Inflation during the PTI tenure

Major

Test Star
ISLAMABAD: Inflation has entered double digits in the first month of the new fiscal year, the biggest increase in five years and nine months.

Inflation, measured by the Consumer Price Index (CPI), rose to 10.34 per cent in July this year from 8.9pc the preceding month, the Pakistan Bureau of Statistics said on Thursday. During the same month last year, inflation stood at 5.84pc.

The last time inflation entered the double digits was in November 2013 and recorded at 10.9pc.

The upward adjustments in prices of petroleum products over the past few months, followed by an increase in electricity and gas tariffs fuelled the total inflation. The government also introduced certain tax measures, the cumulative impact of which dragged the overall inflation to double digits. The rupee depreciation also led to an increase in prices of imported consumer and non-consumer items, especially raw material used in manufacturing of industrial products, over the past few months.

The government has projected an inflation target of 11pc to 13pc for the fiscal year 2019-20, compared to 7.3pc recorded in 2018-19. Price levels, perked up in the first month of the current fiscal year, appear to have been driven by a spike in non-food inflation in July.

Upward adjustments in prices of petroleum products, electricity and gas fuel total inflation

The CPI tracks the prices of around 480 commodities every month in urban centres across the country.

Food inflation was up 9.2pc on an annual basis, but surged 1.5pc on a monthly basis. Prices of non-perishable food items rose by 7.85pc and those of perishable products by 8.06pc in July.

Food items whose prices increased the most in July were: potatoes 16.84pc, pulse moong 5.41pc, eggs 5.06pc, gur 4.80pc, pulse mash 4.50pc, wheat flour 3.58pc, fresh vegetables 3.56pc, pulse masoor 2.83pc, vegetable ghee 2.49pc, bakery and confectionary 2.45pc, rice 1.77pc, milk fresh 1.41pc, pulse gram 1.31pc, tomatoes 1.17pc, sugar 1.09pc and meat 0.93pc. In the same category, however, prices of chicken declined by 8.26pc, fresh fruit 7.95pc, onions 1.73pc and betel leaves & nuts 0.65pc.

On the other hand, non-food inflation increased 11.1pc on a yearly basis and 2.8pc on a monthly basis. The increase is mainly driven by higher oil prices over the past few months and the combined impact of the depreciation of the exchange rate. The government passed on this increase to domestic consumers.

Non-food prices also remained under pressure on account of education index, which increased to 6.9pc. Clothing and footwear went up by 7.4pc, housing, water, electricity, gas and other fuels by 12.74pc, furnishing and household equipment by 10.17pc, health by 8.97pc, transport by 14.67 pc and recreation and culture by 7.67pc.

Core inflation, measured by excluding volatile food and energy prices, was recorded at 7.8pc on a yearly basis and 1.7pc on a monthly basis.

On July 16, the State Bank of Pakistan has raised its main policy rate by 100 basis points to 13.25 per cent, citing increased inflationary pressures and a likely near-term rise in prices from higher utility costs.

The gradual build-up of domestic demand is evident in the rising core inflation. Of the 89 commodity groups of CPI, it covers the price movement of 43 items. Due to a continuous increase in education and healthcare costs, core inflation remained higher on average, compared to the same period last year.

Average inflation measured by the Sensitive Price Index crawled up 12.16pc in July as against 3.58pc the previous year, while the Wholesale Price Index was up 13.46pc, compared to 10.50pc in 2018-19.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1497596/inflation-hits-double-digits-after-nearly-six-years

Mein inko rulao ga.

waqee mein rula ray hai

btw, dawn source, so must be fake news. there is no inflation in pakistan. Dawn propaganda.

We are living in the worst period of our history. Things have gone out of reach

I hope the thread starter is protesting against the PMLN and PPP who put Pakistan in to this mess...

Khan is doodh ka dhula with his fake promises while living in lalaland.

Gross mismanagement by PTI is only reason of this chaos

I think root cause of the problem are the crooks that governed the country and messed up the economy, especially in the last 10 years or so.
The only people who fail to see this are the ones that befitted from the corruption. Are you one of those?

Yes, when your incompetent looters leave the country in such a mess then you blame the new government! Stop being dishonest as you know how Pakistan was mis managed for 10 years!

The selected must go.No place for incompetence.

The most incompetent government in Pakistan history by some distance. The corrupt PMLN was far better than them because they had at least a semblance of idea about governance. This government is a circus.

