Indian University Expels Kashmiris for Celebrating Pak Win [sedition charges dropped]

Nido

A university in Uttar Pradesh has packed off 67 students from Kashmir to their homes for celebrating Pakistan's victory over India in a cricket match on Sunday, prompting a top official to order an inquiry.

Vice-chancellor of Swami Vivekanand Subharti University (SVSU) Dr Manzoor Ahmad said "he was taken aback by such an unacceptable gesture of a few students".

"We can`t accept such behaviour from any student," he said.

The trouble began on Sunday night when a group of local and Kashmiri students were watching India-Pakistan cricket match in the hall of the varsity's Madan Dhingra Hostel.

A few Kashmiri students clapped every time an Indian player's wicket fell, and later celebrated the Pakistan win.

"Some students complained that a few students reportedly shouted Pakistan zindabad on way to their rooms," said Ahmad.

He said the authorities initially decided to suspend only those students who had shouted slogans.

"But a three-tier inquiry finally recommended all 67 Kashmiri students residing in Madan Dhingra Hostel be suspended indefinitely because they didn't reveal the names of the handful of wrongdoers actually involved in creating trouble," Ahmad said.

The VC said, "We were expecting the students to apologise. But when that did not happen, we had to suspend them all of them."

He rejected reports that local students had clashed with Kashmiri students or shouted slogans. The authorities had reported the matter to the police after realising anger was brewing among the local students living in other hostels, which could escalate the tensions.

"These students were dropped at Ghaziabad and Delhi railway stations under police security cover," said senior superintendent of police Omkar Singh.

More than 200 girls and boys from different parts of Jammu and Kashmir are pursuing various courses in the university.

Meanwhile, district magistrate Pankaj Yadav has asked additional city magistrate Ram Bharat Tiwari to inquire into the incident and submit his findings within a week.

The decision to suspend the students was taken by the varsity authorities without consulting the police or the district administration, the SSP said.

However, the parents of the students have told the media in the valley that a few students had been attacked by their local counterparts.

"There was a big confrontation and non-Kashmiri students had vandalised the rooms of our wards," a parent told Kashmir's largest circulated English daily, Greater Kashmir.

Another newspaper, Kashmir Reader, quoted Irfan Ahmad Rather, a BTech student at the varsity, saying, "We clapped when Pakistan won the match. This infuriated the local students and they went on a rampage, damaged the hall, hurled abuses at us and threatened to beat us."

A group of parents speaking to Hindustan Times however appreciated the colleges move to give the students a safe passage to the valley.

In a signed letter released to the media, the group said that sending the students to Kashmir was a good step as it avoided any untoward incident. "There was a heated argument between some students but most students are innocent, so we think college did a good thing by sending them to valley in order to avoid any clashes," said a parent.

Source:http://www.hindustantimes.com/india...an-win-in-cricket-match/article1-1190849.aspx

I am not surprised. This is expected in the nation that worships Cricket and consider Cricket as religion. They take this matter very seriously. I feel bad for Kashmiris, while overseas Indian will be allowed to carry their flags and celebrate their independent day in overseas, but kashmiris cannot enjoy similar support at India unfortunately. I hope Pakistan doesn't emulate their passions.

not good at all.. and not a good topic to post here.. must be moved to another section or deleted...

PATHETIC!!! Shameful stuff!!

World's largest "democracy" can't even give "FREEDOM OF SPEECH AND EXPRESSION"? That too in SPORTS?

These kids had every right to celebrate any team or country they want!

The students are suspended not expelled nevertheless really poor stuff from the University. No need for such action for celebrating a cricket match ffs.

Shameful. You should be allowed to support any team you want. I have supported Pakistan in the past. Shouting "Pakistan Zindabad" is however extremely foolish and only inviting trouble.

Let people support whomever they want to.

Some overzealous Indian fans cannot take anyone appreciating or celebrating Pak win.

Unless the Kashmiri students insulted or hurled abuses at India, no action should be taken on them. They have the right to support whom ever they choose.

so non kashmiri students claim some kashmiri students said pakistan zindabad, kashmiri students denied it and claimed their rooms were vandalised, i.e. apparent physical threat, and the kashmiris are trouble makers???

great logic dr manzoor ahmed, perhaps he was worried he might be considered a closet pakistani if he didnt act decisively.

Some overzealous Indian fans cannot take anyone appreciating or celebrating Pak win.

Unless the Kashmiri students insulted or hurled abuses at India, no action should be taken on them. They have the right to support whom ever they choose.

What Will happen to them if they were really chanting anti India slogans.

Supporting an enemy right in the middle of the country is not a small thing. A few British students celebrating an England win over India in Mumbai is different .

I thought India for the biggest democracy in the world

They don't consider Pakistan as an enemy.

