Have Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan shaped Saim Ayub into the batter he is today?

emranabbas

There have been quite a few posts circulating suggesting that Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan have "created" Saim Ayub as a batter.

From what I recall, I first noticed Saim during domestic cricket; he really stood out in last year’s Pakistan Cup, where he averaged over 50 with a strike rate above 100. Meanwhile, players like Iftikhar, Shadab, and Fakhar all underperformed in that tournament.

So my question is, is there some behind-the-scenes coaching going on in domestic cricket where Babar and Rizwan are the coaches and are creating such players? It's a genuine question, as I haven't heard anything like that.

Naa, babar isnt a type of player that goes out to teach or help players that much. He is an inspiration but not someone that goes out of his way.

Rizwan mentors players and gives them spots and practices with his own group of guys like Fakhar and ifti

There have been quite a few posts circulating suggesting that Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan have "created" Saim Ayub as a batsman.

From what I recall, I first noticed Saim during domestic cricket, he really stood out in last year’s Pakistan Cup, where he averaged over 50 with a strike rate above 100. Meanwhile, players like Iftikhar, Shadab, and Fakhar all underperformed in that tournament.

So my question is, is there some behind-the-scenes coaching going on in domestic cricket where Babar and Rizwan are the coaches and creating such players, its genuine question as I've not heard anything like that.
I'm genuinely surprised we have posters on PP claiming this 🤣🤣. I wonder if they ever read it back in their heads and have a chuckle.

Khair thank you for making this. This is a perfect playground for @Kianig89 @Mamoon @RizwanT20Champ @Ahmed216 @Caved12 @Major and @shah9425 lol.

Although I surprised Ahmed also was ampung the people who claimed this. Shocking from him since usually he's a solid poster atleast based of what I've observed.

This is the kind of stuff that I used to hear when Dhoni was captaining us post 2016, he didn't contribute much as a batsman after 2016 but his PR used to credit all the success of our spinners and youngsters to MS Dhoni.

Saim Ayub averages 65 at 107 after 7 odis, so he has always been consistent there, no credit to captain or Coach here.

In t20is he failed a lot and was dropped, only made a comeback after scoring in the ODIs.

I don't see how any captain/mentor can take any credit here.

Rizwan/Babar actually tried to open the innings and send Saim at 3, it backfired and only then he was made to open.

Yes they have.

Firstly, Babar picked him for Peshawar Zalmi and gave him chances unlike Sarfaraz and Quetta Gladiators. Getting a permanent spot in the Peshawar Zalmi XI boosted his confidence and gave him the limelight which propelled his career and helped him play for Pakistan.

He wouldn’t be where he is today without Babar and Zalmi.

Furthermore, Babar and Rizwan is the most successful T20I opening pair in Pakistan history, and yet Babar vacated his spot for him. He could have easily slotted him at 3, and had it happened, the resident clowns would be labeling Babar selfish for not letting Ayub play in his preferred role. It was a big sacrifice from Babar.

Saim failed to perform but he continued to receive backing from both Shaheen and Babar during their captaincy and also by Rizwan.

Yesterday, he played a measured innings and didn’t play any funky shots. His SR was 65-70 for the better part of his innings and this is because he has been under the tutelage of Babar and Rizwan.

The only person who has actively tried to sabotage his career, apart from Sarfaraz, is Aqib Javed who gave preference to Sahibzada Farhan in the T20 series vs Australia, but Saim slapped him in the face in South Africa.

Saim will have to work very hard, keep his head down and demonstrate 100% dedication to have a successful career, but he is in safe hands under the watchful eyes of Babar and Rizwan and if he cannot make it work, he will only have himself to blame, because as a young batsman, you can’t ask for a better mentor and captain than Babar and Rizwan respectively.

Us the answer to the question in the title of thread is "yes" then.... it would have been 1000 times better if Babar and Rizwan could shape themselves into the similar (Saim) type of batsmen....

Every batter or bowler is personally responsible for their own success or failure. Seniors do often help juniors and therefore it should not be a surprise if Riz & Babar did help Saim.

Saim is best placed to answer this by the way.

Is this the same Saim that was at Quetta for over 2 years and barely played 5 games under Sarfaraz Ahmed?

