Has the Sharif jail verdicts ushered a new era of accountability in Pakistan politics?

Could it be that politicians in Pakistan will now think twice before indulging in corrupt practices?

Or is this a passing fad?

Could it be that politicians in Pakistan will now think twice before indulging in corrupt practices?

Or is this a passing fad?

Imram Khan has ushered a new era of accountability in Pakistan.

Without him none of this would have happened.

The crooks would have taken turns.

Pakistan will never be the same again. Pakistan is on the path to justice and accountability.

Today's verdict has all the crooks quivering in their boots.

I will say yeh you can remove corruption 100% frm a society or govt but i will come down massively in coming years now every one will think twice. You needed a financially clean leader to raise voice against corruption and mafia not Zardaris or Sharifs and you got one and he did his job :ik

I'm skeptical. People were distributing meethies when Musharraf ousted sharif in the 90s and that was seen as a revolution of some sorts. Yet less than 10 years go by and he returned being more popular than before.

r̶i̶n̶s̶e̶ taint and repeat...

'revolutionary judgements' 'kara ihtesaab' 'new dawn' 'clean pakistan' are terms all too familiar to us.

Context: This was 18 years ago:

1999.jpg

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] sahab kuch log tou aisay ro rahay hain jaisay inki rozi roti rokh di ho :yk

Unko rone do bhai yeh dekho Transparency International is now part of the GHQ saazish. Yeh din be aana tha! [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION]

http://www.transparency.org.uk/press-releases/former-pakistan-pm-sentenced/#.W0BtpNJLiHs

6th July 2018, London – Following the sentencing today in Pakistan of former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, on corruption charges related to four London properties, the UK must now investigate those assets and no longer provide a safe haven for Sharif and his family.

If a UK investigation concludes that the properties have been bought with corrupt money, then the authorities should move to seize the assets. Transparency International also calls on UK law enforcement to investigate any further property in the UK owned by the Sharif family.

Sharif was today sentenced to ten years in prison for owning assets beyond his income, whilst his daughter received seven years for her role. In 2016 the Panama Papers exposed links between several members of the Sharif family and offshore companies that were allegedly used to purchase London property. Today’s court ruling ordered the confiscation of these properties for the Government of Pakistan.

It has been reported that Nawaz Sharif is currently in London and has regularly been visiting the UK during the trial. The UK Government has consistently said it aims to crackdown on the laundering of corrupt funds through the UK, although recent media reports suggest that the authorities failed to properly assist Pakistani counterparts during this investigation.

Rachel Davies Teka, Head of Advocacy at Transparency International UK, said:

“We are calling on the UK authorities to investigate the London-based assets identified in this conviction and ensure that Sharif and his family are no longer able to enjoy any luxury homes that are found to have been bought with the proceeds of corruption. Furthermore we believe the UK must look into any other potentially criminal UK based assets owned by the Sharif family.”

“This will serve as an important test as to how serious the Government is on cracking down on the prevalence of corrupt money in our capital. The laundering of dirty money is not confined to Russian oligarchs and it is important that we target illicit assets wherever they originate from.”

“The recent passing of legislation that will require British Overseas Territories to publicly reveal the true owners of companies is a key step towards preventing the purchase of UK property with suspicious wealth. The UK must now ensure it follows through on this legislation, so that we no longer need to rely on leaks like the Panama Papers to reveal cases such as this one.”

Imram Khan has ushered a new era of accountability in Pakistan.

Without him none of this would have happened.

The crooks would have taken turns.

Pakistan will never be the same again. Pakistan is on the path to justice and accountability.

Today's verdict has all the crooks quivering in their boots.

Well said.

I will say yeh you can remove corruption 100% frm a society or govt but i will come down massively in coming years now every one will think twice. You needed a financially clean leader to raise voice against corruption and mafia not Zardaris or Sharifs and you got one and he did his job :ik

Why is our “financially clean” leader running from his foreign funding case? Why is it still “pending” for four years?

What accountability?

A convicted terrorist was provided security by the institution that is supposed to protect the country from terrorism. What accountability is that?

