India's Asia Cup squad shows some poor planning

giri26

The Indian team for Asia Cup was announced recently. Virat Kohli has been rested and rightly so as he was nursing a bad back throughout the Test series in England.

Rohit Sharma, India’s vice-captain in this format, gets to captain the team. MS Dhoni, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav all return to the ODI team as expected.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who missed the Test series, in England returns to take the new ball in the ODIs and Jasprit Bumrah also makes it back into the ODI team after missing the series against England, while Manish Pandey also makes a comeback after some stunning performances on A tours.

The biggest disappointment though is the middle order. Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav and Dinesh Karthik have been recalled into the XI. The Asia Cup not only has Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Bangladesh, it also features some associate nations and this would have been the right time to blood some young batters in the XI.

Rishabh Pant, who has shown great promise in Test, should be the understudy to MS Dhoni in both T20 and ODI’s.

Karthik has had enough chances now and is currently 33 years old. The Indian selections in recent times has been short-sighted and it is disappointing that they are continuing in that vein.

Mohammad Siraj, who has been blasting teams out on A tours, is another glaring omission from the side. Siraj has a list A average of 20 with three five-wicket hauls and he performed brilliantly on the England tour as well as in the home quadrangular series against Australia A and South Africa A.

He is 24 and is at the right age to make his ODI debut for India. The selectors picked him in his least effective format, T20, and have discarded him in spite of some amazing performances.

Then there is young Prasidh Krishna as well who has amazing list A record and has done very well recently on A tours. The world cup is less than a year away and the Indian ODI team is nowhere near settled.

The series loss in England highlighted India’s reliance on the top three batters and this was their chance to try out some young players ahead of the marquee tournament.

Over the last couple of years, India has auditioned some young players like Shreyas Iyer, but they no longer feature in the ODI plans.

The other spot which hasn’t been explored is that of Krunal Pandya who, again, gets ignored in the shorter formats.

Krunal is a great spin bowling all-rounder, an option which India will do well to try as he gives the team the option of playing an effective spinner who can give quick runs lower down the order.

The selection of Khaleel Ahmed is a good one though, as he offers some variety to the Indian pace attack.

The selectors have once again faltered by calling back players whom they had dropped in the past for poor performances. India may well win the Asia Cup with this team but, in the long run, these selections will be detrimental to the team’s progress.

Quite surprised to see the way India has gone about team selection in recent times.

They seem quite hesitant to give new players a chance though there's plenty staking a claim for a spot in the national side.

Hoping to see India field an attack comprising of Siraj, Khaleel and Shami in the near future.

Giri, I am not the BCCI's mouth piece, but I think the way they think is experience over youth especially in English conditions as the mantra for success. Even with Karthik that seems to be the thinking atleast for now and I think he is only being prepared in the event of MSD missing out the WC somehow. However in the WC squad by all counts I see Rahul as the #4 cum backup #2 cum backup WK and Karthik missing out on a sport.

#6 is Jadhav's unless something drastically goes wrong. We might go with two wrist spinners (in the squad) and Jadeja. Similarly BK and Bumrah are going to start for sure with Pandya as the back up seamer. The only gap that I see the selectors are eyeing to fix is a left arm pacer option and that is why Khaleel is being tried out. Shami could make the cut for the remaining one pacer's spot. Ishant could be a left wing selection.

Batting department is likely to have only the usual suspects - SD, RS, VK, KLR, MSD, KJ and HP..There is one middle order backup that needs to be filled in the likes of Manish Pandey and Rayudu are fighting for that one spot only.

Giri, I am not the BCCI's mouth piece, but I think the way they think is experience over youth especially in English conditions as the mantra for success. Even with Karthik that seems to be the thinking atleast for now and I think he is only being prepared in the event of MSD missing out the WC somehow. However in the WC squad by all counts I see Rahul as the #4 cum backup #2 cum backup WK and Karthik missing out on a sport.

#6 is Jadhav's unless something drastically goes wrong. We might go with two wrist spinners (in the squad) and Jadeja. Similarly BK and Bumrah are going to start for sure with Pandya as the back up seamer. The only gap that I see the selectors are eyeing to fix is a left arm pacer option and that is why Khaleel is being tried out. Shami could make the cut for the remaining one pacer's spot. Ishant could be a left wing selection.

