Huge brawl breaks out in UK street as mob throw punches after India vs Pakistan cricket match

India v Pakistan cricket fans clash in Leicester

Bottles were thrown and six police officers were injured as rival cricket fans clashed after Pakistan beat India in the Champions Trophy.

Objects were tossed at police and there were assaults in Leicester following the match at The Oval, London.

A police helicopter and specially trained officers were sent to quell the fighting on Sunday.
Two people have been arrested for affray and police are hunting for others involved.

The violence erupted on Belgrave Road at about 17:30 BST.

Assistant chief constable Rob Nixon said: "It's really disappointing that a minority of people chose to indulge in this behaviour which caused injuries and traffic disruption to thousands of motorists as well as to pedestrians.

"Two people were arrested for affray, and there is now an investigation under way to find others who were involved in causing assaults, damage or who threw objects towards the police.

"We have access to the body worn cameras that officers were wearing, as well as footage from CCTV cameras which were in operation in the area, and a dedicated team of officers are actively reviewing the hours of footage at our disposal.

"I anticipate that further arrests will be made."

Belgrave Road was closed for several hours as a result of the clashes.

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-leicestershire-40324089

India vs pakistan matches are hyped up because of external factors, Don't know why some people call it biggest sporting rivalry in cricket.

Wow Britain seems to have totally become a desi land.. Soon time will come when the whites will feel like minority in their own country..

not the first time this has happened..it happened in 1992 and in 1999 and in 2004. Just idiots being idiots.

:)) It is well on its way soon Britain will be a 3rd world country..

That might be the reason Theresa May took a hard line when the Indian government tried to push even more Indian immigrants onto us as part of a trade agreement, to prevent that from happening. Leicester has a very large Indian population.

one of the largest..they have the biggest diwali celebrations outside India..and Belgrave is practically little india..the majority are from East africa though..

Drunk Indians after losing are not a pretty sight and add to that drunk PK`s in Ramadan, and it becomes an explosive situation.

Funny these incidents seem to occur when India lose..

Exactly was I am thinking. Such things did not happen when Pak lost to India so many times in the past. Many if not most Indian's are just sore losers who can't stomach a drubbing by Pak in particular especially when they are drunk:((

Wow Britain seems to have totally become a desi land.. Soon time will come when the whites will feel like minority in their own country..

Just like South Africa. Whites most of the land and wealth in South Africa.. blacks feel like a minority

Exactly was I am thinking. Such things did not happen when Pak lost to India so many times in the past. Many if not most Indian's are just sore losers who can't stomach a drubbing by Pak in particular especially when they are drunk:((
There can be another possibility as well that india is actually used to beat pakistan in all these imp icc tournaments.So its nothong new for indians when we win,we dnt even react. But this time pakistan won so may be there fans provoked indians by saying something like they even said to indian cricketers,because pakistan is not used to winning and called as weakest team in world cricket especially in limited overs cricket.

Pakistan is used to winning WAY MORE than India is. Check our overall W/L ratio (second best I blv) and H2H vs. India. It is India who thinks beating us once every four years amounts to everything.

No one is calling Pakistan the weakest team in world cricket now, not sure anyone ever did. But then again, you've probably been avoiding all reporting, news, analysis on cricket since Sunday.

180. Remember the number.

You are a native ?

Pakistan is used to winning WAY MORE than India is. Check our overall W/L ratio (second best I blv) and H2H vs. India. It is India who thinks beating us once every four years amounts to everything.

No one is calling Pakistan the weakest team in world cricket now, not sure anyone ever did. But then again, you've probably been avoiding all reporting, news, analysis on cricket since Sunday.

180. Remember the number.
listen i talked about icc tournaments. i know pakistan india head tail whatever record . pakistan used to be the champions team back then okk. we all know. But now even pakistan had to qualify for champions trophy. Sure no one gave them any chance to even qualify for semi finals. Many have said this okkk.
Secondly i said this only because when he said why it always happen that when indians loose a match,and called most of indians loosers ,many of them which they probably are, but so are people of all countries. i just gave one possible other reason as well .

