he said.

He said that majority of women were wives of officers and around 16 had received the aid money despite being officers in both Sindh and federal governments.

He said that 78 wives of officers belonged to Dadu and 14 hailed from Jamshoro districts. The notices had been issued to them directing them to appear at FIA office in Hyderabad circle, he said.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1557875

Rs18.5 million recovered from fake BISP aid recipients in Sindh

DADU: The Federal Investigative Agency (FIA) has recovered Rs18.5 million of Benazir Income Support Programme from 150 out of 224 wives of government officers who had been illegally drawing the financial aid meant for poor women.

Most of the women were spouses of officers in grade 18, 19 and above posted in various departments of federal and Sindh governments who had withdrawn the BISP aid over several years.

The FIA had issued notices to 92 such women of Dadu and Jamshoro districts asking them to appear in FIA office Hyderabad circle on Monday, said FIA inspector Ramesh Kumar.

He said that a total of 224 errant women belonged to Hyderabad region and FIA had so far recovered Rs18.5 million from 150 and the process was under way to take back the amount from the remaining women.

He said that nine FIRs had been registered against the illegal beneficiaries of BISP. The FIA had cleared Matiari and Tando Allahyar as it had recovered the BISP amount from illegal beneficiaries in the two districts, he said.

He said that majority of women were wives of officers and around 16 had received the aid money despite being officers in both Sindh and federal governments.

He said that 78 wives of officers belonged to Dadu and 14 hailed from Jamshoro districts. The notices had been issued to them directing them to appear at FIA office in Hyderabad circle, he said.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1557875

We need these crooks sacked and jailed.

High court asks 21 employees to return BISP grant

PESHAWAR: Peshawar High Court has taken disciplinary action against 21 of its employees, who have illegally drawn benefits from Benazir Income Support Programme (BISP) and ordered them to deposit collectively Rs2.668 million.

According to a press release issued here, after inquiry the competent authority (chief justice) ordered recovery of the said amount from the 21 employees, who either themselves or through their spouses were receiving BISP cash grants.

The authority ordered them to deposit the said amount in state exchequer and also ordered withholding their increments for three years.

The list of the employees was shared with the high court by Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, establishment and administration department on February 14, 2020.

Meanwhile, another official, Noushad Khan, who was serving as bailiff, was dismissed from service after completion of multiple inquiries against him.

It is stated that the charges of misconduct were proved against him. He was made liable for major penalty of dismissal from service under rule 4 (1) (b) (iv) of the Government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Civil Servant (Efficiency & Discipline) Rules, 2011.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1567709/high-court-asks-21-employees-to-return-bisp-grant

BISP scam: FIA lodges cases against 24 govt employees

PESHAWAR: The Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) chapter of the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) on Thursday completed its investigations against government employees who were allegedly involved in a scam where they abused the Benazir Income Support Programme (BISP).

After completing their investigations, the agency lodged cases against 24 government officials for misusing their authority to steal from the programme which was meant to offer a financial lifeline to the poorest of the poor.

A government audit of the programme had found that out of the 820,165 beneficiaries who had been disqualified, 14,730 were government employees. Those employed by the government are not eligible to receive cheques under the programme. The data further showed 127,826 beneficiaries were those whose spouses were government employees. Moreover, 153,302 other beneficiaries had travelled abroad at least once and 195,364 were those whose spouses had travelled abroad at least once.

The number of beneficiaries who travelled abroad more than once stood at 10,476. Similarly, spouses of 166,319 beneficiaries had travelled abroad more than once.

The BISP also removed 692 people who owned at least one or more vehicles, while 43,746 were culled from the list because their spouses owned one or more cars.

BISP rules stipulate that anyone who can pay an Rs1,000 telephone bill every month is not “eligible” to get the monthly stipend from the programme. Hence, 24,546 people were removed under this category.