Is it the same Saim who transferred to Peshawar and instantly got promoted to open with Babar for the entire season under Babar's leadership?

Is it the same Saim who posters on here were claiming RizBar are keeping out because they're insecure of how good he is and then they went on to play him despite over 15 failures?

Is it the same Saim that Babar and Rizwan as captain have BOTH PERSISTED WITH despite the failures and even moved themselves around in the batting order to accommodate him?

When he was failing the same posters would blame Babar and Rizwan for his failures and now that he's performing it's apparently delusional to believe Babar and Rizwan have played in a role in it. The agendas are laughable and even interacting with certain posters seems to be a waste of time.

Babar continously guided him to take measure approach ala RizBar method and that worked for Saim. No doubt Babar trusts Saim as one for future thus far the effort

^ were you watching the game actually, Saim completely followed Rizwan blueprint very slow at the start infact the PP was not utilised, but he succeeded after that and pushed on

I want to see Rizwan and Pakistan winning matches and let the fake socrates do suiside
@RyanRyan10 pointed this out. You guys all went missing yesterday when Rizwan got out yesterday

You don’t want Pakistan to do well. You want Rizwan to do well. That’s it. Admit it, you have to answer to God one day.

What's this thread about?

Another attempt to shame Rizwan for whatever reason.

Instead of coming up with creative titles, best to post hate in existing threads as all this is getting boring.

If nothing constructive can be posted then we will shortly bin this thread

What's this thread about?

Another attempt to shame Rizwan for whatever reason.

Instead of coming up with creative titles, best to post hate in existing threads as all this is getting boring.

If nothing constructive can be posted then we will shortly bin this thread
It’s a valid thread

This agenda kickstarted last night. It is right to nip it in the bud

@RyanRyan10 pointed this out. You guys all went missing yesterday when Rizwan got out yesterday

You don’t want Pakistan to do well. You want Rizwan to do well. That’s it. Admit it, you have to answer to God one day.

2 strong ODI sides and Rizwan's side is doing very well so obviously this will be a matter of concern for some. Understandable.

Most of your posts are being deleted by Mods as they are nothing but troll attempts.

So I dont see any benefit of this thread so far.
How am I trolling? Because my posts are arguments against Babar and Rizwan?

One liner insulting posts.

Add a proper argument and it will stay

Do not reply to this post. Just note it down.

We dont have an army of staff to look after one poster's feeble attempts at provocation

Naa, babar isnt a type of player that goes out to teach or help players that much. He is an inspiration but not someone that goes out of his way.

Rizwan mentors players and gives them spots and practices with his own group of guys like Fakhar and ifti
What? No he doesn't. He hasnt groomed anyone and if he has none of em have made it into the playing 11 atm.

Is it the same Saim who transferred to Peshawar and instantly got promoted to open with Babar for the entire season under Babar's leadership?

Maybe I should write an essay instead of a one liner to prove that this is a false statement?

Saim always had the talent and the ability. He's finally starting to realise his potential and has hunger which he was missing. He doesn't seem happy with those cute little 20 and 30s anymore. The next step is him performing in tests that's where he will be made.

Is it the same Saim who posters on here were claiming RizBar are keeping out because they're insecure of how good he is and then they went on to play him despite over 15 failures?
What am I supposed to say?

Yes this is the same Saim who RizBar wanted to keep out.

RizBar under Babar’s returned captaincy opened against USA and India in the 2024 World Cup and lost both games. Saim didn’t play those matches

This is the same Rizwan who didn’t select with agreement of the selection committee Saim for the T20 series against Australia

This is the same Saim who was asked to bat at 3 in the first T20i against South Africa when RizBar opened

Another false statement busted!

Is it the same Saim that Babar and Rizwan as captain have BOTH PERSISTED WITH despite the failures and even moved themselves around in the batting order to accommodate him?
No this is not the same Saim who those two greedy have persisted with! It is the management who had the sanity to persist with this boy and hope for him to come through

Posters here will shatter any agenda where it was Rizwan or Babar doing whatever they can to make him work!

There have been quite a few posts circulating suggesting that Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan have "created" Saim Ayub as a batter.