Batting department is likely to have only the usual suspects - SD, RS, VK, KLR, MSD, KJ and HP..There is one middle order backup that needs to be filled in the likes of Manish Pandey and Rayudu are fighting for that one spot only.

If Manish Pandey and Jadhav are the slated to come before MSD as finishers, India has no hope.

The worst lower order to have in a WC.

I still don't understand what selectors see in Jadhav and Pandey. Sure Pandey made some runs against B and C teams recently. But he is a TTF. He cannot score a boundary if his life depended on it. We have seen his circus show a lot of times by now.

Prithvi Shaw is a much better player than both Pandey and Jadav. He has wide array of strokes and can also clear the boundary if needed.

The infatuation with experience and MSD will cost us the WC. MSD is as useless with the bat as a finisher as it gets. He can barely strike at 100 and Manish Pandey strikes at 90 even in T20's. These are supposed to be our finishers.

Pant should have been ODI's and T20's while MSD should be playing Tests until Pant establishes himself.

Pathetic from selectors, Shastri and Kohli to declare MSD as our keeper almost 2 years before worldcup.

More than squad...i think India will face the issue of being tired. So the oval test finishes on tues11th sept. They will leave UK on 12 and reach their respective home by 13th (thur). 2 days rest at home..and on 16th they will fly to Dubai. 17th will be practice cum jet lag and 18th-19th they have back to back games.

And we all know it takes time for body to adjust especially from cold in UK to 45 degress of Dubai.

Who created this schedule yaar?? :facepalm:

Hang on...when, how, where?
Pant will not get anywhere in international cricket with his brainless slogging and poor wickkeeping..

Poor keeping? What? His catching is superb and did pretty well with the gloves.

His batting will come good. He is like Jos Buttler. An attacking batsman. He is only playing his 2nd Test.

More than squad...i think India will face the issue of being tired. So the oval test finishes on tues11th sept. They will leave UK on 12 and reach their respective home by 13th (thur). 2 days rest at home..and on 16th they will fly to Dubai. 17th will be practice cum jet lag and 18th-19th they have back to back games.

And we all know it takes time for body to adjust especially from cold in UK to 45 degress of Dubai.

Who created this schedule yaar?? :facepalm:

Heard on a TV show payers in Eng will fly directly to UAE on 12th, those in India will join them the same day. Kohli will apparently stay back in England.

Its nothing different from what BCCI has been selecting. They choose TTF and experienced players and lack the courage to select younger players. BCCI is far behind the times and far behind the likes of England, Pakistan and Australia in terms of selection policies.

Heard on a TV show payers in Eng will fly directly to UAE on 12th, those in India will join them the same day. Kohli will apparently stay back in England.

Ok so that makes more sense. Test finishes on 11th and team flies to Dubai on 12th. Its a 6 hours flight. 1 day rest and practice starts from 14th. 4 day solid practice and then unleash from 18th :srini

Its nothing different from what BCCI has been selecting. They choose TTF and experienced players and lack the courage to select younger players. BCCI is far behind the times and far behind the likes of England, Pakistan and Australia in terms of selection policies.

Its not BCCI but the current selectors who are selecting TTF. And lol at BCCI far behind PCB. Didnt you guys used to recycle TTFs for like decaded up until recently?

Poor keeping? What? His catching is superb and did pretty well with the gloves.

His batting will come good. He is like Jos Buttler. An attacking batsman. He is only playing his 2nd Test.
He has given 60 byes in 2 and half test matches. That is just ridiculous even by Kamran Akmal's standard!

Its not BCCI but the current selectors who are selecting TTF. And lol at BCCI far behind PCB. Didnt you guys used to recycle TTFs for like decaded up until recently?

Are the current selectors from Mars? BCCI is far behind PCB in terms of coaching and selection staff. Bunch of nobodies in the coaching and selection setup choosing TTFs day in day out. Its been couple of years that PCB stopped with this practise.

Hang on...when, how, where?
Pant will not get anywhere in international cricket with his brainless slogging and poor wickkeeping..

Lol all he does is dive unsuccessfully down the leg-side. It's become comical at this point

He has given 60 byes in 2 and half test matches. That is just ridiculous even by Kamran Akmal's standard!

none of them he could even get close to.

Bumrah, Ishant and SHami were getting wild swing and Pant missed most of them by about 5 feet. Not his fault. His catching is superb and for a youngster playing first time in English conditions, he did well with the gloves.

