Does the presence of Sarfaraz Ahmed benefit the team?

Major

Test Star
During the 2nd T20, after the bowlers got hit for sixes, 4 wannabe captains and Babar Azam would stand around the bowler each one giving advice to either the bowler or to Babar.

Yesterday when Sarfraz played, things were different.
Shadab gets hit for a six, this what Sarfraz says behind the stumps
Koi nahi Shadab aakhri acha karna hai,
Next ball the batsmen couldnt hit it

Than 2nd last ball, Harris gets hit for a six, Babar shouts but we all hear Sarfraz telling Harris the following
Haris koi nahi bus ek ball achi karani hai

He gave the players confidence and backed them. Yes, in the past Sarfraz also lost got emotional but that is part of captaincy. When you are not captain you can play the good cop.

Do you think the presence of Sarfraz give us a positive benefit where the team doesnt start to panic?

He may not be the best player but he is heads and shoulders above the rest when it comes to captaincy. Given the fundamental role played by captains in cricket, Pakistan should play him as a captain. Rizwan should be the wicketkeeper in all formats.

That’s not all he was constantly reminding Babar where fielders were, at one point he told Babar to check on Fakhar who was fielding on boundary line to keep an eye out, reading the situation yelling big shot coming warning guys to be on edge of the circle.
I think it gave Babar reminders to help him out. This should have been done in 2nd test by so called seniors Haffez and Shoaib

That’s not all he was constantly reminding Babar where fielders were, at one point he told Babar to check on Fakhar who was fielding on boundary line to keep an eye out, reading the situation yelling big shot coming warning guys to be on edge of the circle.
I think it gave Babar reminders to help him out. This should have been done in 2nd test by so called seniors Haffez and Shoaib

THIS!

Later on i think a wicket fell with fakhar catching it off Imad.

Having advisors or someone keeping your toes is good. But having 4-5 advisors is never good.

Another problem is guys like Hafeez and Imad do it for the showmanship. They try to show themselves as captain for the cameras so that our jahil journalist pick this up and write in their next article that so and so should be captain because he was saying something in the ears of senior bowler.

Sarfraz stayed in his limits, he just advised and didn't like force himself and did the chirping that you do as a keeper.

If i am not wrong, Hafeez was also told during Sarfraz captaincy to refrain from giving him advice as he knows what he is doing. Sarfraz at the start of his captaincy faced similar issues.

Look if Sarfraz can bat well in odi and t20, i would like to have him as someone that could assist Babar.

Indeed sarfraz presence will definitely benefit the team and the young captain to control the situation. He has loads of experience as a t20 captain and has learned the art of winning matches. Yes he was emotional during his stint but not at the rate of Babars now.

Good thing to see not many ppl coming around for advice.

There is no doubt his experience can help Babar but, the question is where does he fit in? Rizwan is a much better batsman overall across the formats (In T20s both are okish at the moment) and is one of the best keepers around so not sure Sarfaraz will get many games going forward.

He almost lost us the previous match by pulling off a Kamran Akmal. He is done, and Rizwan is a superior keeper to him. Ideally, we should blood a younger keeper who can bat aggressively as well in t20Is.

He may not be the best player but he is heads and shoulders above the rest when it comes to captaincy. Given the fundamental role played by captains in cricket, Pakistan should play him as a captain. Rizwan should be the wicketkeeper in all formats.

LOL @ this. We need to stop with specialist captains.

He almost lost us the previous match by pulling off a Kamran Akmal. He is done, and Rizwan is a superior keeper to him. Ideally, we should blood a younger keeper who can bat aggressively as well in t20Is.

Mohammad harris umar sadiq rohail nazir are a few names

His keeping nearly cost us the game. His batting isn't good enough anymore. We need to move on from him.

I'd like to see him replace Shoaib Malik in T20's. Possibly even fit into ODI's somewhere.

