"I made an appeal on Shahid Afridi's behest for humanity. But never again" : Yuvraj Singh

Firebat

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Really disappointed by <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAfridiOfficial</a>‘s comments on our Hon’b PM <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@narendramodi</a> ji. As a responsible Indian who has played for the country, I will never accept such words. I made an appeal on your behest for the sake of humanity. But never again. <br><br>Jai Hind 🇮🇳</p>— yuvraj singh (@YUVSTRONG12) <a href="https://twitter.com/YUVSTRONG12/status/1262001367561846784?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Sad that such a legend of Indian cricket got so much abuse from his countrymen for supporting a fellow cricketer's humanitarian organisation, not surprising he was forced to come out and apologise like this.

Why can he not be patriotic or be a proud Indian and also support Afridi's humanitarian organisation? Just because Afridi made negative comments about the PM, so he is Indian hating and hinduphobic and an Indian supporting his charity is being a traitor?

I did not feel anything when he abused Modi.

I did feel bad when be called an armyman a chooza.

Doesn't matter if it's an Indian army man kr a Pakistan army man, men in uniform should not be talked about like this unless of course we are talking a very particular issue and in that context.

Nah mate, you crossed a line there Shahid bhai.

Love your work for people well done.

But for political gains you just stooped to a level far below you.

Doesn't matter if it's an Indian army man kr a Pakistan army man, men in uniform should not be talked about like this unless of course we are talking a very particular issue and in that context.

Agree, that was childish of him.

So finally both bajji & Yuvi Understand that whome they support.
der aye durast aye .

Do they have a choice? Are they willing to take more abuse from the internet warriors n bhakts and potentially ruin their post cricket career?

The only way prove your loyalty to india and modi "ji" is by having nothing to do with pakistan Welcome to new india

Most indians see the pak army leadership as a rogue and unaccountable entity. If Afridi wants to pal around with his military and advocate for Kashmir independence, figures like Yuvraj and Bhaji should have just stayed away from him, but I guess that they didn't know about his history.

Well, now they do .. better late than ever.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Is waqt jab saari duniya corona se lad rahi hai us waqt bhi tumko kashmir ki padi hai.<br>Kashmir humara tha humare hai aur humara hi rahega. Chaiyeh 22 crore le ao, humara ek, sava lakh ke barabar hai . Baaki ginti apne aap kar lena <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAfridiOfficial</a></p>— Shikhar Dhawan (@SDhawan25) <a href="https://twitter.com/SDhawan25/status/1262024869723570178?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 17, 2020</a></blockquote>

Lol one by one all Indian cricketers will comment.. Just to make sure their rabid countrymen know. Must be a pathetic life to live in fear of lynching by Hindu mobs

Afridi has given India something to do during lockdown.

Most indians see the pak army leadership as a rogue and unaccountable entity. If Afridi wants to pal around with his military and advocate for Kashmir independence, figures like Yuvraj and Bhaji should have just stayed away from him, but I guess that they didn't know about his history.

Well, now they do .. better late than ever.

Again, utter nonsense.
You believe what your fake media tells you at behest or your extremist right wing rss government.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Is waqt jab saari duniya corona se lad rahi hai us waqt bhi tumko kashmir ki padi hai.<br>Kashmir humara tha humare hai aur humara hi rahega. Chaiyeh 22 crore le ao, humara ek, sava lakh ke barabar hai . Baaki ginti apne aap kar lena <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAfridiOfficial</a></p>— Shikhar Dhawan (@SDhawan25) <a href="https://twitter.com/SDhawan25/status/1262024869723570178?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I see a trend here ...

This will get ugly.

All of this is needless and could have been avoided.

You can go to army and praise them without this stuff. Well done shabashhhhhh bohot badhiya kr k aajao thhora dance kr lo peg sheg lao hogya.

For the record, MS Dhoni is an army rank officer and has gone to meet the army atthe border a few times. He's not passed on any comments like this yet.