India's entire cricketing set-up and management shows poor planning. Whether it's the Asia cup squad, the timing of the one off test vs Afghanistan, the lack of preparation for the England tour, the lack of preparation in finding a long term Dhoni replacement etc etc.

Yes. With all that is going on in India, it would be good to see.

Agreed. Giving minorities a place in the XI is always good to see. Hopefully Pakistan can do the same with upcoming Sikh/Hindu cricketers if they deserve it.

Pathetic Indian selectors!!!

There we're times like 1996 or 99 when we as supprtors we we're content with our performances because we had nothing players like mohanty ,Robin Singh, manjeraker,v raju etc.even salil ankola has played wc semi final. If we did achieve anything it was because we punvhed above our weight.If we under perform in this particular world cup it will be solely due lacj of balls by our pathetic selectors.
I mean are they high or what.Please count the number of blunders:
1. Selecting sorrya$$ shatdul thakur over guys like shami,deepak chahhar,umesh yadav,kamlesh nagarkoti . How many times does he have to give evidence that he does not belong to this level of cricket.
2. Persisting with dinesh karthik they acting like domestic victim wife who keeps getting back to his husband in hope that things will be better.

3.Ignoring Rishab freaking Pant when one thing we lack in this team is power hitters.
4. Choosing Axar Patel over Ravindra Jadeja or Krunal Pandya.
5.Stacking the team with top order batsmen when our problem for more than year has been lack of good middle lower order bats who can end with a flourish. They are not trying anyone but hoping against hope that MSD will click.
Finally toMSD we love u. These bunch of jokers will never do the right thing You have to take the brave call. Why spoil a great legacy for no rhyme or reason.
No matter what happens in this tournament. Even if we beat Pakistan thrice. If this is the core of the team for next wc their is no chance for us.

Absolutely. Indian selectors holding team back. Why the hell the they not selecting krunal, pant, Agrawal. Msk prasad is a joker.

You cant blame them when great talent like Shardul thakur and jaydev unadkat is knocking at the door.

[MENTION=131678]Madplayer[/MENTION] It's like saying kakmal is knocking at the door of Pakistan team. You know, you can't select them however good they performed at domestic level

They are experts at recrycling the TTFs.

Thankfully DK and Shardul proved how useless they are. But my fear is for the WI series, Rahane and Dhawal Kulkarni/Mohit Sharma might come back.

BTW our current selection committee has to be worst ever assembled. Put together they have not even played 15 tests and 30 ODIs!
MSK Prasad - 6 tests, 17 ODIs
Sharandeep Singh - 3 tests, 5 ODIs
Devang Gandhi - 4 tests, 3 ODIs
Gagan Khoda - 2 ODIs
Jatin Paranjape - 4 ODIs

Iamgine paying INR 70 Lakhs - 1 Crore per annum ($100K-$140K) to these jokers!!

Thankfully they are unlikely to get any further extension unless the dictators of CoA decide otherwise.

forget asia cup, 2019 WC is going to be a disaster if Sastri sticks around.

Looking at the last game, and selectors' strange reluctance to field in new players, means this could be a repeat of 2007 WC. Exactly similar issues as we had then. Squad full of ageing players inspite of Greg wanting players like Suresh Raina in the team. Selectors couldn't muster the courage to drop Ganguly. Then you had Tendulkar who was sulking that he was asked to bat at no: 4. Baring Robin Uthappa, there wasn't even a single under 25 batsman in the team. Ganguly/Dravid/SRT/Sehwag were all in early to mid 30s.

Funny thing is almost with the same squad (minus Dada and Dravid) we won a WC at home in 2011, when Sachin, Sehwag, Yuvraj, Zaheer, Bhajji, Munaf and Dhoni were 4 years older!

So you are saying these guys should stick around until 2023? :P

No one is saying that we shud play 11 under 30 players but to not have any youngsters is disastorous. 2007 team was one such team. 2011 WC was 1. At home 2. Didn't have old legs of Kumble, Dravid, Ganguly in playing xi. It had instead Suresh Raina, Gambhir and Kohli.

Now no Rahul, but Dk and jadhav are playing. This is seriously bad by Rohit. Playing his mate KD over Rahul.

Pandya, Axar and Shardul have been ruled out. And whom do we pick?
Chahar for Pandya
Jadeja for Axar
Kaul for Shardul

The endless love for trundlers of this selection committee continues.