How do young cricketers around the world, with the exception of Pakistanis, speak such good English?

Sher Khan

Local Club Captain
I find it surprising that even countries like Sri Lanka and Bangladesh have young cricketers that are confident and well-spoken in English. Despite the fact that their education system is probably even lower than Pakistan's education system.

We see the likes of Shreyas Iyer, Pant and many others speaking confidently
But for them it could be argued that they have the IPL exposure.

Other than Pakistani cricketers, even Afghan players speak English so well.
So whats up with our players?

I find it surprising that even countries like Sri Lanka and Bangladesh have young cricketers that are confident and well-spoken in English. Despite the fact that their education system is probably even lower than Pakistan's education system.

This is not true.

There are plenty of young Asian cricketers who don’t speak good English, or English at all.

It’s not about education system rather from the background of players. Previously, most of the Indian players were very good in English as they came from middle, upper middle class families with proper grooming. Even for PAK, in 1970s, 80s .... most players came from city, educated family/parents and themselves had decent to good academic backgrounds. On top of that, lots of PAK players used to play in Counties or League cricket in UK. Cricket has spread to lower tier towns, suburban & even villages of India & Pakistan hence even many recent Indian players struggle with English.

Bangladesh is in the mid stage of this cycle - cricket has spread from Two metros to the district HQ level - now majority of the players are coming from smaller towns, but still it’s a game mostly played by kids from middle class families with decent educational backgrounds. Also, there is a school cricket system and many cricketers come from the sports academy (BKSP), which is a Cadet College like setup and students are picked from class 6 (U-12) for several disciplines, one of them being cricket & these kids have to stay till 12th with optional till 14th/15th class (under grad) - those who are good in studies leave after 12th, but majority completes Bachelors there and BKSP plays in every national level as a separate team.

Srilanka is totally different case - first, it’s high school educational system is MUCH better than Pakistan or Bangladesh & being a small nation, their percentage of urban population is among highest in 3rd world - majority of their players come from a small area within 50 km of Colombo, majority of Srilanka actually lives there as well; no wonder Greater Colombo is the only City with probably 5 or 6 Test venues. Also, they have a fantastic school cricket system and most Lankan players are at least undergrad - age cheating is least in Srilanka in South Asia means, when you see a 21 years debutant for Srilanka, most likely he is genuine 21-22 has completed his 14th class (BCom/BA/**). And, at the end - Srilanka’s per capita income is almost three times of Pakistan- their Govt. might not be richest & there are less billionaires/millionaires because of small volume of economy, but the middle class is richest in South Asia excluding Maldwips & average families have lot more spending power for kids development. Despite being a small nation, they have two major languages, hence most of the educated Lankans that I have seen are schooled in English medium - when I travelled Colombo, people were fantastic & even the hotel boys were fluent in English (but Lankan accent) like Chennai.

It can also be argued that the ones who don't know English pick it up over time - eg: Ravindra Jadeja.

On the other hand, Pakistani cricketers are steadfast with Urdu throughout. eg: Umar Akmal.

*****, you real? Lanka has THE BEST school system in whole of subcontinent. They are also the richest.

And like everyone will remind you, correctly so, nobody cares about their English.

Its the schooling and upbringing Coming from rural backgrounds the education isnt there In villages they dont go to schools wherd english is taught or spoken as its private and expensive Most dont come from backgrounds that can afford it

Once they break into the team then the majority dont have that culture to work on and improve their english. The same can be said of their cricket

That dedication to work hard and keep improving urself just isnt the dna of most young pakistanis who would rather look for short cuts to success rather than work hard at it

So much ignorance.

Lol, pak is probably on par with Afghanistan, we have lots of rural communities, were education is seen as second nature. To the contrary Sri Lanka and even Bangladesh have a good schooling system which i would probably group with India , thats probably the main answer to your question.

