"Give 50 balls to Gayle, Kohli or Markram, what will they do & what did Babar do?" : Shoaib Akhtar

Babar actually prefers Rabada and Ngidi bowling on evidence I have seen him bat against them. They provide the pace for his shots. Only Nortje may have caused few problems. I remember how people were saying Babar has problem with Shamsi just because Babar came back from injury and was scratch against spin in Pakistan. If Shamsi was missing today that would had been on top of the excuse list.

A t20 ton against any attack is worthy of praise

Well done babar magnificent stuff

Praise Babar all you want, but please refrain from calling it the best innings a Pakistani has played in T20 history. These games against B teams should not be taken so seriously, even Asif Ali would’ve scored a century with the way SA were bowling today.

Based upon this logic, Kohli, Williamson, Bairstow, Roy and Smith never got any weak bowling in their T20I careers as they are yet to score a T20 100? Steve Smith has 4 50s in T20Is, must be really unlucky as bowlers never ball a bad ball to him. Surely these guys are better players than Asif Ali.

Babar actually prefers Rabada and Ngidi bowling on evidence I have seen him bat against them. They provide the pace for his shots. Only Nortje may have caused few problems. I remember how people were saying Babar has problem with Shamsi just because Babar came back from injury and was scratch against spin in Pakistan. If Shamsi was missing today that would had been on top of the excuse list.

Nortje is a bit too fast and for somebody who plays it late it causes problems

Wow, reading the comments you’d think Babar was up against Rabada Ngidi and Nortje😆. Embarrassing from our fan base.

Some people will never stop complaining.

Babar has already smashed Rabada, Ngidi and others in the ODIs so it's not like he can't hit them.

The way he was timing them today it wouldn't have mattered who bowled.

Based upon this logic, Kohli, Williamson, Bairstow, Roy and Smith never got any weak bowling in their T20I careers as they are yet to score a T20 100? Steve Smith has 4 50s in T20Is, must be really unlucky as bowlers never ball a bad ball to him. Surely these guys are better players than Asif Ali.

Sure they play weak teams, but if they played as many as Babar has then they’d be breaking records.

If Roy and Bairstow were batting first today against this attack, England would’ve been the first team to reach 300 in a T20. That says a lot about the level of the opposition. Not taking any credit away from Babar, it was a good innings, but let’s look at the who he was up against.

Not South Africa's strongest attack, but Babar deserves a lot of credit for the innings he played today.

Wonderful to watch.

Some people will never stop complaining.

Babar has already smashed Rabada, Ngidi and others in the ODIs so it's not like he can't hit them.

The way he was timing them today it wouldn't have mattered who bowled.

I haven’t said that he can’t smash Rabada, Ngidi and Nortje, all I’m saying is that we cannot call it an ATG innings if it’s against a team that’s had to let go of 3 of their main bowlers for the IPL.

Would those 3 bowlers allow Babar to score a century from 49 balls, heck no, and that’s just my opinion.

All of these Pakistani ex cricketers are an embarrassment when they speak. To think this guy was being talked about as a chief selector candidate!. Pakistan team since 2003 may not have been the most talented barring a few handful of players here and there but they have punched above their weight to win quite a bit including world trophies. Shoaib Akhtar and co massively underperformed during their days.

Sure they play weak teams, but if they played as many as Babar has then they’d be breaking records.

If Roy and Bairstow were batting first today against this attack, England would’ve been the first team to reach 300 in a T20. That says a lot about the level of the opposition. Not taking any credit away from Babar, it was a good innings, but let’s look at the who he was up against.

Its a myth that Babar plays more against weak teams when every other team has a fare share of such opportunities. Thing with myths is that with proper research they can be easily busted.

To put things in perspective Babar has 10 out of 17 50s against Aus, Eng, NZ and SA in 25 out of his 49 matches he has played against them. Steve Smith has played 21 out of his 45 matches against Ind, SA, NZ and Eng scoring 1 50. Why he couldnt score a 100 in the rest of 24 matches against weaker oppositions? Virat Kohli has played 55 out of his 90 matches against Aus, Eng, NZ and SA, while 35 against weaker oppositions. Again just a slight difference in the overall ratio of playing against top ranked (Assuming they always played full strength attacks) and bottom ranked team, why he couldnt score a century?

Every good batsman has played against comparatively easier bowling attacks and have milked them in ODIs. Kohli (Without a doubt an ATG) has 21 ODI centuries against WI, Srl, BD and Zim.