The only people who are celebrating are hypocritical overseas PTI supporters because it doesn’t have any impact on them.

The most incompetent government in Pakistan history by some distance. The corrupt PMLN was far better than them because they had at least a semblance of idea about governance. This government is a circus.

The only people who are celebrating are hypocritical overseas PTI supporters because it doesn’t have any impact on them.

Ignorant as usual

PTI and their supporters have carefully crafted a win-win situation for themselves.

By conveniently blaming the previous governments, they have given themselves breathing space to pretty much do whatever they want without accountability.

If they are able to drive the economy in the right direction, they will take all the credit. However, if they make things worse, they will deflect the blame by stating that the mess was too big for them to set things right.

Cult members refuse to answer the tough questions:

- how much time does PTI need before they will stop blaming and abusing previous governments?

2 years? 5 years? 10 years? Is there a number or is it subjected to PTI’s convenience?

- when can we expect PTI to get a grip on things? Again, is there a rough date in sight? The inflation as well as the devaluation of the rupee is making it tough for people to survive in this country.

We keep hearing that Pakistan has to go through this tough period because of the looting of the previous governments, but for how long will this tough period last?

Yes let’s blame Nawaz Sharif for all of this, but what will be the rate of USD, the price of petrol and everyday essentials after X years of Madinah Riyasat?

Cult members are not prepared to answer tough questions. They can only run their mouths and blame previous governments for every goof-up of this government. The way they have handled the finance ministry in the last 12 months shows they have no idea what they are doing.

Overseas Cult members want everyone to believe that this government is flawless and every decision that they take is perfect and we all have to trust them blindly.

Why did you vote for IK/PTI?

PTI and their supporters have carefully crafted a win-win situation for themselves.

By conveniently blaming the previous governments, they have given themselves breathing space to pretty much do whatever they want without accountability.

If they are able to drive the economy in the right direction, they will take all the credit. However, if they make things worse, they will deflect the blame by stating that the mess was too big for them to set things right.

- how much time does PTI need before they will stop blaming and abusing previous governments?

2 years? 5 years? 10 years? Is there a number or is it subjected to PTI’s convenience?

- when can we expect PTI to get a grip on things? Again, is there a rough date in sight? The inflation as well as the devaluation of the rupee is making it tough for people to survive in this country.

We keep hearing that Pakistan has to go through this tough period because of the looting of the previous governments, but for how long will this tough period last?

Yes let’s blame Nawaz Sharif for all of this, but what will be the rate of USD, the price of petrol and everyday essentials after X years of Madinah Riyasat?

Cult members are not prepared to answer tough questions. They can only run their mouths and blame previous governments for every goof-up of this government. The way they have handled the finance ministry in the last 12 months shows they have no idea what they are doing.

Overseas Cult members want everyone to believe that this government is flawless and every decision that they take is perfect and we all have to trust them blindly.

Why did you vote for IK/PTI?

You cannot answer a simple question being an indigenous Pakistani, or so you claim to be.

Are you not sat abroad too?

Even the IMF has the previous governments for the current economic situation. I’m sure they are ”overseas PTI supporters” as well.

The current economic situation was inevitable, regardless of who would be in power.

Yes, but his being abroad is the equivalent of one of Maryam/Bilawal's halal u-turns.

It's all hot air and bluster with him, you'd think for someone who scribes 3-4 paragraphs, there would be something factual, instead it's pitiful bitterness.

No. As a real Pakistani, I am providing my services to the Pakistani public and playing my part here. Pakistan will develop when qualified people don’t leave the country to settle abroad.

Living in Europe, North America or Australia and sending money to Pakistan might clear someone’s conscience but it will not help develop the country.

Even the IMF has the previous governments for the current economic situation. I’m sure they are ”overseas PTI supporters” as well.

The current economic situation was inevitable, regardless of who would be in power.

I agree, but when do we stop looking at the past and see results of PTI’s successful governance?

Someone sent me this on WhatsApp a few days ago. I couldn’t have explained it better.

Who are we?
Overseas Pakistanis

Where do we live?
USA/Canada/UK

Who do we support?
Tabdeeli Khan

Where do we want this Tabdeeli?
In Pakistan

How many of us want to go back and live in Pakistan?
None

What does that make us?
Hypocrites

What do we want?
Riasat madina in Pakistan

So what's your point OP? That after ruling for 5 years between 2008-2013 your beloved PPP left us a mess that hit double digit inflation when PMLN came into power in 2013 and first year of PMLN the inflation was 8-10? So what exactly is your points?