Likewise, some 155,767 were removed from the database as their spouses paid Rs1,000 or more in their telephone bills (landline or mobile). For applying for passports via executive centres, 666 beneficiaries were removed and 580 were dropped as their spouses applied for passports via executive centres.
https://tribune.com.pk/story/2254187/bisp-scam-fia-lodges-cases-against-24-govt-employees

The FIA has started to work. Hire officers directly from University, pay them well, train them and get them working. Wajid Zia is a good man but the FIA lack capacity to tackle serious crime. They also need a full prosecution wing to see the criminals in jail.

I was watching a tv program and i was shocked to here things regarding the NAB i.e. there are 50,000 plus active cases of corruption but only 600 NAB officers and officials. No wonder the entity is so inefficient.

NAB is a mafia laundry. It has a guy at his head appointed by MR, NS and AZ. The Budha is a immoral loser being blackmailed by these people and plays silly games to protect the mafia. I hope the SC decision makes a difference but you know the lower Judiciary is even more corrupt and will find ways to protect their paymasters.

I wonder if these govt institutions like NAB, FBR can be privitized in a way where the entities are free to hire the best professionals out there i.e. lawyers with the best degrees, work experience, individuals with masters in criminal and forensic investigations. Right now my understanding is that for entities like NAB only govt employees can work there.

They need a decade of hiring good people and good leadership. The Sharifs and Zardaris have destroyed every single institution to allow them to steal and act with impunity. Uncle Tom's and his ilk want IK to solve structural destruction in 2 years but its not possible.

BISP ex-chief seeks court appearance via video link in NAB case

ISLAMABAD: The former chairperson of the Benazir Income Support Programme (BISP), Farzana Raja, has requested the accountability court of Islamabad to allow her to appear in court through a video link from the United States in connection with a reference filed by NAB against her and 18 other suspects in connection with alleged embezzlement in the BISP’s fund.

The accountability court in May this year had summoned the former chairperson of the Benazir Income Support Programme (BISP), a former press information officer and 17 others for alleged corruption in issuing advertisements without adhering to relevant laws.

The suspects had allegedly allotted illegal contracts to four advertising companies which allegedly resulted in the loss of billions of rupees to BISP.

On Tuesday, Advocate Sardar Asmatullah, Ms Raja’s counsel, informed Accountability Court Judge Mohammad Bashir that his client was in the US and due to her health issues she could not travel to Pakistan. However, he said, she was ready to join the proceedings of the court through a video link from the US.

The judge sought medical reports of Ms Raja and remarked that after perusal of the reports, the court would give a ruling on her appearance through the video link. Further hearing of the case was adjourned till Sept 17.

The 32-page reference against the PPP leader and others stated that a complaint had been received in NAB alleging that the BISP awarded contracts to advertising agencies in 2009-10 and 2010-11 in violation of the Public Procurement Rules, 2004. It was further alleged in the complaint that Rs1.657 billion was given to advertising agency M/s Midas (Pvt) Limited.

The competent authority authorised an inquiry on May 23, 2014, which was subsequently upgraded into investigation.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1576494/bisp-ex-chief-seeks-court-appearance-via-video-link-in-nab-case

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">BISP data cleaning under <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Ehsaas?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Ehsaas</a> Governance Framework: In 2019,BISP exited 820,165 individuals from its beneficiaries’ list, of which 142,556 were govt servants. As more data became available in 2020,an additional 29,961 benef hv also been made ineligible.<a href="https://t.co/4vOtzlXuut">https://t.co/4vOtzlXuut</a> <a href="https://t.co/dAkrA1C2Tj">pic.twitter.com/dAkrA1C2Tj</a></p>— Sania Nishtar (@SaniaNishtar) <a href="https://twitter.com/SaniaNishtar/status/1356515157371985920?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 2, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Shocking levels of corruption

BISP was just a tool to bribe people to vote for the PPP..but they are moderate so are better than taliban Khan..who cares about their corruption as long as you get rid of Khan..

Why is the name of corrupt ex PM used on a programme paid for by the taxpayers

Pakistan’s most liberal party is only good for robbing people’s tax money liberally!