:)) Own goals by [MENTION=428]Romali_rotti[/MENTION] and [MENTION=141093]big_gamer007[/MENTION] :broad maybe come up with something better next time with the captain lurking about .......or not:amir3 :kohli

The South Asian community should be embarrassed instead of taking shots at each other. It doesn't matter whether your background is Indian or Pakistani, it reflects poorly on both communities.

After losing so heavily the Indian fans should have quietly gone home. Obviously, Pak fans dancing on the streets would upset them no ends. Therefore most likely the Indian fans would be for responsible for this mishap, as always.

قابل مذمت۔

افسوسناک۔

Hey Guys show Sportsman spirit and respect each other. Yeh koi kushtii ka khaarhaa nahi hai.

صبر کرو جیتنے والواور ہارنے والو دونوں۔

Drink and denial are the biggest factors, luckily for Indian fans that the majority of Pakistan supporters were observing Ramadan and even the ones that didn't refrained from getting physical, if this was outside Ramadan there would definitely have a lot been more incidents reported.

loll they would have turned superman then ?? lucky our foot.....even we cud say, which wud be more logical that its lucky its ramadan so pakistan won the cup and beat the team like south africa or england or india.World top consistent teams all aound the world.......duaaye hi le gyi cup bs....
its stupid from both sides to do this sorts of things . we should not support this. Sports are just sports.

Much better fans here :

Salute you

<blockquote class="twitter-video" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">2 Indian girls Singing <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash">#Pakistan</a>'s National Anthem after Losing a Bet to Pakistani Guy ... &#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834; <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvIND?src=hash">#PAKvIND</a> <a href="https://t.co/hvGyFG9HEO">pic.twitter.com/hvGyFG9HEO</a></p>— Taimoor Zaman (@taimoorze) <a href="https://twitter.com/taimoorze/status/877112433030168576">June 20, 2017</a></blockquote>

Much better fans here :

Salute you

<blockquote class="twitter-video" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">2 Indian girls Singing <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash">#Pakistan</a>'s National Anthem after Losing a Bet to Pakistani Guy ... ������ <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvIND?src=hash">#PAKvIND</a> <a href="https://t.co/hvGyFG9HEO">pic.twitter.com/hvGyFG9HEO</a></p>— Taimoor Zaman (@taimoorze) <a href="https://twitter.com/taimoorze/status/877112433030168576">June 20, 2017</a></blockquote>

Yes. Much better :asif

ITT keyboard warriors arguing which country has the most virtuous and virile knobheads

Much better fans here :

Salute you

<blockquote class="twitter-video" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">2 Indian girls Singing <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash">#Pakistan</a>'s National Anthem after Losing a Bet to Pakistani Guy ... ������ <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvIND?src=hash">#PAKvIND</a> <a href="https://t.co/hvGyFG9HEO">pic.twitter.com/hvGyFG9HEO</a></p>— Taimoor Zaman (@taimoorze) <a href="https://twitter.com/taimoorze/status/877112433030168576">June 20, 2017</a></blockquote>

See...these fans from both sides understand it's just a game.

Which Pakistan won. (Sorry...couldn't resist).

:)) Own goals by [MENTION=428]Romali_rotti[/MENTION] and [MENTION=141093]big_gamer007[/MENTION] :broad maybe come up with something better next time with the captain lurking about .......or not:amir3 :kohli

No own goal it's the truth Britain will turn into desi land soon enough if immigration is not checked. Think I read an article sometime back that browns will overtake white population in U.K. By 2050..

Non whites will be about a third of the population in 2050. This also includes Black people and East Asians.

It won't be a massive deal by then. Whites will probably be a bit less white, browns will probably be a bit less brown. If the USA and countries like Portugal can survive the multicultural mixing pot then I'm sure Britain will be fine. Probably a damn sight better.

Probably you are right but I would assume the old generation whites or the hardcore whites will have an issue seeing their country change in front of their eyes.. I mean just look at this thread, imagine a white guy drinking in the pub on his way back home sees 300 Indians and 300 Pakistanis on roads fighting or in a standoffish situation, wouldn't he feel like wth is happening? Outsiders are causing trouble in his place surely he would feel bad about it?

A couple years back Africans fought amongst each other in a place close to Delhi and my cousins study in college in that place so when I heard the news i felt weird seeing hundreds of African nationals fighting on streets of India and giving the common citizen of the country headaches..

