Is the cause behind India's poor performance related to players' wives, extra luggage, and Gautam Gambhir's management?

Major

Test Star
When a team loses a series and the board sits down to come up with a new plan and strategy, you would assume that this would include some better tactics, better planning, incorporating other elements like data, or sending a few players to specialized NCAs.

But it seems like, BCCI has other plans after the BGT debacle
Screenshot_20250116-001232.jpg

So it means that Indian players get greatly distracted because of their families.

Aakash Chopra mentioned on X who the heck needs 150kg of luggage on a cricket tour ? Are you playing cricket or emigrating ?

All the players have to travel on the team bus - surely that's a given ?!

Gambhir's manager will stay in a different hotel. I guess that'll stop the batsmen fishing at deliveries outside offstump.

I'm not denying some of these are legitimate issues but I swear cricket boards sometimes blame this ancillary stuff (created by media and some fans) when the reasons for losing a series are often simpler.

Remember after the 2017/18 Ashes the narrative was England had an out of control drinking culture. How about the bowlers weren't good enough to take 20 wickets with the Kookaburra ?

Every time we lose a series we hear all sorts of nonsense. How about we weren't good enough ?

Aakash Chopra mentioned on X who the heck needs 150kg of luggage on a cricket tour ? Are you playing cricket or emigrating ?

All the players have to travel on the team bus - surely that's a given ?!

Gambhir's manager will stay in a different hotel. I guess that'll stop the batsmen fishing at deliveries outside offstump.

I'm not denying some of these are legitimate issues but I swear cricket boards sometimes blame this ancillary stuff (created by media and some fans) when the reasons for losing a series are often simpler.

Remember after the 2017/18 Ashes the narrative was England had an out of control drinking culture. How about the bowlers weren't good enough to take 20 wickets with the Kookaburra ?

Every time we lose a series we hear all sorts of nonsense. How about we weren't good enough ?
To be fair had this been a saya corp manager sitting in the dressing, the media here would had gone crazzy

Batting coach will be added as per cricbuzz.priority for first class matches is already stressed out . So in 10 days we will know rohit and kohli will travel to eng or not.rest all the players who are not part of eng t20 series are playing first class matches. Gambhir performance will be reviewed after ct 25.Ganbhir was asked to do more team bonding sessions like dravid and not to cancel the customary outside team lunch following a victory.(After perth everyone went in their own groups) I think the popcorn stuff came out quickly as usual

Mandatory travel in bus is good as it generates bonding.flexible rules after covid were took it for granted by all the superstars like kohli, rohit , bumrah etc

It is more of a gautam's mismanagement that India is not performing well. GG has been preferring PR over performances to select the team.

Gauti is helpless. I think gautam will be first one who Will be fired/ resign if india Will not perform well in the champion trophy .

Is it true that Kohli and Bumrah use private jets and don't fly with the rest of the team? Ridiculous.

100% true and Virat was not even stay in team hotel instead used seprate hotel.

This is happening from 2018 england test tour.

Virat is given so much power that he was directly came to practice from the different hotel in his personal taxi.

Bumrah and Rohit were also enjoyed this power from last few years.

100% true and Virat was not even stay in team hotel instead used seprate hotel.

This is happening from 2018 england test tour.

Virat is given so much power that he was directly came to practice from the different hotel in his personal taxi.

Bumrah and Rohit were also enjoyed this power from last few years.
No way bcci should have allowed this. You win as a team lose as a team travel as a team period.. the sooner rohit kohli are thrown out the better for ind cricket team..if a CT exit leads to them being dropped- i gladly wouldn't mind it. Don't think ind will get anywhere close to winning CT with these clowns in the team..

Reason Behind BCCI's 'Staff' Ban: Report Says "One Star Had Personal Chef, Another Nanny..."

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced massive restrictions on the presence of families as well as personal staff on tours for the cricketers in the aftermath of the humiliating Test series loss against Australia. The decisions regarding the personal staff of players was part of the 10-point policy introduced by the BCCI "to promote discipline and unity". According to a report by Dainik Jagran, the decision was taken in order to bring discipline into the side and at the insistence of head coach Gautam Gambhir. The report further claimed that a wicket-keeper travels with his personal chef on tours while a star batter's entourage includes security guards and a nanny.

"A BCCI source said that it is important to bring discipline into the side and coach Gautam Gambhir wants to finish the prevalent star culture. It was learnt that a wicket-keeper travels with his personal chef while a star batter travels with a big staff including a nanny for his kids and security personnel," the report said.

"There are some players who also travel with their personal staff. The BCCI source said that such practices have a negative impact on the team," the report added.

Earlier, the BCCI approved only a two-week window for families to stay with the players during overseas tours, besides imposing restrictions on personal staff, and commercial shoots.

"Any exceptions or deviations must be pre-approved by the Chairman of the Selection Committee and Head Coach. Non-compliance may lead to disciplinary action as deemed appropriate by the BCCI," the Board policy states.

