In Praise of Nahid Rana, a role-model for Pakistan pacers!

tiger_khan

Tape Ball Star
What a fast bowler this young kid is!

This is how Pak fast bowlers used to be. That's how we were trained to use the pitch and our pace.

High arm bowling action with a good height helps.

It's refreshing to see a South Asian bowler, who is not a "Fast Bowler" only in his Cricinfo profile but actually generates pace on a consistent basis with really good short deliveries to soften up the batsmen.

I think Sean Tait should also get the credit for coaching Rana

The Pakistani so-called "premium fast bowlers" have a tape-ball mentality. They mostly concentrate on pitched up deliveries and none of them have good short deliveries. They try to emulate their great predecessors but just don't have the same talent.

When the Pak fast bowlers bowl bouncers their bowling actions change drastically which telegraphs the batsmen that a short pitch delivery is coming.

There is no significant change in Nahid Rana's action

It's a breath of fresh air watching him bowl. T20 is unfair to him. Cricket fans should be able to see more than just twenty four deliveries in a game from a bowler like this.

I hope he will continue to take his cricket as seriously as he is taking now and protect his body from any injuries.

I wish him all the best!

What a fast bowler this young kid is!

This is how Pak fast bowlers used to be. That's how we were trained to use the pitch and our pace.

High arm bowling action with a good height helps.

It's refreshing to see a South Asian bowler, who is not a "Fast Bowler" only in his Cricinfo profile but actually generates pace on a consistent basis with really good short deliveries to soften up the batsmen.

I think Sean Tait should also get the credit for coaching Rana

The Pakistani so-called "premium fast bowlers" have a tape-ball mentality. They mostly concentrate on pitched up deliveries and none of them have good short deliveries. They try to emulate their great predecessors but just don't have the same talent.

When the Pak fast bowlers bowl bouncers their bowling actions change drastically which telegraphs the batsmen that a short pitch delivery is coming.

There is no significant change in Nahid Rana's action

It's a breath of fresh air watching him bowl. T20 is unfair to him. Cricket fans should be able to see more than just twenty four deliveries in a game from a bowler like this.

I hope he will continue to take his cricket as seriously as he is taking now and protect his body from any injuries.

I wish him all the best!
I am very pleased to see Rana perform and I hope that thousands of youngsters will get inspired and Bangladesh will get a steady pipeline of young tearaway pacers.

Nothing more exciting in Cricket then a tearaway quick bowler in Test Cricket

In b4 crying indians, who think bumrah is better than akram.

Indeed Rana is a good bowler, hopefully he is paired with good pacers and Bangladesh good move on from playing spinners that dont spin the ball

Dear Haters,

Cry today, cry tomorrow, cry forever.

Sincerely
Indian fans.

You deserved this humiliation of losing three consecutive test against Bangladesh. .

:klopp :kp

I will be very surprised if an IPL franchise does not pick him in the next season
I think BD players door is closed to IPL

on topic i think the thread title is kinda amusing, Young Pak pacers have so many role models to chose from. its early days but i hope nahid can become a role model for young BD pacers in future

Nahid is still young. He has pace but he needs more work... He will get better with more experience.

It is strange to see that Pakistan fans want their bowlers to take a Bangladesh bowler as their role model. Good on Bangladesh though as Nahid is really talented and seems like a humble guy as well. For Pakistan though they haven't produced a good Test class bowler since Asif's debut in 2005. It has been 21 years. Yes there is Mohammad Abbas but again he is a limited bowler. Shaheen who is quickly moving towards a Test average of 30 isn't what the fans wanted him to be. For a country which took pride on producing great fast bowlers is struggling to have one good Test bowler since Asif and one to get to 200 Test wickets which was last accomplished by Waqar Younis in 1995.

on topic i think the thread title is kinda amusing, Young Pak pacers have so many role models to chose from. its early days but i hope nahid can become a role model for young BD pacers in future
Nah. 2 Bengali elections are now over, so never say never.

He was discovered by PSL. Let’s never forget that. The role we played in Bangladesh unearthing a gem of a fast bowler.

He will restore honor to subcontinent fast bowling which has become a joke recently with vegans with genetic anomalies taking over.