He was a solid batsman until his decline with the pressures of captaincy. He seems pretty chill as a WK without worrying about being Captain. He seems to have realised he was too harsh and is trying to be more positive.

I like his captaincy but a specialist captain has no place in the modern game

Sarfaraz is actually a very good T20 leader, he has showed that for Quetta and for Pakistan. Its just his individual performances were not good enough. Rizwan's keeping is better and the difference in batting quality is minimal.

Can;t believe there are people who still support one of the most useless player ever to captain Pakistan team. He should not be with Pakistan team in any capacity. Yes, his yawning sometime send a positive message to relax, in a tense situation.

I am fully convinced that this guy is now a massive liability. He cannot be trusted to grab crucial chances i.e. catches or stumpings. These things are the difference between wins and defeats and it almost cost Pakistan the last T-20 games. Atleast with Rizwan you know you have a fit athletic keeper who can not only grab routine chances but also very difficult ones. Also Sarfaraz's batting is unreliable while Rizwan is now showing big improvement with the bat. Pakistan should move on. As much as Sarfaraz's personality and past leadership experience helps the on field captain, it is too risky to play him just for that reason alone.

I'd like to see him replace Shoaib Malik in T20's. Possibly even fit into ODI's somewhere.

He was a solid batsman until his decline with the pressures of captaincy. He seems pretty chill as a WK without worrying about being Captain. He seems to have realised he was too harsh and is trying to be more positive.

Nah his time is done, shoaib can be replaced by someone else
Great cricketing mind and great memories (CT win 1 T20 rankings) but in Rizwan we have a much better product

When he is there the team starts performing. We don’t got coaches but at least we got a great captain.

He almost lost us the match.Had it not been for wahab over, noone would have made such thread.

When he is there the team starts performing. We don’t got coaches but at least we got a great captain.

It was actually babar who got morgan runout out.Great captain lost us the match by missed chance.There is a proper thread on how he yells at players.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Bhayya you have so many fans including me you will answer small number of people with your performance InshA Allah u have done so much in past for Pakistan and you will in future thanks for giving positive energy throughout the tour... stay strong <a href="https://t.co/GSRUolcleF">https://t.co/GSRUolcleF</a></p>— Azhar Ali (@AzharAli_) <a href="https://twitter.com/AzharAli_/status/1301247655499235335?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 2, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Have said it before too that Rizwan should be groomed for a long career in Tests. He is brilliant. And we need to move towards a different keeper-batsman for LOIs. Don't mind Sarfaraz until Rohail undergoes a full season in the FC.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Bhayya you have so many fans including me you will answer small number of people with your performance InshA Allah u have done so much in past for Pakistan and you will in future thanks for giving positive energy throughout the tour... stay strong <a href="https://t.co/GSRUolcleF">https://t.co/GSRUolcleF</a></p>— Azhar Ali (@AzharAli_) <a href="https://twitter.com/AzharAli_/status/1301247655499235335?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 2, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This just makes it even worse, one of the pillars of axis of incompetence speaking out. Azhar, retire already.

I had to think twice before writing here.

There are few posters here who just post to bash Sarfaraz whatever he does. When Pakistan starts losing they don’t even cone on these forums and run away. As soon as he gets a game they return and start spewing venom, feels like thet have been given a role. And its unfortunate they are encouraged. He doesn’t give much to his enemies so they use every micro conversation in the match.

I dont watch Pakistan’s matches anymore, I really hoped Sarfaraz stays away from this team whic PCB has destroyed.

First PCB’s imported genius appointed a non-experience coach and now a restless kid as captain who gets hyper after a bowler gets hit for a shot. There are 2 to 3 seniors who force their advise on him. PCB did same with coach providing him with many asst. coaches who he can work with. Don’t they have confidence in their captain and coach?

