[ICC T20I Rankings Watch] Pakistan at #2 position in ICC T20I Rankings [Update post #65]

Ottoman

First Class Player
Before the start of T20 series, Pakistan was placed at 5th position with 114 rating points in ICC T20 Championship. But with two solid wins against No.1 team in the Championship, Pakistan gained 6 rating points & has jumped two places & are now ranked as No. 3 T20 team in ICC T20 Championship just two points behind Australia.

T20.jpg

Aus at 2

SA and NZ at 6 & 7

Afghanistan ahead of Bangladesh

Ireland at the bottom of associates

Its full of surprises :afridi

Feels good to be a Pak fan. Where are the wrist-slitters who were claiming that Pakistan cricket is dead? Lol.

Abundance of talent, MashAllah. Now if only we can get our bowlers back to their best...

Before the start of T20 series, Pakistan was placed at 5th position with 114 rating points in ICC T20 Championship. But with two solid wins against No.1 team in the Championship, Pakistan gained 6 rating points & has jumped two places & are now ranked as No. 3 T20 team in ICC T20 Championship just two points behind Australia.

View attachment 58702

Is this best ever t20 rating Pakistan achieved?

Feels good to be a Pak fan. Where are the wrist-slitters who were claiming that Pakistan cricket is dead? Lol.

Abundance of talent, MashAllah. Now if only we can get our bowlers back to their best...

8th in ODI's, and could be 9th, MashAllah, MashAllah, what talent

The t20 ratings are a disgrace. Always have been. Don't get me wrong I'm glad we're up there but the way they were originally compiled have forever tainted them.

What happened initially ?

The ICC completely disregarded Pakistans initial t20 for by ignoring our victories in the format when compiling the original ratings. They purposely waited until we were a mid table t20 side then compiled the ratings. It was a slap in our face and felt like a spiteful move. Left a very bad taste in the mouth. Essentially we were and probably are the best t20 side since its inception but the ICC as usual tried to downplay it in favour of other lesser nations.

What happened initially ?

Pakistan was probably No1 for the first few years but the ratings were not introduced till a lot later and when pakistan was no longer No1 he is just crying as he thinks it was some huge conspiracy but i don't think it was the case.
Till then most teams had not played enough matches over a 4 year period to make T20i rankings relevant. Had they been Pakistan probably would have been no1 for the first 4-5 years.

The ICC completely disregarded Pakistans initial t20 for by ignoring our victories in the format when compiling the original ratings. They purposely waited until we were a mid table t20 side then compiled the ratings. It was a slap in our face and felt like a spiteful move. Left a very bad taste in the mouth. Essentially we were and probably are the best t20 side since its inception but the ICC as usual tried to downplay it in favour of other lesser nations.

Pakistan was probably No1 for the first few years but the ratings were not introduced till a lot later and when pakistan was no longer No1 he is just crying as he thinks it was some huge conspiracy but i don't think it was the case.
Till then most teams had not played enough matches over a 4 year period to make T20i rankings relevant. Had they been Pakistan probably would have been no1 for the first 4-5 years.

Thanks.

Slowly marching towards our rightful place as the best T20 side and third best Test/ODI side.

Pakistan regaining its shining stature in International Cricket surely despite talks of lack of talent, weak domestic etc etc....

Guys here is Overall ranking points of top teams across all formats,
Aus=44 points
SA=37 points
Ind=31 points
NZ=29 points
Pak=26 points
SL=22 points
Eng=16 points
WI=7 points (based on only test and T20)
BD=4 points (based on ODIs , because they are in top eight only in ODIs)

Aus=44 points
SA=37 points
Ind=31 points
NZ=29 points
Pak=26 points
SL=22 points
Eng=16 points

Source my friend.

Lol [MENTION=29597]e[/MENTION]verybody who takes t20 rankings seriously. Papua new Guinea can win 3-4 matches and become number 1 in t20s.