OP is a PPP jiyala and indirectly he is saying that after ruling for 5 years PPP left us a mess with double digit inflation in 2013 :yk

When articles backed by fact are posted the supporters of corruption disappear and then suddenly rear their ugly heads when another thread is started...

It’s a vicious cycle... that keeps going round and round.

I agree, but when do we stop looking at the past and see results of PTI’s successful governance?

So you want to see results of decades of mismanagement, looting etc undone in less than an year? Rome wasn't built in a day. In fact you even didn't give it an year as you started whining and expecting results (miracles) from the very first day.

Fact of the matter is you do not care about any results and just want an excuse to bash the current government.

So you want to see results of decades of mismanagement, looting etc undone in less than an year? Rome wasn't built in a day. In fact you even didn't give it an year as you started whining and expecting results (miracles) from the very first day.

Fact of the matter is you do not care about any results and just want an excuse to bash the current government.

I expect him to pin point every little mistake of PTI even if they start delivering he just want to cry.

I don't get how Shri [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] Ji wanna be Tarek Fateh keeps spewing filth about overseas Pakistanis while it is 17million Pakistan resident Pakistanis who voted for PTI in the free-est and fairest elections held in our history, as accepted by even world organizations.

Also if PTI voter bank had left PTI then you would have seen mass protests or even more people turning up to Nani Tweetni's jalsas :)))

Must hurt to know that the person you despise with all your heart is so near and dear to majority of your compatriots. IK will be PM after the 2023 elections as well. Karlo jo karna hai. Maybe you will vote for him again, maybe your mind gets "hacked" at the polling booth :yk

Someone sent me this on WhatsApp a few days ago. I couldn’t have explained it better.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but overseas Pakistani's weren't allowed to vote at the election, so how was he elected?

Oh yea, that's right, local 'Pakistani' people like you voted him in, Chowkidaar Shri [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] Ji.

Give PTI at least 2 years. PTI is still busy trying to fix the old problems.

One thing i’ll blame PTI for is that they shouldn’t have waited so long to go to the IMF, should’ve approached them straight after assuming office.

Tbh Pakistanis send remittances back to Pakistan to help their families. It is a favourable byproduct that it helps the economy but not the original intention.

True. The intention might not be to help Pakistan’s economy but at least they contribute to the economy.

I agree it wasn’t built in a day, and that brings me back to my question. How many days will it take for Pakistan’s Rome to build?

Or, how long before PTI is held accountable for their own performance and the “they inherited a mess” card is not played? It appears that 1 year is not enough, but surely a point will come where blaming others will no longer be valid. I wonder when that will be.

https://m.khaleejtimes.com/remittances-keep-pakistans-economy-afloat

Overseas Pakistanis help the Pak economy though. A lot of African and Latin American immigrants in the west don’t even care about their own country so much, at least overseas Pakistanis care about their own country.

In the grand scheme of things, it has negligible impact because it is offset by the brain-drain that the country suffers from. Pakistan needs to control the rate at which it loses its human capital.

That’s a major issue for all developing countries though. I read somewhere that dozens of Indian millionaires are leaving India every year.

Shri Mamoon ji you should stick to checking if people have flu or not, economics is not your cup of tea.

Remittances are almost equal to exports. 220 million Pakistanis export $25b while roughly 8million overseas Pakistanis remit $20b every single year. This is the only thing keeping the economy's head above water. Without this foreign exchange coming in each dollar will cost upwards of 500 ruppees. I suggest you stick to things you know.

Also funny you keep bringing in overseas, but ignore the fact that 17 million Pakistanis in Pakistan voted for PTI. Moh chalwalo bus patwariyon se.

I agree it wasn’t built in a day, and that brings me back to my question. How many days will it take for Pakistan’s Rome to build?

Or, how long before PTI is held accountable for their own performance and the “they inherited a mess” card is not played? It appears that 1 year is not enough, but surely a point will come where blaming others will no longer be valid. I wonder when that will be.

When Rome was being built did they say how many days it would take? After WW2 when Germany, Japan, Britain and the lot were rebuilding did they know exactly how long it would take?

Rebuilding is a long and arduous process which is in Pakistans case made even more complicated because of the opposition parties who have nothing but their own interest in mind along with many misinformed and uneducated people.

The current government is trying it's best to try to undo all the damage done by the previous looteras, it may not be the best given it's in the infancy stages but it's the best option the country has. They have made some mistakes and their supporters have called them out on them unlike the followers of the other parties.