From what I recall, I first noticed Saim during domestic cricket; he really stood out in last year’s Pakistan Cup, where he averaged over 50 with a strike rate above 100. Meanwhile, players like Iftikhar, Shadab, and Fakhar all underperformed in that tournament.

So my question is, is there some behind-the-scenes coaching going on in domestic cricket where Babar and Rizwan are the coaches and are creating such players? It's a genuine question, as I haven't heard anything like that.

Why any active player will do coaching? I don't think we have any history of any player doing it. I don't recall any.

Babar looks like he's struggling to figure out the issues in his own game and Rizwan cannot mentor someone who is far more gifted than he is.

Mohammad Masroor is the guy who coached/mentored him in his youth and was also PAK's fielding coach on the tour of Australia .
Ask Ayub and he will tell you how much having Rizwan and Babar around helps him. Babar was the one who spotted him and now Rizwan is honing his talent.

Yes they have.

Firstly, Babar picked him for Peshawar Zalmi and gave him chances unlike Sarfaraz and Quetta Gladiators. Getting a permanent spot in the Peshawar Zalmi XI boosted his confidence and gave him the limelight which propelled his career and helped him play for Pakistan.

He wouldn’t be where he is today without Babar and Zalmi.

Furthermore, Babar and Rizwan is the most successful T20I opening pair in Pakistan history, and yet Babar vacated his spot for him. He could have easily slotted him at 3, and had it happened, the resident clowns would be labeling Babar selfish for not letting Ayub play in his preferred role. It was a big sacrifice from Babar.

Saim failed to perform but he continued to receive backing from both Shaheen and Babar during their captaincy and also by Rizwan.

Yesterday, he played a measured innings and didn’t play any funky shots. His SR was 65-70 for the better part of his innings and this is because he has been under the tutelage of Babar and Rizwan.

The only person who has actively tried to sabotage his career, apart from Sarfaraz, is Aqib Javed who gave preference to Sahibzada Farhan in the T20 series vs Australia, but Saim slapped him in the face in South Africa.

Saim will have to work very hard, keep his head down and demonstrate 100% dedication to have a successful career, but he is in safe hands under the watchful eyes of Babar and Rizwan and if he cannot make it work, he will only have himself to blame, because as a young batsman, you can’t ask for a better mentor and captain than Babar and Rizwan respectively.
Excellent post!

Ask Ayub and he will tell you how much having Rizwan and Babar around helps him. Babar was the one who spotted him and now Rizwan is honing his talent.
Another false statement

It was Nadeem Omar who spotted Saim. He is the one who developed Saim and Nafay in his academy.

Babar had ZERO say in picking Saim for PZ.

Another false statement

It was Nadeem Omar who spotted Saim. He is the one who developed Saim and Nafay in his academy.

Babar was the one who took him under his wing. Ayub has always spoken highly of Babar and Rizwan. Should I trust him or you? There is no chance Saim would play the innings of yesterday with that maturity if not for having RizBar around him. You underestimate the importance of that. Mohammad Siraj recently spoke of how Bumrah gives him that feeling of calm and guidance. Rizwan is doing the same with Ayub, Agha and youngsters.

Since the start of Rizwan era, Saim Ayub has turned into a different player , a batsman with thinking ability, credit should be given to captain who takes him as match winner knowing if he scores team will win.

What's wrong in that, nobody is claiming that Rizwan or Babar picked Ayub from kindergarten rather they've transformed him into a more responsible and match winning player :stokes

Babar was the one who took him under his wing
Under which wing? He took him out for chicken wings? Buffalo wings?

Babar took him under his wing but then batted him at 3 so Babar can open with Rizwan? The selfish wing?

Babar took him under his wing to then still open every match for Peshawar Zalmi whilst he rotated Harris or Saim for the other spot? Babar’s useless tactic wing?

Mohammad Akram: Bobzy, we have first pick in the round where Saim Ayub is in the draft, we are going to pick him

Babar: Haan haan definitely, mujhe kya? Apun captain hai, apun opening karega.koi farq nahi parhta!

Another false statement

And then dropped him from Psl to play Azam Khan. Saim has been part of Pakistan age group since the u16.

Babar took him under his wing but then batted him at 3 so Babar can open with Rizwan? The selfish wing?