Rizwan, I have my issues with him he is Azhar Ali like person on the field but he needs to be given a proper run.
Sarfaraz should not be part of this dark phase in Pakistan cricket. He and Mickey Arthur made this team no. 1 in T20 and if Inzamam would not have stand un the way they would’ve groomed promising batsmen from domestics and push Pakistan in the top 3 of odi and tests, under him Pakistan won a multinational tournament and its cricket improved they should stay away from Mr. Wasim Khan’s team.

Sarfraz did what a WK should do and that’s exactly how it should be. WI is the centre most spot in cricket and the most engaging job - he is busy with almost every moment in the game and unlike other 10 players, he can’t leave the field for a single ball (unless injured).

All the great WKs were go to guy for Captain under crisis because WK can watch the batsman & bowler from the best seat in the ground, he can judge the fielders angle, he sets the depth of slip cordon, he encourages the bowler/fielder for every ball, he is the ultimate destination for every ball - this makes WK the most involved player in the game but that doesn’t mean he has to be captain - often he is too busy to be captain in a thinking game like cricket.

A good team man can always support his Captain if he is asked for, but WK as Captain is not a good idea, for the longer formats. For T20, Sarfraz probably deserves to be in playing XI more than Rizwan and he is the better captain for sure; but I won’t make him captain for ODI & Test - apart from being WK, definitely he is not a better pick than Rizwan and Captain must make the starting XI on playing merit first.

Yes, it does. Pakistan played 5 matches without him and couldn't win any.

Sarfaraz should not have been sacked as captain of white ball team. He was Pakistan's best white ball in last 2 decades.

He seems like a great motivator.

I think he can keep on playing T20. But, he should be out of Test and possibly ODI too.

[MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION]

Sarfaraz shouldn't play in the side to babysit or groom PCB mafia's kid. They have done the same with our joke head coach. For his comfort they brought in assistant coaches who are close to him. During match they all sit separately away from each other.

Once Sarfraz is not needed then what? They don't like him which is a fact and the mafia won't let him stay in the team for too long. They demoted him to c category to humiliate him and force him to quit himself. For him playing for Pakistan os more important nevertheless they continue to humiliate former captain with no place in the team.

PCB has acted like a mafia keeping certain folks in the team with different excuses like experience or talent. They are the same people for example Malik. Malik couldn't bat in his position nor bowled an over. Everyone knows his limited pathetic game, yet he is being carried.

Rizwan should be given an extended run. Iftikhar also shouldn't have dropped. Both these players would not even be in Mickey Arthur's 15 man squad. Misbah should be backed for whatever hanky panky he does with the team. Its his team now.

Also on international level it looks below standard rhat a captain is being advised by 3 different deniirs who never liked anyone advising them. Babar is not prepared just let him apply his gameplan. A coach can't captain a team from outside. And yesmen are not captains. Captaincy is an inbuilt instinct whivh comes from the resolve. Pcb doesn't care about fans or winning series anyways or else they would never have taken Pakistan cricket 10 years back with their shameless decisions.

There is not much to captaining in T20s so I don't know why everyone is making a big deal about his captaincy. Attributing Pakistan's ascent to N1 in T20s purely to him is a bit of a stretch.

I think he is a highly negative influence on the team and should be shown the door. I would much rather have Haider as WK if Rizwan is no good with the bat in T20Is. He constantly throws his weight around with his incessant chattering. Behind the stumps he was beyond terrible and almost cost us the game. Shows how much we need Rizwan, someone who can actually keep wickets. If Rizwan doesn't make it in T20s though Haider is a reasonable option and would allow us to strengthen the batting.

[MENTION=147292]RedwoodOriginal[/MENTION]

Foirst read carefully what others have to say. Azam cant captain a club team he has been burdened with captaincy of the T20 format.

Captaincy requires fielders respecting you and remaining on their toes for you.
Oheis neive influence than why they need him to organize and gel the team?

I also don't want Sarfaraz to play with this Misbah xi. Even if he doesn't play again his legacy won't diminish and his era would look better than the current 9th ranked XI, or the team that follows after this selected by the pcb mafia.

