Indian Cinemas Must Play the National Anthem, Supreme Court Rules

WebGuru

NEW DELHI — India’s Supreme Court on Wednesday ordered movie theaters to play the national anthem before each screening, asserting that doing so would instill “a sense of committed patriotism and nationalism” in Indians.

In an interim order, the bench said that the anthem must be accompanied by images of the Indian flag, and that all present in the hall must stand while it is played.

“Be it stated, the time has come, the citizens of the country realize that they live in a nation and are duty bound to show respect to the national anthem,” the judgment reads.

It goes on to say that the Constitution “does not allow any different notion, or the perception of individual rights.”

Citing the Prevention of Insults to National Honor Act of 1971, the order further held that theater exits should be shut while the anthem is playing, to avoid disrespectful milling.

Theaters have 10 days to comply.

The decision comes in a season of swelling nationalist pride in India. In late September, the Indian Army broke precedent and announced for the first time that its troops had crossed into Pakistani-controlled Kashmir and destroyed terrorist bases there in retaliation for an attack by militants on an Indian Army base. The move was widely celebrated in the news media, burnishing the popularity of India’s tough-talking prime minister, Narendra Modi.

Anti-Pakistan sentiment has also reached the big screenafter, a major Indian cinema group announced that it would no longer screen films that included Pakistani actors.

The Supreme Court ruling was issued in response to a petition by Shyam Narayan Chouksey, 78, who complained, among other things, that the anthem “should not be printed on undesirable objects,” played in an abridged form or “sung before the people who do not understand it.”

Mr. Chouksey said in an interview that he had been inspired to file the petition by a time, 15 years ago, he found himself to be the only person standing while the national anthem was being played in a cinema.

“The people sitting at the back objected, and said, ‘Let us watch the movie,’ ” he said. “It hurt me very badly.”

The ruling comes slightly more than a month after a man in a wheelchair was struck and harassed by fellow theatergoers for not standing while the national anthem was being played in Panaji, in the western state of Goa.

The man, Salil Chaturvedi, who has played for India in international wheelchair tennis tournaments, complained to the theater’s management. A retelling of the episode was shared widely on social media.

“They didn’t even bother to look at my condition and turned aggressive,” he told The Indian Express. “I said they had no right to touch me, but they wouldn’t listen.”

Decades ago, Indian movie theaters routinely played the national anthem at the end of a movie, but the audience was often filing out by then, and the practice was discontinued.

News of Wednesday’s ruling inspired sardonic commentary on social media. One person on Twitter recommended that pirated internet torrents should now come with a “national anthem file attached,” and another wrote that food vendors in cinemas should exclaim “Bharat Mata ki jai,” or “Hail Mother India,” when serving popcorn.

Source: http://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/30/world/asia/india-cinemas-national-anthem.html?_r=0

Fake patriotism at it's best, that lot from across the border are full of such chest thumping and false pride. I never want to see such things in Pakistan. There is a time and place to play the national anthem.

Glad that every country I have lived in in my life has been patriotic but has not shown any need to display it externally.

I am waiting for the Pledge of allegiance to be made mandatory in schools and shopping malls too :facepalm:

What's next, posters of modi plasterd everywhere? Won't be long before we see the statues of Dear leader modi all over India.

So what will happen if a non Indian in an Indian cinema refuses to sing the Indian anthem or stand up for it? Will he/she then be forced to leave? It makes no sense, Cinema is a place to be entertained.

Theater exits should be shut during the anthem? That's a serious fire code violation. Are these judges insane?

The most random location to do all this. That too in the low grade 3rd world theaters of India.

Dont agree with this TBH.But aint that bothered either.Would discuss this with my Uncle and cousins who are into the legal profession as to what is the basis of this order.

I was just talking to my father-in-law and he told me that National Anyhem was played at the End of the movie back in 60's and 70's.

It seems people used to exit out of the theaters in a hurry without observing silence. So after a few years they stopped playing it.
Now to overcome that, it seems the decision was made to play it at the beginning.

I must say this is basically the golden age for any practicing comedian. There is so much material out there that it's unbelievable :O - 'The World is your Oyster' seems like a quote intended during the 2015 on wards era..

Trump
Modi
India

God's gift to comed.......I mean to humanity :yk

Excellent step in weeding out the traitors, brown nosers and foreign boot lickers living among us. Will keep a keen eye on those who don't stand up when the anthem is being played.

The most random location to do all this. That too in the low grade 3rd world theaters of India.

Theatres in Shopping Malls are top class here. Whereas there is no shortage of 3rd class theatres in smaller cities too. Most of them are used to show B Grade movies.