Instead of criticising them at every juncture, give them a chance, they will learn through trial and error like most new governments fighting to undo past mismanagement/corruption and eradicate decade long practices.

But all I see is certain people just blindly pouncing on every little thing be it right or wrong. These are pretty people who are just looking to point score instead of actually caring about what is good for the country in the long term.

So i visited Pakistan and Azad Kashmir last month, and let me tell you almost no one is happy with Imran Khan. I think i only met one person who still supported IK, he was my taxi driver from Islamabad Airport to my Khala's house. Other than that, everyone only had complaints, and they were quick to highlight the incompetence shown by this government. People are also against all the restrictions that have been placed by this government. I personally feel they are important for the country to move in the right direction.

I still support IK to at least bring something new, a country with minimum corruption, a country with discipline, a country with a strong system, a foundation that could be build on in the future by others, as much time is required to correct this mess of a country.

So i visited Pakistan and Azad Kashmir last month, and let me tell you almost no one is happy with Imran Khan. I think i only met one person who still supported IK, he was my taxi driver from Islamabad Airport to my Khala's house. Other than that, everyone only had complaints, and they were quick to highlight the incompetence shown by this government. People are also against all the restrictions that have been placed by this government. I personally feel they are important for the country to move in the right direction.

I still support IK to at least bring something new, a country with minimum corruption, a country with discipline, a country with a strong system, a foundation that could be build on in the future by others, as much time is required to correct this mess of a country.

DId they vote for IK last year? Most of my relatives in Lahore are also bashing IK all day but that's only because they have been hardcore PMLN supporters since forever.

I think IK is taking some brave and unpopular decisions that will undoubtedly bring misery for the masses in the short term. But i feel like those decisions are needed for Pakistan if it ever wants to escape the rotten situation it has been in and actually start prospering.
But then again, i was born and raised in the west so someone living in Pakistan may judge the government and it's performance better than me.

PTI and Khan both are disaster for us.

It is getting impossible to meet day to day expenses

I don't get how Shri [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] Ji wanna be Tarek Fateh keeps spewing filth about overseas Pakistanis while it is 17million Pakistan resident Pakistanis who voted for PTI in the free-est and fairest elections held in our history, as accepted by even world organizations.

Also if PTI voter bank had left PTI then you would have seen mass protests or even more people turning up to Nani Tweetni's jalsas :)))

Must hurt to know that the person you despise with all your heart is so near and dear to majority of your compatriots. IK will be PM after the 2023 elections as well. Karlo jo karna hai. Maybe you will vote for him again, maybe your mind gets "hacked" at the polling booth :yk

Which 17 million Pakistanis? Army openly rigged the ballot boxes to get the new puppet on board. If you believe otherwise, keep on living in your fantasy world.

Also other than IK, majority of the main ministers are the same corrupt Lotay from Ppp & Pml (n) or directly the retired army officers. What tabdeeli are you expecting from these blood sucking leeches?

Which 17 million Pakistanis? Army openly rigged the ballot boxes to get the new puppet on board. If you believe otherwise, keep on living in your fantasy world.

Also other than IK, majority of the main ministers are the same corrupt Lotay from Ppp & Pml (n) or directly the retired army officers. What tabdeeli are you expecting from these blood sucking leeches?

Actually from what I remember IK was leading by quite a margin before the "glitch" happened and he ended up with quite a lot of less votes/seats than initially anticipated. Something fishy definitely happened.

Don't run mouth... I voted myself there were only army officers posted outside polling stations for security. This ballot box stuffing is propaganda by PPP and Noon League. Everybody has cellphone these days why didn't we see a single video.

Only talk when you have some knowledge child.

PTI and Khan both are disaster for us.

It is getting impossible to meet day to day expenses

IK is trying to reduce circular debt.

PMLN and PPP ran the economy to the ground. The products were cheaper to the end consumer because they artificially regulated the pakistani rupee to dollar exchange rate. PMLN spent billions of dollars for this.

Their economic model was not sustainable. Taking loans in the tens of billions to subsidize.

You realize that the loans have to be paid off at some point right (with interest)?

PMLN and PPP also did not work on the export market, which further causes issues if your country is importing a lot more than exporting. How can you pay off the billions in loans, if you have a deficit in import-exports?

Take more loans to pay off existing loans?

Like I said not sustainable, the country's economy was going down the toilet, even though things were cheaper.