Babar took him under his wing to then still open every match for Peshawar Zalmi whilst he rotated Harris or Saim for the other spot? Babar’s useless tactic wing?
Please be rational, even a blind can see yesterday from Babar to Rizwan to Agha everybody was guiding and backing Saim.

They also do this in nets to buck him up knowing he is a match winner

Benching Saud for 3 years was also bad. Not giving omair opportunities is also poor. They don't know what they are doing.
Can’t say I disagree.

But I can see why they didn’t think Saud was a T20 player during his time on the bench.

Can’t say I disagree.

But I can see why they didn’t think Saud was a T20 player during his time on the bench.
I can see that too, but when the tournament is over and you can't progress its better to give everyone a chance. I believe Saud will be a better odi opener than Abdullah from sure.

Saim is only Saim because of the guidance and mentorship he received from Babar. Again I ask you, should we trust his words about Babar and Riz or yours?

I can see that too, but when the tournament is over and you can't progress its better to give everyone a chance. I believe Saud will be a better odi opener than Abdullah from sure.
Saud, Saim both turned their career during the national T20 tournament where Saud was captain, the one where they beat KPK in the final. The famous season where Sharjeel Khan lined up and deleted an upcoming Ihsanullah (who was bowling 145kmh+) for absolute thrash sixes.

Saud was brilliant at number 3, and he captained very well.

Saim was a different, and complete player this season.

Omair was brilliant at number 4 as well.

That was one of the strongest Sindh Sides in history, the following year they were all separated, I think the T20 domestic structure changed with PMLN taking charge.

Sharjeel may have had has final year as a gun T20 player, but Saim, Saud and Omair took off. Nadeem Omar honestly has done a lot for these guys in their development.

Saud, Saim both turned their career during the national T20 tournament where Saud was captain, the one where they beat KPK in the final. The famous season where Sharjeel Khan lined up and deleted an upcoming Ihsanullah (who was bowling 145kmh+) for absolute thrash sixes.

Saud was brilliant at number 3, and he captained very well.

Saim was a different, and complete player this season.

Omair was brilliant at number 4 as well.

That was one of the strongest Sindh Sides in history, the following year they were all separated, I think the T20 domestic structure changed with PMLN taking charge.

Sharjeel may have had has final year as a gun T20 player, but Saim, Saud and Omair took off. Nadeem Omar honestly has done a lot for these guys in their development.
I am not denying that he hasn't done anything for them. But at the same time he his teams in Psl hasn't given them any chances. Saim Ayub talent was pretty evident even when he didn't do anything in the first Psl. You could tell he will be a player based on the way he batted, but they let him go. My first memory of Saim Ayub was in u19, he flopped but I knew he could be a special player for us.

The problem is when you identify a talent you need to give him as much opportunities as possible. Even after giving him multiple chances and him flopping I wasn't in favour of dropping him.

Another problem with our cricket is that Saim was playing for Sindh second 11 while rubbish and washed up players on khurram manzoor, danish Aziz, ahsan Ali etc were preferred ahead of him. It's the same with maaz Sadaqat from KPK he was playing second 11 while 40 year old uncles were playing for the first team.

I am not denying that he hasn't done anything for them. But at the same time he his teams in Psl hasn't given them any chances. Saim Ayub talent was pretty evident even when he didn't do anything in the first Psl. You could tell he will be a player based on the way he batted, but they let him go. My first memory of Saim Ayub was in u19, he flopped but I knew he could be a special player for us.

The problem is when you identify a talent you need to give him as much opportunities as possible. Even after giving him multiple chances and him flopping I wasn't in favour of dropping him.

Another problem with our cricket is that Saim was playing for Sindh second 11 while rubbish and washed up players on khurram manzoor, danish Aziz, ahsan Ali etc were preferred ahead of him. It's the same with maaz Sadaqat from KPK he was playing second 11 while 40 year old uncles were playing for the first team.
Look, nothing you have said here is wrong.

I remember Saim’s first season with Quetta, he started off looking like a young Salman Butt to me. One thing Salman Butt had in his earlier years was the manoeuvre the ball angling away from him on the cover region. He could literally hit the Same angled away ball landing in the same region with 2-3 different directions in the covers because he had good wrists.