Unnecessary move.

I disagree.

It would just lead to more chaos before the movie starts and people would disrespect the anthem anyway.

Unnecessary move.

I disagree.

It would just lead to more chaos before the movie starts and people would disrespect the anthem anyway.

Absolutely !!
Why do you have to play national anthem in movie theaters? Whyyyyyyyyyy ???

I would be fine if any theater organization had voluntarily made this rule for its members, but supreme court coming with such decisions?
Again, Whyyyyyyyyyyyyy ?????

Really ! :facepalm: They plan to shut the exits during the anthem..? So the people who pay to watch the movie should miss parts of it, waiting for the anthem to be over to enter again ?

Absolutely !!

I would be fine if any theater organization had voluntarily made this rule for its members, but supreme court coming with such decisions?

Last few years , the Supreme court is meddling too much in the country's affair it seems. As if they need to prove "Who's the boss here !".. This is the first step to people starting to doubt the neutrality of the courts here. Of all the institutions in India the SC was supposed to be the least tainted and the least biased.

In Pakistan we grew up with this so not sure the big deal

Last few years , the Supreme court is meddling too much in the country's affair it seems. As if they need to prove "Who's the boss here !".. This is the first step to people starting to doubt the neutrality of the courts here. Of all the institutions in India the SC was supposed to be the least tainted and the least biased.

Agreed. First the useless BCCI Lodha reforms and now this. What next? Will they order Modi to pass some bill in the parliament?

Can someone explain how the guy who competes in wheelchair basketball stood up during the national anthem?

I could be shooting in the dark, because I don't know exactly who is the person being referred. But if a person is handicapped and can't run could be participating in wheelchair basketball but using artificial limb in day-to-day circumstances. Like I said, just shooting in the dark...

There was a story about this earlier in the year, might have even been mentioned here: one guy got assaulted because he didn't stand up because he was disabled and the audience thought he was insulting the anthem by not standing up. Best not attend the cinema if you need a wheelchair.

Absolutely !!

Too much emotion that's why.

Baffling fact is that its SC who passed it this time. Not sure why.

Indian theatres except the C center theatres are the best in the world. Not even halls in america come close to it. We take our cinema seriously :D....high end seats in a theatre in hyderabad had lazy boy chairs and they provide you with a blanket if necessary ..I was suprised.

Nav garu, isn't it a shame that today indians, especially the convent educated ones, feel ashamed of the national anthem? These are the same people who studied in schools like st josephs, st patricks and st stephens, and think showing respect to the anthem written by a nobel laureate, and one of the biggest intellectuals of the last century. is beneath them. It is the right time to make them fall in line with a danda.

Do all the theatres relay the Pak national anthem before movies too?

In my days in Pakistan this was normal - dont know about now. It was an abbreviated version not the full version and everybody stood up - those sitting down were told off by others

Why just stop at Cinema's playing movies?
What about theatres and concerts?
Or even company conferences?

And don't leave out tv. Shouldn't the National Anthem be played before each and every film is shown on tv?
And why only movies, shouldn't it also include tv soap operas, game shows, .... heck even the news!

And why only at the beginning of the movie/tv program, why not at the end of every commercial before the ad break ends and the program resumes?

And between every over of a cricket match!!

Nav garu, isn't it a shame that today indians, especially the convent educated ones, feel ashamed of the national anthem? These are the same people who studied in schools like st josephs, st patricks and st stephens, and think showing respect to the anthem written by a nobel laureate, and one of the biggest intellectuals of the last century. is beneath them. It is the right time to make them fall in line with a danda.

I just feel patriotism or religion should not be showed down the throat by making it a compulsion...by making it a compulsion you bring in force than respect. So when a national anthem plays...I should be willing to be part of it..not be part of it coz I have to. It looses its meaning...

sure when it plays...respect it. but why play it when you are in a movie...what is the point?

Are high end theatres available throughout India and to the average person? In the UK we have few high end theatres but in every town and city we have multi-screen complexes which are pretty luxurious and more or less everybody can afford to go to one at least a few times a year. No one here thinks high end or low end, high quality movie experience is expected by all.

Most cities have it..and B town cities too have it. My home town which is a C center has upgraded single screens because of the competition from multiplexes. Movie business as a whole is growing big in india...even small movies making 100 crores if it has content. however in India....there are multiple levels of seating..and based on the price the facilities increase in single screens. high end theatres are same for all the seats

I just feel patriotism or religion should not be showed down the throat by making it a compulsion...by making it a compulsion you bring in force than respect. So when a national anthem plays...I should be willing to be part of it..not be part of it coz I have to. It looses its meaning...

sure when it plays...respect it. but why play it when you are in a movie...what is the point?

