Forcibly converting Hindu girls after abduction is extremism not Islam, says Imran Khan

WebGuru

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan said that forcibly converting Hindu girls to Islam after abducting them had nothing to do with Islam, instead, "it was a wrongdoing".

He was addressing a religious ceremony of Hindu community held in connection with the religious festival of Diwali.

Khan further said that any circumstances that lead to creating unrest among religious minorities should be avoided, reported DawnNews.

"The extremists are mistaken that forcibly converting someone to Islam will bring them virtue," he maintained.

The PTI chief said that he would empower the weak segments of Sindh along with him.

He was of the view that injustices to the Hindu community in Pakistan should be brought to an end. The weak segments of the society were affected due to the challenged writ of the law in the country, he said.

Quaid-i-Azam was considered as an ambassador of the Hindu-Muslim unity, he added.

Source: https://www.dawn.com/news/1365958

But but but I'm a desi liberal and I declare Imran to be Taliban Khan please listen to me my opinion matters a great deal :sree :sree :sree

this behavior is the extreme version of those who force girls to sign on niqah papers without their will

imran khan always comes with balanced and logical answer,we need you imran..noooras have destroyed this country.

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan said that forcibly converting Hindu girls to Islam after abducting them had nothing to do with Islam, instead, "it was a wrongdoing".

He was addressing a religious ceremony of Hindu community held in connection with the religious festival of Diwali.

Khan further said that any circumstances that lead to creating unrest among religious minorities should be avoided, reported DawnNews.

"The extremists are mistaken that forcibly converting someone to Islam will bring them virtue," he maintained.

The PTI chief said that he would empower the weak segments of Sindh along with him.

He was of the view that injustices to the Hindu community in Pakistan should be brought to an end. The weak segments of the society were affected due to the challenged writ of the law in the country, he said.

Quaid-i-Azam was considered as an ambassador of the Hindu-Muslim unity, he added.

Source: https://www.dawn.com/news/1365958
Captain obvious is stating the obvious

When you are in a country with an overwhelming amount of bigots and idiots sometimes you need to state the obvious my friend.

Firstly as [MENTION=49152]humzy[/MENTION] said stating obvious in our society is EXTREMELY important. Even "Say no to corruption" is very obvious isn't it? He still had to repeat it like a parrot for 21 years before reasonable success.

Secondly, someone stating obvious would just say these things for sake of it. If you watch his speech at Diwali celebration, he goes to great lengths to educate people why it's wrong giving examples from Quran and life of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH).

Some people are blinded by extreme hatred but if you listen to any of his speeches at youth conventions or other non/semi political events (like business communities, minorities, artists etc) his speeches are amazing and inspiring with full of real life examples. At least in today's Pakistan no one comes even close to inspiring youth in such a manner.

His political speeches at rallies are totally different, he targets his opponents calling out their weaknesses which may not be pleasing to watch because it's all blame game but i didn't find Bhutto or any other leader to be any different in this area (Not just in Pakistan but politicians in Australia/Europe as well).

Imran in his massive Khanewal Jalsa speech today:

"Promise me you will treat your minorities like they were supposed to be treated by Quaid-e-Azam, consider them as equals & proper Pakistanis"

<blockquote class="twitter-video" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">BEST PART OF IMRAN KHAN'S SPEECH TODAY <br><br>Talking about minorities <a href="https://t.co/T41YxyY6Ha">pic.twitter.com/T41YxyY6Ha</a></p>— Ammar Ashraf (@AmmarAshraf) <a href="https://twitter.com/AmmarAshraf/status/926844230118592512?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 4, 2017</a></blockquote>

"Promise me you will treat your minorities like they were supposed to be treated by Quaid-e-Azam, consider them as equals & proper Pakistanis"

That Khanewal jalsa tho... MASSIVE

But jalsay tou 2013 mein bhi buhat baray baray horahay thay... election Noora jeet jatay hain.

That Khanewal jalsa tho... MASSIVE

But jalsay tou 2013 mein bhi buhat baray baray horahay thay... election Noora jeet jatay hain.

Yehi almya he is qaum ka... Kot Addu Jalsa yesterday and Dhor Kot jalsa 2 days ago both were massive and these jalsas were in rural areas of South Punjab.