Who cares about fluency in english anyway. Their job is to play cricket. That’s only thing that should matter. Have you heard Messi talking in English?

How are you so confident that pakistani education system is better than BD's and Lanka's?

India and Pakistan's education system is probably on par and comparable. With Bangladeshi and Sri Lankan system being lower and comparable to each other.

Nah. With the amount of rural areas and peasants working on lands in Pakistan, they are definitely the least educated. I'd go Sri Lanka, India, Bangladesh, THEN Pakistan in terms of education level.

I can bet Lankan schools are better than Indians on average. I teach some young rich brats in Pune. And I'm ****.

In India case they have lots of different langauge and they have accepted instead of learning Hindi (which having spoken to many Indians in the past in their opinion useless language economically) decided to learn English. In India if you don't speak English you are considered uneducated which for me is small country mentality. But this is the reason where in Pakistan even if you dont speak English you get just as much respect.

Srilanka due to being small country have always prioritized English in schools etc even before India.

In India case they have lots of different langauge and they have accepted instead of learning Hindi (which having spoken to many Indians in the past in their opinion useless language economically) decided to learn English. In India if you don't speak English you are considered uneducated which for me is small country mentality. But this is the reason where in Pakistan even if you dont speak English you get just as much respect.

Srilanka due to being small country have always prioritized English in schools etc even before India.

Do you know languages spoken in SL and their history in SL? Look it up. You might find something familiar there. :afridi

I am aware of their history and the languages spoken in SL. If you didnt quit get my point then let me spell it out to you I am against top level athletes effectively spokes person of that country advertising other country language and I am even more against fans saying oh look how good our country athletes speak English.

I wonder if the 1 billion or so Chinese who can't speak a word of English are considered illiterate. Or the Germans, Japanese, French etc etc etc.

Typical desi colonized mentality shown on this thread. Also a cricketer's job is to play cricket not participate in literary debates that they need to have excellent command over English.

I wonder if the 1 billion or so Chinese who can't speak a word of English are considered illiterate. Or the Germans, Japanese, French etc etc etc.

Typical desi colonized mentality shown on this thread. Also a cricketer's job is to play cricket not participate in literary debates that they need to have excellent command over English.

Commonwealth sport hai....

A lot of Pakistani cricketers come from very humble backgrounds and remote areas of the country where English is not spoken that often.

PCB is trying their best to help them with their English by the time they reach the Under 19 level and at the National Academies.

In Indian cricket, if you are from Mumbai, Delhi, Kolkata or any of the Southern states (or from big cricket cities like Bangalore, Chennai, Hyderabad), even a normal young player is likely to be comfortable in English.

However our cricketers from Hindi speaking states UP, Bihar, MP, Rajasthan, Haryana or from states like Odisha, Assam are more comfortable with Hindi.

Younger Indian players you see in IPL are those who have come mostly through age group cricket and would have spent years at National Cricket Academy where they go attend courses on communication, public behaviour and etiquettes etc.

Having said that, a cricketer's (or any athelete's) discomfort with a particular language should be of absolutely no concern at all. Only thing that matters is how good you are in your area. Communication you can always learn on the way up.

It's a commonwealth sport, so the comparison is fair - especially when we are pulling up countries from the same region in the sub-continent.

No need to learn English. It's only good if you want to be marketable or become more mainstream.

Be proud of who you are for God sake. Stop living in the colonial era.

Just cause you can't speak English doesn't mean you are illiterate.

No need to learn English. It's only good if you want to be marketable or become more mainstream.

Be proud of who you are for God sake. Stop living in the colonial era.

Generally the ones who are educated in subcontinent tend to speak English...

The ones who can't speak it are usually the illiterate

In India and Pakistan, it's a pretty good test actually.

Nobody illiterate can speak good English, although that wasn't the OP's point at all.

In India and Pakistan, it's a pretty good test actually.

Nobody illiterate can speak good English, although that wasn't the OP's point at all.

