Honest question : Do you love your mother more on Mother's Day?

I hate such days - I find them meaningless and empty.

To me, love for one's mother is unconditional and is 365 24/7

Just commercialism is this "Mother's Day" celebration. Every day should be "Mother's Day" if you're blessed to have one.

Mother’s Day is for people who remember their mother only once a year.

Same for Valentine’s Day, sisters day, Father’s Day etc.

This is one of the beauties of the Islamic faith, the mother is held in the highest regard so Muslims should love and care for their mothers on daily basis.

Western secular culture is a little different. I remember in school when some kids would abuse their own mothers or make jokes about each other moms, I found this shocking.

The day itself is fine, celebrate it if you wish or not. If a family takes a day out to all be with their mother, it can only be a good thing.

This is one of the beauties of the Islamic faith, the mother is held in the highest regard so Muslims should love and care for their mothers on daily basis.

Western secular culture is a little different. I remember in school when some kids would abuse their own mothers or make jokes about each other moms, I found this shocking.

The day itself is fine, celebrate it if you wish or not. If a family takes a day out to all be with their mother, it can only be a good thing.

Only you can pull religious angle in this too.

The topic is regarding mothers, I am a Muslim so I think it's fair to point out the differences in culture reading a mother. There is no need to get upset by someones viewpoint.

Why do we wait for Mother's day to take our mothers for a treat?

Especially as a Muslim, these days are nonsense days

And what exactly is wrong with it?

If something bad happens in World everyone is quick to blame Islam and that too without proper background check-up, but once some one actually tell the true teachings of Islam people are out to critisize it.

Jiyo aur jeenay do.

I hate such days - I find them meaningless and empty.

To me, love for one's mother is unconditional and is 365 24/7

Nope, but still in the west such days do have weight like imagine the next door neighbours getting their mom stuff and you don't, she may not be upset but it still doesn't look right.

We all have pointless days here and there its all marketting really, no denying we love and cherish our mothers 24/7, 365 days a year and get them stuff but if we get a gift on this particular day it really is no big deal mate plus its another chance to put a smile on the face of the one woman you will always love more then anyone.

Why do we wait for Mother's day to take our mothers for a treat?

Especially as a Muslim, these days are nonsense days

Agreed, these days are stupid. If you truly love your mother/father etc you wouldn’t single out one day to cherish them.

I do not even know when is mother day celebrated.I always find peace talking to my mother on everyday of the week.

Seeing lots of selfies of people on Social Media today with their Mothers

I would say most Western secularists revere their mum.

I believe it's similar to Valentine's Day.

Just a chance to hit the "reset" button on one's relationship. Some people unknowingly distance themselves (emotionally) and sometimes it takes a day like this to appreciate what's important.

In a sense, Ramadan is similar too. You get 29-30 days to get closer to God while appreciating the blessings in your life.

No, this has become a stupid fad in my circle. Social media is flooded with cringe inducing selfies and among them some of my college friends who won't even attend their mother's phone calls 9 out of 10 times. But on Mother's Day they all have to make a big show about how much they love their mothers !!!

I look after my mother doing her gardening, maintaining her home, just visiting for a coffee, repairs to her car and taking care of anything she needs. I love her for everything she has done for me.

Mothers day is special though so I buy her flowers and chocolates and take her out for the day, I dont do that everyday, only on special occasions like her birthday.

And what exactly is wrong with it?

If something bad happens in World everyone is quick to blame Islam and that too without proper background check-up, but once some one actually tell the true teachings of Islam people are out to critisize it.

Jiyo aur jeenay do.

Islam has problems if they are taught that westerners dont hold their mothers in the highest regard and love and care for their mothers on a daily basis.

Do the people who celebrate Mother's Day say that it is conditional and that it's only 1 day out of the year?

Just came here to write that.
Though its a bit commercial, but its nice to give your mum flowers once in a while. I don’t give her flowers everyday, so yes this day does make it a little nice.

Is it commercial? Of course

But just because its commercial its not all that bad.

Do people who fast during Ramadan are more religious? Do people who celebrate Independence day more patriotic? It's just a day to recognize something, doesn't mean the other days are meaningless.

Only mothers should get to decide, whether they like their sons and daughters celebrating mothers day or not. I am sure most mothers will say they dont want this tamasha as their kids make them feel special everyday..after call they got the status of mom only because of those kids.

I would say most Western secularists revere their mum.

Sure, you must be a horrible person not to regardless of culture. However from my experience of both cultures I believe Muslims hold their mothers in a higher regard as the religion tells them to do so. Its normal in secular culture to talk back, argue or even abuse a mother. This is not the case for most Muslims.

People don't realize Mother day or father day is the day they see you happy and successful in life. We all love our mother unconditional but it more like what we do for them? those little gifts can make them happy for some time but real happiness comes in when other say you brought up your kids well. Mother is an essential part of your life we cannot just dedicate one day for them. I feel for those who don't respect their mother but just on Mothers day, they show their fake love.

Do people who fast during Ramadan are more religious? Do people who celebrate Independence day more patriotic? It's just a day to recognize something, doesn't mean the other days are meaningless.

You made a valid point Ramadan is not about who is more religious it's about you understanding one important pillar of Islam and become more closer to Allah in that specific month, We celebrate independence to show who we are. Ok, can you tell me what you do with your mother to show her she is special on daily basis or whenever you get chance and what special you do on Mother`s day to feel her special? just asking with all due respect if you don't want to answer no worries.

On a daily basis I talk to her since she has gone into religious dementia due to some reasons, especially since my father passed away and just needs to someone to talk to and has alienated most of the family due to her recent exaggerated religious views due to senility.

I try to talk to her every day even though it is online as we are thousands of kilometers apart. Me being an anti religious person I even have to take into account and delete the hundreds of religious videos she forwards me per week (many that could land me into trouble here if authorities were to check) and consoling her that yes that God is great and I am praying/fasting etc.

Even with all her dementia she still cared about Mothers Day (also hinted it a lot before hand) and was really happy when I took a picture of a bouquet that I bought for her on Mothers day and send her a card and some jewelry back with my visiting brother.

I don't think Westerners care less about their parents but they are more realistic about letting the young go at 18 so that they can try to figure out their own life (know many whose kids failed but the parents took them back in anyways and tried to further help them till they got back on their feet) instead of our Desi guilt inducing parents who remind you at every turn what they did for you and what you owe them.

So yeah we as human beings need a day to recognize and celebrate something be it Ramadan, Eid, Christmas, Mothers Day, Independence Day etc, doesn't mean that we love our mothers, religions, nations any more or less after that but if it brings an extra smile to someones face or makes them feel special, I don't see a fault in it.

On a daily basis I talk to her since she has gone into religious dementia due to some reasons, especially since my father passed away and just needs to someone to talk to and has alienated most of the family due to her recent exaggerated religious views due to senility.

I try to talk to her every day even though it is online as we are thousands of kilometers apart. Me being an anti religious person I even have to take into account and delete the hundreds of religious videos she forwards me per week (many that could land me into trouble here if authorities were to check) and consoling her that yes that God is great and I am praying/fasting etc.

Even with all her dementia she still cared about Mothers Day (also hinted it a lot before hand) and was really happy when I took a picture of a bouquet that I bought for her on Mothers day and send her a card and some jewelry back with my visiting brother.

I don't think Westerners care less about their parents but they are more realistic about letting the young go at 18 so that they can try to figure out their own life (know many whose kids failed but the parents took them back in anyways and tried to further help them till they got back on their feet) instead of our Desi guilt inducing parents who remind you at every turn what they did for you and what you owe them.

So yeah we as human beings need a day to recognize and celebrate something be it Ramadan, Eid, Christmas, Mothers Day, Independence Day etc, doesn't mean that we love our mothers, religions, nations any more or less after that but to give it the due it deserves.

I think you answered our question you make sure to keep in touch with here on daily basis so why just dedicate one day to make her feel special.

"instead of our Desi guilt-inducing parents who remind you at every turn what they did for you and what you owe them". bro I have seen many kids asking this question to their parents now days seriously I don't think parents have to remind anyone what they did I have seen my parents how they don't use to buy clothes for them self but yet made sure we are up to date with fashion. I failed in Maths twice but they gave upon me and lifted me again and today I am an engineer so yes in emotions thing happen but that does not mean they what to prove that they are doing any ehsaan.

Even I have seen desi kids saying our parents are Embarrassment and for no reason and I am not making any story seriously.

So yeah we as human beings need a day to recognize and celebrate something be it Ramadan, Eid, Christmas, Mothers Day, Independence Day etc, doesn't mean that we love our mothers, religions, nations any more or less after that but if it brings an extra smile to someones face or makes them feel special, I don't see a fault in it.

by the way sorry to hear about your father and mother condition may Allah give her health and keep her happy and with you.

I think you answered our question you make sure to keep in touch with here on daily basis so why just dedicate one day to make her feel special.

"instead of our Desi guilt-inducing parents who remind you at every turn what they did for you and what you owe them". bro I have seen many kids asking this question to their parents now days seriously I don't think parents have to remind anyone what they did I have seen my parents how they don't use to buy clothes for them self but yet made sure we are up to date with fashion. I failed in Maths twice but they gave upon me and lifted me again and today I am an engineer so yes in emotions thing happen but that does not mean they what to prove that they are doing any ehsaan.

Even I have seen desi kids saying our parents are Embarrassment and for no reason and I am not making any story seriously.

I am no saint, even what I do I do with a lot of arguments/conflict etc. Kids nowadays are spoiled but it all depends on the education. Even my daughter contradicts me (as she is an individual) but she knows when to accept whens she's wrong or I know to accept when I'm wrong.

All parents make sacrifices for their children and we have made quite a few too but in Desi culture they tend to expect something back and tend to blame the child if they they don't revere us unconditionally.

You Know, what I find more silly....people spending their emotional energy on hating or disliking days like Mother's day or Father's day or the likes.

It is just a day, do you love your country more on independence day? or do you love yourself more on your birthday...or do you love god more during month of Ramadan.... In the hectic lives we live in today...nobody takes time every single day to "love" your mom or spouse ...These are people we take for granted while we continue to lead our lives...so it is really okay to spend an evening out for your mom....you really dont have to do it just on mother's day...but why not have a day... in the world that there is so much to question...it is absolutely silly to question days like these which only increase the good vibes....yes, it is commercial...so is the food you are eating. So, have dinner....Give her favorite as a gift....and make memories. its not a big deal.

You Know, what I find more silly....people spending their emotional energy on hating or disliking days like Mother's day or Father's day or the likes.

It is just a day, do you love your country more on independence day? or do you love yourself more on your birthday...or do you love god more during month of Ramadan.... In the hectic lives we live in today...nobody takes time every single day to "love" your mom or spouse ...These are people we take for granted while we continue to lead our lives...so it is really okay to spend an evening out for your mom....you really dont have to do it just on mother's day...but why not have a day... in the world that there is so much to question...it is absolutely silly to question days like these which only increase the good vibes....yes, it is commercial...so is the food you are eating. So, have dinner....Give her favorite as a gift....and make memories. its not a big deal.

Food, clothing and shelter are needs which must be filled.

I have nothing against the day but I cant understand why people do. Some examples.

A person doesn't have money to take his/her mother out or buy her a gift on mothers day.

A persons mother is no longer alive and while others are enjoying the day he/she may feel upset on this day.

Some may use this day to portray they are kind to their mothers when the rest of the year they are not.

Companies use this day to exploit or emotionally blackmail people into spending money on their products.

Food, clothing and shelter are needs which must be filled.

I have nothing against the day but I cant understand why people do. Some examples.

A person doesn't have money to take his/her mother out or buy her a gift on mothers day.

A persons mother is no longer alive and while others are enjoying the day he/she may feel upset on this day.

Some may use this day to portray they are kind to their mothers when the rest of the year they are not.

Companies use this day to exploit or emotionally blackmail people into spending money on their products.

If some potray their love just on the mother's day.....it is the business of that person and his family. in this processing of fulfilling a social obligation...may be the person and his mom get their relationship fixed.

Companies emotionally blackmail into spending money in lot of things....from diamonds for engagements to every single field. Not really specific to these days.

And sometimes, the hate mother's day brigade seems like they are trying to potray they show kindness to their mom every single day unlike others...this is one kind of show off too. We all know , we have our ups and downs in relationships with parents...spouces...kids...it is impossible to be the same through out...in this hastle....it is okay to have a day and rekindle.

Islam has problems if they are taught that westerners dont hold their mothers in the highest regard and love and care for their mothers on a daily basis.

Islam does not teach that. I love how you reached that conclusion due to ignorance.

Just reading the posts

However from my experience of both cultures I believe Muslims hold their mothers in a higher regard as the religion tells them to do so. Its normal in secular culture to talk back, argue or even abuse a mother. This is not the case for most Muslims.

I have no idea what secular culture is being discussed here but I'm suprised you did not see the ignorance here.

Just reading the posts

I have no idea what secular culture is being discussed here but I'm suprised you did not see the ignorance here.

I understand this may sound strange to you but you haven't experienced both cultures which I have, even though you employ a few Muslims.

Here are some references which tell Muslims how to behave towards their parents esp the mother.

"Your Lord has decreed that you worship none but Him and that you be kind to parents. Whether one or both of them attain old age in your life, say not to them a word of contempt, nor repel them, but address them in terms of honor. And out of kindness, lower to them the wing of humility and say, "My Lord! Bestow on them Your Mercy even as they cherished me in childhood." [Noble Quran 17:23-24]

A man came to the Prophet and said: O Messenger of Allah! Who from amongst mankind warrants the best companionship from me? He replied: "Your mother." The man asked: Then who? So he replied: "Your mother." The man then asked: Then who? So the Prophet replied again: "Your mother." The man then asked: Then who? So he replied: "Then your father." (Sah�h Bukh�r� 5971 and Sah�h Muslim 7/2)

Here's a quick test you can do.

Ask 5 non-muslims and 5 muslims if they call their mother by their first name. The Muslims will say no. This shows how much they regard the status of the mother, they wont even call her by her name due to respect.

It's something which secular people can learn from Muslims. :)

Ask 5 non-muslims and 5 muslims if they call their mother by their first name. The Muslims will say no. This shows how much they regard the status of the mother, they wont even call her by her name due to respect

Well you ask 5 muslim and 5 non muslims if there mothers have the basic human right to talk to a man of their own choice.

You are judging everyone on muslim standards and not taking into account that what a muslim sees as ignorance may not be to others. In secular cultures a mother, sister or daughter has the same basic human rights as a male.

I understand this may sound strange to you but you haven't experienced both cultures which I have, even though you employ a few Muslims.

Here are some references which tell Muslims how to behave towards their parents esp the mother.

"Your Lord has decreed that you worship none but Him and that you be kind to parents. Whether one or both of them attain old age in your life, say not to them a word of contempt, nor repel them, but address them in terms of honor. And out of kindness, lower to them the wing of humility and say, "My Lord! Bestow on them Your Mercy even as they cherished me in childhood." [Noble Quran 17:23-24]

A man came to the Prophet and said: O Messenger of Allah! Who from amongst mankind warrants the best companionship from me? He replied: "Your mother." The man asked: Then who? So he replied: "Your mother." The man then asked: Then who? So the Prophet replied again: "Your mother." The man then asked: Then who? So he replied: "Then your father." (Sah�h Bukh�r� 5971 and Sah�h Muslim 7/2)

Here's a quick test you can do.

Ask 5 non-muslims and 5 muslims if they call their mother by their first name. The Muslims will say no. This shows how much they regard the status of the mother, they wont even call her by her name due to respect.

It's something which secular people can learn from Muslims. :)

So non-muslims call their mom by her name?

Well you ask 5 muslim and 5 non muslims if there mothers have the basic human right to talk to a man of their own choice.

You are judging everyone on muslim standards and not taking into account that what a muslim sees as ignorance may not be to others. In secular cultures a mother, sister or daughter has the same basic human rights as a male.

There is so much wrong in that statement "sk 5 non-muslims and 5 muslims if they call their mother by their first name. The Muslims will say no"

I am not sure how many non-muslims the poster has met, but I have never come across any person who calls their mum by name.

What is also really worrying, that despite mentioning that he is tolerant of other religion/secular folk and having born and brought up in the UK, the poster always suggests that islam and muslims are morally superior to others religions or secular folk.

Thanks, this was my point. Different cultures, in some cultures the mother is held in a higher regard than others.

So non-muslims call their mom by her name?

I was referring to western secular non-muslims and many if not most do.

There is so much wrong in that statement "sk 5 non-muslims and 5 muslims if they call their mother by their first name. The Muslims will say no"

I am not sure how many non-muslims the poster has met, but I have never come across any person who calls their mum by name.

What is also really worrying, that despite mentioning that he is tolerant of other religion/secular folk and having born and brought up in the UK, the poster always suggests that islam and muslims are morally superior to others religions or secular folk.

Im not sure why there is a need for you get worried. This is based upon my experiences and I have met thousands and have know hundreds personally having lived all my life in the UK. As I wrote above different cultures etc.

Thanks, this was my point. Different cultures, in some cultures the mother is held in a higher regard than others.

I live in a western secular country and don't know anyone that calls their mother by her first name and even if they did it makes no difference to the love they have for their mother.

I think you maybe confusing control with regard which is what I have seen from my experience.

I live in a western secular country and don't know anyone that calls their mother by her first name and even if they did it makes no difference to the love they have for their mother.

I think you maybe confusing control with regard which is what I have seen from my experience.

Interesting, maybe it's not the culture in Australia but it's common in the UK and I think the US too. There are even articles written on this .

I agree just by how you call your mother doesn't necessarily prove how much respect you have for her but generally in western secular culture the mother isn't respected as much it is in say Pakistani culture from my experience.

Interesting, maybe it's not the culture in Australia but it's common in the UK and I think the US too. There are even articles written on this .

I agree just by how you call your mother doesn't necessarily prove how much respect you have for her but generally in western secular culture the mother isn't respected as much it is in say Pakistani culture from my experience.

Yeas its not uncommon for someone to think their culture is superior to others.

Many cultures are superiour to others in various forms and we are all entitled to our opinions in this regard. It's nothing to shed tears for.

But since you mentioned it, yes imo the Pakistani or Muslim culture is far superiour with respect to treatments of parents, which is why you dont see half as much as them ending up in old peoples homes.

Many cultures are superiour to others in various forms and we are all entitled to our opinions in this regard. It's nothing to shed tears for.

But since you mentioned it, yes imo the Pakistani or Muslim culture is far superiour with respect to treatments of parents, which is why you dont see half as much as them ending up in old peoples homes.

But with your extremely limited experience and knowledge you can only speak about a minuscule proportion of England and Pakistan with no knowledge of Japan, Italy, Switzerland, Denmark, Holland, Germany and so on. But it probably does give you a pleasant feeling of superiority.

I have visited many places and found the same in secular culture where the mother isn't valued as much as it in other cultures and it's not just Islamic cultures but others too. One example is those who place their mothers in old age homes when they cant be bothered to look after them. I have started a thread on this, please give your views. :)