Probably you are right but I would assume the old generation whites or the hardcore whites will have an issue seeing their country change in front of their eyes.. I mean just look at this thread, imagine a white guy drinking in the pub on his way back home sees 300 Indians and 300 Pakistanis on roads fighting or in a standoffish situation, wouldn't he feel like wth is happening? Outsiders are causing trouble in his place surely he would feel bad about it?

A couple years back Africans fought amongst each other in a place close to Delhi and my cousins study in college in that place so when I heard the news i felt weird seeing hundreds of African nationals fighting on streets of India and giving the common citizen of the country headaches..

The older whites already have an issue with seeing their country change before their eyes, that's who the tabloids like Daily Mail and The Sun are aimed at. That's how we ended up with Brexit, although there seems to be a fair amount of regret about that now that people are realising the repercussions.

As for fights among desis, sports related hooliganism been a part of British culture for generations. No one really has the higher ground here. It's an issue all Brits need to address whatever their ethnic background.

Another common reason for this behavior from both sides is purely to try and replicate the British football hooliganism culture which is always been a white and black thing and romanticized in many films and tv shows but these cricket fans generally are too scared to be meeting up down some dark alleyway to beat each other to a pulp in the name of their teams, so the next best thing is to cause a lot of noise in a public places where the protection of the police is always at hand to step in.

Indians and Pakistani's here in general get on very well.

This seems a large number of Indians fans had a few too many whiskey's in the local pub and seeing their team humiliated picked on a much smaller group of Pakistanis.

Indians are not renowned for fighting though.

This seems a large number of Indians fans had a few too many whiskey's in the local pub and seeing their team humiliated picked on a much smaller group of Pakistanis.

True, generally they're all good; it probably was the drink and also taking the defeat too personally :)) it always back fires when the booze finally gives them a bit of courage to get physical :sachin

Watch that, I think that is [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] or [MENTION=7774]Robert[/MENTION]

^ :)))

Got trolled by nobby doing the screwing on the lightbulb dance.

Indians here in the UK can be sore losers. When we beat them in 2004, there we so many who held on to their tickets for the Semi against Windies which we lost but made their day.

well it depends which community. Punjabis,haryanvis ,delhi or gorkhas ...these people are known as agressive.Rest are not that much i guess
But generally you are right indians are really known as peace loving country not renowed for fighting though.

well it depends which community. Punjabis,haryanvis ,delhi or gorkhas ...these people are known as agressive.Rest are not that much i guess
But generally you are right indians are really known as peace loving country not renowed for fighting though.

Not really peace loving but timid in unfavourable times but sly when they have some power #BCCI

https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/huge-brawl-breaks-out-uk-27886799

This is the shocking moment a huge brawl breaks out after a cricket match - leading to one man being arrested for assaulting a police officer.

Cricket fans spilled out onto the streets following India vs Pakistan's match in Leicester on Sunday 28 August.

Unsavoury footage shows a number of young men on Leicester’s Golden Mile throwing punches at each other - with an officer appearing to be assaulted by a member of the crowd.

In the clip an officer is managing to pin the attacker down and call for assistance.

The incident took place in the Belgrave area of the city with the frantic and violent scenes filmed and shared on Twitter.

According to local reports, a 28-year-old man was arrested at the scene on suspicion of assault and assaulting an emergency worker.

He has since been released under investigation.

In addition to the brawl, offensive chants could also be heard coming from the crowd.

Officers had previously issued warnings online to the public about gathering on Belgrave Road ahead of the Asia Cup, an event which would usually be a joyous celebration.

In a statement, Leicester Police told Jam Press: "On Sunday evening, police were called to the Belgrave area of Leicester following a report of crowds gathering after the conclusion of the India versus Pakistan cricket match.

"Officers attended the area of Melton Road, Shaftesbury Avenue and Belgrave Road. While there, it was reported both a member of the public and an officer had been assaulted.

"A 28-year-old man was arrested at the scene on suspicion of assault and assaulting an emergency worker. He has since been released under investigation.

"Since the incident, police have been made aware of a number of videos of the incident circulating on social media.

"Officers are carrying out further enquiries and anyone with information is asked to get in touch, quoting incident 401 of 28 August."