At that time, Saim looked very nice for an 18 year old, but he was definitely lacking power, also his head and feet were not working in tandem. He was raw, it’s understandable. I think Quetta didn’t want to destroy him by benching him when they went down the route of Roy (I can’t remember who they paired him up with).

In hindsight, looking back at it now it was a decision they must regret. A bit like Arsenal letting go of Serge Gnabry. He became world class and another level when he moved to Bayern, he wasn’t progressing at Arsenal.

When Chris Gayle initially said Saim is the future, I remember at the time I thought this guy is probably just doing lip service as Gayle is not really ever in a serious mood unless he is beefing with Sarwan or Brian Lara. But looking back at it now, the legend saw something and he said it before all of us! From that day onwards, I’ve decided to always pay attention to what West Indian players says about upcoming talents. The West Indians know their cricket, they know who’s a player and who isn’t!

This thread has backfired beautifully. OP wanted to troll, but he along with other like-minded posters forgot the role Babar played in giving Saim exposure in PSL that enabled him to be in the Pakistan team today.

Now these posters are sweating buckets and ducking for cover because their agenda has been exposed like no tomorrow.

This thread has backfired beautifully. OP wanted to troll, but he along with other like-minded posters forgot the role Babar played in giving Saim exposure in PSL that enabled him to be in the Pakistan team today.

Now these posters are sweating buckets and ducking for cover because their agenda has been exposed like no tomorrow.
In which parallel universe are you imagining this?

You realise Backing a player and pretending as if their his mentors + batting coach are 2 separate metrics.

Rizwan and Babar are vastly different players from saim, Both shot wise, temperament wise, heck even direction wise as those 2 are right handers and saim is a left handers.

People are pretending as if he learned under their tutelage which is laughable.

By this logic Sarfaraz Ahmed is the greatest captain ever, Because it was under his tutelage that Fakhar Zaman and Amir and Hafeez Matured and won Champions Trophy 2017 for pakistan.

^^ See how stupid this logic is?

You can't have your slice of pie and eat it.

If the new narrative is that rizwan and Babar are batting coaches of every tom dick and Harry who scores a century under them, then that applies to everyone.

Bavuma is QDK's batting coach.

Sarfaraz was Fakhar Zaman's batting coach

Pat Cummins was Travis Head's Batting coach

Rohit sharma was Bumrah’s bowling coach

You realise Backing a player and pretending as if their his mentors + batting coach are 2 separate metrics.

Rizwan and Babar are vastly different players from saim, Both shot wise, temperament wise, heck even direction wise as those 2 are right handers and saim is a left handers.

People are pretending as if he learned under their tutelage which is laughable.

By this logic Sarfaraz Ahmed is the greatest captain ever, Because it was under his tutelage that Fakhar Zaman and Amir and Hafeez Matured and won Champions Trophy 2017 for pakistan.

^^ See how stupid this logic is?
You don’t need to be like for like to mentor someone. As a mentor, you don’t force the student to be a mirror image. Rather, as a mentor, your job is to help someone be the best version of themselves.

Alexander the Great was mentored by Aristotle, two completely different personality types.

If we talk about cricket, you have countless examples. Imran Khan mentored Wasim and Waqar and both were different than him.

Tendulkar mentored Kohli, and there is very little similarity between the two as individuals and also as batsmen.

Babar took Saim under his wing in PSL and gave him exposure. He also vacated his opening slot for him in T20 Internationals and he kept picking him even when he was not performing. Same goes for Rizwan.

Why? Because they had faith in his talent. They didn’t try to alter his playing style, they just helped him become more responsible and mature.

Some people are hating the following facts and the anger and pain can be seen in their words:

Fact #1: Babar’s franchise trusted and nurtured Saim after Sarfaraz’s franchise discarded him. The narrative would have been completely different had Zalmi discarded him and Gladiators picked him up.

Fact #2: Babar demoted himself to give Saim a chance as opener in T20 Internationals. Imagine the criticism Babar would have copped had he not done that. The same people who are not refusing to give Babar credit would be criticizing him for being selfish and not giving a youngster exposure.