Rizwan is the future and Sarfraz is history.

My humble request for OP to make threads which aren't biased towards Misbah or in this case - devoid of logic for once.

Rizwan is the future and Sarfraz is history.

My humble request for OP to make threads which aren't biased towards Misbah or in this case - devoid of logic for once.

Rofl its Misbah who gave Sarfraz a game to babysit his captain, he should back Rizwan's abilities and given him all games. They are playing before a major multinational tournament. They should see how he reacts to different situations.

Rizwan and Iftikhar both should play so his fans don't accuse others of bias when his XI fails to win against a top 5 ranked team.

Mohammad harris umar sadiq rohail nazir are a few names

These ppl will never get their chances until Misbah is there.

He will be the barrier, he doesn’t have the confidence to play a youngster, look at how Haider Ali played. It took him an all series banting and at the end when there is nothing to lose except the last match he was forced gave him the chance

I will not forget this guy who gave chance to Rafatullah Mohamed for ISLU under Deano when Sharjeel was banned , when there so many youngsters to choose from. :yawn

No. He is over the hill and has already over achieved in international cricket.

Time for Rizwan to be given the gloves. Rohail Nazir should be appointed his understudy in Tests and ODIs. We should also consider Bismillah Khan for T20Is.

Btw I respect and admire Sarfaraz for his contribution to Pakistan team and fans since his U19 days when he led a team that defended a score of 110 in 50 overs against India and won. I'm not a huge fan of his the players I liked are not in Pakistan team anymore and its only going downhill there is no inspiring star player.
Sarfaraz for his contribution should atleast be respected at least learn from the indians how they protect their xi some of whom didnt contribute but wrre part of a team that won a tournament. Just baffled by the hatred Sarfraz receives and such petty stupid things are said against him one only can't even reason with that absurd ludicrous statement or namecalling.

We all know outside a set of players Pcb mafia doesnt allow players from domestics to play. If Sarfaraz is not gi8t for your team dont select him or make him do other roles. Treat him with respect and give honorable exit which he deserves and remove him from squad. Find one or 2 good keepers and groom them. But has PCB mafia groomed any players in last 12 years putside Akmals and Ul Haq families ?

Let's be honest.

Sarfaraz got a game in the 3rd T20I as the team management wanted to keep the Karachi media sweet and off their backs.

These ppl will never get their chances until Misbah is there.

He will be the barrier, he doesn’t have the confidence to play a youngster, look at how Haider Ali played. It took him an all series banting and at the end when there is nothing to lose except the last match he was forced gave him the chance

I will not forget this guy who gave chance to Rafatullah Mohamed for ISLU under Deano when Sharjeel was banned , when there so many youngsters to choose from. :yawn

True we can only hope and pray that they do :).

Pakistan have talent but they just gotta be given a chance

There is not much to captaining in T20s so I don't know why everyone is making a big deal about his captaincy. Attributing Pakistan's ascent to N1 in T20s purely to him is a bit of a stretch.

I think he is a highly negative influence on the team and should be shown the door. I would much rather have Haider as WK if Rizwan is no good with the bat in T20Is. He constantly throws his weight around with his incessant chattering. Behind the stumps he was beyond terrible and almost cost us the game. Shows how much we need Rizwan, someone who can actually keep wickets. If Rizwan doesn't make it in T20s though Haider is a reasonable option and would allow us to strengthen the batting.

Is haider ali a keeper azwell?

[MENTION=147292]RedwoodOriginal[/MENTION]

Foirst read carefully what others have to say. Azam cant captain a club team he has been burdened with captaincy of the T20 format.

Captaincy requires fielders respecting you and remaining on their toes for you.
Oheis neive influence than why they need him to organize and gel the team?

I also don't want Sarfaraz to play with this Misbah xi. Even if he doesn't play again his legacy won't diminish and his era would look better than the current 9th ranked XI, or the team that follows after this selected by the pcb mafia.