Where they were celebrating was an Indian territory , an enemy of Pakistan. They can feel free to celebrate in either Pakistan or a neutral country.

If Pakistan is not their enemy and India is , then what are they doing in India at first place ?

ind doesnt let them be part of pakistan
Trollface-3078_preview.jpg

Where they were celebrating was an Indian territory , an enemy of Pakistan. They can feel free to celebrate in either Pakistan or a neutral country.

Do you feel the same way about 'British' Indians who support India against England?

So they should move out of India right ?

Re: Cricket: Indian University Expels Kashmiris for Celebrating Pak Win

So they should move out of India right ?

Offcourse!!those who want to stay can stay,those who don't ,can buzz off and can take their hurriyat chamchas as well.

sent from dil se

Do you feel the same way about 'British' Indians who support India against England?

No we dont,coz they aren't born in india,but these students are,they eat in india they sleep in india ,they study in india,the govt spend so much money on them,their is a word in hindi kritaghan for them in urdu it's called Ehsan faramosh ,not all but this small lot.

sent from dil se

Thank God I don't live in India. I can celebrate any team's win over Canada and no one can lay a hand on me. India is the biggest "democracy" only by name.

As I said a few English students celebrating a win over India in India is a different issue and acceptable . We all are aware of the animosity between India and Pakistan.

And the main reason I am against such celebrations is because if things go out of hand then such incidents could even lead to serious riots. In their hearts , these students are always going to support Pakistan anyway and nobody is asking them to root for Indians but atleast keep those silly celebrations off street .

Thank God I don't live in India. I can celebrate any team's win over Canada and no one can lay a hand on me. India is the biggest "democracy" only by name.
Okay and?

sent from dil se

Kashmiris are btw slowly getting integrated to Indian identity. this may be bad news for extremists. we see them even in the southern tip of the country and within few decades I believe they may become more integrated. really bad news? in the upper crust the geelani supporters are there, while the locals are slowly embracing the logic - that no Mujahideen or army from western border can make India lose it's territory.

Offcourse!!those who want to stay can stay,those who don't ,can buzz off and can take their hurriyat chamchas as well.

sent from dil se

Then why India government is not expelling hurriyat members from kashmir,government also allows them to meet pak ministers during their india visit.

Then why India government is not expelling hurriyat members from kashmir,government also allows them to meet pak ministers during their india.

Because indian govt and that to this indian govt is chew.... of highest order,if it has been any other govt they would have shoved some stuff into those parts where the sun don't shine.

sent from dil se

Kashmiris are btw slowly getting integrated to Indian identity. this may be bad news for extremists. we see them even in the southern tip of the country and within few decades I believe they may become more integrated. really bad news? in the upper crust the geelani supporters are there, while the locals are slowly embracing the logic - that no Mujahideen or army from western border can make India lose it's territory.

Lol, it is only a matter of time. You cannot hold on to what isn't yours forever. Just wait and watch lol.

I would side with militant Hindus in this case: "Modi ko aane do aur deikh lo tamasha" :41: (I am not a Modi bhakt btw, but some situations needs iron man like him to tackle. when you deal with barbarians, Ahimsawadi/Gandhiwadi people are simply not worth...only brutual force and destruction can only tame these animals).

anyways, we are going offtopic here.

It hurt what you said here tbh, even in Pakistan there are alot of Bangladeshi, mostly in Karachi and in today's match they were supporting Bangladesh, but guess what no one from Pakistan ever stopped them or cursed them for supporting opposite country... this is really pathetic stuff, even in a Bangladesh ( i am sure ) these type of things don't happen...

i think shouting " pakistan zindabad" is where the problem arises

Why are they cheering for Pakistan anyway, I mean why not for some other country?

so non kashmiri students claim some kashmiri students said pakistan zindabad, kashmiri students denied it and claimed their rooms were vandalised, i.e. apparent physical threat, and the kashmiris are trouble makers???

great logic dr manzoor ahmed, perhaps he was worried he might be considered a closet pakistani if he didnt act decisively.

Clearly the case of an Indian Muslim overreacting just to prove he is REAL Indian.

Kashmiries deserve to be independent, however this was totally stupid of them, especially shouting things like Pakistan zindabad, when they are studying in India, using indian resources etc..... they need to have certian respect, even if they consider india as a enemy country. at least in kashmir itself it will be a different story if they did that, because most kashmiries in kashmir do support Pakistan, however overall they would probably be independant from India and Pakistan

what would happen if Baloch students studying in Punjab celebrate India's win over Pakistan? I am pretty sure same thing will happen. The point is, no one likes their country insulted, especially if the people are using the country resources for their benefit, yet siding with a opponent country. If anything, they should just be neutral

Pakistan is open to all of these, which you suggested above. Pro-Balochistan, Pro-India, Pro-Iran, Pro-Saudi Arabia, Pro-America, Pro-Afghanistan and go on. Even, Pakistani media practices free of speech - going full rampage of anti-Pakistan rhetoric.

