Is PSL best among other leagues in producing thrillers?

malik junaid

I think psl is best in producing close contests. Quality of cricket is of high standards. Pitches are supportive for both bat and ball which is good to have balance instead of flat roads on which only bowlers are murdered.

Except Sharjah , the pitches in the PSL are worse among all the major T20 leagues.

what sort of pitch is ideal? Where bowlers get murdered? Scores in PSL have generally been in 140-170 range which are very good scores for both batsmen and bowlers. There have been a couple of very low and very high scoring games too.

more than IPL, I reckon

one day you see 5 runs being defended in 6 bowls

and on the same pitch you see

10 runs of two bowls on the very next day.

Good to see games have been worth watching. PSL has become a success story which is a good thing for Pak cricket.

We do not have world class batters. Hardly see any contribution from them. So obviously every match is a close contest.

I don't watch IPL but cricket is about bat AND ball not just mindless slog fest, PSL is providing a good exhibition of matches in which both facets of the game have a say.

We do not have world class batters. Hardly see any contribution from them. So obviously every match is a close contest.

not surprised at all sine pak has been a bowling oriented team. Shadab is a great find. MashAllah
Just need one good fast bowler. Maybe in next yr psl we might find a good fast bowler. Amir-hasan ali-?
The place of 3rd seamer is vacant

Any match in any league can be turned into a thriller, not sure what it has to do with a respective league.

I haven't followed the league very closely due to work commitments, but the amount of banter I am receiving from various friends clearly suggests that it has sparked some great interest among Pakistani fans (The actual target market / audience).

Plus every I catch a game, it turns out to be an absolute thriller of a contest. :14: Standard of cricket is clearly on par with BBL which is probably the gold standard of league/franchise cricket production.

T20 cricket that's just the nature of the game.

Thrillers has no correlation with quality of a league.

From a mathematical point of view there is still quite a big possibility that every match can go down the wire given the nature of this format.

Thrillers are a given in this format.

I haven't followed the league very closely due to work commitments, but the amount of banter I am receiving from various friends clearly suggests that it has sparked some great interest among Pakistani fans (The actual target market / audience).

Plus every I catch a game, it turns out to be an absolute thriller of a contest. :14: Standard of cricket is clearly on par with BBL which is probably the gold standard of league/franchise cricket production.

the big success of BBL is that the fans have REALLY taken to the league and they genuinely follow the teams rather than big players. Dont think any other league can say that.

For eg. take away some of the top Indian stars and the internationals away from IPL and the attendances will plummet. Don't think that is the case with BBL at all. There will likely me a minimal effect on attendances as a result. As is only 2 internationals per team play and the top Aussie players are busy with internationals

Also the big players generally want to do well and seem to genuinely care for the team's results rather than just see it as a way to make bank. There is an attachment with the teams irrespective of the size of contract

the big success of BBL is that the fans have REALLY taken to the league and they genuinely follow the teams rather than big players. Dont think any other league can say that.

For eg. take away some of the top Indian stars and the internationals away from IPL and the attendances will plummet. Don't think that is the case with BBL at all. There will likely me a minimal effect on attendances as a result. As is only 2 internationals per team play and the top Aussie players are busy with internationals

Also the big players generally want to do well and seem to genuinely care for the team's results rather than just see it as a way to make bank. There is an attachment with the teams irrespective of the size of contract

Dont think so,if that was the case teams like Pune,Delhi,Hyderabad or even KKR that have chopped and rebuild chopped again wouldn't have the same following amog their fans.

Although some foreign players do get additional fan following just coz clubs eg: Gayle for bangalore and Gilly for Hyderabad but no way means city rivalries dont exist,which is what is essence of any league.

But yes BBL does manage a lot of crowd irrespective of intl schedule but one should also check the pricing and timings to see the difference.

Any league will be famous if it has tapped into the city 'pride',inter rivalry etc and has got the basic economics right.

The cricket that has been played is brilliant!

You wan't see such cricket in any other league in the world.

Don't think so PSL 3 would be as thrilling as this edition.

Psl has been outstanding according to that aspect

Yes because the city rivalries were already there,so unlike slpl,Bpl expect psl to do much better,all pcb has to do is getting basics right.

I remember reading last time as well about how some psl matches had much higher views than intl cricket.

Pakistani players ability to chase games has been a question mark for years now... so you have that specific Pakistani characteristic of the chase, to see wickets tumble down in a canter while chasing any decent total on board...