"Additionally, the BCCI reserves the right to take disciplinary action against a player which may include sanction against the concerned player from participating in all BCCI conducted tournaments including the Indian Premier League; and deduction from retainer amount/match fees under BCCI Player contract," it warns.

NDTV

A typically desi response to more deep-seated problems. Somehow people in this part of the world believe that 'danda' and strictness is the only way to whip someone into shape. Doesn't even matter that they are professional athletes, and not kids.

Making domestic cricket mandatory is a good move, similarly for team bonding it’s necessary that players remain more with the team than with their family.

Cricketers are treating cricket as part time occupation right now.

Making domestic cricket mandatory is a good move, similarly for team bonding it’s necessary that players remain more with the team than with their family.

Cricketers are treating cricket as part time occupation right now.
Cricketers play alot of cricket these days. Unless they are out of form it makes no sense for a star player to be playing domestic cricket.

Again, they are grown men. They spend months abroad on tours. If you are having a bad tour, then having your family with you is a nice way to take your mind off the negativity. They spend all their time on the field, in practice, in the dressing room, sometimes in outside engagements; with their teammates. That's plenty of team bonding.

Don't think it is related to wives, extra luggage, and GG's management.

I think the issues were:

1) They were overconfident and arrogant.

2) Rohit and Kohli declined. Pujara is gone. Ashwin retired. Pant's loss of form.

3) Bowling declined. Only Bumrah was genuinely threatening.

Cricketers play alot of cricket these days. Unless they are out of form it makes no sense for a star player to be playing domestic cricket.

Again, they are grown men. They spend months abroad on tours. If you are having a bad tour, then having your family with you is a nice way to take your mind off the negativity. They spend all their time on the field, in practice, in the dressing room, sometimes in outside engagements; with their teammates. That's plenty of team bonding.
Almost all the rules are for 2 guys. Rohit and Kohli. Most of the others are not married or not bringing their wife. They are indirectly putting pressure on these 2 guys. I am 100% sure some feed back was received from team management to make these rules. Kohli and Rohit take breaks willy nilly. They come whenever they want. They leave whenever they want. Their only practice is net practice. No match practice between tours. He could have played in the A tour games. He skipped that too. Tendulkar played his last first class game in 2012. Kohli played in 2011. THat is frankly arrogant. Kohli's peak started only in 2014. Basically he completely abandoned first class. We see that effect now. Last 5 years averaging 30. They became full of themselves. Having said that instead of all these rules htey could have just dropped these 2. But if you really want this not to repeat you need these rules.

One of the glaring issue is Kohli's incapability against spin.he does not want to play domestic matches and improve against spin.as professional we should expect 200 percent compliance from them but unfit captian is the sole reason for the removal of yo yo fitness tests.Team went out in groups after victory in Perth.i think once the new team settles down most of the rules will be relaxed .

Seems like Dr Zakir is not the only Indian who likes to carry heavy suitcases abroad for free.

Brother, you must understand, as mentioned in Surah Az-Zalzalah (99:7-8) ‘So whoever does an atom’s weight of good will see it, and whoever does an atom’s weight of evil will see it.’ Now, if the luggage is heavy, it only means the good deeds are also heavy.
If Dr. Zakir Naik is traveling with heavy luggage, it means he is capable of carrying it! But if the airline is burdened by it, then they need to reflect on their iman. When Dr. Zakir’s luggage arrives, the airline staff must see the blessings and wisdom swelling within it. Mashallah. Next question please.

One of the glaring issue is Kohli's incapability against spin.he does not want to play domestic matches and improve against spin.as professional we should expect 200 percent compliance from them but unfit captian is the sole reason for the removal of yo yo fitness tests.Team went out in groups after victory in Perth.i think once the new team settles down most of the rules will be relaxed .
Kohli is badly out-of-form and has been for a long time so he does not fit that description. But then should someone like Bumrah be playing domestic cricket?

Almost all the rules are for 2 guys. Rohit and Kohli. Most of the others are not married or not bringing their wife. They are indirectly putting pressure on these 2 guys. I am 100% sure some feed back was received from team management to make these rules. Kohli and Rohit take breaks willy nilly. They come whenever they want. They leave whenever they want. Their only practice is net practice. No match practice between tours. He could have played in the A tour games. He skipped that too. Tendulkar played his last first class game in 2012. Kohli played in 2011. THat is frankly arrogant. Kohli's peak started only in 2014. Basically he completely abandoned first class. We see that effect now. Last 5 years averaging 30. They became full of themselves. Having said that instead of all these rules htey could have just dropped these 2. But if you really want this not to repeat you need these rules.
That is different and if that is the case I don't understand why the rest of the players have to be punished.

