Have there been a worst set of selectors than the current Indian ones?

cricketindiafan

Selectors everywhere get a lot of flak from the public as their every decision gets scrutinised thoroughly.

But have to say MSK Prasad, Devang Gandhi, Gagan Khoda - they are the most incompetent group ever in charge of national selection. Zero standing of their own, showing absolutely no vision and taking arbitrary decisions, this has been the hallmark of their tenure. The bumbling idiots keep raising the bar for their incompetence one after the other event. Karun Nair's exclusion and now Jadhav's non selection are two such recent episodes.

Was baffling to read MSK Prasad on Jadhav's exclusion "We wanted him to play two matches before being recalled. We thought his team will reach finals of Deodhar Trophy and he will get another chance. Maybe we could have added him to squad from 4th ODI onwards". Does this joker have any clue what he's talking about? Imagine getting paid a crore per year for such senseless decisions.

I agree with Jadhav's exclusion from Indian team on fitness grounds, but not with the 'logic' behind his exclusion.

MSK Prasad is a pretty big name in Andhra cricket and of the more prominent wicketkeepers in Indian domestic cricket in the last 2 decades.

I believe that Kedar should be in the XI because he is crucial for the team balance. But this was a situation where someone or the other had to miss out, no matter what the outcome.

If Kedar was selected, then he would have replaced Pant in the XI. And then you would have made another thread complaining about the selectors about how Pant has been dropped after just 1 innings.

So there was no way to "win" in this situation.

It's not the selectors its the big corporate houses which are ruining the balance of team. The problem is Dhoni, kick him out play Pant as keeper and we get all rounder spot open to balance the team.

But the money on Dhoni is too much to drop him before 2019 WC. Already advertisements are being made for 2019 WC where Dhoni is the star attraction. Selectors are small fish they don't have much say in such matters.

MSK Prasad is a pretty big name in Andhra cricket and of the more prominent wicketkeepers in Indian domestic cricket in the last 2 decades.

I believe that Kedar should be in the XI because he is crucial for the team balance. But this was a situation where someone or the other had to miss out, no matter what the outcome.

If Kedar was selected, then he would have replaced Pant in the XI. And then you would have made another thread complaining about the selectors about how Pant has been dropped after just 1 innings.

So there was no way to "win" in this situation.

Come up with a better defence bhai. Let's see some recent decisions

Bhuvneshwar Kumar - Injured after Eng tour, plays one doemstic match, back for Asia Cup
Shardul Thakur - Injured in Asia Cup, plays one domestic match, back in Test squad vs WI
Kedar Jadhav - Injured in Asia Cup, plays one domestic match, MSK Parsadji says "we assumed he will get to play two matches in domestic cricket"

Can you something wrong there?

This is just one sample. Try to see similar patterns elsewhere as well.

As for MSK being a big name in Andhra Cricket, Andhra itself has been a minnow team in domestic cricket. How does that make MSK Prasad a competent selector?

The current lot is not just incompetent, they are corrupt to the core. Someone needs to kick their butt and get responsible and deserving people there.

And we are paying 1 cr per year ($140k) to the chief selector and 90 lakhs per year ($130k) to other selectors! For making such senseless decisions.

Can you imagine, India now has plenty genuine fast bowlers. And who do these selectors choose? Shardul trundler thakur and chahar!
Siraj is in the form of his life, but he is not being selected!

tbh for both karun nair's and jadhav's ouster, they are getting unnecessary criticism.

Karun nair should stop acting like a baby rather than cribbing that he wasn't told why was he dropped. Any sensible adult would know that if after being with team for 2 months in England, the team management decided to call a debutant from India to play against England in tough conditions, means that the team mgmt doesn't rate him very highly. He should figure that out with Kohli and Shastri, rather than blaming selectors for dropping him.

Jadhav should know that he's lucky in first place to play for India, while there are better players waiting on the bench. He hasn't done anything remarkable in a 40 match career, where he assumes he should be picked whenever he is fit. That's delusion. Thrice in international tournaments, he has got injured in the middle of tournament. At the ripe age of 34, with a fitness level of 44, he is plain lucky to represent India over better and fitter players.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar - Injured after Eng tour, plays one doemstic match, back for Asia Cup
Shardul Thakur - Injured in Asia Cup, plays one domestic match, back in Test squad vs WI
Kedar Jadhav - Injured in Asia Cup, plays one domestic match, MSK Parsadji says "we assumed he will get to play two matches in domestic cricket"

As for MSK being a big name in Andhra Cricket, Andhra itself has been a minnow team in domestic cricket. How does that make MSK Prasad a competent selector?