Fact #3: Saim is playing his best cricket under the captaincy of Rizwan, which shows that as captain, Rizwan has given him the confidence, the support and the trust that he needs. The narrative would have been completely different if Sarfaraz or some other “fan favorite” would have been captain now.

It is completely futile to deny and downplay the role Babar and Rizwan have played in helping Saim grow in his career.

Fact #1: Babar’s franchise trusted and nurtured Saim after Sarfaraz’s franchise discarded him. The narrative would have been completely different had Zalmi discarded him and Gladiators picked him up.
False

Babar’s franchise had first pick in the category Saim was in. They picked him because of his excellent performances as an opener for Sindh in the national T20 and One day cup. Saim was ready to take off. They didn’t pick a random player out of obscurity, develop and hone him into something he wasn’t already.

Fact #2: Babar demoted himself to give Saim a chance as opener in T20 Internationals. Imagine the criticism Babar would have copped had he not done that. The same people who are not refusing to give Babar credit would be criticizing him for being selfish and not giving a youngster exposure
Another misrepresentation

Babar was told to step down as an opener in T20is once he was removed from captaincy. As Hafeez has stated, and as verified by Rizwan in his drivel interview….it took the management a long time to convince Babar to move down for the betterment of Pakistan cricket as they needed to develop a team for the future.

As soon as Babar regained control, he was back to opening with Rizwan at the first opportunity! He never to this day has accepted Saim as an opener over him! Make Babar captain right now with Ramiz as chairman, RizBar will be back up and running all the way through to the 2026 T20 World Cup!
Fact #3: Saim is playing his best cricket under the captaincy of Rizwan, which shows that as captain, Rizwan has given him the confidence, the support and the trust that he needs. The narrative would have been completely different if Sarfaraz or some other “fan favorite” would have been captain now
This is where you guys are trying to build something that suits your narrative. But it’s another false representation, all part of the deceit narrative.

The squads for Rizwan up until this point have been strongly controlled by the selection committee. Rizwan has a say, but we all know it’s not the team especially the batsmen he wants. Rizwan if given full control will pick Iftikhar and Khusdhil in his white ball sides. He has been gagged in doing what he wants. The management picked Saim, and Saim is repaying the faith of the management. If Rizwan loves Saim so much, he wouldn’t have done that nonsense Presser where he openly cried about his opening pair being broken up with Saim being forced in. Nor would he expose his hand on two occasions where He opened with Babar in his captaincy and forced Sahibzada to bat at 3 and Saim to bat at 3!

False

Babar’s franchise had first pick in the category Saim was in. They picked him because of his excellent performances as an opener for Sindh in the national T20 and One day cup. Saim was ready to take off. They didn’t pick a random player out of obscurity, develop and hone him into something he wasn’t already.

Another misrepresentation

Babar was told to step down as an opener in T20is once he was removed from captaincy. As Hafeez has stated, and as verified by Rizwan in his drivel interview….it took the management a long time to convince Babar to move down for the betterment of Pakistan cricket as they needed to develop a team for the future.

As soon as Babar regained control, he was back to opening with Rizwan at the first opportunity! He never to this day has accepted Saim as an opener over him! Make Babar captain right now with Ramiz as chairman, RizBar will be back up and running all the way through to the 2026 T20 World Cup!

This is where you guys are trying to build something that suits your narrative. But it’s another false representation, all part of the deceit narrative.

The squads for Rizwan up until this point have been strongly controlled by the selection committee. Rizwan has a say, but we all know it’s not the team especially the batsmen he wants. Rizwan if given full control will pick Iftikhar and Khusdhil in his white ball sides. He has been gagged in doing what he wants. The management picked Saim, and Saim is repaying the faith of the management. If Rizwan loves Saim so much, he wouldn’t have done that nonsense Presser where he openly cried about his opening pair being broken up with Saim being forced in. Nor would he expose his hand on two occasions where He opened with Babar in his captaincy and forced Sahibzada to bat at 3 and Saim to bat at 3!
Absolute nonsense.

Zalmi’s showing faith in Saim, Babar vacating his spot for him and him playing his best cricket under Rizwan is giving the haters sleepless nights.

As I said, this thread has backfired spectacularly.

Absolute nonsense.