Inshallah, this government is doing things right. There will be a period of hardship, and then things will start to improve.

DId they vote for IK last year? Most of my relatives in Lahore are also bashing IK all day but that's only because they have been hardcore PMLN supporters since forever.

I think IK is taking some brave and unpopular decisions that will undoubtedly bring misery for the masses in the short term. But i feel like those decisions are needed for Pakistan if it ever wants to escape the rotten situation it has been in and actually start prospering.
But then again, i was born and raised in the west so someone living in Pakistan may judge the government and it's performance better than me.

Two types of Parents.

One type that lets their kids eat candy for dinner.

One type that makes their kids eat vegetables and a balanced diet for dinner.

Kids might be happier with the parents that let them eat candy for dinner, however, in the long run what will benefit them more?

You guys can support current government through cannibalism or highest degree of felony as well.

Whereas their performance is disaster.

Par wahi jaanay jis par beetay.

Allah aap logon ko hidayat dain.

You guys can support current government through cannibalism or highest degree of felony as well.

Whereas their performance is disaster.

Par wahi jaanay jis par beetay.

Allah aap logon ko hidayat dain.

Explain to me how PMLN economics was sustainable, and I will change my mind.

The ballot counting glitch is an open secret, that Everyone in Pakistan knows about.

Also its common knowledge that who pulls the strings behind the scenes. If you think these are blatant lies, then keep on burying your head in the sand. Anyways enuf time wasted on answering your posts.

The ballot counting glitch is an open secret, that Everyone in Pakistan knows about.

Also its common knowledge that who pulls the strings behind the scenes. If you think these are blatant lies, then keep on burying your head in the sand. Anyways enuf time wasted on answering your posts.

The elections may or may not be rigged.

But if I am looking at this objectively, and take off my PTI supporter hat. The elections looked very much rigged in 2013. To what extent, who knows, but they were rigged there were a lot of fishy events.

Now why would a PTI supporter have sympathy against others crying foul this time?

Similarly, PTI campaigned to have secret ballots removed in parliament, this was shut down by the government in power at that time.

Now why should a PTI supporter have sympathy against others crying foul against a system they defended?

PMLN and PPP have created a system that benefited them for so long with zero accountability. Not that someone else has broken their monopoly, suddenly it is an unfair system?

They call IK selected. Where did Nawaz come from? Was he not General Zia's shoe polisher?

Now suddenly all these PMLN and PPP supporters are lovers of democracy?

If IK was selected, honestly its not a bad thing if Pakistan comes out of the family dynasty politics. Nawaz and Benazir were competent leaders according to some, but are Maryam and Zardari? How about their children, or grand children, will they also be competent? Or will they collect votes based on their family names and do nothing for the country?

But if I am looking at this objectively, and take off my PTI supporter hat. The elections looked very much rigged in 2013. To what extent, who knows, but they were rigged there were a lot of fishy events.

Now why would a PTI supporter have sympathy against others crying foul this time?

Similarly, PTI campaigned to have secret ballots removed in parliament, this was shut down by the government in power at that time.

Now why should a PTI supporter have sympathy against others crying foul against a system they defended?

PMLN and PPP have created a system that benefited them for so long with zero accountability. Not that someone else has broken their monopoly, suddenly it is an unfair system?

They call IK selected. Where did Nawaz come from? Was he not General Zia's shoe polisher?

If IK was selected, honestly its not a bad thing if Pakistan comes out of the family dynasty politics. Nawaz and Benazir were competent leaders according to some, but are Maryam and Zardari? How about their children, or grand children, will they also be competent? Or will they collect votes based on their family names and do nothing for the country?

I tip my hat to your patience sir. I for one loose my cool against the supporters of this abu bachao toola.

True that and for a loong time now, the “democratic parties” in pakistan get ‘selected’ if they fit the agenda of the real masters. They are the ones who hold real power and corrupt politicians like Nawaz and Zardari are accepted (and allowed to get away with open corruption) as long as they serve the purpose!

Zardari has always been corrupt but was even “allowed” to become the President of Pakistan. This is the same thing what Americans had been been doing with their Pet Dictators like Saddam and Qadafi.

So the main question is why should we just focus on nominal penalties on these puppet politicians and not the real root cause of them being instated on us? Why not openly protest and revolt against Army rule?

I tip my hat to your patience sir. I for one loose my cool against the supporters of this abu bachao toola.

Haha, I feel your frustration.

I am not here to change people's minds though. Just to get my thoughts out there.