I feel sad seeing this now. We were starting to build some momentum with new found friendships across the border. All that wasted now

Sad that such a legend of Indian cricket got so much abuse from his countrymen for supporting a fellow cricketer's humanitarian organisation, not surprising he was forced to come out and apologise like this.

Why can he not be patriotic or be a proud Indian and also support Afridi's humanitarian organisation? Just because Afridi made negative comments about the PM, so he is Indian hating and hinduphobic and an Indian supporting his charity is being a traitor?

I don't know why he is blaming humanitarian causes for him getting abuse from jingo Indians. Celebrities need to be bigger than their small minded patriot fans. Afridi doesn't have to like Indian PM in order to be friends with other Indians, and he doesn't need to be polite about enemy pilots coming to bomb his country.

Grow up Yuvraj.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Is waqt jab saari duniya corona se lad rahi hai us waqt bhi tumko kashmir ki padi hai.<br>Kashmir humara tha humare hai aur humara hi rahega. Chaiyeh 22 crore le ao, humara ek, sava lakh ke barabar hai . Baaki ginti apne aap kar lena <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAfridiOfficial</a></p>— Shikhar Dhawan (@SDhawan25) <a href="https://twitter.com/SDhawan25/status/1262024869723570178?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 17, 2020</a></blockquote>

Which idiot was saying that IndoPak rivalry is dead? Broadcasters would love to pay for this series. :inti

I and other intelligent indians know why you two had to do this. Stay home, stay away from twitter trolls and stay safe. :inti

Which idiot was saying that IndoPak rivalry is dead? Broadcasters would love to pay for this series. :inti

Only Indians with inferiority complex believe IndoPak rivalry is dead. In reality it is that very rivalry which stops India from participating in sports series with Pakistan. They wanted to stand shoulder to shoulder with white countries instead, but England and Australia still see India as a third world dump.

Lol one by one all Indian cricketers will comment.. Just to make sure their rabid countrymen know. Must be a pathetic life to live in fear of lynching by Hindu mobs

Afridi has given India something to do during lockdown.

The feeling of nationalism may be something new to you.

No surprise there, just shows the low tolerance levels of indians and their out of control nationalism which blinds them.

So Yuvraj made an appeal for humanity - but he wont ever do it again.

Logic ka Qeema.

Don’t think Afridi needs the help of a person who thinks a mass murderer like Modi should be respected. In fact Muslim fans of Yuvraj should be regretting their decision to watch him.

Nobody cares about these cricketers and their brittle emotions at the moment.

Looks like Yuvraj and Bhajji have changed their opinions quickly. Were they threatened?

Lol, their close to 1 million soldiers can not handle a population of under 1 crore kashmiris and this jahil chooza is taking on 22 crore pakistanis, again lol.

Its not about abusing a PM, but name calling uniform personnel. Afridi have no business in bashing India or PM/Army. He can do his charity work without bashing someone, right?

Don’t think Afridi needs the help of a person who thinks a mass murderer like Modi should be respected. In fact Muslim fans of Yuvraj should be regretting their decision to watch him.

No, i don’t regret one bit. Like Afridi, Yuvi is free to say whatever he likes.

This. These celebrities forget that they have fans all over the world.

So when "responsible" Indians get upset, they stop making appeals for humanity? :broad:

That deserves a Jai Hind I suppose.

Indians continuing to show how pathetic they are with their chotay dil. Nothing surprising here.

Got to feel sorry for them Indian celebrities/sports personnel. They get brutally abused by their own people half the time. The other half they are trying to make up for it.

Haven't seen home-backlash like this for other countries. If you keep an open mind, then you can see the hypocrisy of the entire situation where patriotic behaviour trumps humanity.

Yep generalize the entire billion plus nation based on few trolls on social media. Good Job.

Trolls? These are public figures who represented India on the global stage. They're supposed to be the more educated lot, yet this is how small they are.

And look at how quick Indians are to like those posts up and spread more hate in the comments.

Very petty qaum.