What makes you think I haven't read what others have to say?

And I'd much rather see someone new be given a chance at the captaincy, to find the ropes, rather than a failure like Sarfraz. There was a reason Sarfraz was removed, dropped. And it was because he couldn't bat, couldn't keep wickets and was a terrible captain who lost a lot of games and never stopped screaming at his fielders.

There's an old military maxim: Never reinforce a failure. Which is why Sarfraz will never become captain again.

And what are you even talking about lol? Nothing you said in the last paragraph is even one percent accurate.

It seems like Pakistan plays a level above their standard with him on the field. I don’t know but there is something. Sum of 11 is more for some reason. Good for Pakistan.

Let's be honest.

Sarfaraz got a game in the 3rd T20I as the team management wanted to keep the Karachi media sweet and off their backs.

But why do they get blackmailed so easily by some media goons?

Also this is one of major reasons why I hate Sarfraz because majority of his career he has only survived and prolonged his international career due to pathetic and biased media who was always putting pressure on PCB. Sarfraz was always a mediocre cricketer. It's just sad that Rizwan had to sit out for a long period despite being better cricketer than Sarfraz.

It's puzzling isn't it.

But the Karachi media hunts in packs. They have their favourites and they have their targets. Sarfaraz is their golden boy, they scratch his back and he scratches theirs, so they will do everything they can to protect him.

PCB are weak, they feel threatened by sections of the media and therefore are frightened to take them on. So, instead they try to appease them.

It's puzzling isn't it.

But the Karachi media hunts in packs. They have their favourites and they have their targets. Sarfaraz is their golden boy, they scratch his back and he scratches theirs, so they will do everything they can to protect him.

PCB are weak, they feel threatened by sections of the media and therefore are frightened to take them on. So, instead they try to appease them.

It seems like Pakistan plays a level above their standard with him on the field. I don’t know but there is something. Sum of 11 is more for some reason. Good for Pakistan.
People will see what thy want to see. Someone who almost cost them a match which they were winning easily is seen good for the team

Make my words, this is soon going to lead to Karman Akmal level of impact, causing Pakistan to lose won matches and completely destroying Rizwans confidence

I have seen blind fans do this all the time. They did it with even sachin, dhoni etc when they were long past. When players have nothing to contribute their blind fans claim unmenasurable things like feel good, ideas on the field. Which is the surest sign that players has nithing to contribute on the field

Mohammad Wasim on Sarfaraz's selection:

PakPassion.net: What is the thinking behind picking Sarfaraz Ahmed as the back-up to Mohammad Rizwan in all formats. Would it not be better to give a youngster a chance in perhaps some of the formats?

Mohammad Wasim: We gave careful thought to this situation before the Pakistan Super League and came to the conclusion that Sarfaraz has been a very important part of the team for a long time. So, you want to make sure that if any chances come up then you are giving the chance to the most deserving and in-form person and that at the moment is Sarfaraz. We were also looking at the roles of the prospective replacement wicket-keepers and where they could bat. We know what Rizwan is capable of but we needed to look at what would happen if Rizwan gets injured and where any replacement would fit in. We wanted to look at the complete picture, including the strike-rate of the various options. The way Sarfaraz batted in the Pakistan Super League showed that he can be flexible and come down the order and bat with a high strike-rate. He made his case at the PSL and showed that he has still got it as a batsman and he gave us a clear message with his performances at the PSL.

In addition, I feel that we don’t have a young ready-made replacement wicket-keeper/batsman to replace Sarfaraz especially in red-ball cricket where he is far ahead of the competition. If you look at the white-ball formats, we have some youngsters like Rohail Nazir and Azam Khan and a couple of others, the potential is there but Sarfaraz with his performances at the PSL has made it even tougher for the youngsters which is a good sign as he has raised the bar. We’ll keep an eye on how things progress, but at the moment Sarfaraz is our second-best option when it comes to the wicket-keeper/batsman role.

Rizwan needs a fit and competitive Safaraz. Recent history shows,The day SA falls away will also be the start of the decline of Riz

No longer part of the Pakistan squad - atleast for the ODI series against NZ

Its a good decision to drop him. He is just sitting there and doing waterboy duties. Can play domestic during the series.

Its better Pakistan develops another keeper and waseem has made a good decision

Safaraz needs to stay to keep Riz working hard. As soon as SA goes permanently you will see Riz performance drop off . Its the reason Kami never developed and became an overweight back stop rather than a WK.

So he was useful as a counterweight?

Rizwan doesn't have the same mentality as Kamran and Sarfraz.

When Rizwan was dropped from the team 4-5 years ago, he admitted that his batting wasn't good enough rather than playing the victim card which most of our players do or they come out and say "I'm ready to play for Pakistan again" without having progressed.

Rizwan is nothing like our previous two wicket-keepers. He believes in hard work and continuous improvement.

Sarfraz is a drama queen, the further he stays away from Pakistan cricket, the better.

Rizwan doesn't have the same mentality as Kamran and Sarfraz.

When Rizwan was dropped from the team 4-5 years ago, he admitted that his batting wasn't good enough rather than playing the victim card which most of our players do or they come out and say "I'm ready to play for Pakistan again" without having progressed.

Rizwan is nothing like our previous two wicket-keepers. He believes in hard work and continuous improvement.

Sarfraz is a drama queen, the further he stays away from Pakistan cricket, the better.

I hope you are right but I am just going by the history of our players and that doesn't fill me with confidence. We need SA to stay around for another 2 years and then you start looking at Rohail, Haris etc.

Rightly discarded. It was embarrassing seeing him doing all the chores.

Easing him towards the exit door.

Quite right a young keeper is being selected as Rizwan's back-up.

Sarfraz is a selfless guy. If he’s selected, he gives it his all and is not too proud to not offer advice.

Whether selecting him is right or wrong is not sarfraz’ fault. That’s up to the CS and team management. Personally I don’t think he should be selected at all, but that’s not up to him.

The guy is in a no win situation. No matter what he does, someone complains. If he gives advice on the field “he’s too loud, excitable” or “trying to be proxy captain”. If he didn’t give advice, I’m sure the comments would be “look how bitter he is” or “he’s purposely trying to sabotage the new captain”.

If he brings drinks out as 12th man - “he’s humiliating himself”, “it’s embarrassing”. If he refused, I’m sure the comments would be “oh he’s throwing his toys out of his pram” or “who does he think he is”.

For his own benefit, it would be better to retire, but if he doesn’t want to and still wants to play for pakistan, you know his national team (which should be every cricketer’s dream), then that is his right and I will not begrudge him that.

Glad Sarfraz left the team, he had absolutely no role in dressing room.

Sarfaraz is the embodiment of everything wrong with Pakistani cricket

Fawad Alam is reverse

It's puzzling isn't it.

Why do not PCB officials or selection committee members show Sarafarz fabulous record of averaging 15, 17 and 23 in SENA? Are they scared that Sarfaraz backers will use the same tactics on some of the unjustified Haris Rauf like selections.

End of the road for Sarfaraz i feel now. Clearly a younger Wicket keeper batter selected indicates this. And Rameez Raja is a bring proponent of younger players.
With the high of CT 2017, to the lows of yawn gate in 2019 WC.
Thanks for the memories Sarfaraz. Liked him, but he himself went down the drain instead of gaining momentum after 2017 CT win.

The Khi Media is crying afoul "Is this the way to humiliate an ex captain who has won you the CT in 2017?". Because Sarfaraz won his country the CT, it means he has the right to be selected for life?

Thank God we have professional selectors.

I haven't been a huge fan of Rizwan but even I cannot deny the guy has been freakishly consistent and our second best batsman after Babar.