I feel when you are trying to change someone's mind, thats when the frustration comes in, as you cannot make a blind person see.

True that and for a loong time now, the “democratic parties” in pakistan get ‘selected’ if they fit the agenda of the real masters. They are the ones who hold real power and corrupt politicians like Nawaz and Zardari are accepted (and allowed to get away with open corruption) as long as they serve the purpose!

Zardari has always been corrupt but was even “allowed” to become the President of Pakistan. This is the same thing what Americans had been been doing with their Pet Dictators like Saddam and Qadafi.

So the main question is why should we just focus on nominal penalties on these puppet politicians and not the real root cause of them being instated on us? Why not openly protest and revolt against Army rule?

Lets run through your hypothetical. Lets assume there is an open revolt against the "army rule".

1000 protesters will be made to look like 100 million on Indian news stations.

Foreign governments will see the greatest opportunity in the history of Pakistan to install a puppet regime.

See what happened to Syria, Libya, and Iraq.

Yes lets bring on the Pakistani Spring, that is if Pakistanis want to live like Syrians.

End of dream (for you, or nightmare for someone like me). Then we wake up.

What makes you think, life after the army will be so rosy? You think Indians will give up trying to get Kashmir, or balkanizing Pakistan? You think Afghanistan will give up on their dream of owning Pakistani land until attock?

You think CIA will give up the chance to install a puppet regime in Pakistan that bends the knee at their command?

These are not conspiracy theories by the way, looking at Syria, Iraq, Libya, etc.. these are the types of things happening in the world.

2.5-3 years

2.5-3 years

Thats too less, not sure why you think economic turns would happen in 3 years.

Rapidly reforming Economy will always cause issues, one example is Indian economy, what GOI is doing is not necessarily bad, but a hassle for big and small businesses, after what IK is doing there would be slowness for atleast 2 years.

That makes a total of atleast 5.. but thats my personal opinion.

Lets run through your hypothetical. Lets assume there is an open revolt against the "army rule".

1000 protesters will be made to look like 100 million on Indian news stations.

Foreign governments will see the greatest opportunity in the history of Pakistan to install a puppet regime.

See what happened to Syria, Libya, and Iraq.

Yes lets bring on the Pakistani Spring, that is if Pakistanis want to live like Syrians.

End of dream (for you, or nightmare for someone like me). Then we wake up.

What makes you think, life after the army will be so rosy? You think Indians will give up trying to get Kashmir, or balkanizing Pakistan? You think Afghanistan will give up on their dream of owning Pakistani land until attock?

You think CIA will give up the chance to install a puppet regime in Pakistan that bends the knee at their command?

These are not conspiracy theories by the way, looking at Syria, Iraq, Libya, etc.. these are the types of things happening in the world.

Not sure why you going on a tangent here. I was only drawing a parallel with How US would treat its former puppets, is how Pak army deals with politicians it once itself installed.

Life after getting rid of army control can obviously be rozy because then the country can focus on betterment of ordinary people and not just one group. Plenty of examples out there like Turkey and Malaysia, where a democratically elected government has made things happen for common public.

Why would US have to have a puppet regime installed in Pakistan? What will they get out of it? (Btw: our current and past rulers already ve been puppet enough anyway by allowing US to use Pakistani soil for launching war against its own people and in Afghanistan. Saudia and others can easily rent the services of Pak army by paying the right price). Majority of our politicians and Army generals (like Raheel Shareef and Mush) leave country after retirement anyway. So do 1+1.
Hence it cant go any more ‘puppet like’ when it comes to foreign interests.

Two types of Parents.

One type that lets their kids eat candy for dinner.

One type that makes their kids eat vegetables and a balanced diet for dinner.

Kids might be happier with the parents that let them eat candy for dinner, however, in the long run what will benefit them more?

This line of thinking that goes "government is like our parents who care for us" doesn't work always …..

Not sure why you going on a tangent here. I was only drawing a parallel with How US would treat its former puppets, is how Pak army deals with politicians it once itself installed.

Life after getting rid of army control can obviously be rozy because then the country can focus on betterment of ordinary people and not just one group. Plenty of examples out there like Turkey and Malaysia, where a democratically elected government has made things happen for common public.