Here is Taliban Khan for you once again spreading much needed message of tolerance towards minorities. He wasn't addressing minorities in this case so he wasn't just pleasing the crowd which shows his concern for minorities in genuine and genuinely cares about this issue.

I can see why some so called liberals and PPP supporters want to prove he is an extremist person but he is just a balanced person who believes in justice for all (exactly what Quaid e Azam wanted).

Huge jalsa in Khanewal. From the looks of it, Imran Khan looks set to win the GE 2018. But, he also had massive jalsas in 2013, right before the elections and we all know what happened next.

Yes i remember Khanewal jalsa was one of the biggest you can possibly see in this sort of town but PTI failed to win any of 4 seats on offer (close on 1 where PTI had strong candidate). Strong candidates and party support is recipe for success and at least PTI has far better candidates for next elections.

Here is Taliban Khan for you once again spreading much needed message of tolerance towards minorities. He wasn't addressing minorities in this case so he wasn't just pleasing the crowd which shows his concern for minorities in genuine and genuinely cares about this issue.

I can see why some so called liberals and PPP supporters want to prove he is an extremist person but he is just a balanced person who believes in justice for all (exactly what Quaid e Azam wanted).

Most of our desi liberals are the biggest hypocrites. Khan ki khoobi or khaami dono aik he hain or wo yeh ke yeh banda dil ki baat dil main nae rekhta or reaction ki fiqer kiay baghaer keh deta he...

Yes i remember Khanewal jalsa was one of the biggest you can possibly see in this sort of town but PTI failed to win any of 4 seats on offer (close on 1 where PTI had strong candidate). Strong candidates and party support is recipe for success and at least PTI has far better candidates for next elections.

PTI Vote Bank + Electables = Recipe for Success in Punjab

In KP party vote bank is enough...

Yes because a political leader is going to come out and condemn the minorities in his speeches. This is standard protocol for all democratic parties.

No one speaks more in support of the minorities than Bilawal. The naivety of the Junoonis is shocking.

Instead of stating the obvious in his jalsas, perhaps he would be better off focusing on the financial irregularities that have been detected in KP. However, it is all propaganda. Rivers of milk and honey have started to flow in KP since PTI has come into power.

Furthermore, considering the number of people our savior wants to put behind bars once he is in power, I think constructing new jails to enhance the current capacity should be a good business proposition. However, there is a slight problem.

When his party is in power, crime and corruption magically disappear. There has been no lawlessness in KP since PTI has been in power, so if the PTI forms a federal government, lawlessness will disappear nationally. Hence, then the business proposition of building jails would be a losing proposition.

No one speaks more in support of the minorities than Bilawal. The naivety of the Junoonis is shocking.

Same Bilawal who introduced the slogan Modi ka jo yaar he ghaddar he ghaddar he against NS? (to win azad kashmir election and still ended up losing badly).

Sir dhoodh ka dhula huwa koi nahi hai. These are all buzz statements to attract votes. All leaders make such statements in their rallies and make promises that they are not able to keep, including Imran.

And same Imran who hardly showed any sympathy for the attack on the church in Peshawar in 2013, and instead tried to divert attention to the drone strikes. The christian community in Peshawar was greatly offended by the way he responded to that tragedy.

Sir dhoodh ka dhula huwa koi nahi hai. These are all buzz statements to attract votes. All leaders make such statements in their rallies and make promises that they are not able to keep, including Imran.

And same Imran who hardly showed any sympathy for the attack on the church in Peshawar in 2013, and instead tried to divert attention to the drone strikes. The christian community in Peshawar was greatly offended by the way he responded to that tragedy.

That's the problem doodh ka dhula koi nae he for some Bilawal/Zardari and Maryam/NS are better and for some Imran is better so it comes down to the opinion of the person... As they say lesser of the 2 evils

In his yesterday Jalsa yesterday IK wasn't addressing the minorities but still he raised the issue and talked about them in a way nobody was expecting in a pre election speech (minority vote hardly matters in our elections and specially not in the cities of Punjab like Khanewal).