Bro (and I don't use this term lightly), this law is not for people like you and me who are real patriots, but for those brown nosing indians who think they are above our country. Those who ape the west and think anything Indian is inferior and should be ridiculed. Those who go to enemy forums and bad mouth our country. It is a really a shame that it has come to this, that these anti national burgers have become so rampant and vocal that the highest seat of truth and justice had to step in. As Ghalib said..yeh woh aatish hai to lagaye na lage, aur bujhaye na bane. So make no mistake, we don't expect the traitors to become patriots by this law, but at least they will be put to their place and if we can't have their patriotism, we will have their fear.

He must be extending that typical Pakistani theater stereotype to India.

Yes i have seen this with some posters here,who believe that if something is bad in Pakistan than its the same in India.It may have been true 20 years back but not now.

not good enough.
I want this during intervals
and most importantly at the end of movie...as that will be the real test of patriotism. (and I hate people who start leaving theater just few minutes before the finish.

High end theatres are available in even C type cities.The cost will depend on the city the theatre is.Same type of seat in different cities will have different rates.And avg people can mostly afford it.

IMAX theatres are only in Metros and some type A cities like Pune and Ahmedabad.

Some of the the high end theatres in India are far better than any high end theatres in the west.

Here is an example of a high end theatre in Chennai.

LUXE_jpg_2602261f.jpg
Feat-610x330.jpg

Theater exits should be shut during the anthem? That's a serious fire code violation. Are these judges insane?

What in case of an emergency. Absolutely mind boggling dumbness. Its a disaster waiting to happen. Reminds me of the 2012 Aurora movie shooting in US.

Some of the the high end theatres in India are far better than any high end theatres in the west.

View attachment 70784
View attachment 70785

Very plush and impressive. My thought was though, that probably only a tiny percentage of Indians in those cities will be able to afford to attend those theatres. Western mulitplex theatres are affordable by all. If every Indian could afford to view films in those high end theatres then we should be talking about India as a first world country rather than a developing nation.

Multiplex theaters are affordable in all countries, not just in the West.

Most of these are for upper middle class and rich. Probably 10-15% of the population.

Some middle class people might visit these once every year with family. Teenagers might take their Girlfriends to these multiplexes to impress them.

This is a weird decision.. What's wrong with the Supreme Court? Why on earth would you want to play the national anthem before movies like Kya kool hai hum or sunny leone movies? Stupid decision, movies like chak de which had some sort of sports/national team storyline or border/LOC Kargil I can understand if they play before such movies.. but seriously before all movies? Illogical move

What has the kind of movies got to do with the anthem? The national anthem is for adults too.
Just seeing the burn by the convent educated people is enough to validate the rule. These people need some dose of patriotism and should join the national character building movement.

I said affordable by all, not in all. Subtle difference.

In India, nothing is going to be affordable for all, even food. A good chunk of the population struggles to get fed, so anything being "affordable to all" isn't a possibility.

When I say "affordable", I refer to the middle or the lower middle class who are typically the audience Bollywood targets.

It happens in Pakistan as well. I don't understand the purpose/point of playing the national anthem in a cinema.

Also in weddings when the wedding hall wants you to go home, they will stop playing the music and play the anthem. :facepalm:

In India, nothing is going to be affordable for all, even food. A good chunk of the population struggles to get fed, so anything being "affordable to all" isn't a possibility.

When I say "affordable", I refer to the middle or the lower middle class who are typically the audience Bollywood targets.

Multiplex theaters are affordable in all countries, not just in the West.

Lower middle class would struggle to go to a Sathyam or Inox or PVR regularly mate. They may go here and there but its a strain nonetheless.

It may not be so visible in a city like Delhi or Bangalore or Mumbai but its visible in Chennai. The kind of audience that go to those places is different from those which go to lower end theaters.

Of course, I am excluding the govt quota Rs 10 tickets (dunno if they even exist now).

It happens in Pakistan as well. I don't understand the purpose/point of playing the national anthem in a cinema.

Also in weddings when the wedding hall wants you to go home, they will stop playing the music and play the anthem. :facepalm:

I have never been in any wedding hall where national anthem was played. In lahore they start turning off lights one by one.

But that tiny percentage of Indians (middle middle class to upper class to rich) is a HUGE segment number wise.

High end theaters are common in main cities in India.

I have never been in any wedding hall where national anthem was played. In lahore they start turning off lights one by one.

The people who are facepalming the national anthem are the same ones who get goosebumps when they listen to hans zimmer's music. if only their love for the western pop culture was reflected in their love for the nation.

