India take No. 1 position in Test Rankings with a 3-0 defeat of New Zealand

India’s 178 runs victory over New Zealand in Kolkata has meant that it will be ranked number-one on the MRF Tyres ICC Test Team Rankings when the Test team rankings are updated at the conclusion of the ongoing series. India’s top spot is guaranteed irrespective of how the third and final Test in Indore, which will be played from 8-12 October, pans out.

Virat Kohli’s side had entered the series against New Zealand trailing Pakistan by one point and needed to win the series to reclaim the number-one ranking for the fourth time since the current rankings system was introduced in 2003.

And India achieved this in style when it won the first Test in Kanpur by 197 runs and then dominated the Kolkata Test to romp home with nearly a day to spare.

India has previously been at the top of the table from November 2009 to August 2011 and then briefly during January-February 2016 and in August 2016. To celebrate India’s number-one Test ranking, it will be presented with the ICC Test Championship mace, details of which will be announced in due course.

India’s next challenge will be to put the number-one ranking beyond Pakistan’s reach and this will only be possible if it wins or draws the Indore Test.

If India wins 3-0, then it will finish on 115 point and on 113 points in case of a 2-0 series win. Either of the result will mean even if Pakistan blanks out the West Indies, it will not be able to overhaul India as the highest it can finish will be 112 points.

However, if New Zealand earns a consolation victory, then India will finish on 111 points, which, in turn, will give Pakistan a sniff to reclaim the number-one ranking and the mace.

Pakistan goes head to head with the West Indies from 13 October in the first Test at the Dubai Sports City. This will be the first time the two sides as well as the venue will host a day/night Test.

http://www.icc-cricket.com/news/2016/media-releases/96355/india-guaranteed-no1-test-spot

Makes me think if Pakistan's celebrations were premature.

Pakistan's celebrations were by no means premature.

Remember that they are not playing in their own country and still managed to reach the no1 ranking.

It is a big achievement even if it lasted for just one day.

We were #1 for almost 2 years in 2010-11. I hope we cross that mark. 12th successive undefeated test for :kohli the skipper.

Pakistan's celebrations were by no means premature.

Remember that they are not playing in their own country and still managed to reach the no1 ranking.

It is a big achievement even if it lasted for just one day.

What I mean is the rank 1 doesnt hold much importance unless the team has it for a prolonged period. Drawing series in England is a bigger point of celebration than rank 1.

India won't be winning any series outside of the subcontinent + West Indies that's for sure.

Asian pitch bullies just like Australia and NZ with bouncy flat wickets.

India won't be winning any series outside of the subcontinent + West Indies that's for sure.

Asian pitch bullies just like Australia and NZ with bouncy flat wickets.

Thank you for telling us the future. Appreciated.

Ghar pe khel khel ke number one LOL

how many series in the last 2 years (since May 2014 when the ranking is counted) have we played in Asia? 2 at home, 1 in SL and 1 off test in Bang - 4 total
How many outside Asia? Eng, Aus, WI - 3 total

How many series had Pakistan played in asia in the same period? UAE -3, SL - 2, Bang - 1, 6 total
How many outside Asia? - Eng 1, just 1

Glass houses and stones mate!

Pakistan definitely deserved the #1 ranking, even if it was for a short span. They completely earned it. Would love to see them get that #1 rank someday in the future as well.

It's ok lads!! NZ will InshAllah defeat India in the 3rd Test before Pakistan trounce WI 3-0 InshAllah, thus reclaiming the #1 Spot!!

:misbah

If it wasn't for 4 washed out Tests recently, India would have stayed #1 for majority of this year. But it will come eventually, so no problems.

Although India is winning, I am concerned about long term health of this team due to Virat's preferential treatment for Rohit Sharma, at the expense of likes of Pujara. Calling out his strike rate in public was ridiculous. In first innings of this test, Pujara played an uncharacteristic cover drive away from his body on 87 and lost his wicket. You rarely get players like him who are extremely solid at 3, and can blunt the attack for prolonged periods of time. No one in this team can do it except Vijay and Pujara. Thats what you need when you travel outside Asia.

Kohli has also given up on his 5 bowler strategy in order to accomodate Rohit. He was happy to drop Pujara at the expense of Rohit and Raina in Australia, because he wanted to retain his 5 bowlers. I thought the 5 bowlers was an awesome step in positive direction, and India tested great success vs RSA, SL, WI- even coming back from 0-1 vs SL. There was no reason to change this 5 bowler strategy.

But Pujara made a series winning 100 in SL, and pretty much sealed his position in the team, until being inexplicably dropped in WI for "strike rate". But Kohli realized he could not keep up with dropping Pujara, since he still is the best test batsman in the team as evidence by his highest average in the team. That meant he HAD to get away with 5 bowler strategy to maintain Rohit Sharma's place. Thats why we have seen 4 bowlers in this series without any explanation.

