"If I perform well, no one talks about it and instead they talk about my personal life" : Umar Akmal

shaaik

First Class Star
"If I perform well, no one talks about it and instead they talk about my personal life" : Umar Akmal

Umar Akmal speaking in a TV interview:

"If I am not in the selectors' plan I don't mind, I have more cricket in me, I will keep performing insha'Allah and if Allah wills, I will make them select me again"

"I don't want to dwell on the past, I want to look ahead, I have a lot of cricket left in me"

"I have remained out of the team for a long time. All the senior players who I've played with who come on the TV and say things, I would like to say to them that I've played cricket with them and I also know about them A to Z. Every player has respect, don't damage that respect. Criticise, I have no problem with that, but don't hit my personal life"

"I am fond of music, I don't hide it from anyone. I have said it in many interviews, my family knows where I go and what I do, if my family doesn't have any problem with it then no one else should"

"I am known for my cricket, if I perform well then no one talks about it and instead they talk about my personal life. So my request is to talk about the cricket, don't damage my personal life"

"How have I done injustice to myself? I am compared to Virat, masha'Allah he is a big player. Can you tell me was he ever made to bat at #6? I want to do what is best for the team and I will keep on doing that"

"Going to a concert is not a bad thing, many people go there. I was supposed to go to a concert today but I instead stayed here to fulfil my obligations to this channel"

"If I put a video, I wasn't scared about it being on social media or on TV. People talk that Umar likes being in the news but that is wrong. In the last 2 years, I haven't gone on the media"

"After cricket, I go and enjoy my music, I watch movies, when the time for namaz comes then I pray. This is my life. I don't know why my personal life is highlighted so much. And masha'Allah our senior players are the ones who highlight it a lot. Did they not do these things in their youth? Did they never listen to music?"

Regarding al-Jazeera story "I have kept the Pakistan team above myself, I will never let down the name of the Pakistan team. If such a thing ever happens, I will leave cricket and I will also leave Pakistan, I would never do anything to let the team down"

"I give time to myself as a cricket professional, then to my family then to my few friends. I keep myself fresh and I listen to my music whilst travelling"

"I was given an important role for QG, in the first few games I was top scorer and then Moin bhai and Sarfaraz came to me and said we want to include a batsman, we don't have a middle order. I did a show of being a team man there and said that they should do whatever is best for the team, if the team wins the title that will be the best succcess for everyone"

"Quetta's management in comparison to LQ is very professional, QG gave a lot of focus to local players and we were told that if the local players perform, we will win matches and the title so we were focused on performing for Quetta and winning the matches for the team"

Poor guy. I genuinely feel sorry for him. It makes me sad when i compare Kohli's career growth with him. Some guys are blessed with all the natural talent in the world but i guess fate has other plans for them. Vinod Kambli, Imran nazir also rings a bell.

For gods sake, he didnt have to comment on this, people didnt even care as much on this issue.

Not a fan of Umar Akmal and definitely not an advocate for his selection in the team and no fan of his antics of the field . . but, I support what he said . .

There are way too many past cricketers who come on media and obliterate cricketers and team management ruthlessly without substance . . Think Abdul Qadir, Sarfaraz Nawaz, Basit Ali, Mohsin Khan, Shoaib Akhtar, Sikandar Bakht, etc. etc. . . . adn then you get into some sports journalists like Yahya Hussaini whos patronizing and sarcastic nature and way of criticism is absolutely ridiculous!

Criticize on performance, criticize on work ettiquette, criticize on merit, etc. etc. but do it with substance rather than emotion . . do it with facts rather than personal agendas . . do it based on merit rather than to settle personal scores . .do it for the betterment of Pakistani cricket rather than for self - glorification . .

Personally, a lot of these experts and their analysis is cringeworthy! There needs to be a line . . but then, Pakistani media in general is out of control these days!

Can't believe he refuses to acknowledge the reason why his concert visit made the headlines to begin with. If you break curfew while on tour, you will be called out for it.

He will never learn.

Get ready for this guy to become the Stone Cold of analysts once he retires from Cricket. He will have nothing to lose then

Dil ka Acha aadmee hai - think he means well!

Probably the most attacked guy in Pak cricket right now.

Media, fan (haters), always are looking for something to pick on in his personal life.

That is true. Criticise him only on his professional life not his personal. That's just a low blow.

Media, fan (haters), always are looking for something to pick on in his personal life.
You know the saying. People can only find blame when it's there
That is true. Criticise him only on his professional life not his personal. That's just a low blow.