Imran Khan continues to run away from his foreign funding case, he is not willing to clear his name first before pointing fingers at others?

Imran Khan was enjoying the verdict yesterday with his friend Murad Saeed. The hooligan who has a fake university degree. What accountability is that?

There is no accountability when there is no objectivity. Nawaz Sharif was charged on Article 62-63, a pathetic technicality whose impartial imposition will render 99% of the politicians - including Imran Khan - “na ahl” and thus unqualified to hold public office.

The new champion of tabdeeli, the most famous lota of Pakistan politics, Sheikh Rasheed, is walking around scotch-free even though his case was identical to Nawaz Sharif’s.

There is no doubt that Nawaz is corrupt. However, that is not the point. His case has been handled differently because it was in the interests of the establishment to dispose him, the same establishment that launched his political career.

If Nawaz was still pro-establishment, the verdict would have been different even though the evidence would have been the same.

There is a reason why Zardari has been able to escape any accountability, and it boils down to his terms with the establishment.

Accountability in Pakistan depends on your relations with the establishment. As long as you are a military man, you are free. This is not what you call accountability.

Yes it is new era of accountability indeed!

Must ignore all the beneficiaries of this system, they will cry for sure as existing system suits them and their lifestyle and they are too selfish to look at the bigger picture.

Same thing was heard when Zardari went to jail, same rona dhona now, same rona dhona for Altaf by certain people as well.

I can understand their point if they rise up and demand investigation against general or fauji rather than demanding Sharifs and Zardaris to be spared because they were elected by people and have life long right to steal from the poor.

Accountability for ALL should be the demand!

Yes it is new era of accountability indeed!

Must ignore all the beneficiaries of this system, they will cry for sure as existing system suits them and their lifestyle and they are too selfish to look at the bigger picture.

Same thing was heard when Zardari went to jail, same rona dhona now, same rona dhona for Altaf by certain people as well.

I can understand their point if they rise up and demand investigation against general or fauji rather than demanding Sharifs and Zardaris to be spared because they were elected by people and have life long right to steal from the poor.

Accountability for ALL should be the demand!

Its more like no accountability needed as democracy is under threat for catching criminals.

No accountability can happen in politics unless we stop supporting thieves and criminals by not giving them votes. Courts giving criminals punishment doesn't make a difference as they get their relatives elected instead.

It's a banana republic - just can't see this verdict being implemented , there will be another twist.

How many times have you seen before in Pakistan, one court gives a verdict, the other one cancels it, how do we know the govt coming in will follow through with implementation? if it's PTI than there is hope, but PPP and allies will do a deal with N league.

And for all we know if all other options fail, the military establishment might do an exile deal under foreign pressure like last time.

Whatever happens, Nawaz Sharif will be around like an Altaf Hussain doing remote control politics.

What accountability?

A convicted terrorist was provided security by the institution that is supposed to protect the country from terrorism. What accountability is that?

Imran Khan continues to run away from his foreign funding case, he is not willing to clear his name first before pointing fingers at others?

Imran Khan was enjoying the verdict yesterday with his ******* Murad Saeed. The hooligan who has a fake university degree. What accountability is that?

There is no accountability when there is no objectivity. Nawaz Sharif was charged on Article 62-63, a pathetic technicality whose impartial imposition will render 99% of the politicians - including Imran Khan - “na ahl” and thus unqualified to hold public office.

The new champion of tabdeeli, the most famous lota of Pakistan politics, Sheikh Rasheed, is walking around scotch-free even though his case was identical to Nawaz Sharif’s.

There is no doubt that Nawaz is corrupt. However, that is not the point. His case has been handled differently because it was in the interests of the establishment to dispose him, the same establishment that launched his political career.

If Nawaz was still pro-establishment, the verdict would have been different even though the evidence would have been the same.

There is a reason why Zardari has been able to escape any accountability, and it boils down to his terms with the establishment.

Accountability in Pakistan depends on your relations with the establishment. As long as you are a military man, you are free. This is not what you call accountability.

Respect the court that's what you kept telling others even if the verdict come against you. What a UTurn!