<blockquote class="twitter-video" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">BEST PART OF IMRAN KHAN'S SPEECH TODAY <br><br>Talking about minorities <a href="https://t.co/T41YxyY6Ha">pic.twitter.com/T41YxyY6Ha</a></p>— Ammar Ashraf (@AmmarAshraf) <a href="https://twitter.com/AmmarAshraf/status/926844230118592512?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 4, 2017</a></blockquote>

Just curious since you guys have given enough chances to NS and Bhuttos and they haven't done jack, why are you against giving IK a chance? From the outside he comes across as honest and someone who really cares for Pakistan and is fighting hard to improve its image, he had enough money to live a lavish lifestyle but he still chose to struggle for 20-30 years so compared to your usual TTF's why do you hate IK more?

IK will win next elections no matter how much Nooras cry

Immy teray jannisaar

Beshumar beshumar

:salute

Just curious since you guys have given enough chances to NS and Bhuttos and they haven't done jack, why are you against giving IK a chance? From the outside he comes across as honest and someone who really cares for Pakistan and is fighting hard to improve its image, he had enough money to live a lavish lifestyle but he still chose to struggle for 20-30 years so compared to your usual TTF's why do you hate IK more?

Because people like him benefit from the current system.

But but but I'm a desi liberal and I declare Imran to be Taliban Khan please listen to me my opinion matters a great deal :sree :sree :sree

This why I hate politics. Because there is so much hostility for each other. One person might say one thing and another person from the opposition will patronise them for it for ever.

If we were all a little bit nicer to each other in politics than we could actually bring some positive change. Instead of ridiculing someone for saying hating IK or calling him ‘Taliban Khan’ we could just point out that Imran Khan said this so it’s pointless calling him Taliban Khan.

But I also understand the point of view that these people will never listen so there’s no point explaining it to them.

I am not against giving him a chance. In fact I voted for him in 2013. However, what I am trying to convey is that don't expect miracles when/if he becomes the PM. He has been branded as a savior and people are setting themselves up for disappointment. I don't hate or love him more than any politician; I am supporter of democracy and I will back any government that is elected democratically.

Because people like him benefit from the current system.

Imran will not change the system with all the opportunistic lotas that he has collected from different parties. No one man can change the system, because the system has to evolve. Pakistan has not had political stability because we don't let democracy thrive and look for shortcuts. Military coups have done more damage than any democratically elected government.

Imran, Nawaz, Zardari, Bilawal etc. are just pawns. They will be history a few decades down the line, but Pakistan and its democracy will continue to live. Eventually the bad eggs will filter out if we protect our democracy. India is a great example; its army has not intervened with their politics and today they are a very strong democracy.

As Shashi Tharoor stated, Pakistan is the only country where the Army has a state. As long as the Army pulls the strings from the background, we will continue to be politically unstable. Protecting democracy is the only long-term solution for the long-term prosperity of Pakistan.

Imran will not change the system with all the opportunistic lotas that he has collected from different parties. No one man can change the system, because the system has to evolve. Pakistan has not had political stability because we don't let democracy thrive and look for shortcuts. Military coups have done more damage than any democratically elected government.

Imran, Nawaz, Zardari, Bilawal etc. are just pawns. They will be history a few decades down the line, but Pakistan and its democracy will continue to live. Eventually the bad eggs will filter out if we protect our democracy. India is a great example; its army has not intervened with their politics and today they are a very strong democracy.

As Shashi Tharoor stated, Pakistan is the only country where the Army has a state. As long as the Army pulls the strings from the background, we will continue to be politically unstable. Protecting democracy is the only long-term solution for the long-term prosperity of Pakistan.

Yet the vigour in which you constantly attack the man who is at least trying to do something is quite perplexing.

Is Imran not contesting elections? Is Imran not holding to account those who choose to operate outside the democratic system?

In fact, what democracy are you talking of? The one with rigged elections? The one Imran is trying to clean up?

You're right, no one man can do that. However, as far as I'm concerned, a vast majority of Pakistani's are traitors to their own nation when their vote is bought for a plate of biryani, or with bradri allegiances, or by those who have enough money, that should the surface be scratched, their life of exploitation and corruption would come to the surface.

The House of "Democracy" you wish to protect by backing the corrupt system is a house built on rotten foundations.