Jo rahi sahi qasr thi woh Modi ne aa ke poori kar di. It seems like obsession with Pakistan and spreading hate towards Pakistan is the way to make friends in India and please Modi and all his chowkidaars

Yep generalize the entire billion plus nation based on few trolls on social media. Good Job.

We don't have to generalize a billion people.... A cursory glance through your media outlets and near daily statements from your politicians against Pakistan is enough evidence.

Heck India is barely ever discussed on Pakistani channels. If you don't believe me give a quick look at the YouTube channels of GEO, ARY, Public News, 92 News, Dunya etc. They all post all their content on YouTube.

Instead look at this thread from early April and notice how many times Pak has been the topic of discussion. When we pay back we are only repaying with interest.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I went through 1000 news debate titles of Arnab Goswami's show on Republic TV between 24/8/18 & 18/3/2020.<br><br>Anti-Opposition : 511<br>Pro-BJP/RSS : 149<br>Ultra-Nationalist/Anti-Pak/Pro-War : 108<br>Ram Mandir : 43<br>Anti-BJP / NDA govt : 43 (9 of these were anti Nitish Kumar)<br><br>(1/5)</p>— Official PeeingHuman (@thepeeinghuman) <a href="https://twitter.com/thepeeinghuman/status/1246414122109014017?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Congress/Rahul Gandhi were referred to 186 times in debate titles.<br>Modi - 102<br>Pakistan/Imran - 100<br>Fictional enemies (Lobby, Tukde Gang, Urban Naxal etc) - 90<br>Religious terms - 55<br><br>Economy/GDP - 9 (thrice to question govt, thrice to target Congress, thrice pro-BJP)<br><br>(3/5)</p>— Official PeeingHuman (@thepeeinghuman) <a href="https://twitter.com/thepeeinghuman/status/1246414262597308417?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Some hashtags used in titles :<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ShutUpImran?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ShutUpImran</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ImranAdmitsBegging?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ImranAdmitsBegging</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CongBetraysIndia?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CongBetraysIndia</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/RahulScamsterScam?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#RahulScamsterScam</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/RahulRanAway?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#RahulRanAway</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MuslimOnlyCongress?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MuslimOnlyCongress</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HindusSoftTarget?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HindusSoftTarget</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ModiVsWho?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ModiVsWho</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ModiGlobalPower?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ModiGlobalPower</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Modi2019Khiladi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Modi2019Khiladi</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DontSpareUrbanNaxals?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DontSpareUrbanNaxals</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CrushTukdeGang?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CrushTukdeGang</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ModiCrushesPak?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ModiCrushesPak</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndiaReadyForWar?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IndiaReadyForWar</a></p>— Official PeeingHuman (@thepeeinghuman) <a href="https://twitter.com/thepeeinghuman/status/1246414267714338817?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This is the conduct of you Indians. Not sure why you lot are shocked when we return the favor.

We don't have to generalize a billion people.... A cursory glance through your media outlets and near daily statements from your politicians against Pakistan is enough evidence.

Heck India is barely ever discussed on Pakistani channels. If you don't believe me give a quick look at the YouTube channels of GEO, ARY, Public News, 92 News, Dunya etc. They all post all their content on YouTube.