Aus=44 points
SA=37 points
Ind=31 points
NZ=29 points
Pak=26 points
SL=22 points
Eng=16 points

And how does this even make sense mate?

cricket rankings have never made sense to me, i think we were 2nd or 3rd once in tests without playing a single match for 6 months. some one needs to come up with a simpler more competitive way of ranking sides by performance.

8th in ODI's, and could be 9th, MashAllah, MashAllah, what talent

Be happy for what you have and don't cry all the time. We've just won an ODI series against Sri Lanka and will keep improving, InshAllah.

Ofcourse they cannot. Look at the message , not just the words.

the words is the message.....
some posters.

anyway we are good at either the super slow version of the game or the super fast version of the game
why cant we play medium paced version of the game well yaar

South Africa couldn't win series against New Zealand but they were able to keep 6th position intact.

T20 (16th Aug, 2015).jpg

Although England defeated Australia by 5 runs but Pakistan is the one who gained from England's win as they replaced Australia for 2nd spot in ICC T20I Rankings.

rsz_t20.jpg

Is the table correct? From 16th Aug to 31st PAK didn't play any match, but the matches played had gone up from 22 to 25. I am afraid the 3 T20 vs ZIM is considered here as PAK win before the series even commencing, or am I missing something I don't know?

Weird how Misbah and Afridi get so much hate as captains.
Our T20 rankings are good thanks to what we achieved under Hafeez
Only one series loss in 3 years
Under Afridi we lost to Australia Bangladesh and couldnt even beat weak NZ in UAE!

Our T20 rankings are good thanks to what we achieved under Hafeez
Only one series loss in 3 years
Under Afridi we lost to Australia Bangladesh and couldnt even beat weak NZ in UAE!

I have a bad memory, but didn't we loose both limited overs series' against NZ and Aus?

Sweet. Like all things Pakistani we're good in all things extreme. 5 days or 20 overs, none of that ODIs cacat thankyouverymuch.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

These rankings are joke.England won last three T20Is but still they are on 8th position

You want to base your ranking on just 3 Matches, What about 3 defeats before that & especially to Netherland. In their last 21 matches they only managed to win 8 of them. How can you say that they don't deserve 8th position.

Rankings are based on a particular period my friend not on 3 or 4 matches performances.

Weird how Misbah and Afridi get so much hate as captains.

Weird & very very pathetic how Misbah, Afridi & any one who serves Pakistan cricket for any length of time is guaranteed to get a substantial group of people who are willing to bash them at the drop of a dime - regardless of what they do on or off the pitch.

Kher - No.2 spot mubarak ho sab ko

Weird & very very pathetic how Misbah, Afridi & any one who serves Pakistan cricket for any length of time is guaranteed to get a substantial group of people who are willing to bash them at the drop of a dime - regardless of what they do on or off the pitch.

Kher - No.2 spot mubarak ho sab ko

Yeah. It's those kind of people that will never be happy about anything in life.

Think Pakistan have another series in NZ so they can improve with that.

If we beat England tomorrow, where are we?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Its been 8 years now, the rankings are still so volatile. One day you find your team at 2 then next day out of top 5 if they lost. Makes ranking a joke tbh.

They need to apply some different method given some teams play a lot of T20 while some less. And with just 5-7 T20's a year the ODI style ranking wont work.

Pakistan 2nd in T20 Ranking

Pakistan had jumped up to 2nd place in ICC t20 rankings and I know a lot of people will say oh that's Mickey Mouse cricket and the ranking system is not good but regardless it's good to see Pakistan in a high position regardless of the format ;)

How did we jump rankings without playing any matches?

Lol not a true indication of our team at all. Our current T20 side lacks firepower.

So it proves that tuk tuk style of batting works :)

Well Shezaad and Hafeez :)

NZ and Pakistan being the top 2 sides should give you an indication of how little these ratings mean.

I can't even remember the last T20 series we won.

T20 side is heading in the right direction, we've got the bowlers under Sarfraz that are miserly and can put pressure on the opposition to make wickets fall.