For all his good and bad, Imran is like a bulldozer who will destroy that house of corruption, and will build the country afresh with new foundations. It will not be a perfect country. No country is perfect. It will be a darn site better than the pathetic nation it is now. Pakistan, for all its potential, could have been something great. That's probably the saddest part of it all.

Who knows, maybe if the Army trusts that a decent leader has finally come to power, they won't have to instigate a coup.

It's been a long time since Pakistan had any major attack from any terrorist elements so the government must be doing something right ? It was also in recent news clipping that the current Pakistani army general mentioned that they have no whims to stage any more coups and that democracy has nothing to fear from the army. Safe to say there won't be any coup in the near future or it would happened by now. I also don't think Shashi Tharoor some Indian media activist should be an authority on Pakistani politics

Shashi Tharoor is not an expert on Pakistani politics but he made a very pertinent point which is why I quoted him. His statement perfectly describes the role of the army in Pakistan and how much damage they have caused internally.

Yes terrorism has been reduced in Pakistan and the army deserves credit for it. However, that doesn't justify them meddling with politics. Both Raheel and Bajwa have been advocates of democracy and don't seem to lust for federal power, however, their influence behind the scenes is still too significant.

Yet the vigour in which you constantly attack the man who is at least trying to do something is quite perplexing.

Is Imran not contesting elections? Is Imran not holding to account those who choose to operate outside the democratic system?

In fact, what democracy are you talking of? The one with rigged elections? The one Imran is trying to clean up?

You're right, no one man can do that. However, as far as I'm concerned, a vast majority of Pakistani's are traitors to their own nation when their vote is bought for a plate of biryani, or with bradri allegiances, or by those who have enough money, that should the surface be scratched, their life of exploitation and corruption would come to the surface.

The House of "Democracy" you wish to protect by backing the corrupt system is a house built on rotten foundations.

For all his good and bad, Imran is like a bulldozer who will destroy that house of corruption, and will build the country afresh with new foundations. It will not be a perfect country. No country is perfect. It will be a darn site better than the pathetic nation it is now. Pakistan, for all its potential, could have been something great. That's probably the saddest part of it all.

Who knows, maybe if the Army trusts that a decent leader has finally come to power, they won't have to instigate a coup.

Imran is not going to destroy the house of corruption by surrounding himself with all the good for nothing lotas that they has collected from other parties. These people are opportunists who have done nothing good for the country during their previous stints with various parties, and just because they have now been dry cleaned by Imran does not mean that they will now start working for the country.

The reason why I criticize Imran is because he fails to look closer to home. He has conveniently brushed the ill-doings of his party members under the carpet, and he sacked his own judiciary when they exposed the rigging within PTI. Not to mention the lavish lifestyle Pervez Khattak's family is living in Peshawar on the coffers of the provincial government. There are many, many other examples, but PTI supporters have been brainwashed into believing that there are no bad eggs within their party.

The problem with Imran is that he looks for shortcuts. if PTI does not win the election next year, he will once again flood the streets and get on top of his container. That is not democratic.

There is no doubt that rigging took place, but it is was a systematic failure. PTI's own members were caught rigging but that was swept under the carpet because Imran had favors to repay. Besides, PML-N were still going to win anyway because they hold the key to Punjab, and if you have Punjab you have Pakistan. Democracy does not mean electing a leader that I or you want, but it is only the majority that counts.

Another point that we need to understand is that the people who vote for Nawaz are not corrupt and neither are they benefiting from the system. People in Punjab vote for the Sharifs because they have doing it for generations and they do good work in their province. Not everyone is going to look at the bigger picture and take the whole country into account, and you can't blame them.

We in KP voted for PTI because it was the next best alternative. For years, PML and PPP ruled in KP and in between - the right-wing IJI - basically PML's brainchild to weaken PPP, had a stint as well. The ultra-conservative MMA government was a low point and although the left-wing ANP had a positive start, they were not able to live up to the billing and were pretty much destroyed by the TTP.

We voted for PTI simply because of the lack of alternatives. That is not true for people in Punjab, and they are largely satisfied with the performance of PMLN.