He was criticized for breaking team curfew rules which is not personal life

Umar Akmal is the type of guy if you are driving behind him and honk at him, next day he holds a press conference regarding the personal attack :uakmal

No 50 in his last 10+ ODIs. His stats and performances are hating on him more than I am.

Both Akmal and Shehzad are cringeworthy cricketers.

Should never ever play for Pak again.

Heck, Asad Shafiq is better than both of 'em.

He is so far down the pecking order that Chacha Iftikhar & Fawad Alam have a better chance...BYE BYE

This guy is a master of doing the pivot on his attacks ... like Trump and KellyAnne Conway. Love music and attend concerts on your own time. If you break the team curfew to tend to your personal life, well... it ain’t personal anymore and you will be penalized. You are not going to be treated any differently than the rest.

Its amazing how he is using “personal life” and “love for music” as excuse for his indiscretions. I am sure the jahil awam will map it up though..

Umar should let the bat do all the talk.. he got some great opportunities in the Aus series but didn't capitalize on them.. and then broke the curfew.. sad

Can you tell me was he ever made to bat at #6?

the same excuse over and over again.

The guy couldnt bat when the runrate was low.

About 90% of the article is contrived controversy and 10% is about his performance. Seems about right I think

People are criticising him but is quite a positive interview.

I think he realises that he won't be picked for the WC, and that it doesn't matter so much, if he keeps performing he's sure to get chances after WC anyway. Even if he was in the squad he wouldn't get a game. The team line up has been settled for at least a year now.

I think he's probably got confidence performing in PSL under Sarfraz, so he's shown the captain what he can do.

He shouldn't be compared to Virat, but if it's in the team's best interests for him to bat 6, he should bat there. Compare him to other no.6s. I don't necessarily think up the order will make too much difference, and umar's best record was at 6, he did worse generally up the order (though perhaps not enough chances). But if you indeed play 6, you do best to play at that position, which looks like he is trying to do. Moreover, if you do well at 6, you generally move up the order anyway.

Keep performing in domestic, and keep getting fitter (his fitness has got better over time recently even though he might not be at optimal yet) he'll make it back. He's generally doing the right things, that curfew incident was just a small slip up.

Get ready for this guy to become the Stone Cold of analysts once he retires from Cricket. He will have nothing to lose then

he will become the Sarfraz nawaz of today, but nobody listens to them and media will also stop airing it when they feel that it doesn't make anything good for them in return..

People are criticising him but is quite a positive interview.

I think he realises that he won't be picked for the WC, and that it doesn't matter so much, if he keeps performing he's sure to get chances after WC anyway. Even if he was in the squad he wouldn't get a game. The team line up has been settled for at least a year now.

I think he's probably got confidence performing in PSL under Sarfraz, so he's shown the captain what he can do.

He shouldn't be compared to Virat, but if it's in the team's best interests for him to bat 6, he should bat there. Compare him to other no.6s. I don't necessarily think up the order will make too much difference, and umar's best record was at 6, he did worse generally up the order (though perhaps not enough chances). But if you indeed play 6, you do best to play at that position, which looks like he is trying to do. Moreover, if you do well at 6, you generally move up the order anyway.

Keep performing in domestic, and keep getting fitter (his fitness has got better over time recently even though he might not be at optimal yet) he'll make it back. He's generally doing the right things, that curfew incident was just a small slip up.

He was dropped not only on performance basis but also for disciplinary issues + fitness..

Atleast on the performance side there is a slight improvement which is also not enough but the other two are still the same no improvement whatsoever..

he will become the Sarfraz nawaz of today, but nobody listens to them and media will also stop airing it when they feel that it doesn't make anything good for them in return..

the throught of Umar Akmal sitting and randomly rambling on talk shows sounds quite entertaining.

Those who know Pakistan cricket should answer this, didn't his brother Kamran ask him not to bat in top order.Did Pakistan deny him in top order.

He is very much like Rahul, he wants teams to change to his needs rather than changing himself to suit his team.

I think Umar has overlooked the fact that he slipped into this nightclub in UAE without the approval of the team management and beyond the team curfew.

Umar Akmal performed exceptionally in the Pakistan cup as was expected.

He couldn't do anything of note in the whitewash against Australia.... which is why he was not selected and I can completely understand this decision.

Useless 30's and 40's do not change match nor win them.