But what's your point? What in your opinion would have been the right decision? Bring back Kedar and drop Pant after just 1 innings?

If that is something you are in support of then I understand. But if you want to give Pant a few more matches then then is no more room in the XI to play Kedar so it's pointless to pick him now.

You can only play one of Pant and Kedar in the XI. Now that Pant has been selected for ODIs, it would be pointless to not give him 4-5 games to test him out.

You are trying to find consistency in the selection committee's selection pattern but you are completely ignoring that the external factors around each selection is totally different.

Even in one of my previous posts I had reservations about MSK prasad as selector. But to take it to another level you need not classify Andhra as minnow. Having been united with Hyderabad/Telangana state in 1956, it had some cricketers representing Hyderabad cricket association like Venkatapathi Raju, VVS Laxman (he is originally from Guntur, parents from Vijayawada). And the great CK Nayudu from Andhra. At various points in time Vijay Majrekar (Sanjay's father), Mohammed Kaif represented Andhra teams.

So, if you have issues with MSK you can run him down - but it is not appropriate to belittle the history of the cricket association he is associated with.

Even in one of my previous posts I had reservations about MSK prasad as selector. But to take it to another level you need not classify Andhra as minnow. Having been united with Hyderabad/Telangana state in 1956, it had some cricketers representing Hyderabad cricket association like Venkatapathi Raju, VVS Laxman ( parents from Vijayawada). And the great CK Nayudu from Andhra. At various points in time Vijay Majrekar (Sanjay's father), Mohammed Kaif represented Andhra teams.

So, if you have issues with MSK you can run him down - but it is not appropriate to belittle the history of the cricket association he is associated with.

rom Guntur, parents from Vijayawada - typo from Vja.

Anyone who thinks that with the clout Kohli (and because of him Shastri) has in Indian cricket, selectors would have the temerity to select players based upon their wishes, and not Kohli's, is living in a fools paradise. If Kohli wanted Jadhav, he would be in the team. If Kohli doesn't want him, then selectors can't force Kohli to play Jadhav. Case in point is Karun Nair. If Kohli doesn't want Nair, then selectors can try whatever they want, they won't be able to force Kohli to play Nair in playing XI.

ATG in this regard, Indian selectors are the worst including all dimensions in this Universe

Anyone who thinks that with the clout Kohli (and because of him Shastri) has in Indian cricket, selectors would have the temerity to select players based upon their wishes, and not Kohli's, is living in a fools paradise. If Kohli wanted Jadhav, he would be in the team. If Kohli doesn't want him, then selectors can't force Kohli to play Jadhav. Case in point is Karun Nair. If Kohli doesn't want Nair, then selectors can try whatever they want, they won't be able to force Kohli to play Nair in playing XI.

IK also used to do the same but at the time PCB was garbage (and still is) but BCCI shouldn't have players overruling selectors.

Refreshing to see Indian and Pakistan fans trying hard to prove theirs is the worst.

Not really.

Kohli wanted Chahal in test squad which the selectors overruled.

He asked for him for SA overseas series and then England series too.

Aus test squad in:

Mayank, Siraj didn't make it.

Rohit made it.

I suppose Rohit is our best bet for middle order after Hanuma Vihari.

Man, this guy is so over-rated. Total fraud in tests. :))

And the three squads were announced today.

Can anyone make any sense of what these fools have done? Mayank Agrawal and Siraj, two brightest stars of this FC season will not get to play a single match at all. Picked and discarded without any opportunities while the TTF Rohit is back as a test batsman! How come other set of TTFs Dinesh Karthik and Parthiv Patel are back in squad again? 15-16 years not enough to judge they are not good enough? Vijay, though not a TTF, how suddenly we have gone back to him?

And in T20s, guy whom you picked for ODIS based on IPL, Rayudu, is no where. Instead we have Manish Pandey. God knows why.

Gutless spineless clueless bunch of jokers these. Zero thought process of their own else there will not be such shameful inconsistencies.

Dhoni out, Pant , Sundar and Krunal in T20s are the only good decisions. But all three unlikely to play as DK will play as keeper batsman

According to MSK it is not the end of Dhoni in T20I s. He said they are just trying for 2nd keeper

I think both are good squads baring one or 2 selections. I don't like DK so don't want him to see in t20 team. And while idea of having 2 keepers is understandable for Australia test squad, they could have gone with some younger guy instead of Parthiv Patel. But then chances are Parthiv's past experience of playing in Australia would have helped. Best part is dropping Dhoni. Overall good squads.

India are doing well. What do you want the selectors to do?