Combine that with the International players who can chase down big totals, and you get a few matches that are chased in heroic fashion, while others are made interesting by the nervousness of the Pakistani batsmen who can't chase down any easy target in the end (specially IU vs QG with last over of Sami going for 4 runs)

There's only 5 leagues altogether!! Whoop ti do PSL is in the top 3!!

Ok... :)))

Done jumping?

Obviously someone like you who started watching cricket roughly a couple of years ago wouldn't know how many leagues there are.

There's:

IPL
BBL
PSL
Natwest
CPL
BPL
SLPL (was there)
Ram Slam
MCL
Shpageeza (Afghan League)

Then there's I think a USA league and a proposed SA one as well.

Do some research first.

That's what T20 leagues are all about.

However, you'll forget all about it by the time the next evening comes around. It's like having a hangover after a long night at the pub before you launch into it all over again.

Thrillers has no correlation with quality of a league.

From a mathematical point of view there is still quite a big possibility that every match can go down the wire given the nature of this format.

Thrillers are a given in this format.

so for u bpl is quality but psl is not...i think psl has quality and thrillers both...

Yes,as teams are very balanced and each possess strength and weaknesses in some areas.

Our state T20 competition(TNPL) drew bigger TV viewership than Big bash league last year.And they didnt even have any national players let alone international stars.TNPL(a state/province competition] was also the 2nd most watched T20 league last year after IPL unless PSL figures break it.

IPL regardless of who plays will have huge attendances and viewership figures and honestly IPL and BBL arent even in the stratosphere for comparison in these terms.

source

Our state T20 competition(TNPL) drew bigger TV viewership than Big bash league last year.And they didnt even have any national players let alone international stars.TNPL(a state/province competition] was also the 2nd most watched T20 league last year after IPL unless PSL figures break it.

IPL regardless of who plays will have huge attendances and viewership figures and honestly IPL and BBL arent even in the stratosphere for comparison in these terms.

source

Not exactly true on the attendances front is it.

Yes thats why i mentioned viewership figures.And i pointed out the figures to show there will be following of IPL regardless of big international stars or not.

The attendence figures will be poor in TNPL because there arent any big stadiums outside chennai in the state(they had capacity of 8000-10000 ).

source

Tamil Nadu's population is more than 3 times the whole of Australia's. So false equivalence there

And since it is an Indian competition on start with, and is on Star, obv it will always be up there in number of eyeballs

But thats not the discussion and neither is viewership sole judge of tournament success because naturally Indian tournaments will dominate

Yes thats why i mentioned viewership figures.And i pointed out the figures to show there will be following of IPL regardless of big international stars or not.

The attendence figures will be poor in TNPL because there arent any big stadiums outside chennai in the state(they had capacity of 8000-10000 ).

Was referring to you when you said the comparison between attendances in the IPL and BBL "arent even in the stratosphere" when in reality they're very comparable.

Tamil Nadu's population is more than 3 times the whole of Australia's. So false equivalence there

And since it is an Indian competition on start with, and is on Star, obv it will always be up there in number of eyeballs

But thats not the discussion and neither is viewership sole judge of tournament success because naturally Indian tournaments will dominate

The point is TNPL attracts those numbers without even any National stars.So IPL will have no problem attracting huge crowd and viewership regardless of presence of any big international players as u alluded too.

Was referring to you when you said the comparison between attendances in the IPL and BBL "arent even in the stratosphere" when in reality they're very comparable.

It is though.The viewership figures of IPL are nearly 10 times of that of Big Bash.

Beautiful tournament. Much better than others out there..

Nothing quite like incompetence when it comes to creating tense finishes, love it :))

You'd know about that in your little Worcestershire/Jobber league playing as the 12th man for HCC 7th team :yk

eeec79257ef28898bdafebex7s.gif

I could play at a higher level but that would require me to compromise on both my calorie consumption and my desire to entertain.

I would not be a real man if I didn't stay true to my guiding principles of good food and having fun.

So while you and the other children are busy trying to be "athletes" I am all:

ron-swansonvubix.gif

giphyj2zc4.gif

PSL Cricinfo headlines tell a story

'Smith steers Islamabad home off final ball'

'Lahore triumph by one wicket in final ball'

'Afridi's blazing 54 not enough for Peshawar'

'Lahore lose 6 for 5 runs in failed chase'

'Islamabad shock Quetta is last-ball heist'

'Pollard last-ball six keeps Karachi alive'

'Afridi seals last-over win for Peshawar'

'Karachi qualify with clutch victory'

'Nerveless Nawaz puts Quetta in final'

There can be no doubt that it has been a brilliant tournament and most importantly has providided many of our young (and even established) players the invaluable experience of tight and high pressure games. I hope this instils a 'never-give-up' attitude in our International team where far too often the body language drops and se give up after a few boundaries.