Never thought that someone would be telling me in 2019 that Umar Akmal still has issues regarding his ability to play the big knock. Having made his debut in 2009.

10 years is a very big investment on a player that has proven useless more often than not. Yet somehow manages to find his way back into the team again.

"How have I done injustice to myself? I am compared to Virat, masha'Allah he is a big player. Can you tell me was he ever made to bat at #6? I want to do what is best for the team and I will keep on doing that"

Actually he has.

about 25 times at number 5 and about 9 times at number 6 in the tests. And about one time at number 7.

Umar Akmal should be confined to the same sin bin various players have been put in for wildly different reasons:
Salman Butt
Sadaf Hussain
Fawad Alam
Khurram Manzoor

Any newcomer to a side never gets a chance to choose his own position, he invariably works his way up the order & Akmal is no better than any newcomer after his playing gap. With a cricketing resume like his, he should be grateful he still got a chance to make it in & if he could not grab that opportunity, then it’s entirely on him regardless of the position he played at.

Typical Akmal attitude - crying again after another disciplinary action. Blaming it on everything & everybody under the sun except where the buck stops at.

Accept your mistake that you went to a concert by breaking the team curfew. The fine imposed on him was for that reason I believe. He should know by now the rules and what is expected of a proffesional player. Dhoni also likes to do biking at night time and stuff but he makes sure he doesn't do that during a series or breaks the standards set by his team management.
Umar almost everytime does that at the worst possible time.

Regarding his performance, his performance in Pk Cup was brilliant but seriously, he wasn't that good in the Aus series, and was getting out the same he was 2 years ago.
When he came in, he was such a nice strike rotator, now the most common site of him is panicking and hoicking to the midwicket after a few dot balls.

You can survive in domestic cricket like that, but not in international cricket. Something he needs to know. But yes, I do believe that he has the skills for succeeding in international cricket, but not the brain or dedication.

Umar Akmals performance at different batting positions

[table="width: 500, class: grid, align: left"]
[tr]
[td]Batting Position[/td]
[td]Span[/td]
[td]Inns[/td]
[td]NO[/td]
[td]Runs[/td]
[td]HS[/td]
[td]Ave[/td]
[td]BF[/td]
[td]SR[/td]
[td]100[/td]
[td]50[/td]
[td]0[/td]
[td]4s[/td]
[td]6s[/td]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td]3rd position[/td]
[td]2012-2012[/td]
[td]1[/td]
[td]0[/td]
[td]28[/td]
[td]28[/td]
[td]28.00[/td]
[td]24[/td]
[td]116.66[/td]
[td]0[/td]
[td]0[/td]
[td]0[/td]
[td]2[/td]
[td]0[/td]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td]4th position[/td]
[td]2010-2019[/td]
[td]6[/td]
[td]0[/td]
[td]118[/td]
[td]48[/td]
[td]19.66[/td]
[td]132[/td]
[td]89.39[/td]
[td]0[/td]
[td]0[/td]
[td]0[/td]
[td]6[/td]
[td]3[/td]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td]5th position[/td]
[td]2009-2019[/td]
[td]34[/td]
[td]3[/td]
[td]1040[/td]
[td]91[/td]
[td]33.54[/td]
[td]1286[/td]
[td]80.87[/td]
[td]0[/td]
[td]8[/td]
[td]2[/td]
[td]91[/td]
[td]11[/td]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td]6th position[/td]
[td]2009-2019[/td]
[td]62[/td]
[td]11[/td]
[td]1888[/td]
[td]102*[/td]
[td]37.01[/td]
[td]2145[/td]
[td]88.01[/td]
[td]2[/td]
[td]11[/td]
[td]4[/td]
[td]159[/td]
[td]36[/td]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td]7th position[/td]
[td]2009-2015[/td]
[td]6[/td]
[td]2[/td]
[td]106[/td]
[td]59[/td]
[td]26.50[/td]
[td]116[/td]
[td]91.37[/td]
[td]0[/td]
[td]1[/td]
[td]2[/td]
[td]8[/td]
[td]3[/td]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td]8th position[/td]
[td]2014-2014[/td]
[td]1[/td]
[td]1[/td]
[td]14[/td]
[td]14*[/td]
[td]-[/td]
[td]9[/td]
[td]155.55[/td]
[td]0[/td]
[td]0[/td]
[td]0[/td]
[td]2[/td]
[td]0[/td]
[/tr]
[/table]

His performances have not been great but his personal life is discussed way too much.