India is ready not to play Pakistan in the World Cup 2019

India is ready not to play Pakistan in the World Cup 2019, sources have told NDTV. According to them, the government's message to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Committee of Administrators is 'don't play Pakistan'. This is a big move to put pressure on Pakistan, the sources said and India is ready to go to the extent of not playing Pakistan even in the knockout stages of the World Cup. There were also options of asking the International Cricket Council (ICC) to see if the format of the tournament could be changed so that India and Pakistan don't face off, at least till the knockout stages. The move would lead to huge financial pressure on ICC and the sponsors, which in turn would result into embarrassment and pressure on Pakistan. BCCI and CoA are expected to communicate India's position to play Pakistan to the ICC.

Meanwhile, BCCI sources say that legal options for not playing Pakistan are being placed before the CoA and the legal team is discussing the same with the committee.

The subject of playing Pakistan in the ICC World Cup 2019 is the top agenda when the Supreme Court appointed BCCI Committee of Administrators (CoA) meets on Friday as calls for boycotting the neighbour in the marquee tournament in the UK have come from all quarters.

Many former and present cricketers, including Sourav Ganguly, Chetan Chauhan and Harbhajan Singh have unequivocally denounced the Pakistan-backed Pulwama terror attack that killed 40 CRPF troopers on February 14 but said that pulling out of the clash against the green brigade will only result in India losing out vital points.

According to reports, the CoA had on Wednesday directed the BCCI CEO Rahul Johri to write a letter to the ICC to ban Sarfraz Ahmed's men from the World Cup, a ploy which could backfire as the other participants may not support India's call.

While Friday's meeting between CoA members Vinod Rai and Diana Edulji was earlier projected as a routine one to discuss the issue of multiple bodies claiming to be representatives of Uttarakhand, but going by public sentiments the subject of playing Pakistan will cast a shadow on the other topics.

The BCCI is also expected to take up the matter at the upcoming ICC meeting from February 27-March 2.

https://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/ind...tan-in-world-cup-2019-sources-to-ndtv-1997642

MASSIVE: "No question of a Cricket match with Pakistan", says Home Minister Rajnath Singh ruling out sporting ties in wake of Pulwama terror attack

In his first-ever interview after the deplorable Pulwama terror attack, Home Minister Rajnath Singh ruled out any possibility of India playing with Pakistan in World Cup 2019. Speaking to Republic TV's Editor-in-Chief Arnab Goswami, Mr Singh made it perfectly clear that there should be no question of a match between India and Pakistan after the ghastly attack.

"Pakistan ke saath cricket bilkul nahi khelna chahiye. Kitna bhi nuksan hojaye. Yeh mera vyaktigat padh hai. Bilkul nahi karna chahiye. (We should not play cricket with Pakistan even if we have to suffer monetary loss. This is my personal opinion that there should be no match".

At a time when the entire nation is shocked at the cowardly terror attack by Pakistan, BCCI has also prepared a draft letter asking the ICC to ban Pakistan from participating in the upcoming World Cup. When asked about his opinion on the call for action by the BCCI, the Union Minister said:

"Government kya, ispe toh swayam board ko faisla karna chahiye. Mai bhi manta hoon ke Pulwama ke baad cricket match ka prashan hi khatam hogaya. Ho hi nahi sakta. (The board should take a call on this, not the government. I truly believe that after Pulwama attack, there is no question of a cricket match with Pakistan. Not possible, none at all."

In an unprecedented move, Committee of Administrators (CoA), a Supreme Court-appointed body is likely to meet on Friday to comprehensively discuss Pakistan's participation in the World Cup hosted by England this year.

After the deplorable Pulwama terror attack against Indian soldiers, calls for an all-round boycott of Pakistan have rung across the entire nation. Earlier on Thursday, the United Nations Security Council issued a strong note of condemnation and named the Jaish-e-Mohammad. The Modi government's efforts in the wake of the attack to garner global consensus against Pakistan's continued backing and export of terrorism have overcome months, potentially years, of China's backing for its 'all-weather friend'.

https://m.republicworld.com/india-n...porting-ties-in-wake-of-pulwama-terror-attack

MASSIVE: "No question of a Cricket match with Pakistan", says Home Minister Rajnath Singh ruling out sporting ties in wake of Pulwama terror attack

In his first-ever interview after the deplorable Pulwama terror attack, Home Minister Rajnath Singh ruled out any possibility of India playing with Pakistan in World Cup 2019. Speaking to Republic TV's Editor-in-Chief Arnab Goswami, Mr Singh made it perfectly clear that there should be no question of a match between India and Pakistan after the ghastly attack.