Finally, a real fast bowler 😌

This mentality is why you have regressed and will always be going back and back and back, not just in cricket, but as a country itself

People steeped in just jealousy and denying reality can never ever progress in life. When India was behind pakistan, in bowling and other things, they didn't deny reality or lie
They worked over decades to catch up and then overtake.

First step to to progress is to accept reality and your shortcomings. You fail in the first step itself

This mentality is why you have regressed and will always be going back and back and back, not just in cricket, but as a country itself

People steeped in just jealousy and denying reality can never ever progress in life. When India was behind pakistan, in bowling and other things, they didn't deny reality or lie
They worked over decades to catch up and then overtake.

First step to to progress is to accept reality and your shortcomings. You fail in the first step itself
Indians trying to teach Pakistanis about fast bowling is like a pan waala trying to teach Gordon Ramsay how to make Rotisserie chicken.

Farhan exposed Bumrah now Rana will expose the batting. Maybe not rn but very soon. This is a declaration. You have been warned.

Dear Haters,

Cry today, cry tomorrow, cry forever.

Sincerely
Indian fans.

You deserved this humiliation of losing three consecutive test against Bangladesh. .

You cry all the time though on here win or lose, cricket or politics, hard to tell reading your posts if you’re crying in celebration or sadness, or just love to cry.

:wenger

Lol. When your country has produced a 160kph bowler Shoaib Akhtar. You don't need to look anywhere else for tearaway fast bowling

You cry all the time though on here win or lose, cricket or politics, hard to tell reading your posts if you’re crying in celebration or sadness, or just love to cry.

:wenger
We always win against Pakistan these days both on field and off field. Maja ata hai tumko Humiliate hota hua.

Bangladesh se ni jeet sakte or dekho inki batein. ... Ye cricket hai yha Fake Propaganda se victory claimed ni kar sakte kyk cricket Live telecast hota hai wo bhi HD m

They brought in Nahid Rana, we brought Hasan Ali. Same recycled TTF. 😂

They have Taskin Ahmed, while we have Afridi , a guy who couldn’t even extract bounce to save his life.

Abbas was the only silver lining, but we desperately need an express pacer who can generate real bounce. That bowling attack looked completely toothless. I swear there was a bowler in the recent PSL who was extracting insane pace and bounce similar to Nahid Rana, but I can’t remember his name.

And why is Mr. Parchi Brand Owner (IMAM) still in the lineup? 🤦‍♂️

He looks good and has played well in patches, but let's caveat this with two points

He still averages over 38
His success has mainly been against Pakistan.

Let's wait and see how his career progresses.

Apparently @cricketjoshila claims Umran Malik touched over 150 in nets lol.

Guy has vanished faster than Atul Sharma
First produce a pacer who can takes 200 test wickets, ye tumhare trundlers kuch kam ke nahi hai. Ache se vegetables khana khilao shayad 200 wicket le le koi. ..

I didn't have the role-model reference in the title. Apparently, the moderator edited it.

Lol. When your country has produced a 160kph bowler Shoaib Akhtar. You don't need to look anywhere else for tearaway fast bowling

Pace is nothing without the ability to take wickets and making the team win matches on a consistent basis. Australian and West Indian greats of the past made their teams win many series.

Akhtar had ample opportunities to make Pakistan win in big tournaments. He failed. Having pace and utilizing it effectively on a consistent basis are two different things.

Besides it's not easy to emulate the likes of Akhtar because not everyone has hyper extensive elbow. Needless to say, not every one consumed an illegal product and got banned for it too.

Umar Gul made Pakistan win a T20 World Cup of 2009. We would have some the 2010 too if he had not missed the tournament due to injury. He wasn't 160/km per hour but was fast enough to make the difference. He also is a humble guy and never utters the words that he was a match winner. Umar Gul and Saeed Ajmal have on their own made Pakistan win many more matches than Shoaib Akhtar but they never refer to themselves as match winners in TV shows.

I have a different criteria for my heros.

Nahid Rana reveals key to recent success with Bangladesh

Bangladesh pacer Nahid Rana has credited fellow quick Taskin Ahmed for the role he has played in his recent form with the ball.