Although India is winning, I am concerned about long term health of this team due to Virat's preferential treatment for Rohit Sharma, at the expense of likes of Pujara. Calling out his strike rate in public was ridiculous. In first innings of this test, Pujara played an uncharacteristic cover drive away from his body on 87 and lost his wicket. You rarely get players like him who are extremely solid at 3, and can blunt the attack for prolonged periods of time. No one in this team can do it except Vijay and Pujara. Thats what you need when you travel outside Asia.

Kohli has also given up on his 5 bowler strategy in order to accomodate Rohit. He was happy to drop Pujara at the expense of Rohit and Raina in Australia, because he wanted to retain his 5 bowlers. I thought the 5 bowlers was an awesome step in positive direction, and India tested great success vs RSA, SL, WI- even coming back from 0-1 vs SL. There was no reason to change this 5 bowler strategy.

But Pujara made a series winning 100 in SL, and pretty much sealed his position in the team, until being inexplicably dropped in WI for "strike rate". But Kohli realized he could not keep up with dropping Pujara, since he still is the best test batsman in the team as evidence by his highest average in the team. That meant he HAD to get away with 5 bowler strategy to maintain Rohit Sharma's place. Thats why we have seen 4 bowlers in this series without any explanation.

Ashwin and Jadeja are big wicket takers on Indian pitches, we don't need 5 bowlers here.

Playing in the UAE as your home actually gives you a bigger advantage as there are no washed out games due to rain.

You guys whitewashed Australia in UAE after getting whitewashed in Australia the last time you visited. You won 5 out of 6 matches against England and drew 1 in the last two visits of England to UAE. You have full home advantage in the UAE.

Imo we do against teams like England and Saffers.

Against England, maybe. Who should be the 5th bowler acc to you?

Ishant, Yadav and even Mishra haven't impressed much.

Ps. SA batsmen capitulated in India. I don't think we need 5 bowlers against them at least for now.

Who should be the 5th bowler acc to you?

Ishant, Yadav and even Mishra haven't impressed much.

Ishant is good enough in swining or bouncy pitches and Mishra in spin ones,Having Dhawan or Rohit is basically handicapping ourselves but that's just imo.

Dhawan is a waste of space and should be replaced by Rahul when the latter is fit. Rohit can be replaced by a more capable test batsman.

I somewhat agree with your opinion on having 5 bowlers against specific teams (although England is the only 1 that I can think of right now), but not sure if Ishant is the answer. He still averages close to 38. Mishra close to 35. Yadav nears 36. :/

Not really, they got the mace despite holding it for the shortest span in the last 12 months.

Australia I think were no.1 for most part of the last 12 months and India too for a few weeks iirc. Pakistan got to no.1 when it mattered most, to take the mace.

On topic these rankings are irrelevant, at least for the time being. No team is like the last no.1 side SA that deserve it tbh.

No.1 is changing hands far too often. Australia go on top during their home season, same with India. Pakistan's no.1 ranking was also built on a solid record they had in UAE, England series was good but just 1 series doesn't make you worthy no.1 now does it, they can still reclaim it as they tour to New Zealand and Australia. Now that would be something.

ATM all these sides are more or less on equal footing. It will also be interesting to see how SA recover because they have a solid test side but their test form has been quite poor.

Playing in the UAE as your home actually gives you a bigger advantage as there are no washed out games due to rain.

You guys whitewashed Australia in UAE after getting whitewashed in Australia the last time you visited. You won 5 out of 6 matches against England and drew 1 in the last two visits of England to UAE. You have full home advantage in the UAE.

Did we take UAE to England?

India has the ranking in the same way Pakistan got. That's a fact of life. Lets all live with it.

For the moment, congratulations to VK & Co.

India has the ranking in the same way Pakistan got. That's a fact of life. Lets all live with it.

For the moment, congratulations to VK & Co.

Pak got it because of India's rained out games, India got it because former #1 was playing poor cricket. There is a difference. It should have stayed with India after WI tour. India is the worthy #1 at this point unless they lose to a superior opposition.

Pakistan got it because India's game did not finish.

Also India maybe got it due to dodgy LBW decisions - you want to take that further?

There is a problem with some Indian Fans it seems where logic failure is endemic.

Not our home.

Your team performs better in UAE. Pak has been playign there for sometime now. Lot of support for Pak from fans there.

Pak wickets are roads. The last time India toured Pak, the wickets were atrocious and you feel sorry for the bowlers. Sehwag and Dravid score 410 runs in one day after your team scored 650+. Pathetic Test wickets.

At least UAE wickets gives your spinners something to bowl on.