Scoring a T20 100 is a brilliant effort and as mentioned that can be seen from lack of centuries from other top batsmen.

Its a myth that Babar plays more against weak teams when every other team has a fare share of such opportunities. Thing with myths is that with proper research they can be easily busted.

To put things in perspective Babar has 10 out of 17 50s against Aus, Eng, NZ and SA in 25 out of his 49 matches he has played against them. Steve Smith has played 21 out of his 45 matches against Ind, SA, NZ and Eng scoring 1 50. Why he couldnt score a 100 in the rest of 24 matches against weaker oppositions? Virat Kohli has played 55 out of his 90 matches against Aus, Eng, NZ and SA, while 35 against weaker oppositions. Again just a slight difference in the overall ratio of playing against top ranked (Assuming they always played full strength attacks) and bottom ranked team, why he couldnt score a century?

Every good batsman has played against comparatively easier bowling attacks and have milked them in ODIs. Kohli (With a doubt an ATG) has 21 ODI centuries against WI, Srl, BD and Zim.

Scoring a T20 100 is a brilliant effort and as mentioned that can be seen from lack of centuries from other top batsmen.

Personally, I don’t rate Steve Smith in T20’s, but to compare batsmen who come in at 3-4 to a batsman who usually opens the innings doesn’t seem logical. I know Babar has played at 3-4, but today he opened the innings. I can’t remember the last time Smith and Kohli opened in T20’s?

Wouldn’t you agree it’s much easier for an opener to score a century over a batsmen who comes in at 3? Also bearing in mind that one player bats behind Finch and Warner and the other behind Sharma and Dhawan.

If Babar had come in at 3 today, and had batsmen like Finch and Warner batting ahead of him, would he have had an opportunity to score a century?

You can play only what is in front of you. 122 in 59 balls against any attack on any surface is creditable. Made use of his form fully. Good players do that. It was almost like he wanted to make a statement.

I'm sure Shoaiby will come back with something along the lines of "I only said it to make Babar try harder and play faster."

I haven’t said that he can’t smash Rabada, Ngidi and Nortje, all I’m saying is that we cannot call it an ATG innings if it’s against a team that’s had to let go of 3 of their main bowlers for the IPL.

Would those 3 bowlers allow Babar to score a century from 49 balls, heck no, and that’s just my opinion.

Bro....it may not be an ATG innings but it was certainly one of the best in recent times.

My point is.....people were bashing Babar for playing poorly against this very attack last game but now when he's got a hundred they are saying...oh it's a poor attack.

Poor Babar...damned if you do and damned if you don't.

Bro....it may not be an ATG innings but it was certainly one of the best in recent times.

My point is.....people were bashing Babar for playing poorly against this very attack last game but now when he's got a hundred they are saying...oh it's a poor attack.

Poor Babar...damned if you do and damned if you don't.

People were criticising Babar because his lack of ability to change gears were a major talking point for years. Any batsman that plays an innings of 50 from 50 balls will get criticised regardless of what he’s achieved in the past.

Personally, I don’t rate Steve Smith in T20’s, but to compare batsmen who come in at 3-4 to a batsman who usually opens the innings doesn’t seem logical. I know Babar has played at 3-4, but today he opened the innings. I can’t remember the last time Smith and Kohli opened in T20’s?

Wouldn’t you agree it’s much easier for an opener to score a century over a batsmen who comes in at 3? Also bearing in mind that one player bats behind Finch and Warner and the other behind Sharma and Dhawan.

If Babar had come in at 3 today, and had batsmen like Finch and Warner batting ahead of him, would he have had an opportunity to score a century?

I get your point.

But by that logic we can say that it's much easier to bat when you have a Dhawan and Rohit or a Finch and Warner alongside.

While Babar has an almost non-existent middle-order to support him.

So we should keep this in mind while doing these comparisons.

People were criticising Babar because his lack of ability to change gears were a major talking point for years. Any batsman that plays an innings of 50 from 50 balls will get criticised regardless of what he’s achieved in the past.

That criticism was valid after last game but then his knock today shouldn't be devalued citing a weak attack.

Wow, reading the comments you’d think Babar was up against Rabada Ngidi and Nortje😆. Embarrassing from our fan base.
He scored a century against that trio aswell on this tour. Criticize sure, but don’t come across as a bitter armchair nobody when credit is due.

