GM Luna LE 2.7 Bat

Icon won't be bad either for front foot, it has massive sweetspot in my opinion.

I would go with icon. U can play ANY shot with it. Front foot and back foot. Ball hits well down low on the bat too. But I gotta admit that looks very good...........well of course........its an le

The feel on Luna is amazing considering the fact it is low sweetspot, pickup and balance is superb!

Shape is lovely and these stickers look superb on Luna when you see in reality.

Hahah guys you just confused me even more :)

2 go for Luna or Icon :D

I have an CA TRD so which of those 2 will be better 2 get as second bat.

Icon.........no doubt. It will come off the toe end of the bat almost as good as the luna. The luna will come off the toe end but not higher up the blade. Pick both up and see which one is better.

just hope i get a good piece from Mapperly then :D

since i cant see pics of the LE icon.

yea i think il do that.

how many grains do you rec? 9+ or 7+?

or it dosnt matter?

I don't think grains matter all that much because a bat with say only 6 grains can quite easily outplay a bat with a couple more grains.

However make sure that the grains are as straight as possible.

Sammi bro, I was at mapperley sports today and I looked thru few GM bats and the top end GM Icon LE and Luna LE bat had excellent looking willow and straight clean grains.

yea i think il do that.

how many grains do you rec? 9+ or 7+?

or it dosnt matter?

There has been sooooo much debate about grains. James Laver, Jullian millichamp and other batmaking pros know what they are talking about. Their opinion is that a lot of grains that a bat will perform well early on, but wont last the longest. Bats with fewer grains will not play the best early on, but in the long term they play just as well as bats with more grains and they last a lot longer. I would say about 7-10 grains but really as a general rule of thumb, it should be fewer rather then too many.

Same can be said for pressing, Ive seen a 12 grain bat hard rolled/pressed after the factory that has lasted years (3 - 4), that don't play so well, and Ive seen a really soft pressed 5 grain bat play really well that lasted barley 1 1/2 seasons. Everyone can have differing opinions on grains but at least provide a balanced point of view.

Do you order online at Mapperley sports? Have you paid any customs on bats you have received? shipping etc,...

Kr,

Thats sounds really good hope i can order my Le icon today :D

And then starts the wait til you receive the bat hahah.

rgds
Sammi

WE cant see the picture because its from your email. Either give us ur email and password or find a different way lol. Do u have a photobucket account? If not then make one for free and put the image on there and then copy the url here.

Hi guys,

update on the bat..

first Michael's service was simply amazing.

the bat it self is awesome.. ping is amazing and i am really happy i got convinced into buying Icon Le :D
will try and post pics later this week.

think this season is pretty much covered with Icon Le and TRD ;D

thanks to everyone who helped me choose.

regards
Sammi

could bat but i dont really like the stickers i mean which bat has brown stickers

the pics of the Icon seem to indicate a high sweetspot. is that not the case? is it good for front foot strokes on low bounce pitches?

ah ok. thanks for clarifying.. i was comparing those pics to "classic" low bounce bats like MB LE, and the swell of the bat seemed much higher. but good to know!. thanks

*storms in with pic*

Now this is a classic front footer's profile, on the left.

SL272220.jpg

The Medway Area Sunday League. Aim to have a good season and then possibly move on to a club in the Kent leagues.

Sry bout the slight thread hijacking folks.

CD bhai one last clarification: are you referring to the Icon, or the Icon + ?

I haven't used Icon + so I don't know about that. So I am talking about regular Icon.

ah ok. thanks for clarifying.. i was comparing those pics to "classic" low bounce bats like MB LE, and the swell of the bat seemed much higher. but good to know!. thanks

No worries bro! Actually in pictures one can't tell it has a long middle because the swell and sweetspot looks highish but when you play with it then you can easily say it is not just a back foot bat. I'm not a great player but when I go on front foot and play few strokes they come nicely off Icon.

Same was said for Millichamp & Hall Harlequin but when I played with it the sweetspot looked very long and I was middling nicely on front foot strokes.

*storms in with pic*

Now this is a classic front footer's profile, on the left.

SL272220.jpg

Lovely! What's the weight of your brother's Flare again?

Hero's profile looks very good for front foot, I believe the one I saw (606) was poorly made and it didn't have a great pickup either but the shape is brilliant I must add.

The Medway Area Sunday League. Aim to have a good season and then possibly move on to a club in the Kent leagues.

Sry bout the slight thread hijacking folks.

Sorry bruv but is Sunday League T20 one ? Or proper 50 overs?

It's a 40 over affair, which is why I'm desperate to stake my claim for the opening slot and just bat through. The Kent League is played on Saturdays and is 50 overs.

Ah okay, I hope you cement opening slot :D

YOu might want to use your brother's Flare for opening and bat like Shane Watson :D

HAlf grip on Hero?

Ta for the well wishing CD. It's not a half grip, it's several strips of elastoplast tape laid out to form a slightly triangular shape on the back of the bottom half of the handle.

SL272248.jpg

Ahh sensible move fella. With elastoplast tape I would say it becomes easier for you to hold the bat with bottom hand, right ?

My M&H handle has thick oval shape at the bottom so for back hand it is brilliant, I might try this for other bats as well.

The slight alteration to the shape of the handle means it sits nicely in the curve between thumb and index finger I find.

Let me try and see how it feels.

Is there any other way of making it feel like that rather than using elastoplast tape? I won't have enough time to drop down to pharmacy till Thursday!

SS, Have you tried putting some tape on the front side of the handle as well?? Making it truely Oval Handle??

CD, did you end up trying this?

CIML Bro, I did this with my Newbery handle;

DSC05868.jpg

I did this to make the handle like Laverish.

This is on back side, are you suggesting front side as well?

Putting tape on the front of the handle wouldn't do much, I build up the back of the handle to fit the 'v' between finger and thumb on my bottom hand.

I concur SempreSami, this is exactly how Laver handle feels. The 'V' make bottom hand grip much easier.

CIML Bro, I did this with my Newbery handle;

DSC05868.jpg

I did this to make the handle like Laverish.

This is on back side, are you suggesting front side as well?

hey Cd, thanks for the pic.

Is that multiple layers of electroplast with duct tape on top?or multiple layers of duct tape?
how many layers approx?
How did you go about it? just stick on one after the other?

Bhai,

It is multiple layers of duct tape, no electroplast tape. I don't remember exactly but I keep applying till I felt something.

Yes, cut the duct tape into half from center and then keep sticking one after another till I felt the difference. When you apply make sure you don't stick long strips because it will then go onto top hand first few fingers.

Bhai,

Yes, cut the duct tape into half from center and then keep sticking one after another till I felt the difference.

thanks CD, roughly how many times - 20 or 50 or even more?

When you apply make sure you don't stick long strips because it will then go onto top hand first few fingers.

makes sense. you only want the bottom hand to feel the oval shape!

thanks CD, roughly how many times - 20 or 50 or even more?

makes sense. you only want the bottom hand to feel the oval shape!

No worries yaar no need to thank :)

Nahi yaar 50 is way too much, I think maximum 15ish coats.

Handle is oval but wanted to make bottom hand more pointy.