Imran Khan vs Nawaz Sharif (Direct Elections)

Imran Khan vs Nawaz Sharif (Direct Elections) - who do you think would win?

• Nawaz Sharif

Votes: 14 16.1%
  • Imran Khan

Votes: 73 83.9%

WebGuru

So if there was a presidential system in Pakistan who you think will win? Probably there are going to be many candidates but in the end it's going to be Imran Khan vs Nawaz Sharif.

IMO Imran is going to beat Nawaz with a good margin...

Provided a transparent Election process/system otherwise even Quaid e Azam will never be able to win against Nawaz/Zardari

Imran would probably beat Nawaz Sharif, but I reckon Shahbaz Sharif would beat Imran.

But do you think SS can get popular vote from Sindh specially Karachi and KPK? He can beat IK in Central Punjab but its going to be tough in Potohar and Seraiki areas.

In a straight legitimate non dhandli one man one vote type contests Imran would win hands down.

But do you think SS can get popular vote from Sindh specially Karachi and KPK? He can beat IK in Central Punjab but its going to be tough in Potohar and Seraiki areas.
yes I think he can get the rural vote from all the provinces, his 'man of the people' narrative can click there.

Both would do well in middle class, with Imran dominating the upper class/mummy daddy bracket.

yes I think he can get the rural vote from all the provinces, his 'man of the people' narrative can click there.

Both would do well in middle class, with Imran dominating the upper class/mummy daddy bracket.

SS will not get a single vote from Karachi lol ... dont be delusional ...

It will be huge vitcory for Imran Khan ...

upper class / mummy daddy bracket who are educated and can think for country instead of qeema naan ...

let's hope their head doesn't start spinning from seeing all the U-turns taken by Imran, not to mention his soft corner for the Taliban.

I dont see Shahbaz sharif winning much is South Punjab if Imran campaign properly, Shahbaz Sharif still very much represent Takht-e-Lahore for large section of people there.Interior Sindh is even more far off shot.

IK popularity in Potohar area of Punjab is more thn SS and NS.

there is a place in lucknow called khayaliganj. i thought of this thread when i was there yesterday.

Without a doubt Imran khan.

A free and fair mid election would prove this. I have no doubt, the Pakistan people have woken up and are with Imran khan 100%

Imran Khan, especially if there is a run-off system employed. The thing is this has nothing to do with people waking up or stuff, Imran would have won easily 10 years ago thanks to his personal popularity and clean image. If anything, his popularity has gone down recently given this dharna antics. I see lots of his young supporters not supporting him any more/becoming disillusioned. That is the problem with having a majority of educated voters, they can as easily turn against you. That is why the majority blind supporting votebank of Nawaz/Zardari is so much more reliable.

In the current constituency-based system, I think IK is going to lose big time. My guess is PTI's tally would have been about 15 higher in the last elections if there was no rigging but nothing more and certainly not enough to have Nawaz not become the PM. That is why they should have concentrated on KPK for now and getting the electoral reforms through and focused their energies towards the next election. Now, thanks to the current erosion of support for PTI, I doubt if they would be able to increase their tally from last time at all. They have left the door open for the PPP to come roaring back next time.

Election reforms wont allow corrupt people like Nawaz Sharif or Shabaz Sharif to run for presidential elections.

At the moment Shehbaz probably stand a better chance against IK thn Nawaz or the future PM candidate from PMLN Maryam.

Easy victory for Imran 2 years ago, but it will be closer this time because Nawaz (prior to the leaks) did a decent job so far in this tenure and people although still blind and sheepish, are becoming increasingly aware of Imran's lies and hypocrisy.

Sayasi bayaan.

When he was alive they called him kaafir e azam.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Yea these same JUI, JI and ANP founders were against him and creation of Pakistan and today they are the muhafiz of sir zameen e Pak.

Imran khan has recommended Molana fazal sahib to change the name of his party. He says that take the word Islam & ulema out of your party's name as it's a disservice to Islam and ulema. Rename it " Corruption Bachao Party "

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Easy victory for Imran 2 years ago, but it will be closer this time because Nawaz (prior to the leaks) did a decent job so far in this tenure and people although still blind and sheepish, are becoming increasingly aware of Imran's lies and hypocrisy.

People in Sindh (Karachi and interior) will never vote for NS.

If it comes to a pick between 2 and IK popularity is at an all time low most would abstain.

Balochistan would say same.

Dunno abt KPK wrt NS, but I presume most would pick IK.

As in the general elections, the key question here would be what share of Punjab votes can IK take away from NS

NS can't cash popular vote even in majority of Punjab like IK if it comes to direct elections. PMLN key to success is electables which works perfectly in current system.

Imran has certain level of popularity all over Pakistan. He will easily outshine Nawaz in Sindh and Balochistan. Imran also has a decent stronghold in Punjab although not as popular as Nawaz. KPK is of course Imran's stronghold.

I 2012 when Khan was at his peak then yeah he would roll over Nawaz Sharif but now 2016 he isn't as popular and would finish second.

The real beauty of US president election is not who will win one off election but country need new leader every 8 years.... That's where institutions matter more than just one name...

Parliamentary election is so 17th century, I will pick direct election over it every time!!

Hah, this was like current US elections. Social media keyboard warriors who are mostly some angsty teenagers talked about, shared, liked, promoted Bernie Sanders to no end, but when you went to the actual voting booths these people were no where to be found :)))

Instead you had the old white blue collar men/women voting for Trump or Hillary, same case happened here I think.

Keyboard warriors couldn't back kaptaan, or maybe there weren't that many supporters to begin with.

First of all, will the Presidential election be decided on the popular vote or electoral college like in the US.

If electoral college than Nawaz because it will likely mirror the current parliamentary system. If popular vote, still not so convinced it will be such an easy victory for IK. Really depends a lot on Punjab and Nawaz's party wiped the floor with IK's party in the last election in Punjab. IK, just because of cult of personality might edge out but I wouldn't bet everything on it.

To make things more interesting, why not add Bilawal or even Gen. Raheel Shareef to the list. Don't think Bilawal will win but Raheel maybe a good contender.

lol at the OP....What a stupid thread who the hell would go and vote for the mister corrupt nawaz sharif instead of imran khan////

Even the Noon league supporters won't stamp for Nawaz cause he is a complete embarrassment. and whoever votes for him is his blind blind supporter.

lol at the OP....What a stupid thread who the hell would go and vote for the mister corrupt nawaz sharif instead of imran khan////

Even the Noon league supporters won't stamp for Nawaz cause he is a complete embarrassment. and whoever votes for him is his blind blind supporter.

in democracy blind supporter votes and normal supporter votes are equal so they count same ;)

btw, don't take the 'lol' seriously...

However, I don't think IK is anymore good for the job but as a human being, is way better then Nawaz.

"The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter"- Winston Churchill

Democracy is being allowed to vote for the candidate you dislike least - Robert Byrne

Reading one of [MENTION=132715]Varun[/MENTION] post this thread came in my mind. IK enjoys more popularity and in case of one to one election he will win easily.

If Pakistan has a presidential election like in the USA, then Imran would win easily, hands down.