Instead look at this thread from early April and notice how many times Pak has been the topic of discussion. When we pay back we are only repaying with interest.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I went through 1000 news debate titles of Arnab Goswami's show on Republic TV between 24/8/18 & 18/3/2020.<br><br>Anti-Opposition : 511<br>Pro-BJP/RSS : 149<br>Ultra-Nationalist/Anti-Pak/Pro-War : 108<br>Ram Mandir : 43<br>Anti-BJP / NDA govt : 43 (9 of these were anti Nitish Kumar)<br><br>(1/5)</p>— Official PeeingHuman (@thepeeinghuman) <a href="https://twitter.com/thepeeinghuman/status/1246414122109014017?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Congress/Rahul Gandhi were referred to 186 times in debate titles.<br>Modi - 102<br>Pakistan/Imran - 100<br>Fictional enemies (Lobby, Tukde Gang, Urban Naxal etc) - 90<br>Religious terms - 55<br><br>Economy/GDP - 9 (thrice to question govt, thrice to target Congress, thrice pro-BJP)<br><br>(3/5)</p>— Official PeeingHuman (@thepeeinghuman) <a href="https://twitter.com/thepeeinghuman/status/1246414262597308417?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Some hashtags used in titles :<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ShutUpImran?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ShutUpImran</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ImranAdmitsBegging?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ImranAdmitsBegging</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CongBetraysIndia?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CongBetraysIndia</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/RahulScamsterScam?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#RahulScamsterScam</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/RahulRanAway?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#RahulRanAway</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MuslimOnlyCongress?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MuslimOnlyCongress</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HindusSoftTarget?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HindusSoftTarget</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ModiVsWho?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ModiVsWho</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ModiGlobalPower?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ModiGlobalPower</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Modi2019Khiladi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Modi2019Khiladi</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DontSpareUrbanNaxals?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DontSpareUrbanNaxals</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CrushTukdeGang?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CrushTukdeGang</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ModiCrushesPak?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ModiCrushesPak</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndiaReadyForWar?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IndiaReadyForWar</a></p>— Official PeeingHuman (@thepeeinghuman) <a href="https://twitter.com/thepeeinghuman/status/1246414267714338817?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This is the conduct of you Indians. Not sure why you lot are shocked when we return the favor.

Again you’re doing the exact same thing. Posting some tweets off social media ain’t going to change the fact that millions of Indians don’t give a crap what’s goes around in neighbouring country as they are focused on earning a bread for their family. You could call out social media whimps for being ultra nationalists( which I agree too) but generalizing entire population is similar to what people in the west did back in a day when they generalize entire religion as breeding for terrorism(hope you catch the drift).

I’m not shocked of anything, I have seen everything from both side, and quite frankly this hate is quite limited to social media which is fuelled by nationalist media too.

Exactly.

Trolls? These are public figures who represented India on the global stage. They're supposed to be the more educated lot, yet this is how small they are.

And look at how quick Indians are to like those posts up and spread more hate in the comments.

Very petty qaum.

Jo rahi sahi qasr thi woh Modi ne aa ke poori kar di. It seems like obsession with Pakistan and spreading hate towards Pakistan is the way to make friends in India and please Modi and all his chowkidaars

Whether they are public figure or leader it doesn’t change the fact that you can’t generalize 1.3 B people.
Every community have good and bad people, with massive population it seems Indians are outnumbering everyone on social media.

Whether they are public figure or leader it doesn’t change the fact that you can’t generalize 1.3 B people.
Every community have good and bad people, with massive population it seems Indians are outnumbering everyone on social media.

I'm obviously never gonna meet each one of those 1.3B Indians you're referring to. I will make my judgement based on what I see, hear, and who I interact with in person.

I have Indian friends as well.

And based on most of my experiences, I have no problems concluding the fact that Indians have chote dil. It's definitely not the last time you'll hear someone say this, either.

Its not about abusing a PM, but name calling uniform personnel. Afridi have no business in bashing India or PM/Army. He can do his charity work without bashing someone, right?

See tweet in the OP. He said himself it was.

Heh? All you care about is some money? We Pakistanis don't want to play you lot who have elected a fascists government.

The current ruling government the BJP which was in power in late 90’s also had their leader and then PM of India board a bus, put aside his ego, refused advice from others and made it to Pakistan to extend hand of friendship. lol behold a couple of months in, Kargil happens. Maybe you need to
give them the benefit of doubt why they don’t trust Pakistan a lot.

Heh? All you care about is some money? We Pakistanis don't want to play you lot who have elected a fascists government.

Did you tell that to all the pcb chairmen who stood in a queue to get a india series. One even went all the way to sue Bcci to get a series and ended up paying $1.5mn.