Why would US have to have a puppet regime installed in Pakistan? What will they get out of it? (Btw: our current and past rulers already ve been puppet enough anyway by allowing US to use Pakistani soil for launching war against its own people and in Afghanistan. Saudia and others can easily rent the services of Pak army by paying the right price). Majority of our politicians and Army generals (like Raheel Shareef and Mush) leave country after retirement anyway. So do 1+1.
Hence it cant go any more ‘puppet like’ when it comes to foreign interests.

Why would US want to install a puppet regime in Pakistan?

For a host of reasons:

- Pakistan is close allies with China (United States strategic rival).
- Pakistan is located in a strategic geographic location which ties China, as well as certain landlocked central Asian countries to warm waters.
- Pakistan is neighbors with Iran (whom United States has a rivalry with)
- Pakistan is the only muslim majority country with nuclear weapons
- Many more reasons.

Pakistan has conceded many things to United States, however has never been a puppet country to them. That is evidence in U.S's frustration with Pakistan, telling Pakistan to do more, and calling out Pakistan as secretly going against U.S. interests in the region.

So you can either argue that Pakistan was a puppet country, or that Pakistan played both sides and was only really in it for its own strategic purposes. You can argue one side or the other, but evidence points to Pakistan not really listening to the U.S. when it came to the greater strategic interests of the state.

This line of thinking that goes "government is like our parents who care for us" doesn't work always …..

In this scenario this analogy works, where PMLN government was subsidizing costs of the average citizen by taking billions of dollars of loans versus PTI which is making the hard decisions that will pay long term dividends.

All I was trying to say was that yes a certain segment of society would be happier with PMLN continuing their policy of artificially keeping the rupee overvalued, but that caused billions in loans that we now have no way of paying off since PMLN also did not invest in the export sector. However, would this economic policy be sustainable? Answer is no, which is why the country is in the mess right now.

Now that PTI is trying to reduce the circular debt, it is obviously going to effect the common person.

They wrongly see it is PTI's fault that inflation and interest rates have gone up, but they are just trying to fix what PMLN / PPP broke.

In this joke of an unstable economy thanks to Imran Khan, Kashmir is the last thing we would worry about.

Your posts reflect how effective FBR is becoming when the noose is tightening around those living way beyond their means and pay zero tax. Well done IK and Shabbar Zaidi.

Do you have any idea how much i'm paying in taxes?

You can only bark because you cannot be productive.

This is why you selfishly left this country rather than struggling here to not only improve yourself but this country as well.

Why would US want to install a puppet regime in Pakistan?

For a host of reasons:

- Pakistan is close allies with China (United States strategic rival).
- Pakistan is located in a strategic geographic location which ties China, as well as certain landlocked central Asian countries to warm waters.
- Pakistan is neighbors with Iran (whom United States has a rivalry with)
- Pakistan is the only muslim majority country with nuclear weapons
- Many more reasons.

Pakistan has conceded many things to United States, however has never been a puppet country to them. That is evidence in U.S's frustration with Pakistan, telling Pakistan to do more, and calling out Pakistan as secretly going against U.S. interests in the region.

So you can either argue that Pakistan was a puppet country, or that Pakistan played both sides and was only really in it for its own strategic purposes. You can argue one side or the other, but evidence points to Pakistan not really listening to the U.S. when it came to the greater strategic interests of the state.

Played both sides, I don’t think so. Even if army did, so the $$$ only ended in its own pocket and not spent on Aam awam. The remaining crumbs are fed to corrupt politicians in every era.

What ordinary Pakistanis got out the whole thing is: more control to the boots, less press freedom, afghan imports of drugs and weapons, sectarian terrorism a poor economy.

Tell me a single “significant” decision (in terms of foreign policy) Pakistani has ever taken on basis of principles and against will of Western powers?

As for Iran, its not really a threat to the US in military, economy or any other sense. They just created the phantom enemy (like N.Korea) to keep a large military presence in the middle east. Its just being used as a dangling carrot.

Otherwise if they really had any real intention, they could long have done a Iraq like ‘Desert Storm-2’ in Iran long ago. Contrary to the inflated ego of many, the geo-political importance of Pakistan is limited to being a handy logistical base and to contain both India and China in some subtle way.

As for Iran, its not really a threat to the US in military, economy or any other sense. They just created the phantom enemy (like N.Korea) to keep a large military presence in the middle east. Its just being used as a dangling carrot.

Otherwise if they really had any real intention, they could long have done a Iraq like ‘Desert Storm-2’ in Iran long ago. Contrary to the inflated ego of many, the geo-political importance of Pakistan is limited to being a handy logistical base and to contain both India and China in some subtle way.