Babar played exceptionally well, regardless of what you think of this SA bowling attack. 122 in a T20 even against Nepal is a wonderful achievement, let alone against South Africa IN South Africa.

I completely agree that its easier for an opener to score a century in T20I. However, we can easily look at openers of top teams and still feel that its not an easy task.

Kane Williamson has opened in 27 innings and has played against Zim, Srl, WI, BD etc without a 100. A SR of 121 as an opener, imagine if he would have been Pakistani.

Bairstow, Roy, Dhawan, QDK, Buttler are still to get T20I 100s. Warner has one 100 against Srl. Finch has one out of his two against Zim. Also look at how many more matches they all have played in comparison to Babar especially the ones with one or more 100s (Finch, Warner, Guptill, Sharma).

So point is there is no way Babar’s knock can be downplayed comparing it to any player around batting at any position. It was a top knock.

I completely agree that its easier for an opener to score a century in T20I. However, we can easily look at openers of top teams and still feel that its not an easy task.

Kane Williamson has opened in 27 innings and has played against Zim, Srl, WI, BD etc without a 100. A SR of 121 as an opener, imagine if he would have been Pakistani.

Bairstow, Roy, Dhawan, QDK, Buttler are still to get T20I 100s. Warner has one 100 against Srl. Finch has one out of his two against Zim. Also look at how many more matches they all have played in comparison to Babar especially the ones with one or more 100s (Finch, Warner, Guptill, Sharma).

So point is there is no way Babar’s knock can be downplayed comparing it to any player around batting at any position. It was a top knock.

That's what you call a slam dunk

You can’t slam dunk in a moving target.
Posters will bring our interesting arguments. Here’s the ranking of atrociously desperate arguments against the daddy Azam:
I. It’s SA B team
2. Hasn’t scored against India
3. Doesn’t hit sixes like Gayle
It was a top TOP knock

Does Babar follow pakpassion? I think he does and it all makes perfect sense!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Chalo yar koi nahi, ghalti bhi banday se he hotay hai &#55357;&#56834;</p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/1382435427798429698?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 14, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Chalo yar koi nahi, ghalti bhi banday se he hotay hai ��</p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/1382435427798429698?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 14, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

As I posted in another thread.

I frankly didn't like his 100 innings too much.

Yes, great job and congrats for taking the team home and reaching a great personal milestone. Well done!

But this tulla maar type lapaaru batting style is a compromise on his class, which is very hard to swallow.

Shoaib Akhtar wants Baber to play power hitting in classy fashion? Won't happen!
You can either have classy play or power hitting. Can't have both.

And I am already bored, sick and tired of watching this so called "power hitting" where tons upon tons of runs are scored, while we yawn at sixes.

And every other tulla can be, and is, a "power hitter" in T20, but classy batsman like Baber comes once in a very long while.

Why do we want to send his quality and class down the drain?

I don't want Baber to join that crowd. He is a very, very special batsman. His style of play is an extremely rare sight to see in modern day cricket. IMO, we must preserve his class.

We should have someone else open the innings and go berserk, and Baber himself should come one down and play good looking cricket that he is best at.

As I posted in another thread.

I frankly didn't like his 100 innings too much.

Yes, great job and congrats for taking the team home and reaching a great personal milestone. Well done!

But this tulla maar type lapaaru batting style is a compromise on his class, which is very hard to swallow.

Shoaib Akhtar wants Baber to play power hitting in classy fashion? Won't happen!
You can either have classy play or power hitting. Can't have both.

And I am already bored, sick and tired of watching this so called "power hitting" where tons upon tons of runs are scored, while we yawn at sixes.

And every other tulla can be, and is, a "power hitter" in T20, but classy batsman like Baber comes once in a very long while.

Why do we want to send his quality and class down the drain?

I don't want Baber to join that crowd. He is a very, very special batsman. His style of play is an extremely rare sight to see in modern day cricket. IMO, we must preserve his class.

We should have someone else open the innings and go berserk, and Baber himself should come one down and play good looking cricket that he is best at.

I agree we must send at least one hack (if not two) to take advantage of the field restrictions.

Babar and Rizwan would play at the same strike rate between overs 7 and 20, as in the power play.

That century was an anomaly. It was a pancake and the quality of bowling was probably the worst we have ever seen at this level.

Even Misbah could have padded up and tonked them on the day.

This was a standard Babar knock on a sluggish pitch. No impact and no authority to take control of the proceedings.