Zalmi’s showing faith in Saim, Babar vacating his spot for him and him playing his best cricket under Rizwan is giving the haters sleepless nights.

As I said, this thread has backfired spectacularly.
Nothing has backfired besides your delusions. Perhaps you should revisit the PSL draft where Saim was picked up

ANYONE who had first pick in that round would have picked up Saim. He was the most in demand player going into the draft.

If you want to build a success story of a player being picked out of obscurity, the Saim Ayub to Zalmi story isn’t the one! Quetta Gladiators picking Khwaja Nafay out of the blue is something you should harp on about. He won them at least one game against Lahore Qalandars by playing a stellar knock and eventually adding 2 valuable points in their campaign moving them into the play offs for the first time in many years.

Nothing has backfired besides your delusions. Perhaps you should revisit the PSL draft where Saim was picked up

ANYONE who had first pick in that round would have picked up Saim. He was the most in demand player going into the draft.

If you want to build a success story of a player being picked out of obscurity, the Saim Ayub to Zalmi story isn’t the one! Quetta Gladiators picking Khwaja Nafay out of the blue is something you should harp on about. He won them at least one game against Lahore Qalandars by playing a stellar knock and eventually adding 2 valuable points in their campaign moving them into the play offs for the first time in many years.
You are writing a lot but are saying nothing because your agenda has been exposed.

This thread and your agenda has backfired. You can stop digging now because I will not entertain your posts in this thread any further unless I see something intelligent.

You can stop digging now because I will not entertain your posts in this thread any further unless I see something intelligent
Of course you won’t.

Maybe next time you should ensure your “facts” add up before they get dismantled as falsehood by me.

You don’t need to be like for like to mentor someone. As a mentor, you don’t force the student to be a mirror image. Rather, as a mentor, your job is to help someone be the best version of themselves.

Alexander the Great was mentored by Aristotle, two completely different personality types.

If we talk about cricket, you have countless examples. Imran Khan mentored Wasim and Waqar and both were different than him.

Tendulkar mentored Kohli, and there is very little similarity between the two as individuals and also as batsmen.

Babar took Saim under his wing in PSL and gave him exposure. He also vacated his opening slot for him in T20 Internationals and he kept picking him even when he was not performing. Same goes for Rizwan.

Why? Because they had faith in his talent. They didn’t try to alter his playing style, they just helped him become more responsible and mature.

Some people are hating the following facts and the anger and pain can be seen in their words:

Fact #2: Babar demoted himself to give Saim a chance as opener in T20 Internationals. Imagine the criticism Babar would have copped had he not done that. The same people who are not refusing to give Babar credit would be criticizing him for being selfish and not giving a youngster exposure.

Fact #3: Saim is playing his best cricket under the captaincy of Rizwan, which shows that as captain, Rizwan has given him the confidence, the support and the trust that he needs. The narrative would have been completely different if Sarfaraz or some other “fan favorite” would have been captain now.

It is completely futile to deny and downplay the role Babar and Rizwan have played in helping Saim grow in his career.
You realise babar was forced to step down to no 3 right? And that rizwan doesn't have a say atm for selecting the playing 15?

Infact they literally restored the opening combo of rizzu and Babar for the 1st t20?

You realise babar was forced to step down to no 3 right? And that rizwan doesn't have a say atm for selecting the playing 15?

Infact they literally restored the opening combo of rizzu and Babar for the 1st t20?
Please provide evidence that Babar was “forced” to step down from the opening position.

Lot of soul searching to be done lol, Will have to filter out interviews, statements and media outlets from 8 months back lol.

Will take time

What am I supposed to say?

Yes this is the same Saim who RizBar wanted to keep out.

RizBar under Babar’s returned captaincy opened against USA and India in the 2024 World Cup and lost both games. Saim didn’t play those matches

This is the same Rizwan who didn’t select with agreement of the selection committee Saim for the T20 series against Australia

This is the same Saim who was asked to bat at 3 in the first T20i against South Africa when RizBar opened

Another false statement busted!
Rana please show me how was captain or coach empowered to select any team T20 or otherwise during this period?

I understand that neither Rizwan nor Babar belong in T20 anymore but to prove that they were sinister in their team selection is a step too far.