"Pakistan ke saath cricket bilkul nahi khelna chahiye. Kitna bhi nuksan hojaye. Yeh mera vyaktigat padh hai. Bilkul nahi karna chahiye. (We should not play cricket with Pakistan even if we have to suffer monetary loss. This is my personal opinion that there should be no match".

At a time when the entire nation is shocked at the cowardly terror attack by Pakistan, BCCI has also prepared a draft letter asking the ICC to ban Pakistan from participating in the upcoming World Cup. When asked about his opinion on the call for action by the BCCI, the Union Minister said:

"Government kya, ispe toh swayam board ko faisla karna chahiye. Mai bhi manta hoon ke Pulwama ke baad cricket match ka prashan hi khatam hogaya. Ho hi nahi sakta. (The board should take a call on this, not the government. I truly believe that after Pulwama attack, there is no question of a cricket match with Pakistan. Not possible, none at all."

In an unprecedented move, Committee of Administrators (CoA), a Supreme Court-appointed body is likely to meet on Friday to comprehensively discuss Pakistan's participation in the World Cup hosted by England this year.

After the deplorable Pulwama terror attack against Indian soldiers, calls for an all-round boycott of Pakistan have rung across the entire nation. Earlier on Thursday, the United Nations Security Council issued a strong note of condemnation and named the Jaish-e-Mohammad. The Modi government's efforts in the wake of the attack to garner global consensus against Pakistan's continued backing and export of terrorism have overcome months, potentially years, of China's backing for its 'all-weather friend'.

https://m.republicworld.com/india-n...porting-ties-in-wake-of-pulwama-terror-attack

Statements with no facts to back them up... *Sigh* when will the Indian media finally get bored of this?

The great indian circus continues. I am enjoying this.

To be fair, if the BCCI or Indian govt have the courage of their convictions, they should refuse to play Pakistan and forfeit the points. The English cricket team did this when they refused to play Zimbabwe under govt directive so there is a precedent.

But let's hope they can actually walk the walk when the time comes, otherwise all this crying and yapping will have been in vain.

I'm not sure how the indian fans in the UK are going to feel as they have already paid for their tickets. That match is sold out four times over. Will the WC organisers have to compensate fans? and if so can they sue the BCCI? If India pull out Pakistan should be awarded the match and points. of course this is all bluster and they wont. theyll probably beat us and then thump their chests for a while on the pitch and scream Pulwama ka badla or something along those lines!!

Pakistan forfeiting the match will be better than India playing and winning and then going on to say "this is revenge for Pulwama"

Tickets were being sold for 1000 pounds as well.
There were 500,000 applicants for like 25,000 seats so the real loser here would be the ICC and the fans. But honestly i don't mind if India forfeit so we can get our points and have a higher chance of going to the semis.

Pakistan forfeiting the match will be better than India playing and winning and then going on to say "this is revenge for Pulwama"

If pakistan forfeits they'll say "PAKISTAN DAR GAYA" so it's better they forfeit not us.

Thank God me and my friends have not yet gone ahead by paying £750+ per ticket. I know I feel relieved :ht

India might lose the rights to host 2023 WC at this rate. Olympics has already banned their applications to host future events apparently.

Who even cares anymore. Sick of reading about India and what they are planing to do. :facepalm:

There were also options of asking the International Cricket Council (ICC) to see if the format of the tournament could be changed so that India and Pakistan don't face off, at least till the knockout stages.

So to summaries the thoughts of this "sauce":

The life of the victims of the Pulwama are more important than 2 points in the group stage of the World Cup.......but not necessarily more important than the World Cup itself...?

Ok..... :afaq

Hasn't this been the BCCI stand for years?

They wont play Pakistan in a bilateral series since they "don't want to engage with terrorists, who have the blood of Indians on their hands".............but if there is sporting trophy - like the World Cup, Asia Cup or Champions Trophy's involved - then forget all that - the trophy is more important than any of that....

:afaq

Hypocrites

Not at all. Pakistan are kings in English conditions and look all set to dismantle us.

There were also options of asking the International Cricket Council (ICC) to see if the format of the tournament could be changed so that India and Pakistan don't face off, at least till the knockout stages. The move would lead to huge financial pressure on ICC and the sponsors, which in turn would result into embarrassment and pressure on Pakistan. BCCI and CoA are expected to communicate India's position to play Pakistan to the ICC.

