Hoping to be picked by a franchise in PSL 2019, Abdul Razzaq announces domestic comeback

Pakistani star all-rounder Abdul Razzaq announced that he will be returning to first-class cricket this season as captain of the PTV side in Pakistan’s domestic season, according to media reports.

The 38-year-old all-rounder, who last played a first-class match in 2014, was unable to carry his domestic career further after his team ZTBL was relegated to Grade II, however, they are now expected to make a return to Grade I cricket.

Razzaq has been drafted by the PTV to captain their side this season and he hopes his performances get him a chance to feature in the next edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

He said, “I will be captaining PTV this season. I feel completely fit at the moment and my form in the Pakistan Cup, where I not only made 94 runs against Peshawar but also took a wicket as well as proof of how fit I feel at the moment.”

“I hope my performances in the domestic season gets me selected for the PSL next year,” Razzaq hoped, aiming to be drafted as a player in the upcoming edition.

It is pertinent to mention that the fiery all-rounder, who was famous for his hard-hitting, was the bowling coach of the PSL franchise Quetta Gladiators in the last edition.

Razzaq told media that he had already told selectors about his plans for the future.

He said: “We all are agreed that if my form and performances in the domestic season are up to the mark, then I would most certainly be drafted in the next PSL.”

The Lahore-born further said that getting a call-up for the international side is not on his agenda.

“There are so many youngsters who are in the Pakistan side and they truly deserve their spot. I have no intentions of returning to the international team and would like to leave my mark in the domestic season,” he concluded.

https://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/20...psl-abdul-razzaq-announces-domestic-comeback/

Didn't he at one point refuse to play domestic cricket because he thought he was too important for it?

How times have changed. Domestics is seen as solid stepping stone. We haven't noticed it but Pakistan cricket has radically changed over the last 10 years.

when did he play in pakistan cup this time. his cricinfo profile is showing his last appearance in february in that so called ice cricket match

Great news- Spinach sales have been depressed recently but the Razzler will single handedly improve them.

Imagine the hissy fit he is going to throw if he doesn't get picked :root

I have watched a few episodes of the "Game on hai" show online and Abdul Razzak being one of the experts in the would always blame everything on Mickey Arthur and with his style " In my opinion yeh Mickey Arthur ki galti hai" the issues can be varying like non selection of Khurram or Shehzad or Umar or disciplinary issues related to Umar and Shehzad, non selection of domestic performers.

He rates Mickey as a poor coach since he states that the job of a coach is only to provide motivation, and later on he states that if he was the coach of the team he would motivate the player.

After listening to his views he comes across as a bitter man.

A great cricketer, not so good analyst.

Hopefully he isn't selected and hope other former players don't flow suit.

Razzaq must be in desperate financial trouble. His days as a cricketer are over now.

Masha Allah!
Should continue playing till 45 like Misbah and Afridi so that a promising youngster can learn from him from the sideline. Also should be handed the captaincy too as there is no substitute for experience :)

Whether you are Anwar, Shafiq, Azam Khan or Razzaq. There is always a place for you in Friends XI. :sarf2

2 of my favorite people to hear from are Fauji and Junior. Will never fail to surprise you.

We have hungry 18-21 year olds coming through who want to become world class not just make money. That is the difference when you select youth.

Why does he want to make a come back? I though he had retired.

He is only 38 years old, he has a long career ahead of him. :misbah3

Exactly what I was thinking.

This guy is trying to cash in some quick bucks now - when he should have been putting in the hard yards 10-15 years ago.

I'd say good riddance and should be discarded for good. PSL franchises should either pick an up and coming player or go for a high profile foreign player.

PCB needs to take the financial issues seriously. Otherwise you will see outdated players keep youngsters out of both domestic teams and national team.

MoYo is in his early 40s. He can make a comeback too! Still has 2-3 years of cricket in him. :moyo

PCB needs to take the financial issues seriously. Otherwise you will see outdated players keep youngsters out of both domestic teams and national team.

How do you know he has financial issues?
If thats the case he is stupid. Made a fortune playing for PAK.

Razzaq was a favourite of mine during the 99 world cup and Sharjah matches at the time. Since then I have absolutely hated his 'senior player' attitude and what appeared to be a god given right to be part of the national team. He deteriorated so quickly - pace went down, the stance didn't seem to work, missed easy deliveries. I was glad to see him out of the team.

I think it is ridiculous that he is making this comeback which is clearly for monetary reasons. Having said so, if I were to be a devil's advocate, then he is well within his rights to make a comeback. He isn't forcing anyone to pick him for the PSL or other domestic teams. There are similar cases in the IPL where you will find Harbhajan Singh playing at a similar age.

The argument that he may be taking place of a younger talent from Pakistan also doesn't hold much water. If he is picked ahead of such a player then clearly he is better even at this age. That should be telling of the 'talent' we possess.

MoYo is in his early 40s. He can make a comeback too! Still has 2-3 years of cricket in him. :moyo

Inzi should also come out of retirement and do 3 roles at a time. That will be a complete package :)
He is just few years older than the King Saviour and considering the support Saviour gets Inzi will be welcomed too :).

After all age is just a number you know ;)

We all make fun of players from 90s like Afridi, Waqar for being too old compared to their official ages. This was an issue in 90s, but no one had bigger issue than Razzaq did. I know the radiologist who was given responsibility of determining under 19 player's age from wrist xrays . He was asked to be lenient and he was , to some extend but he refused to certify Razzaq for being under 19 as he was much older . But somehow Razzaq managed to get it and played under 19 cricket. No wonder his pace went down at the tender age of 26 and he become a batting allrounder from a bowling allrounder after his mid 20s.

His is not 38 he is much older. But he has the right to try out his luck but I'm not sure how will be able to perform in his 40s. I will not be surprised if players like Mohammad Yusuf , Rana Naveed, Ijaz Ahmed or even Moin Khan try the same in hope of earning some easy money.

Misbah is to blame for this. With him still playing PSL we're going to see other 40+ guys wanting to make a comeback. In all fairness Razzaq would outperform Misbah in PSL.

Razzaq is the same guy who refused to travel to the UAE to represent the Lahore Qalanders in the PSL 1. Then he thought he wasn't respected being picked as a supplementary player.

How things have changed and the old guy finally realized that beggars can not be choosers.

So we will have two allrounders from Shaddara (Lahore) in Pak domestic: Abdur Razzaq and Hussain Talat.

We all make fun of players from 90s like Afridi, Waqar for being too old compared to their official ages. This was an issue in 90s, but no one had bigger issue than Razzaq did. I know the radiologist who was given responsibility of determining under 19 player's age from wrist xrays . He was asked to be lenient and he was , to some extend but he refused to certify Razzaq for being under 19 as he was much older . But somehow Razzaq managed to get it and played under 19 cricket. No wonder his pace went down at the tender age of 26 and he become a batting allrounder from a bowling allrounder after his mid 20s.

His is not 38 he is much older. But he has the right to try out his luck but I'm not sure how will be able to perform in his 40s. I will not be surprised if players like Mohammad Yusuf , Rana Naveed, Ijaz Ahmed or even Moin Khan try the same in hope of earning some easy money.

Moin and Ijaz are established coaches. Moyo on the other side could still earn some money playing domestic.

I have watched a few episodes of the "Game on hai" show online and Abdul Razzak being one of the experts in the would always blame everything on Mickey Arthur and with his style " In my opinion yeh Mickey Arthur ki galti hai" the issues can be varying like non selection of Khurram or Shehzad or Umar or disciplinary issues related to Umar and Shehzad, non selection of domestic performers.

He rates Mickey as a poor coach since he states that the job of a coach is only to provide motivation, and later on he states that if he was the coach of the team he would motivate the player.

After listening to his views he comes across as a bitter man.

A great cricketer, not so good analyst.

More importantly, he's an extremely poor analyst.

Still a better six hitter than Afridi, should play in PSL 2019 if Afridi the crowd pleaser can still play

I think, next year we'll see changes in PSL - after 3 years, it's more established and technically qualified people are coming into decision making. I won't be surprised if few "stars" end up red faces after draft, being unsold.

Razzaq's fitness level was awful even when he was much younger and was one of the worst fielder. His bowling is virtually non-existing and don;t think at this late age he has left with those six hitting reflex anymore.
Don't think any PSL team will buy him.

If he can back his decision or desire to make a comeback with some solid fitness, then why not.

This t20 format is a tailor made for players like him, but he did waste a good part of his cricketing career after his exclusion from the format in 2007 CWC and joining ICL in a hasty move... had he not joined the ICL his career would have been much different.

IMO it's not worth it as he hasn't played for 5 years. Others who have retired have been playing around the world. Plus he's 40.

Should've made that decision a year or two ago and could've been part of the PSL from the start.

Even this year he could've played for Quetta instead of sitting and doing nothing on the bench.

he is my favourite i always want to see him play and because of his stubbornness together with PCB incompetence in last 10 12 years i missed out watching him play.

i dont mind at least 2 years of him

He is the most bitter person I have ever seen in my life

I dont get the criticism hes getting , hes played at the highest level for Pakistan and if he has to come back at this age for money then you have to question PCB for not securing even top players financially .

What exactly is wrong in him playing domestic cricket; he has simply made it clear that he is not coming back to play for national team (which he won't anyways), so what is the problem, why is he getting so much hate??

I dont get the criticism hes getting , hes played at the highest level for Pakistan and if he has to come back at this age for money then you have to question PCB for not securing even top players financially .

Uhmm how do you know he wants to play for the money only?

He earned enough for next generations. No way you can blame the PCB for this.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Had a great time in UK , now back in Pakistan . Looking forward for the domestic season here and guess what ! I am excited &#55357;&#56842; <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/FaujiComingBack?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#FaujiComingBack</a> <a href="https://t.co/VV3VGiczVr">pic.twitter.com/VV3VGiczVr</a></p>— Abdul Razzaq (@ARazzaqPak) <a href="https://twitter.com/ARazzaqPak/status/1029024653216555014?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 13, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Had a great time in UK , now back in Pakistan . Looking forward for the domestic season here and guess what ! I am excited �� <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/FaujiComingBack?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#FaujiComingBack</a> <a href="https://t.co/VV3VGiczVr">pic.twitter.com/VV3VGiczVr</a></p>— Abdul Razzaq (@ARazzaqPak) <a href="https://twitter.com/ARazzaqPak/status/1029024653216555014?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 13, 2018</a></blockquote>

With those eyes, how is he going to face anything above 110 KPH?

Not a fan of oldies hanging around a platform for youngsters to showcase their abilities in to get selected, because the domestic scene itself gets pathetic coverage, but if he performs and comes to PSL then why not. He is a player with entertainment value and if he performs in domestics then a PSL stint is not a bad idea because he is definitely a crowd puller.

You have the holy trinity of Malik, Afridi, Misbah in the PSL already, the only name missing from the most well known Pakistani cricket stars from the last 18 years is the ol' Razzle Dazzle. :razzaq

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Had a great time in UK , now back in Pakistan . Looking forward for the domestic season here and guess what ! I am excited �� <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/FaujiComingBack?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#FaujiComingBack</a> <a href="https://t.co/VV3VGiczVr">pic.twitter.com/VV3VGiczVr</a></p>— Abdul Razzaq (@ARazzaqPak) <a href="https://twitter.com/ARazzaqPak/status/1029024653216555014?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 13, 2018</a></blockquote>

I swear he's in his 50s!

Did he visit the eye clinic in England.. coz I don’t think he will be able to see the umpire from 22 yards never mind the ball..

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">And I am back !! <br>2/14 in 5 overs and 1* against Multan. <br>Felt great &#55357;&#56397;&#55356;&#57339; looking forward for coming matches . <a href="https://t.co/sYZTDRH5rk">pic.twitter.com/sYZTDRH5rk</a></p>— Abdul Razzaq (@ARazzaqPak) <a href="https://twitter.com/ARazzaqPak/status/1037682110868455427?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 6, 2018</a></blockquote>

There was a debate in the 80’s that many experienced Pakistan players were poached by English counties and instead of strengthening Pakistan domestic cricket, were chasing pounds in the uk at the cost of domestic cricket.

Ironic when razzaq now wants to rub shoulders with youngsters in the Pakistan team as a sort of mentor/coach player he is being criticised so much.

Can we just recognise these t20 leagues for what they are. Tamasha cricket with retired former stars and up and coming rookies attracting a global audience. Who doesn’t want to see our own version of popeye smacking the likes of rahat and hafeez to all parts of the ground. It’s great entertainment.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">And I am back !! <br>2/14 in 5 overs and 1* against Multan. <br>Felt great ���� looking forward for coming matches . <a href="https://t.co/sYZTDRH5rk">pic.twitter.com/sYZTDRH5rk</a></p>— Abdul Razzaq (@ARazzaqPak) <a href="https://twitter.com/ARazzaqPak/status/1037682110868455427?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 6, 2018</a></blockquote>

1* :)) :))

Mention worthy performance there mate!

I'm a huge fan of Razzaq, feel he was unfairly sidelined for Afridi.........

1* though :)) :))

Seriously, people are acting as if him and Misbah being around is a bad thing. It's good that they know their responsibility and they're there in dressing room, mentoring youth.

If his wish is fulfilled, PSL will become a mockery of itself. There is absolutely no way - under any circumstance - he should be given a PSL contract.

I'm a huge fan of Razzaq, feel he was unfairly sidelined for Afridi.........

1* though :)) :))

Seriously, people are acting as if him and Misbah being around is a bad thing. It's good that they know their responsibility and they're there in dressing room, mentoring youth.

Razzaq was finished as a bowler by 2004, and that is when Afridi really picked up his bowling. He was rightfully sidelined in the late 2000s and did not deserve to be selected ahead of Afridi.

A far better cricketer in his pomp though - he was genuinely top class from 1999 to 2003.

If his wish is fulfilled, PSL will become a mockery of itself. There is absolutely no way - under any circumstance - he should be given a PSL contract.

QG had twitted about him after this performance, don't know if that means anything. He was an assistant coach for them, maybe thats why?

If he plays, Razzaqs weakness vs. spin will be thoroughly exposed in the UAE. Should have stuck to coaching.

Razzaq was finished as a bowler by 2004, and that is when Afridi really picked up his bowling. He was rightfully sidelined in the late 2000s and did not deserve to be selected ahead of Afridi.

A far better cricketer in his pomp though - he was genuinely top class from 1999 to 2003.

Razzaq's reliable lower order hitting was missed and under utilized by Pakistan. Far too often he was either in too early because the team was in trouble or when he had to hit from ball one. He was our Lance Klusenar with the bat

I think Razzaq was arguably a cleaner hitter than Afridi, very often he'd produce the strong finish to an ODI innings with his death over hitting - something we missed for a number of years after his departure.

His bowling noticeably declined after 2003 - became military medium and his poor fitness meant he was a liability in the field.

All the laughers in this thread will surely be shocked to death when Razzler ends up being man of the tournament in PSL 2019. I think he still has enough gas for T20. If he takes his fitness seriously in the next few months (which I am sure he will as so many money is on stake), he will provide big entertainment. I am looking forward to see him.

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 75.000%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/itmub/xswodh" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Rolling back the years...

58 (52) vs Rawalpindi with 4 fours and 4 sixes.

ISLAMABAD - One of the most enterprising al-rounder’s Pakistan cricket had ever produced Abdul Razzaq has said he is ready to play Pakistan Super League 4th edition for any given franchise and is fully fit and enjoying his game both with willow and leather.

Razzaq expressed these views during an exclusive interview to The Nation on Wednesday. “I can feel the time had well-passed to serve Pakistan cricket again and now I am fully focussed on playing the PSL and limited overs cricket. I had told the selectors that I want to play domestic cricket to ensure, I can earn a place in the PSL. My name is in the draft. I was told to perform, which I did in the last 7 matches in the One Day Cup for my department PTV. I not only scored runs with an average of 48 plus, but also took 5 wickets as well.”

He also thanked PTV administration for putting faith in him as it was never easy to stage comeback after long absent. “All the youngsters in the team are highly talented and want to learn from my vast experience while I am also ready to pass on my knowledge to youngsters. It was never easy for me to hang my boots as cricket is in my blood and frankly speaking, I can’t live without cricket. I am enjoying the pressure and faith pose in me and I am paying back the confidence of the department in best possible manner.”

When asked by this correspondent whether he agrees with the statement of Aaqib Javed that Test cricket should be abolished, Razzaq replied: “No absolutely not, it’s a highly irresponsible statement. The real cricket is Test cricket. The beauty of the game is the longer version of the cricket. I feel the ICC should focus on ensuring maximum Test cricket rather than ODIs and T20. These days’ every youngster is focussed on giving performances to be able to get a chance to play in the PSL, which I feel is not the right attitude and in fact destroying the beauty of the game and also the careers of the youngsters. Look what is happening these days. The faster they get prominence earlier they got vanished after few matches. They must understand to ensure prolonging their stay at the crease.”

Razzaq said during his days, players wanted to become Test cricketers and first a player must prove his worth in the longer version then one dayers and then T20. Now youngsters want to play as much as they can in the T20 as it gives them overnight star status, which I feel is completely wrong perception, he added.

When asked about which team he would like to represent in the PSL, Razzaq replied: “All the 6 teams are Pakistani and all the people involved in the franchises had played cricket alongside me. So it doesn’t matter, whom I am going to play for. I simply need cricket and that is my top most priority. I wanted to be picked in the draft and help my team to scale new heights like I use to do for Pakistan in my playing days. If I was given opportunities few years back, I would have proved my worth, but now thinking about playing for Pakistan again is not more than day-dreaming. My focus and wish is to play the PSL and other major leagues of the world.”

“I had seen quite a few youngsters in the PTV team, the thing that matters is the confidence given by the team management and the coach. A coach can make or destroy the career of the player. Mostly players don’t get good guidance. They are not told how they can become a good player and how they can rectify their errors. All the players, who are involved in domestic cricket, just had one aim and that to get chance to play in the PSL.”

“No one in the world will give you any importance even if you play 500 matches until you are able to play Test matches. I am focussed, determined and ready to play cricket. If provided with chances I will give my 200 percent in the PSL-4,” Razzaq concluded.

https://nation.com.pk/25-Oct-2018/razzaq-eyes-psl-4-after-domestic-exploits

Misbah syndrome , we need to control it before it gets spread to other oldies. By blackening your hair, you don't become born again.

Pakistan's Abdul Razzaq re-lives MS Dhoni’s 148: Knew he’d be a big player

We pine for the times when MS Dhoni wouldn’t bat with an obligation to complete a job for India. These days he arrives with invisible ice-cubes on his head and math in his mind, trading flamboyance for the art of finishing matches responsibly. The furious hitting may best be left to the likes of Hardik Pandya.

But it’s you MSD, who largely deserves the blame for making us long for more. Like Sachin Tendulkar in his pomp, you often spoiled us rotten. Against Pakistan in Vizag (2005), when you flashed that disarming grin on reaching a free-spirited ODI hundred, it was impossible for us not to feel like a 22-year-old.

So strange you hadn’t earned a contract to endorse a samurai sword. Now that you’re back in Vizag against an embattled West Indies’ side, how could we not lapse into nostalgia?

Abdul Razzaq, who escaped with respectable figures of 0/55, remembers your long locks and thick pelt of hair. You strode in to the wicket as though you had already played 75 one-day matches.

“We were wondering who he was. After he smashed those 148 runs, we got the answer. His confidence, for someone who’d started his international career, was amazing. After watching him pelt our attack, I sensed he’d be a big player,” Razzaq told Mirror.

Razzaq adds, “Dhoni has an impeccable base when it comes to striking the ball. That’s why he was able to hit the ball straight. Like in that Vizag innings against us, he cleared areas like mid-on at will. That’s what top-order batsmen do. To score big against Pakistan is the ultimate yardstick for Indian youngsters. Suddenly, they become a rage in the nation. It’s the same with our boys against India.”

You agree MS it’s not always about runs. West Indies had a Ricardo Powell who’s roughly the same age as you, but made his international debut seven years before you did. Where was he all this while? No one cares to remember.

Razzaq reveals that Pakistan instantly sensed that India had unlocked a cricketing gem. “There was a certain look about him, an indistinguishable quality that’s hard to explain. Also, you might be a fantastic player, but it’s equally essential to be a good person. And Dhoni is one such,” he says. “India should be proud this man reciprocated fans’ faith by giving two World Cups, the 2007 World T20 and the 2011 50-overs.”

Now when you bat, you seem to carry the last vestige of youth. Few sights in sports are more wrenching than a once grand athlete dropping a bit from the height of his powers. Possibly, it’s the failure of our sporting consciousness to accept that time can strip even the best of their rhythm occasionally.

You still delight with the gloves, with the kind of hand-speed that we don’t even use for emergency brakes. But such is our greed that we continue to crave Dhoni, the unfettered batsman, he of Vizag 2005.

It takes Pakistan to make us realise that there will be no one like you.

https://mumbaimirror.indiatimes.com...-hed-be-a-big-player/articleshow/66344868.cms

Misbah syndrome , we need to control it before it gets spread to other oldies. By blackening your hair, you don't become born again.

Misbah had something to offer in terms of leadership.

Guys don't forget Brad Hogg was playing Big Bash until thuis year in the age of 46. Australians didnt have the problem then why we are creating fuss for Razzaq and Misbah. Its his personal choice!