Just remembered, you were the same person who didnt know where Balochistan was; Good I can see the trend now.

Did we take UAE to England?

I did not say anything about how Pakistan plays elsewhere.

My comment was in reply to gani999 saying that Pakistan does not have home advantage anywhere.

Ashwin and Jadeja are big wicket takers on Indian pitches, we don't need 5 bowlers here.

We can't depend on them all the time.Specially Jadeja can have a bad day anytime

We saw what happened vs Eng 2012.Always need a 5th bowler

Top teams of the world have little separating them so whoever has the mace has to look over his shoulder; great for competition.

Besides India and Pakistan, there is also Australia, which still would have been #1 if it were not for the thrashing SL handed them.

its gonna keep changing month by month by the looks of things. In a way out of all the rankings I have respected the test ones the most, but with so much home domination going on and a FTP in tatters one wonders how long this will carry on..

According to the Predictor, if India wins the third test against NZ, then it can only lose the ranking at the end of the Eng series, if it loses by a margin of 1 test or worse.

So a win against NZ in Indore should keep the ranking in India's hands for a while.

Judging by the fixtures for the next few months, I doubt it will change now until late next year.

India’s 178 runs victory over New Zealand in Kolkata has meant that it will be ranked number-one on the MRF Tyres ICC Test Team Rankings when the Test team rankings are updated at the conclusion of the ongoing series. India’s top spot is guaranteed irrespective of how the third and final Test in Indore, which will be played from 8-12 October, pans out.

Virat Kohli’s side had entered the series against New Zealand trailing Pakistan by one point and needed to win the series to reclaim the number-one ranking for the fourth time since the current rankings system was introduced in 2003.

And India achieved this in style when it won the first Test in Kanpur by 197 runs and then dominated the Kolkata Test to romp home with nearly a day to spare.

India has previously been at the top of the table from November 2009 to August 2011 and then briefly during January-February 2016 and in August 2016. To celebrate India’s number-one Test ranking, it will be presented with the ICC Test Championship mace, details of which will be announced in due course.

India’s next challenge will be to put the number-one ranking beyond Pakistan’s reach and this will only be possible if it wins or draws the Indore Test.

If India wins 3-0, then it will finish on 115 point and on 113 points in case of a 2-0 series win. Either of the result will mean even if Pakistan blanks out the West Indies, it will not be able to overhaul India as the highest it can finish will be 112 points.

However, if New Zealand earns a consolation victory, then India will finish on 111 points, which, in turn, will give Pakistan a sniff to reclaim the number-one ranking and the mace.

Pakistan goes head to head with the West Indies from 13 October in the first Test at the Dubai Sports City. This will be the first time the two sides as well as the venue will host a day/night Test.

http://www.icc-cricket.com/news/2016/media-releases/96355/india-guaranteed-no1-test-spot

everybody know the real #1 is Pakistan

Ghar pe khel khel ke number one LOL
aur Pakistan say na khel ler :yk

Aik shair for Indian Test team:
yay zindagi bhi kya zindagi hai
sharmandagi hi sharmandagi hai

Which is easier? Play at home on varied pitches or playing home series away from home but the condition of the pitches is the same for all the matches which makes it similar to a player playing on a home ground because he know the conditions well inside out?

Congrat, India. You've been on a roll at home.

I feel that if we had got the first ranking by displacing someone else then ppers would have more kind views on HTB Indians.

Look at the first comment in this thread and then tell me whose fault that is.

India has been a powerhouse at home for quite some time now. Pakistan have similarly become a powerhouse in the UAE. Pakistan and India at #1 and #2 in the test rankings is an incredible achievement for Asian teams! They've finally learned that first and foremost they have to be dominant at home. Only two teams in the history of this sport have been dominant both home & away. The only oddball has been South Africa.. who can be dominant away and be weak at home at the exact same time :P Besides these three instances, most teams usually focus on winning home games.

Recently though, Pakistan & India have both won games in South Africa. Won series in England. Next step is to win games in Australia, and then hopefully in my lifetime I'd love to watch Pakistan win a test series in Australia.

Congrats to India. They've tasted #1 before recently though, and fell hard after they started to tour overseas. Pakistan will have similar issues as our first assignment overseas is Australia. Will we actually win a test match in Australia?

Incorrect, our first overseas assignment is in NZ, and in all probability we should win that series, which will most likely bring the mace back to us.

All we need to do is draw the series in Australia and we would strengthen our hold on the mace. Drawing in Aus is easier said than done, but one of the tests is day and night and the ball will tend to swing. This is where Pak's superior bowling line up will have a definite advantage.