This is rubbish

Lots of Indians - especially in North & East study in vernacular schools & make it to top class engg & medical colleges without much knowledge in english. Education & english fluency has no real correlation !

This is rubbish

Lots of Indians - especially in North & East study in vernacular schools & make it to top class engg & medical colleges without much knowledge in english. Education & english fluency has no real correlation !

You didn't get the point.

I meant that anybody in India or Pakistan who knows English are likely well educated. Of course, there are educated folks who don't know the language too.

In other words, how many folks can you count who are fluent in English but don't have a school education?

I think Imran Khan hit the nail on the head. In PK they are taught Urdu in high schools instead of mixing this with English.
Until this is changed we will see our youngsters struggle to speak English.

On a positive note both Wasim Akram and Mushy spoke very little English until they played county cricket so those who want to learn at a later stage in life can.

This is rubbish

May not be Shakespearean English, but is it really that in West Bengal you can study medicine or engineering without the basic English that’s required for conversation? Has it gone that low!!!!! I mean, it was (and still is) the intellectual capital of British Raj.

I am one who has traveled Kolkata about 35 times - from shopping, treatment, corporate meetings, recreation, training .... upto watching cricket games and have stayed at Hotels between Grand, Taj Bengal to Dahrmotola, Miraz Galib street - it’s more English friendly city than anywhere you’ll see in Bangladesh, Pakistan or Nepal.

May not be Shakespearean English, but is it really that in West Bengal you can study medicine or engineering without the basic English that’s required for conversation? Has it gone that low!!!!! I mean, it was (and still is) the intellectual capital of British Raj.

I am one who has traveled Kolkata about 35 times - from shopping, treatment, corporate meetings, recreation, training .... upto watching cricket games and have stayed at Hotels between Grand, Taj Bengal to Dahrmotola, Miraz Galib street - it’s more English friendly city than anywhere you’ll see in Bangladesh, Pakistan or Nepal.

ভদ্রলোক are an exception.

Some cricketers are just very lazy when it comes to education and just assume that cricket will see them through in life.

A very risky game to play.

All comes down to the education system but also how willing the players themselves are to improve their communication skills.

Instead all we hear are the same cliched lines like "the management gave me confidence" or "we have a young team".

Some cricketers are just very lazy when it comes to education and just assume that cricket will see them through in life.

A very risky game to play.

They don't need to learn English. As long as they are talented it doesn't matter.

I'm more curious about why we care so much about the English speaking ability of Asian players.

People talk ruefully of the English speaking talents of Indian players compared to Pakistan, as if this is another thing they are currently beating us at.

Shan Masood is mooted for the captaincy and his speaking is undoubtedly a reason why!

Very puzzling to me. I don't care if our players are mute, just perform.

Our cricketers are ambassadors of our country. They need to project a good image and make a good impression about Pakistan. Speaking English will make it much easier to interact with foreign media and be interviewed, build a rapport with umpires and foreign players especially in these times of global leagues where different nationalities play together. They can learn from foreign stars and coaches who might be in their teams. Learning English will allow them to benefit from English cricket manuals and biographies of famous players, etc. Lets say a Pakistan player is picked by a team in the CPL, T20 Blast or BBL, etc. How can he understand the instructions from the captain and the coach without English? He will also be isolated and won't be able to mingle with the other players.

The fact that Inzamam's English was poor meant that he was not aware of the rules of cricket. One major blunder was when he did not ask for an extra half hour on the 4th day to win a test in NZ and elected to come back on the 5th day even though rain would have resulted in a draw.
https://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/cr...-a-near-run-thing/2FXVVI3UQT2JSLLIURACDVPJSE/

Similarly the fourth Test between England and Pakistan was forfeited in favour of England as Inzamam did not know the rules of cricket. "The decision was made according to Law 21, regarding the result of a match, which states, "A match shall be lost by a side which in the opinion of the umpires refuses to play.""