Ik tum hi nahi tanha, ulfat mein meri ruswa :sharif

Apparently there are many others as well claiming credit for yesterday's verdict...and this is your 'new awakening' 'fresh start' and 'new face of Pakistan moving forward'...this is a victory for all of you! :14:

Translation from Urdu for our patriots: "Nature has taken revenge of Shaheed Mumtaz Qadri"

Dhep0R_XcAAUlyO.jpg

This is the dawn of a new, prosperous Pakistan!

Corrupt individuals can point to history because that fits their agenda.

Instead of looking at the past, look st the present and to the future.

The present has shown hundreds of thousands of people turning up to rally’s.
These poor people have had enough.

No clean water
Little electricity
Bad and overflowing bospitals
Not enough money to feed the family
Bad infrastructure
Billions looted

Today we love in a world where you buy anything by one click of your phone.
When everything is on social media and a time when the message gets across to every person in every village.

Those who support the thieves are no better themselves

Really depends on how the voting public see this. If they still cant see a problem with PML-N then no amount of accountability will help

What accountability?

Imran Khan was enjoying the verdict yesterday with his friend Murad Saeed. The hooligan who has a fake university degree. What accountability is that?

Fully agree with you on this.

How many Generals we have put behind bars? How many judges? - This is all establishment topi drama, we have seen many times in Pakistan. The day Pak Army no more run this country, well that day we can call beginning of new era. It’s not about political institutions, they have no powers, just puppets. People in Pakistan are so delusional, next gen is as naive as couple of generations before them. You got to diagnosis the problem correctly before fixing it. :facepalm:

Yeah we all are dumb and you are the only one who has seen the light :))

Yes it has! This should be the start of all corrupt ones ending in prison or being forced out of politics. IIt will take some years though, won't happen overnight.

Yeah we all are dumb and you are the only one who has seen the light :))

So it goes like this,

- Whole world knows Sharifs have hidden wealth in UK but they say "Prove we have properties in UK"

- Panama documents leaks (INTERNATIONAL) prove Sharifs own properties and they shamefully admit

- Then come blatant lies, fake letters, ZERO money trail, flip flops, contradictions

- Finally their corruption is proven in courts which they had always demanded

But what are supposed to do? Wait till an Army General gets punished to balance things :facepalm :facepalm:

My point is simple, this is no water gate nor Iraq war cooking by CIA kind of scandle. NS has ruled Pakistan for 3 decades, establishment is working on it for more than an year, how come they did not find out a single case of kick backs or selling contracts or any such scandle??

As far as money trail, Musharif and Kayani have 10s of millions of dollar in Swiss banks,why nobody asks them where that money come from?? - For politicians people have vote to decide what to do with them, these generals have all the powers and no way to get rid of them...Not to mention the infamous Kamran Kayani, brother of Kayani, who made empire when his brother was COAS...There is long list of Corruption of Generals in last 4 decades, I can go on and on...

Where as Musharif cooked Kargill war and when NS confront him, he was thrown to SA, BTW: At that time they also gave him 20 years(I don’t remember exact number) of jail and whatnot on corruption. This time, again without much evidence they are jumping the gun to make sure NS and MN cannot contest election, because they had hard time beating them.

What about creating terrorist groups all over the country, using religion as weapon to create culture of hate and ill-tolerance that has distory Pakistan society and economy for last 40 years, all done under the name of national security, this Grollia warfare as weapon against India has backfired big time, India has continue to prosperous while we are consumed by this terror weapon in everywhich way, politically, culturally, socially and economically...When we are going to have a trial on that?? - if we are going to make a new Pakistan, let’s get rid of worse of it first ������

Also, what is this Jeep party business, this is not corruption?? Trading of lotas now called electable to PTI, for last year or so, what you call that ??

What is this non-sense of one sided trial, establishment is too powerful, we are still paying for Zia’s political corruption, the lota base politics. Now they are building again same layer of corrupt establishment. When all this is going to end?? - This is 1980s all over again. This is recycled, Faugi Pakistan, nothing new about it :facepalm: