"Even great players like Virat Kohli go through bad patches" : Ahmed Shehzad

Ahmed Shehzad, while talking to DawnNews in Dubai, said he is determined to give his best once he is called back to the national squad.

"There are very few players that have had smooth careers, where they scored effortlessly in every match. Most of us struggle at one point or another, it is part of the game," he said, presenting a positive outlook on his exclusion from the national squad for nearly seven months.

"Even great players like Kohli, who has amazing form, go through bad patches; but the people around him supported him and helped him get over the phase," Shehzad said, talking about India's hard-hitting batsman.

"The point is to have a support system when you're down, all great players have that. But even when one does not, they should be their own support," he said, while talking about how he remained positive through the patch.

"I was lucky that Wasim bhai and Inzamam bhai guided me and told me to focus on staying positive through this patch. I have vowed to play better than before whenever I am brought back into the team," he added.

Shehzad said that he had a great run in the domestic season this year, and that was because of the help he had from former players that he looks up to.

Taking about the changes in the national One Day International squad's leadership, he said, "Sarfaraz is our new captain, we all know he is a fighter at heart. It is up to the whole team to support him and succeed as one unit."

Talking about his coping mechanism, Shehzad said he leaned on his family while going through the rough patch.

"When I was going through a bad phase my family, especially my wife and mother and they kept me on the right track."

Shehzad has not been a part of Pakistan's international Test and ODI squad for over a year, while he played his last international T20 match in March 2016.

There has been much controversy surrounding the player, as he was often criticised by the team management for having 'attitude problems'.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1316322/

Seems like your bad patch is your career.

If Shehzad could take singles and rotate strike, he will be the best opener that Pak could ever wish for.

Some people,instead of correcting their mistakes,always blame others for their failures.And it is unfortunate that Ahmed Shehezad is one of them.
It will be unfair if he plays again for Pakistan without playing more domestic cricket.Fakhar and Shahzeb should be selected ahead of him for the West Indies tour.

And please stop comparing yourself with Virat Kohli.Kohli is a passionate cricketer,who works hard and trains hard.He does not complain or indulge in Twitter politics like you.

He works harder than anybody; but unlike Kohli, he has no talent.

cant he just stop discussing and comparing himself with Virat Kohli ?

haha. its true. he cannot and won't change. keep this cancer away from the team for good. he still thinks he is far better than he is, and he still thinks his faults are because no one supported him. you make your bed with afridi, and you lie in it, sonny.

maybe you should try to emulate kholis professionalism and extreme work ethic rather than comparing his rare failures to your frequent ones.

Kohli was out of the squad for almost a year, he came back strong and then never looked back.

Virat might have gone though bad patch, but if you are a poor player in the first place then you are likely to struggle in the middle all ur life.

Contrary to many PPers i think Shehzad is your best batsman in TESTS. Fluent against both pace and spin. In LOI , he need to work on finding gaps though.

Azhar,Asad, Younis and the new opener are certainly better than shezy, while Babar too is likely to do better than him in long run.We don't need shezy, he's pretty much useless to us in tests.

Azhar ,while a good batsman is a limited batsman . Younis is past it . Asad is inconsistent and Babar is unproven. Shehzad record looks good albeit in Asia. But I have seen enough of him to say he is an asset in your test team.

He can't give the batting position excuse that Umar gives. Its always about lack of support, maine pichle 1.5 saal mei kya kya saha hai, not being backed enough with him and Umar. Haven't seen more deluded professionals than them in my life.

Azhar ,while a good batsman is a limited batsman . Younis is past it . Asad is inconsistent and Babar is unproven. Shehzad record looks good albeit in Asia. But I have seen enough of him to say he is an asset in your test team.

Azhar is the best opener in the world in tests, in onedayer he shouldn't even be in the team.Younis is past his best but still better than Shezy, likewise Asad is one of the best no 6 batter in the world.
We have a very good pair in Sami Aslam and azhar as openers in tests, i doubt Pak would like to change it.

He can't give the batting position excuse that Umar gives. Its always about lack of support, maine pichle 1.5 saal mei kya kya saha hai, not being backed enough with him and Umar. Haven't seen more deluded professionals than them in my life.

All the more reason not to bring them back, with such attitude they will end up being nobody.

Good player. Has the talent to surpass Kohli. Just need to hit the ball for a single.

Tumhein kaise pata wo kitna hard work karta hai? :afridi

Either [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] or
[MENTION=141557]Chief Destroyer[/MENTION] say that he is product of ball machine. Whatmore also said he is in nets more than anybody. You can tell by his fielding that he practices a lot.

He has been in a poor patch since the day he debuted. Awful batman with awful personality.

Why do Shehzad and Akmal bring up Kohli's name at every turn and corner?

It appears the journos are bringing up Kohli's name very often. From the players' point of view, they are extending the discussion to stay relevant. Comparing with Kohli automatically evokes a reaction from the fans. It could either be a ridicule or an elevation of their status by comparing to some one in great form. Either way, the key is to stay in the news. No PR is bad PR.

This.

He's still delusional and should be banned from intl cricket until he has 3 consecutive great seasons, scoring at above 100 strike rate AND not with a static ugly stance.

So, 4 years away and then we can judge his improvement.

This.

He's still delusional and should be banned from intl cricket until he has 3 consecutive great seasons, scoring at above 100 strike rate AND not with a static ugly stance.

So, 4 years away and then we can judge his improvement.

Lol in his good patch (late 2013 to end 2014) of about 15 months he averaged around 39 @ 75 or so SR.

If you pick any 15 month period in kohli's career theres a likelihood he bettered it

He always had the ability to turn himself into a good batsman. With Sharjeel out of contention, it won't be a terrible idea to give Shehzad another go.

What has his season looked like anyways? I'm not aware of the cold, hard numbers but he's speaking as if he has averaged 50+ in both FC and List 'A'.

He's a pretty good player, who is around the same age and being an Indian, is more relatable than a Root or Smith.

Its actually the annoying journalists who keep bringing up the comparison to embarrass Shehzad and Akmal.

You only compare with the best or your peers.

I don't see why you lot are having a problem with them being compared to Kohli. If anything you should be elated that Kohli is seen as the benchmark of batting in this era.

You only compare with the best or your peers.

I don't see why you lot are having a problem with them being compared to Kohli. If anything you should be elated that Kohli is seen as the benchmark of batting in this era.

There is clearly a huge gulf between Kohli and these two and honestly no point drawing comparisons again and again. Did you seen anyone comparing say a Upul Tharanga with SRT again and again?

Having watched a lot of Pakistani chat shows I've noticed that a lot of hosts derive pleasure from putting guests in awkward positions. This is just one of those cases.

There is nothing wrong in looking up to the best in the business and believing that you can match them, but Shehzad needs to learn to take responsibility for his own failures instead of dumping them on the lack of support etc.

Ahmed Shehzad has been singing this song for quite some time. He forgot to mentioned that he goes through more bad patches than good ones. On the other had, one bad patch for Kohli is followed by ten great patches. When would Shehzad realize not to mention Kohli in any discussion about himself. Kohli is a different class than Shehzad.