All this romanticism of Imran building the country for from fresh foundations etc. are meaningless. I grew up in Pakistan and lived in KP all my life except for the last year and a half. I am aware of the ground realities and the things that are not always covered by the media. I am not relying on PTI's social media pages and second hand accounts. I voted for PTI in 2013 because I believed in their manifesto, but I have been left disappointed in the last 4 years and I don't have faith in them anymore.

Finally, it is not the Army's job to 'trust' a leader. Their job is on the borders and they are not responsible for evaluating the performance of the federal government. Unfortunately, PAK Army is the most corrupt institute in the country and they thrive on chaos and instability. Good foreign relations is bad for our army, and they will never settle for peace talks with India or Afghanistan because they will lose their relevance and power.

They have done more damage than any civilian government.

Imran Khan is surrounded by corrupts so can't support him but Bilawal Bhutto is great as long as you can ignore his father and phupho who control anything/everything in the party and their whole politics depends on feudals, landlords, criminals and dacoits of Sindh...WOW

I am not against giving him a chance. In fact I voted for him in 2013. However, what I am trying to convey is that don't expect miracles when/if he becomes the PM. He has been branded as a savior and people are setting themselves up for disappointment. I don't hate or love him more than any politician; I am supporter of democracy and I will back any government that is elected democratically.

Fair enough seems like your issue with IK is like ours with Kejriwal he came with lot of hope and after we gave him chance he turned out to be just another politician.. Same seems your issue with IK, expectations were high but deliverably low..

Imran Khan is surrounded by corrupts so can't support him but Bilawal Bhutto is great as long as you can ignore his father and phupho who control anything/everything in the party and their whole politics depends on feudals, landlords, criminals and dacoits of Sindh...WOW

Bilawal ko kaun vote de raha hai?

I simply brought him up as an example of how all political leaders support minorities in their speeches etc.

Imran didn’t do anything out of the ordinary and he doesn’t deserve appreciation for it. It is standard procedure for all democratic leaders.

Hate speeches against the minorities = political suicide, unless you are the leader of an ultra-conservative party with ultra-conservative supporters.

Fair enough seems like your issue with IK is like ours with Kejriwal he came with lot of hope and after we gave him chance he turned out to be just another politician.. Same seems your issue with IK, expectations were high but deliverably low..

Neither Kejriwal nor Imran are mature enough to lead their respective countries.

Bilawal ko kaun vote de raha hai?

I simply brought him up as an example of how all political leaders support minorities in their speeches etc.

Imran didn’t do anything out of the ordinary and he doesn’t deserve appreciation for it. It is standard procedure for all democratic leaders.

Hate speeches against the minorities = political suicide, unless you are the leader of an ultra-conservative party with ultra-conservative supporters.

Bhai jab vote hi kisi ko nahi dena tou itna time kyun waste kartay ho political threads pe, kabhi Nawaz aur kabhi Bilawal ki examples but IK ca't be good for the country.

Point is we must stop using these excuses that he is surrounded by old traditional politicians, no one in Pakistan today can come up with 1000 candidates who are new, educated, liberal, moderate and ideal and capable of winning elections and you can only make change by coming to power so option otherwise.

Bhai jab vote hi kisi ko nahi dena tou itna time kyun waste kartay ho political threads pe, kabhi Nawaz aur kabhi Bilawal ki examples but IK ca't be good for the country.

Point is we must stop using these excuses that he is surrounded by old traditional politicians, no one in Pakistan today can come up with 1000 candidates who are new, educated, liberal, moderate and ideal and capable of winning elections and you can only make change by coming to power so option otherwise.

Janaab koi tabdeeli nahi aani wali, per umeed pe dunya qaim hai. People are setting themselves up for disappointment.

At least I would never get disappointed if someone i support fails after giving his/her best and i have absolutely no doubt Imran Khan is giving his best. It's not even about him becoming PM or CM or minister, it's about shake up of whole system and different thinking. It's a long debate but a LOT of positive change has already come in Pakistan which would've never been possible without IK being in politics (or let's say with just Sharif and Bhutto family in power).

I agree with the part that the emergence of Imran and PTI has been beneficial for Pakistan politics.

Yes instead we should keep electing Nawaz and Zardari and give up all hope.