Rana bowled with superb pace throughout April as he won the Player of the Series award during the three-match ODI series against New Zealand and even earned his maiden ICC Men's Player of the Month award for his heroics.

The 23-year-old has since translated those efforts to the Test arena, with Nahid picking up a five-wicket haul during the second innings of the first Test against Pakistan to help Bangladesh win their first match of the ongoing ICC World Test Championship cycle.

It's been a rapid rise to the top for Rana given he only made his international debut in 2024 and the right-armer suggested fellow Bangladesh fast bowler Taskin had played a major part in his recent journey.

Taskin has been Bangladesh's premier pacer across all formats for the majority of the past decade and Rana said the veteran has proven an inspiration for his recent performances.

"My relationship with him (Taskin) is very good. I have watched him play since I was young and, after seeing him up close, I see him as an elder brother. He always treats me with affection like a younger brother," Rana said.

"Whenever I make mistakes, he tells me, 'Rana, it will be good for you if you do these things.' Because he has already gone through this phase of life and cricket, he guides me a lot. I always see him as an elder brother and our relationship is like that."

Rana and Taskin combined to take five wickets on the second day of the second Test against Pakistan on Sunday, with the visitors bowled out for just 232 to give Bangladesh a first innings lead of 46 and a slight advantage as they moved to 110/3 at stumps to lead by 156 runs overall.

While Taskin did the damage with the new ball, it was Rana that provided the key breakthrough when he dismissed former Pakistan captain Babar Azam and the right-armer also cleaned up the tail to finish with decent figures of 3/60 from 12.4 overs.

Potential is immense based on what I see, but will reserve my judgment till he runs into the big boys

Nahid Rana reveals key to recent success with Bangladesh

Bangladesh pacer Nahid Rana has credited fellow quick Taskin Ahmed for the role he has played in his recent form with the ball.

Rana bowled with superb pace throughout April as he won the Player of the Series award during the three-match ODI series against New Zealand and even earned his maiden ICC Men's Player of the Month award for his heroics.

The 23-year-old has since translated those efforts to the Test arena, with Nahid picking up a five-wicket haul during the second innings of the first Test against Pakistan to help Bangladesh win their first match of the ongoing ICC World Test Championship cycle.

It's been a rapid rise to the top for Rana given he only made his international debut in 2024 and the right-armer suggested fellow Bangladesh fast bowler Taskin had played a major part in his recent journey.

Taskin has been Bangladesh's premier pacer across all formats for the majority of the past decade and Rana said the veteran has proven an inspiration for his recent performances.

"My relationship with him (Taskin) is very good. I have watched him play since I was young and, after seeing him up close, I see him as an elder brother. He always treats me with affection like a younger brother," Rana said.

"Whenever I make mistakes, he tells me, 'Rana, it will be good for you if you do these things.' Because he has already gone through this phase of life and cricket, he guides me a lot. I always see him as an elder brother and our relationship is like that."

Rana and Taskin combined to take five wickets on the second day of the second Test against Pakistan on Sunday, with the visitors bowled out for just 232 to give Bangladesh a first innings lead of 46 and a slight advantage as they moved to 110/3 at stumps to lead by 156 runs overall.

While Taskin did the damage with the new ball, it was Rana that provided the key breakthrough when he dismissed former Pakistan captain Babar Azam and the right-armer also cleaned up the tail to finish with decent figures of 3/60 from 12.4 overs.

Great to see Taskin is nurturing him instead of seeing him as a competition.

Good signs.

Great to see Taskin is nurturing him instead of seeing him as a competition.

Good signs.

Imran Khan did this to his younger Pak fast bowlers

He took them under his wings

When their time came the same younger fast bowlers ended up treating their juniors with disdain and jealousy.

It takes a person with character to help younger cricketers. Unfortunately, many of of our greats from the 90s lacked character. They were great cricketers. There is no doubt about their unparalleled talent. But they dwarfed when it came to their characters.

It's not a fluke that these are the same guys who were involved with match-fixing scandals. The country's cricket is still paying interest on their misgivings.

They were supposed to not get involved with any of the PCB adminstration in future. Nevertheless, through their clout they keep getting PCB related roles directly or indirectly. And the results are in front of us...