Inspector Yakub Ismail, commander for the East Leicester Neighbourhood Policing Area (NPA), said: “Our officers are there to protect our communities and we take a zero-tolerance approach to them being assaulted in their line of duty.

“Following the events of Sunday evening, local officers are continuing to engage with young people, community leaders and stakeholders in the area.

“We want to ensure any future celebrations are organised in a planned, safe and considerate manner.”

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This happened in Leicester Last night after the Indian v Pakistan cricket match &#55357;&#56879;&#55357;&#56879; <a href="https://t.co/Zi2RqPa8iP">pic.twitter.com/Zi2RqPa8iP</a></p>— London & UK Street News (@CrimeLdn) <a href="https://twitter.com/CrimeLdn/status/1564696215115239424?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 30, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

How brave 50 on 1. Someone tell these idiots it’s only a game and that too a useless game. Bu then again we are talking about……

The match was won and lost in the UAE and these fools are fighting in Leicester. Idiots probably high on booze have nothing better to do. I believe there are more Indian's then Pakistanis in Leicester.

I have never known two nationalities hate each other as much as Indians and Pakistanis do.

Very sad.

I remember back in 1987 or 1988 a charity match in Bradford had to be called off by Imran and Kapil after the third mass pitch invasion.

I know young lads want to prove their warrior spirit but why can’t we get along?

Pointless - shouting slogans etc

Is this an old video bro?

As no match here , so must have been coming out of a bar/pub?

Its not much of brawl tbh but idiotic either way. Police here will arrest you, may lose your job and even go to jail. Because of football hooliganism ,there is no leniency from the police here.

I read on Instagram that Sikh tried to save the Pakistani who was alone surrounded by a mob of Indian Hindus who then in turn tried to attack the Sikh.

Priti Patel, Modi and the rest of the BJP are to blame for the rise in hate crime committed by extremist Hindus.

I read on Instagram that Sikh tried to save the Pakistani who was alone surrounded by a mob of Indian Hindus who then in turn tried to attack the Sikh.

Priti Patel, Modi and the rest of the BJP are to blame for the rise in hate crime committed by extremist Hindus.

Sounds a likely study. Always a good Samaritan on hand

The match was won and lost in the UAE and these fools are fighting in Leicester. Idiots probably high on booze have nothing better to do. I believe there are more Indian's then Pakistanis in Leicester.

So i live here. That place where this happened is called the golden Mile. A long road full of businesses and shops etc. Essentially the asian community from East Africa turned it into a massive money maker for the city.

We have had incidents in the past for example in 99 during the wc a pigs head was thrown by Hindus at Pakistani supporters and there was nearly a full on riot ..
We didn't see as much trouble in 2011 or 2004. Thisnfelt different though. And there is a reason.

The east African asian community is more secular gets along with Muslims more and is pretty chilled..these are new migrants from India. They have arrived in the last ten fifteen years. Most of us grew up.woth Hindu and Sikh friends and vice versa. Three of mynoldest friends are a Hindus and Sikhs. But this new gen is different. There is now a big islamaphobia problem in the Hindu community and this is just a brief manifestation of it.

Leicester is known as little India but if these lads think they can gona be able to do this everytime they have another thing coming.

In essence this area is a massive Indian ghetto..

Very sad.

I remember back in 1987 or 1988 a charity match in Bradford had to be called off by Imran and Kapil after the third mass pitch invasion.

I know young lads want to prove their warrior spirit but why can’t we get along?

It was a charity match for organized by Imran Khan for his cancer hospital in 1992. But there were ugly scenes during the game from Pakistani supporters. Some hooligans even tried to burn the Indian flag on the ground.

Indian players were banned from playing in such charity matches atter this game !

I have never known two nationalities hate each other as much as Indians and Pakistanis do.

Right now in UK - its actually Afghans and Pakistanis !

These guys almost had a full blown riot during their 2019 WC game !

So i live here. That place where this happened is called the golden Mile. A long road full of businesses and shops etc. Essentially the asian community from East Africa turned it into a massive money maker for the city.

We have had incidents in the past for example in 99 during the wc a pigs head was thrown by Hindus at Pakistani supporters and there was nearly a full on riot ..
We didn't see as much trouble in 2011 or 2004. Thisnfelt different though. And there is a reason.