I am looking forward to what headlines the final three matches can produce. Any predictions?

Yeah, it's been brilliant. The first week wasn't as good but after that, wow it's been great. So many matches have gone down to the wire!

eeec79257ef28898bdafebex7s.gif

I could play at a higher level but that would require me to compromise on both my calorie consumption and my desire to entertain.

I would not be a real man if I didn't stay true to my guiding principles of good food and having fun.

So while you and the other children are busy trying to be "athletes" I am all:

ron-swansonvubix.gif

giphyj2zc4.gif

:))) That's a good point, is there a spot for me on the team :( am on the £1 Chicken and Chips diet :afridi

If you can muster the courage to stop hiding and come to the nets, maybe. :rahat1

There can be no doubt that it has been a brilliant tournament and most importantly has providided many of our young (and even established) players the invaluable experience of tight and high pressure games. I hope this instils a 'never-give-up' attitude in our International team where far too often the body language drops and se give up after a few boundaries.

I am looking forward to what headlines the final three matches can produce. Any predictions?

Yep, experience of playing and winning close games can be invaluable.

Of course, now that we expect close finishes the rest of the games will be boring, one sided affairs. :))

Found this posted on a PSL fan page, thought I'd share with you guys.

From our Indian friend,****** (name hidden for privacy)

I've spend 4-5 years on social media(Facebook + Twitter) of IPL and 2 years of PSL. There might be 1000 reasons why IPL > PSL but mentioning some of the points that makes PSL > IPL.
#1 - Logos : I absolutely loved the logos used by all the teams in PSL. They are much more cool and charismatic compared to IPL team logos. I remember some franchise in PSL last year hosted an online competition to make logos and one of them got selected(reckon it was Quetta). Also some of the logos have touch to their culture which is a good initiative.
#2 - Teams Name : Peshawar and Lahore have adjectives used as Zalmi and Qalandar respectively giving the flavour of their city's culture or something related to their land. Whereas in IPL you see mostly teams using coming adjectives like Knight-riders, Daredevils, Kings, Royals etc.
#3 Fans/City Banter : PSL's city and fan banter is probably the best source of entertainment I've seen on social media. There's no banter as such in IPL. You won't see a Mumbaikar mocking a Delhite that we have sea and you don't. Or a Delhite mocking Mumbaikar saying our food culture is better than yours. Contrary to that the PSL banter between a Karachite and a Lahori is something to look after.
"Doob marne k liye samandar hi kaam aaega karachi walo"
"We generate 70% of Pak revenue"
"Karachi's biryani is real biryani"
"Final tou Lahore mai dekhne aana hoga"
"Faayda kya itna late match rakhne ka jab Isb wale tou 9 baje hi sou jate hai" etc
P.S : some people over do it but banter in limit is too good a source of entertainment when it comes to Khi vs Lhr.
#4 - Memes : This is where PSL goes far ahead of any other leagues. Loved the way Pakistani's make meme out of almost every small incident or event during a PSL match. IPL doesn't have a strong memes game.
E.g. :
> Meme on expressions of Salman Iqbal or Fawad Rana
> Meme on franchises brand ambassador like the one on Momina or Mehwish Hayat
> The meme on Najiba Faiz carrying a bugs bunny was related to Kamran Akmal
> The reporting of Amin Hafeez on PSL final tickets
All the above points were based on what provided me as a source of entertainment, what made me laugh, whereas there were things like quality cricket on display, nail biting finishes, coaches showing their enthusiasm in the dug out, some brilliant form of celebration(Elliot's bat drop, Rumman's silence, Sammy's team selfie) etc
This was based on my assessment. Some might be right, some might be wrong, but I've an opinion of my own and it was one.
As a lover of cricket, I wish PSL brings many profits to Pak in terms of financial aspect and helping their cricket grow with some youngsters making a name for themselves in the national team in future and I pray the final in Lahore takes place peacefully and hopefully some positives about cricket returning to Pak.
Yours sincerely,
******(name hidden for privacy)

'best' is a relative term and I can't say as I didnt follow other leagues like PSL.
but this year's PSL produced brilliant thrilling matches and as a fan I really enjoyed it.