Good to see that the no.1 is back where it belongs :srini. Pakistan are definitely a good number 2 team though
.Especially after that superb performance in England, you are almost as good as us. :)

Actually I think when we were no.1 earlier, we did win overseas in NZ,drew in SA and won in WI and I think SL as well apart from being unbeaten at home.

Sadly we drew in Lanka but VVS scored a hundred in 4th innings of last test to level the series but that SL team was pretty decent Murali,Malinga,Sanga(double in second test),Herath,Jayawardene,

That is a slightly incorrect statement. India's ascent to world no.1 actually started with the away win in England in 07. That series was actually the start of us gaining points, which culminated with us receiving the no.1 ranking at home in 2009.

Our schedule from 07 was like this

07 Away to Engalnd - won 1-0
07 Home against Pakistan - won 1-0
07 Away to Australia - lost 1-2
08 Home against SA - Draw 1-1
08 Away to Lanka - Lost 1-2
08 Home against Australia - won 2-0
08 Home against England - won 1-0
09 Away against NZ - won 1-0
09 Home against SL - won 2-0 (attained no.1 )
09 Away to Bangladesh - won 2-0
10 Home against SA - draw 1-1
10 Away to SL - Draw 1-1
10 Home against Aus - won 2-0
10 Home against NZ - won 1-0
11 Away in SA Draw 1-1
11 Away to WI Won 1-0

It was the tour to England after the WI series that our downfall started. So, you can see there was actually a full cycle of 4 years between 07 and 11 where India had home and away games, and only lost 2 series. One was an extremely close one in Aus, and the other was against a Mendis (was the new mystery spinner then) inspired SL.

We won away in Eng, NZ, WI and drew away in SL, SA.

That is a slightly incorrect statement. India's ascent to world no.1 actually started with the away win in England in 07. That series was actually the start of us gaining points, which culminated with us receiving the no.1 ranking at home in 2009.

10 Away to SL - Draw 1-1
11 Away in SA Draw 1-1
11 Away to WI Won 1-0

It was the tour to England after the WI series that our downfall started. So, you can see there was actually a full cycle of 4 years between 07 and 11 where India had home and away games, and only lost 2 series. One was an extremely close one in Aus, and the other was against a Mendis (was the new mystery spinner then) inspired SL.

that team was rhe real champ....

Good to see that the no.1 is back where it belongs :srini. Pakistan are definitely a good number 2 team though
.Especially after that superb performance in England, you are almost as good as us. :)

no bro pak is neck to neck if not better than india....

not surprised sour Indians bringing up UAE when you mention Indian home advantage. What a joke these guys are. Please tell us more on how UAE and Pakistan are the same.

Sadly we drew in Lanka but VVS scored a hundred in 4th innings of last test to level the series but that SL team was pretty decent Murali,Malinga,Sanga(double in second test),Herath,Jayawardene,

Oh yeah actually I'd forgotten about that series. Our record generally has been poor in Lanka.we never managed to dominate them. :facepalm:

10 Away to SL - Draw 1-1
11 Away in SA Draw 1-1
11 Away to WI Won 1-0

Thanks for that research. That's a really impressive string of series for India. It's probably similar to the strings Pakistan & India have now. How many non-winning series did it take India to lose its #1? or was it another team that usurped India.

10 Away to SL - Draw 1-1
11 Away in SA Draw 1-1
11 Away to WI Won 1-0

Good post,hopefully that will give the young posters some perspective.

Thanks for that research. That's a really impressive string of series for India. It's probably similar to the strings Pakistan & India have now. How many non-winning series did it take India to lose its #1? or was it another team that usurped India.

It took one series to lose the #1 after 2 years of being on top.

India has been a powerhouse at home for quite some time now. Pakistan have similarly become a powerhouse in the UAE. Pakistan and India at #1 and #2 in the test rankings is an incredible achievement for Asian teams! They've finally learned that first and foremost they have to be dominant at home. Only two teams in the history of this sport have been dominant both home & away. The only oddball has been South Africa.. who can be dominant away and be weak at home at the exact same time :P Besides these three instances, most teams usually focus on winning home games.

Recently though, Pakistan & India have both won games in South Africa. Won series in England. Next step is to win games in Australia, and then hopefully in my lifetime I'd love to watch Pakistan win a test series in Australia.
Well said.

I also feel that our 07-11 side was awesome.Everyone in that team we're really pulling their weight. In fact if not for that dubious Sydney test could have even won that Australian summer. That was a team which could have easily beaten the current Pakistan side IMO.

It's hard to say! Our batting at the moment is seriously hard to dismiss, particularly in Asian conditions. We have guys that can get 100s from almost all positions. I don't think that Indian bowling attack could easily dismiss our batting. And if they got a pitch where they COULD dismiss us, can you really count out our bowling attack doing the same?

But why compare that #1 side. You again have another #1 side... if only a series would be allowed !!