Inzamam was also not able to communicate with the umpires or the match referee, etc. which might have saved the test which Pakistan should have won all along.

These days with the improvement in technology, there is no excuse not to pickup English. There are so many smartphone apps to learn English. All it takes is 15 minutes a day and after a few months, one can converse in any language.

Our cricketers are ambassadors of our country. They need to project a good image and make a good impression about Pakistan. Speaking English will make it much easier to interact with foreign media and be interviewed, build a rapport with umpires and foreign players especially in these times of global leagues where different nationalities play together. They can learn from foreign stars and coaches who might be in their teams. Learning English will allow them to benefit from English cricket manuals and biographies of famous players, etc. Lets say a Pakistan player is picked by a team in the CPL, T20 Blast or BBL, etc. How can he understand the instructions from the captain and the coach without English? He will also be isolated and won't be able to mingle with the other players.

The fact that Inzamam's English was poor meant that he was not aware of the rules of cricket. One major blunder was when he did not ask for an extra half hour on the 4th day to win a test in NZ and elected to come back on the 5th day even though rain would have resulted in a draw.
https://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/cr...-a-near-run-thing/2FXVVI3UQT2JSLLIURACDVPJSE/

Similarly the fourth Test between England and Pakistan was forfeited in favour of England as Inzamam did not know the rules of cricket. "The decision was made according to Law 21, regarding the result of a match, which states, "A match shall be lost by a side which in the opinion of the umpires refuses to play.""

Inzamam was also not able to communicate with the umpires or the match referee, etc. which might have saved the test which Pakistan should have won all along.

These days with the improvement in technology, there is no excuse not to pickup English. There are so many smartphone apps to learn English. All it takes is 15 minutes a day and after a few months, one can converse in any language.

You’re very right, but players do not need to over complicate it. Babar for example, always watches a movie in English when on tour in England, along with some of the other lads like Imam on one of their nights out.

It’s quite simple:
1) Watch matches, listen to commentary. All of it is in English.
2) Speak to your foreign coaches in PSL, CPL, BBL, and your foreign teammates in the same leagues.
3) Go play county cricket.

That’s all that’s really needed. Already the younger generations like Haider Ali, Abdullah Shafique, Rohail Nazir, Mohammad Huraira have a much better grasp on English than Babar Azam.

This is because of the advent in technology - YouTube, Google, etc. English literacy is essential.

Lastly, it doesn’t matter. Cricket skill comes first. I immensely dislike the mockery Inzamam or other cricketers get for having sub-par English. These guys are legends.

What you are looking for actually is some basic intellect and a desire to grow as an individual, professional.

I do not care from where you begin. English or no English, is not a problem for as long as you show the ability to learn, adapt and improve as per requirement.

Kapil Dev, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis are good examples of Cricketers who started their career with very mediocre communication skills. But look at them now.

What disappoints me with Pakistan cricket is that the maturity and confidence that someone like Mohammad Hafeez started showing in last 3-4 years, came 10-12 years too late. It's a fact that a full generation or two of Pakistani cricketing talent has exhibited very alarmingly low IQ compared to the other countries.

I am not sure what this Nishan is onto about.. May be [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] bhai can confirm how is it in Bengal.. But even if you don't learn English in high school.. I know of no Engineering and Medical college in India teaching subjects in local language.. Its all in English. So even if you make it there.. You have to pick up working knowledge of English eventually.
And then, If you want to work for large size Multi national as an engineer, or even for a small startup in Bangalore or Delhi, English is the defacto language of work. That is the way it is.
Tomorrow, if Chinese is required for job survival, i can guarantee all the Indian schools will be teaching chinese and Indian kids will be speaking fluent Chinese to better their job prospects. That is the way it is.
So, learning a new language shows you are willing to evolve and improve, and improve your marketability. Same goes for Pakistani cricketers..
It does not harm to learn it on the side as you further in your career.