Bulk of the money comes from these multiplexes anyway as people who can afford to go to these theatres are the people who have disposable income to spend on a movie too.

nav garu, this is not the bollywood corner thread, but a discussion on enforcing patriotism among the westernized indians who have gone astray.

There was a story about this earlier in the year, might have even been mentioned here: one guy got assaulted because he didn't stand up because he was disabled and the audience thought he was insulting the anthem by not standing up. Best not attend the cinema if you need a wheelchair.

Oh ok, I misunderstood. He's not the guy filing the petition.

why do indians brag about being a democratic country when they don't even have the freedom of expression and the freedom of conscience, they still have a very dogmatic culture which influences their laws.

But that tiny percentage of Indians (middle middle class to upper class to rich) is a HUGE segment number wise.

High end theaters are common in main cities in India.

Middle Middle class to upper middle class and rich class is not a tiny segment in India.And you will find young people from even lower middle class in the multiplexes.Not the high end multiplexes but the medium end ones.

I said affordable by all, not in all. Subtle difference.

There is a difference in theatres also.There are high end multiplexes and there are medium end multiplexes.The high ends are ofcourse plush and expensive,with recliner seats,personalised services,headphones etc.The medium ones are neat aand clean with comfortables seats and good cinematic experience.

2 seats at Inox Insignia for kahaani 2 will cost me 1300rs the same will cost me 700 at Cinepolis.

Looks more like a Masonic Lodge than a high end theatre.

When you have tons of rich people, there is always playground for them to play. Not everything in India must be suited for the "middle class". The "middle class" can actually attend theaters like this, just like how an average "middle class" in the west can afford to enjoy IMAX here and there. Some Indians are more liberal than the liberals in the west and some Indians are more classier than the "class people" in the West.

Going by these pics, no wonder indians, those who can afford, go to these theatres, as it gives them a temporary feeling of being in a first world country, facebook worthy pictures, hygiene and sanitation and chance to sit on wide bottom seats meant for the average western derriere size. Perfect escape from reality.

lol sorry for making few folks get touchy here about the 3rd world comment, pics and all that being brought up now to prove otherwise, which is very nice to see for India to be fair and am pleasantly surprised. I could've easily said the same for any other country if it was the one imposing this foolish law.

However that was not the point of my comment. The point is that in the west, the region the rest of the lesser developed world bases their governments on, they don't have these insecure acts of patriotism. If anything people in US and Canada sometimes try to skip the first 5-10 minutes as its just boring ads. Guess if they tried to do that in India they'd be called a Pakistani for tryna dodge singing the national anthem.

Middle Middle class to upper middle class and rich class is not a tiny segment in India.And you will find young people from even lower middle class in the multiplexes.Not the high end multiplexes but the medium end ones.

Yes, people from lower middle class can go to such theaters. Its not about absolute affordability.

Anyone with a proper job can save up 500 or 1000 or 2000...go to nice theaters...save up more and go and dine in a 5 star restaurant too. But affordability is determined by how regularly you can do that and how comfortable you are when it comes to spending such an amount for that particular activity.

Since the number of people is high, we may see different people from lower middle class in such theaters but from my experience, in general, those people won't go to such theaters when they want to catch up a movie (as troodon mentioned - apart from rare oaccasions, to impress a girl, favourite hero movie, etc).

And you are right about medium end and high end multiplexes. I was referring to medium end multiplexes when I said high end.

View attachment 70784
View attachment 70785

There are one or two plush sofas in that theatre. Everytime I go to that theatre, it will be occupied by young boys and girls and sometimes old uncles and aunties taking snaps of them for social media lmao, a bit like what CC is saying. Although the theatre is pretty much affordable for everyone, a movie ticket costs just about hundred rupees regardless of the theatre anywhere in TN. Only thing is the food items and beverages will be on the expensive side there.

Yes, people from lower middle class can go to such theaters. Its not about absolute affordability.

Anyone with a proper job can save up 500 or 1000 or 2000...go to nice theaters...save up more and go and dine in a 5 star restaurant too. But affordability is determined by how regularly you can do that and how comfortable you are when it comes to spending such an amount for that particular activity.

Since the number of people is high, we may see different people from lower middle class in such theaters but from my experience, in general, those people won't go to such theaters when they want to catch up a movie (as troodon mentioned - apart from rare oaccasions, to impress a girl, favourite hero movie, etc).

And you are right about medium end and high end multiplexes. I was referring to medium end multiplexes when I said high end.

The question is how often anyone visits a theatre to watch a movie?Once a week?Once a forthnight?Once a month?Once every two months?

What is a regular visit?