Pakistan's geo-strategic importance is much more than that. It's vital for the US in their war in Afghanistan and we will provide Russia and China with a faster and better route to the Arabian Sea and the Indian Ocean. If not for our strategic location, we would be less internationally important given our economic situation.

Played both sides, I don’t think so. Even if army did, so the $$$ only ended in its own pocket and not spent on Aam awam. The remaining crumbs are fed to corrupt politicians in every era.

What ordinary Pakistanis got out the whole thing is: more control to the boots, less press freedom, afghan imports of drugs and weapons, sectarian terrorism a poor economy.

Tell me a single “significant” decision (in terms of foreign policy) Pakistani has ever taken on basis of principles and against will of Western powers?

Pakistan has not got involved in the Iran / Yemen mess. Much to Saudi Arabia's anger by the way.

Pakistan realized earlier on that Americans will not have the stomach to stay in Afghanistan for any meaningful amount of time, therefore did not make enemies with Afghan Taliban, even though it cost them the relationship with the American government including billions in aid. Pakistan knew there is no military solution against Afghan taliban, because the terrain of Afghanistan is such that no country can occupy them for long.

Pakistan has long advocated for Palestinian rights as a principled stance. One of the few countries that does not recognize the state of Israel.

Pakistan developed a nuclear weapons program even though many nations were against it, as once India had a program Pakistan needed to have one too.

Numerous times in history Pakistan has defied western nations for personal strategic interests.

Yes, at the same time, to survive they have had to make some concessions. When the world strongest military comes to you and says, you are with us or against us, you have to play the game. Doesnt mean you are their puppet, as the United States quickly realized.

Not saying that all the above decisions were correct or not, but to say Pakistani regimes have all been foreign puppets is false. Pakistan has mostly done what it felt was its strategic objective right or wrong.

This is why you selfishly left this country rather than struggling here to not only improve yourself but this country as well.

The problem is Pakistan was not improving for last 2 terms of PMLN and PPP.

PTI has had 1 year trying to reverse poor policies of PMLN and PPP yet you are blaming them.

No country can survive by taking loans to pay off loans.

If these decisions were not reversed now, they would have been a lot worse decisions Pakistan would have to take in the future.

The poor are suffering right now, because PTI is trying to fix what other parties did to the economy. There will be a period of suffering but things should start to improve.

As you claim to be unemployed then zero income tax?

PTI has had 1 year trying to reverse poor policies of PMLN and PPP yet you are blaming them.

If these decisions were not reversed now, they would have been a lot worse decisions Pakistan would have to take in the future.

The poor are suffering right now, because PTI is trying to fix what other parties did to the economy. There will be a period of suffering but things should start to improve.

The poor are suffering yet it’s some of the offspring of the middle and upper class people that are shouting the loudest...

The only way I could shut his mouth up as he was baselessly calling me a tax chor.

Your posts reflect how effective FBR is becoming when the noose is tightening around those living way beyond their means and pay zero tax. Well done IK and Shabbar Zaidi.

Na ker bhai ajj Patwari ro daingay :-D haqeeqat itni bayan kero keh bardasht ho sakay. En kay pappa 1999 main hathiyar na daltay to yeh din na daikhnay partay bhool jatay hain yeh log.

Agree, and few blind Noora's are trying their best to prove Nawaz and Baaji Mariyam are the only ones who can save Pakistan from this situation. Neglecting the fact their they are the main reason why Pakistan is in this condition. Ask Nawaz Shareef what he will do in this situation, " Meet Hema Malini or Waheeda Rahman"

The poor are suffering yet it’s some of the offspring of the middle and upper class people that are shouting the loudest...

To be fair, the poor are also visibly upset.

The thing is, the poor do not have the capacity to withstand the inflation. They work daily to pay for the next day's meal.

They do not have the financial capacity to look at the larger picture or the long term goals. They just want to be able to feed their children today and tomorrow.

So if you talk to them about billions in loans to artificially overvalue the rupee, they will still go on about how their life was easier during Nawaz's era.

I dont blame them, but the issue is if Pakistan continued down that path, there would be an even larger financial crises in the future.

So, imo humble opinion, without being an economist, I think PTI is making the right calls but time will tell.

The people criticising the economic policies need to explanation what their alternative is to devaluation.

Pakistan simply had to devalue, the previous government was artificially propping up the rupee to fund cheap imports which also burned up the foreign exchange reserves. Somebody will always end up paying the price for short-term economics.