They were celebrating and cheering 'Pakistan Zindabad', not 'India Murdabad'. It appears that hatred for Pakistan causes expected reaction as we have observed, according to the source.

Go ahead and say India Zindabad in Pakistan. People get killed for being patriotic in Pakistan, not anti-Pakistani rhetoric.

Instead of coming up with excuses, it's better they own their mistakes and apologize to those Kashmiri who come all the way to India for education, where in that nation people had chance to display democratic practice. Democracy and India don't go there as India is not ready to hear any anti-India rhetoric, let alone the positive of its neighbor. Pakistan has already lived with these, and yet, Pakistan is still surviving, and we have people condemning to certain activities cause by beard-people groups. We are open to admit, and recognize the problems, so we [nation] can attack the common problem together.

indians in this thread are clueless about the ground reality in kashmir. Absolutely clueless

Shocking but not unexpected. shouldn't have shouted Pakistan zindabad imo of course people were going to get ****** esp after such a close game. I have no prob with those idiots supporting whichever team they like but shouting pk zindabad, that was bit too much imo

indians in this thread are clueless about the ground reality in kashmir. Absolutely clueless

Ya,it's genius like u who knows the reality,trust me I visit j & k a lot and ,the pro india sentiment is growing slowly and slowly,offcourse there are few hardliners,who no matter what u do are always like this,but they are a lot less than earlier.

sent from dil se

By the way let's stick to topic shall we,thankfully no body got injured.

sent from dil se

Lol, do they really think they can get away with shouting" Pakistan zindabad" in India? Can a Hindu in Pakistan get away with shouting pro India slogans in Pakistan?

They can support any other country but not Pakistan.

What's wrong in supporting pak? As long as they are not shouting anti India and pro pak slogans, I m fine with it

Both are same things. you know how emotionally people are connected with their cricket team,right? Have you seen a group of Hindus supporting Pakistan? In our country cricket is considered to be a religion, right? You have laal topi waalas across the border talking of ghazwa e hind , and when you see in your country these Kashmiris supporting Pakistan, even if they are not shouting pro Pakistan slogans, you know they are pro Pakistan. It raises alarm bells.

No both aren't same things and there's something called freedom of expression. I know cricket is religion in the country that's why I m against pro pak chantings and Frankly I don't care what pak would have done to Hindus in the similar scenario , its their own prob .

Even if they shout pro Pakistan slogans, it is also freedom of expression, freedom of speech etc, right?. So, you should know where to draw the lakshman rekha and stop people like this infiltrating India.

This would never happen in USA but this type of stuff is normal in a third world country like India. Indians on PP say Indians no longer care about IndoPak matches and their rivals are South Africa/Australia.

see my above post what i said there, In Pakistan, especially in Karachi there are many Bangladeshis who support Bangladesh when they take on Pakistan, no one from Pakistan stops them from doing so , even they watched the match on big screens here in Karachi and guess what ?? the people who were supporting Pakistan also joined them, also if they were cheering for some other country what is the point of insult there ?? this just shows how cruel and anti Pakistan they are...!! #fact

whats more shocking is that this sort of attitude is driven out of university faculty people who are suppose to provide education, knowledge and wisdom and teaching people right ethics.

Would have been understandable if this sort of an attitude was shown by someone who is uneducated, but coming from the top authorities in education is just baffling.

I thought India for the biggest democracy in the world

And democracy means you can support an enemy country?

Sitting in the heart of India among Indians and supporting India's enemies will have repurrcussions

ind doesnt let them be part of pakistan
Trollface-3078_preview.jpg

India has lawfully got the territory if anyone has a problem he is free to migarate.

If any British citizen supports India then he should be asked why is he a British.Having said that the relation between UK and India and India and Pakistan isnt the same.

Dont think India invited you to come to stay here and give a certificate.

Outside Srinagar and its surrouding areas Pro Indian feeling is growing by the day.The delusionals here dont understand that each time Pakistan secertly invaded Kashmir i.e in 1965 and 1999 it was the local Kashmiri populace which informed and helped the Indian Army.

LOL.Day Dreaming again.

Ground reality is that Kashmir is a part of India and KAshmiris are treated as Indian citizens and hold Indian passports.

This would never happen in USA but this type of stuff is normal in a third world country like India. Indians on PP say Indians no longer care about IndoPak matches and their rivals are South Africa/Australia.