It has been HIGHLY unfair to him that the management has kept Sarfraz on Rizwan's back for so long. A player who is performing so consistently should not constantly be looking in the rear view mirror and worrying that he might get replaced! He needs to be given full backing that he's the one who'll take the reigns of Pak cricket - build him up!

We all know that Sarfraz was included in the team for non-cricketing reasons. It's a shame. Good that he's been shown the door!

End of the road for Sarfaraz i feel now. Clearly a younger Wicket keeper batter selected indicates this. And Rameez Raja is a bring proponent of younger players.
With the high of CT 2017, to the lows of yawn gate in 2019 WC.
Thanks for the memories Sarfaraz. Liked him, but he himself went down the drain instead of gaining momentum after 2017 CT win.

Agreed with everything other than the WC 2019 mention. That incident isn't even worth remembering and Pakistan overall punched well above its weight in the campaign.

I think it is the right decision to drop sarfraz from the squad and I think its a good call to pick haris over Rohail

so here is the thing :

IK hates Sarfaraz and Mickey Arthur
IK loves Misbah and Babar

PCB management changed , status remained same... IK controls the strings

He can give reminders to Babar thru a wireless headphones while sitting in the pavilion - or he scream out loud from the crowd as an spectator if headphone communication from outside is not allowed.

But if you want to include a player in the team primarily to tell the captain what to do, then not only I salute your cricket acumen, but I would rather remove such a captain from the helm to begin with.

IMG-20211003-WA0008.jpg

Sarfraz looking better than Azam but i think both shouldn't play t20, should try new backup keeper like Bismillah or Haris.

View attachment 112125

Sarfraz looking better than Azam but i think both shouldn't play t20, should try new backup keeper like Bismillah or Haris.

Watched his stumping yesterday of abrar bowling to Qasim akram were Qasim was clearly out of the line & sarfu legend celebrate the stumping before even clipping the bails and missed at first attempt but make it up later but till then akram was in. :facepalm
Reminds me of another classic stumping of Moeen ali :sarf

Sarfraz's international career needs to end. He's a mediocre batsman and a bad wicketkeeper who makes atleast one blunder per match. Nothing can be gained from persisting with him in any format. I'd prefer Mohammad Haris be groomed for the back-up keeper spot. He was selected for the NZ series so that tells me that the selectors are thinking along the same lines.

They may as well take a young backup keeper to the T20 World Cup, rather than Sarfaraz. It'll be a good experience for the keeper and better in terms of the future.

54* by Sarfaraz Ahmed - doing very well in this tournament.

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/uzvhuv" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

54* by Sarfaraz Ahmed - doing very well in this tournament.

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/uzvhuv" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

I would take him as a backup keeper, has performed much better than Azam Khan and the other "power-hitters" we have.

However, I don't think his keeping is that good. UAE tracks will have some good turns, so having a good keeper is important.

KL Rahul cost PBKS the game against RCB with his poor wicket-keeping. Even Pant had a fumble, and Dhoni as well.

I would take him as a backup keeper, has performed much better than Azam Khan and the other "power-hitters" we have.

However, I don't think his keeping is that good. UAE tracks will have some good turns, so having a good keeper is important.

KL Rahul cost PBKS the game against RCB with his poor wicket-keeping. Even Pant had a fumble, and Dhoni as well.

Sarfraz is a better keeper than all the keepers avaliable baring rizwan so I'd have him in the squad as he's in form azwell and can play spin well

So it seems Sarfaraz is the safest option for Pakistan in the end - picked for the T20 WC squad

I'm glad he has been selected.

Perfect batsman for the conditions in the UAE.

Plays spin very well and he knows how to suffocate teams via the use of spinners - a mastermind in these conditions.

Also, Rizwan is freed from glove duty and that will only strengthen Pak's fielding, Rizwan is the best fielder in Pak.

Terrible choice considering he has zero power game and is not good enough to play in the top 4. But in-comparison to the alternative Azam Khan he looks like Bradman so there's that also.