How on earth would it put pressure on us or embarrass us?

Pakistan needs to smile and carry on, let the indians create this embarrassing circus, if they are so serious declare now that you won't play Pakistan, stop these threats, BCCI this and BCCI that, cricket will survive without their money, may struggle but will survive, i hope icc stays impartial because if they do india will be the ones to suffer.

There were also options of asking the International Cricket Council (ICC) to see if the format of the tournament could be changed so that India and Pakistan don't face off, at least till the knockout stages. The move would lead to huge financial pressure on ICC and the sponsors, which in turn would result into embarrassment and pressure on Pakistan. BCCI and CoA are expected to communicate India's position to play Pakistan to the ICC.

How on earth would it put pressure on us or embarrass us?

They think by scaring the ICC, the board will crumble and kick Pakistan out at their say so, this is not IPL or a bollywood movie, there are legal implications involved so will be very hard for india to action.

Vinod Rai: 'No decision on India-Pakistan WC clash, CoA to consult Govt'

The Committee of Administrators (CoA) decided against taking any stand on the World Cup clash against Pakistan but urged the ICC and other nations to “sever ties” with countries from where “terrorism emanates“.

There has been a call to boycott the June 16 World Cup face-off against Pakistan at the Old Trafford in the aftermath of the Pulwama terror attack, which killed more than 40 CRPF personnel.

In a meeting to address the spiralling speculation around the match, the CoA deliberated on the matter but did not take any position for now and will not mention the tie in the planned e-mail to the world body.

“The 16th of June is very far away. We will take a call on that much later and in consultation with the government,” CoA chief Vinod Rai said after the meeting.

Asked if players have been consulted on the issue, Rai replied in the negative. “In an e-mail to the ICC, we have expressed our concerns about the terrorist attack that has taken place. We are telling them that security of players and match officials should be appropriately taken care of,” Rai said.

“And number two, we must sever ties with nations from which such terrorism emanates. We will express our concern on an appropriate forum,” Rai said indicating that the matter will be raised at the ICC quarterly Board meeting in Dubai.

The ICC meeting is scheduled to be held from February 26 to March 2.

Asked about reports of a draft e-mail being prepared to urge ICC to bar Pakistan from the World Cup, Rai said, “I don’t want to comment on what appeared on X, Y or Z.”

Rai also refused comment on Home Minister Rajnath Singh’s reported statement that India should boycott the game against Pakistan.

“I will not make any comments on that issue. Whatever we consult with the government, we will do it at a later stage.

“Please understand we still have three months time. We will abide by what government says. We can’t comment on hypothetical situations as we haven’t arrived at a decision,” the former CAG added.

It was a foregone conclusion that CoA would not take any decision on the matter as the ICC can’t ban Pakistan as per rules.

“We can never win a floor Test if we try and pass a resolution to ban Pakistan from the World Cup. We currently don’t have majority in ICC. In fact, ICC chairman Shashank Manohar, in his individual capacity, has more votes than BCCI at the present moment,” a senior BCCI official said.

It is understood that BCCI officials are also concerned that such a stand might cost them the hosting rights of the 2021 Champions Trophy and the 2023 World Cup.

The call to boycott the World Cup match came from some prominent names in Indian cricket such as senior off-spinner Harbhajan Singh and former captains Mohammed Azharuddin and Sourav Ganguly.

However, offering a different view, batting great Sunil Gavaskar has stated that India should not hand over points to Pakistan by boycotting the game. He advocated continued shunning of bilateral cricket ties.

Among the current players, leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal and pacer Mohammed Shami have called for decisive action to deal with terror strikes carried out by Pakistan-based terror groups.

In another decision, CoA urged warring factions in Uttarakhand Cricket to come together and form a federation.

https://sportstar.thehindu.com/cric...p-2019-vinod-rai-bcci-coa/article26340138.ece

Why should Pakistan forfeit the match when we never made such threats nor do we mix sports with politics. I'd rather we play the match and lose than be cowards and not play at all. Regardless of how Indians might rationalize a potential victory as some form of revenge in their minds.

No gaurantee India will for eternity beat Pakistan in a WC match. Just because they have won every game to date doesn't mean this record will break one day. Overall for years Paks win loss ratio has always been better against India than India's against Pak. I know India have probably closed in now though.

Thank God me and my friends have not yet gone ahead by paying £750+ per ticket. I know I feel relieved :ht

Whew... Are those the standard prices or the VIP seats? Hope the BCCI get sued by everyone if they do forfeit the match.