Next!!!!

see my above post what i said there, In Pakistan, especially in Karachi there are many Bangladeshis who support Bangladesh when they take on Pakistan, no one from Pakistan stops them from doing so , even they watched the match on big screens here in Karachi and guess what ?? the people who were supporting Pakistan also joined them, also if they were cheering for some other country what is the point of insult there ?? this just shows how cruel and anti Pakistan they are...!! #fact

What would happen if Hindus in Pakistan support India? Lol. I wouldn't care if they support Bangladesh or any other country, but when they live in India, they can't shout pro Pakistan slogans. Pakistan isn't our friendly country ( hope I am not banned for saying this):kohli and you don't support your enemy in your territory.

whats more shocking is that this sort of attitude is driven out of university faculty people who are suppose to provide education, knowledge and wisdom and teaching people right ethics.

Would have been understandable if this sort of an attitude was shown by someone who is uneducated, but coming from the top authorities in education is just baffling.

Why is it educated people are supporting shariah law in England? Education is nothing to do with being loyal to your country. If they don't want to be Indians and support Pakistan, they can go back to Pakistan.

What would happen if Hindus in Pakistan support India? Lol. I wouldn't care if they support Bangladesh or any other country, but when they live in India, they can't shout pro Pakistan slogans. Pakistan is our friendly country ( hope I am not banned for saying this):kohli and you don't support your enemy in your territory.

your media talks about extremism in Pakistan, but what about this pathetic step this university did, isn't this extremism now ??? i am 100 % sure if some Bangladeshis would support opposite team in a match against India, in India they might do the same thing with them too..., your media always talks about Pakistan's extremism towards India and such other things about intelligence agencies but they never talk about the extremism they do...!!

How is this extremism? Asking them to be loyal to the country you live isn't extremism...!!..if they don't consider themselves as Indians, we don't want them here and they can go back to their hell hole in Kashmir. Nobody has any issue if they support Bangladesh, because we hadn't had 4 or 5 wars with India and Pakistan still wants Kashmir which is Indian territory. There are lot of Afghans in our university and they do support afghan and nobody has any issues with that but when Kashmiris come to India, they should be loyal to India or they can go back.

We don't support extremism. Asking them to be loyal to the country they live in isn't extremism.

The dean was probaby thinking about the charged political environment following the recent muzzafarnagar riots instigated by the BJP.Anything is possible in crazy lawless UP especially in this election cycle.

Let them celebrate.. Its the only way of venting off frustration for them. India is never going to set Kashmir free, so little celebrations on Pakistan victories is the only available reason for them to celebrate.

How is this extremism? Asking them to be loyal to the country you live isn't extremism...!!..if they don't consider themselves as Indians, we don't want them here and they can go back to their hell hole in Kashmir. Nobody has any issue if they support Bangladesh, because we hadn't had 4 or 5 wars with India and Pakistan still wants Kashmir which is Indian territory. There are lot of Afghans in our university and they do support afghan and nobody has any issues with that but when Kashmiris come to India, they should be loyal to India or they can go back.

We don't support extremism. Asking them to be loyal to the country they live in isn't extremism.

asking them to be loyal by suspending them...eh never mind...

Huh?Do you understand the concept of Nation states?If you do then you will understand the concept of nationalism and loyalty to the nation.If you cant be loyal to a nation you are citizen of and is supporting an enemy with whom we have had 4-5 wars whose citizens are involved in spreading terrorism in India then there would be serious repurrcussions.

I understand many here(not sure about you)propound the theory of Ummah and world without national borders but thats not what the reality is.

The dean was probaby thinking about the charged political environment following the recent muzzafarnagar riots instigated by the BJP.Anything is possible in crazy lawless UP especially in this election cycle.

And BJP said that "Koi bhi Hindu BAccha Muzzafarnagar mein zinda nahi bachega"Good going.

India should not play a single match against Pakistan, hopefully new government will realize the gravity of 26/11. Not a personal view, but society at large hates Pakistan.

Ask these students to leave India and try to live in Pakistan. Only Sunni Muslims in Kashmir create trouble for India.

Its not about sporting a team or biggest democracy. It's all about attitude and intentions, how will guys feel if someone celebrates Israeli sportsperson's win over Pakistani sportsperson in Pakistan?

My reaction will be same if such thing happens in Tamil Nadu, and Pakistan is replaced by Sri Lanka.

Just saying the video that caused the communal riots was uploaded by a BJP MLA who was subsequently chargesheeted.

Chargesheeted by SP govt whose MLA/MP was giving that speech.Isnt it?

have you seen anywhere else in the world happening like this ?? and still call themselves the biggest democracy of the world....

You mean taking action againist people who are supporting an ENEMY COUNTRY?

You haven't answered my question, do you have a better solution to discipline them?

they are not creating any violence, so let them do what they want, it can all end in peace thats the best solution but suspending them from their university is really not a good move at all...