The east African asian community is more secular gets along with Muslims more and is pretty chilled..these are new migrants from India. They have arrived in the last ten fifteen years. Most of us grew up.woth Hindu and Sikh friends and vice versa. Three of mynoldest friends are a Hindus and Sikhs. But this new gen is different. There is now a big islamaphobia problem in the Hindu community and this is just a brief manifestation of it.

Leicester is known as little India but if these lads think they can gona be able to do this everytime they have another thing coming.

We both know if they attack the wrong Pakistani, they will tracked down and beaten until they are blue. This goes for any major city in the UK, Pakistanis very rarely get bullied by Indians esp Hindus.

Interesting you say these lot arrived in the last 15 years, seems they are influenced by Hindutva extremism, the words of their beloved leaders have go to their minds. But no surprise it took many of them to attack one or two, a perfect trait of Hindutva goons.

Right now in UK - its actually Afghans and Pakistanis !

These guys almost had a full blown riot during their 2019 WC game !

Not really, there are a few lunatics but many Afghans work for Pakistanis.

Sure some families may have been bullied but I assure you there is no community in the UK which can intimidate British Pakistanis as a whole, even the EDL had to run away in the end.

Not really, there are a few lunatics but many Afghans work for Pakistanis.

Sure some families may have been bullied but I assure you there is no community in the UK which can intimidate British Pakistanis as a whole, even the EDL had to run away in the end.

Even in Leicester one of the biggest football hooligans back in the day was a Pakistani. Quite a few dodgy characters that can call for support. These hinduvtas will get what's coming if they keep this up. I've seen these types up close and they are all talk and bluster..

There are everyone from pashtuns to punjabis and kashmiris in the uk..they should behave themselves..

I have some family in Leicester who tell me whenever India defeats Pak they go around provoking our people until something is done about it! The Pak response has been a cow's head thrown inside a Hindu temple too. As there are more Muslim's and Pakistanis in the UK then Hindu Indian's it takes little time for Pak's from other cities to come and take care of the Hindu's.

It doesn't help relations when Indian news channels keep spewing hatred against Muslim's and Pakistan without realizing the impact it will have on expat communities. Indian Hindu's fail to understand that unlike their own terrified Muslim's the Pakistanis are gonna hit back harder and in bigger numbers. We are not Indian Muslim's who will smile at their abuse that much I can tell you from experience at Cricket matches.

There are also many Indian Muslim's in Leicester who are treated poorly by their own Hindu's. This is the totally fake Indian unity for you nowadays:yuvi Those from East Africa don't see really themselves as Indian's hence they have much better human values then Indian''s.

I have some family in Leicester who tell me whenever India defeats Pak they go around provoking our people until something is done about it! The Pak response has been a cow's head thrown inside a Hindu temple too. As there are more Muslim's and Pakistanis in the UK then Hindu Indian's it takes little time for Pak's from other cities to come and take care of the Hindu's.

It doesn't help relations when Indian news channels keep spewing hatred against Muslim's and Pakistan without realizing the impact it will have on expat communities. Indian Hindu's fail to understand that unlike their own terrified Muslim's the Pakistanis are gonna hit back harder and in bigger numbers. We are not Indian Muslim's who will smile at their abuse that much I can tell you from experience at Cricket matches.

There are also many Indian Muslim's in Leicester who are treated poorly by their own Hindu's. This is the totally fake Indian unity for you nowadays:yuvi Those from East Africa don't see really themselves as Indian's hence they have much better human values then Indian''s.

They hate Pakistanis. But some of em are ok and some are just sly until it all comes out like in cricket matches..overall the city is predominantly a Indian gujrati city and I don't have ma yet good things to say about that community be it Muslim or Hindu.

What I have found is that Indians from other parts of India are way more friendly and chilled..but gujratis have this weird h

They hate Pakistanis. But some of em are ok and some are just sly until it all comes out like in cricket matches..overall the city is predominantly a Indian gujrati city and I don't have ma yet good things to say about that community be it Muslim or Hindu.

What I have found is that Indians from other parts of India are way more friendly and chilled..but gujratis have this weird h

Completely agree. I can relate to this. Many of them are weird and very insecure about themselves. They're 2 faced as well.