Kohli is badly out-of-form and has been for a long time so he does not fit that description. But then should someone like Bumrah be playing domestic cricket?
Bumrah and pandya are excluded from domestic games on medical grounds. Rules are pretty reasonable. Kohli is not playing/making any attempt domestic cricket since 5 years.

Rohit Sharma told BCCI chief selector Ajit Agarkar that he wants to discuss the new guidelines regarding restrictions on family members during tours with Secretary Devajit Saikia at the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 squad announcement press conference:

"Ab mere ko baithna padega secretary ke saath family ka discuss karne ke liye, sab mere ko bol rahe hai (I'll have to sit with the secretary to discuss about the family. Everyone is asking me)."

Michael Clarke, while speaking on a sports media platform, said:

“The one I found hard, because throughout my career, we went both sides with players, wives, and partners only being allowed sometimes, not being allowed on other times, then being allowed the whole time."

“The balance was difficult. You got guys who were older, who were married with kids, you got guys that are single."

“So, from the perspective of the team, if the partners are not allowed to come the whole time, is the single guy allowed to bring someone back to the hotel bar and have a drink with her? Where’s the balance? I don’t know how it is going to work. I just think it is a really touchy one because some people find it more difficult being away from home."

BCCI's Family Travel Restriction Criticized, Adds Stress on Virat Kohli: Brad Hogg

Former Australian spinner Brad Hogg has criticized the BCCI's recent 10-point guideline for centrally contracted players, particularly the restriction on family travel during tours. Under the new rules, families can only stay with players for two weeks on tours lasting 45 days or more.

Hogg expressed concerns about the impact of these restrictions on Virat Kohli, emphasizing that balancing cricket and family life is crucial. He argued that extended time away from family could hinder Kohli’s performance, especially given India’s packed cricket schedule.

The 36-year-old Kohli has struggled in Tests recently, scoring only three centuries in the past five years, with his average dropping to 46.85. Hogg attributed this decline to off-field pressures, suggesting that Kohli has "too much on his plate," including family responsibilities and commitments beyond cricket.

Kohli is set to play for Delhi in their Ranji Trophy match against Railways on January 30. The BCCI implemented the guidelines after India's Border-Gavaskar Trophy loss to Australia, with chief selector Ajit Agarkar noting that such rules are common in sports teams worldwide.

BCCI Policy Enforced, Indian Players' Families Won't Travel For 2025 Champions Trophy: Report

Indian men’s cricketers’ families reportedly won’t accompany them to the UAE for the 2025 Champions Trophy, as the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)’s diktat has started to take shape.

The BCCI’s new policies, which came into being after the team’s big 3-1 series defeat in the 2024-25 Border-Gavaskar Trophy, prevent families from traveling to tours that are shorter than 45 days in duration. Even for tours longer than that threshold, families are allowed to accompany for two weeks for every 45 days.

The Champions Trophy will begin on February 19 while India’s campaign will begin on the following day against Bangladesh. India’s matches will take place entirely in the UAE as the rest of the matchups go as planned in the primary host country, Pakistan, under the hybrid model agreed by the boards.

“If anything changes then it is different but as of now, the players are unlikely to be accompanied by their wives or partners for this tour," news agency PTI quoted an official as saying. “One of the senior players had enquired about it and he was told that the policy decision will be followed. Since the tour is of less than one month, families won’t be accompanying the players. But if exceptions are made, I think that individual will have to bear the full expenses as BCCI won’t be covering any cost," the official added.

The BCCI policy document was leaked to the media. It reads, “Players absent from India for more than 45 days during overseas tours can be joined by their partners and children (under 18) for one visit per series (format wise) of up to a two-week period. Any deviation from this policy must be pre-approved by the coach, captain and GM Operations. Additional expenses outside the visitors’ period will not be covered by the BCCI."

However, the report added, that families will be there with the team during the five-Test tour of England in June-July-August after the IPL 2025 season. The window for their two-week stay during the trip will be worked closer to the tour.

The official quoted in the report also said that most other rules mentioned in the diktat, like the provision of making domestic cricket participation mandatory, and the team traveling together for matches, have been already enforced.

“If you look at it, already no player can ask for a private vehicle to come for practice. All state units have been notified. Similarly, once the players assembled in Kolkata (for the T20I series against England) and Nagpur (for the ODI series against the same side), the team has traveled together," he said.

The report concluded by saying that having restricted travel of personal chefs and secretaries for the players, the BCCI is now planning to get a few chefs on board to meet the dietary requirements of certain players.

As per reports:

During India's tour of Australia, an Indian player carried over 27 bags, weighing more than 250kg, which included items belonging to his family and personal staff. The BCCI had to pay for this excess luggage.

This incident prompted the BCCI to implement a new rule, capping the luggage weight at 150kg and prohibiting family members from accompanying players on overseas tours.

Since then, the players are required to travel through the team bus, and no personal travel arrangements are allowed. These changes aim to prevent similar issues in the future.

As per reports:

During India's tour of Australia, an Indian player carried over 27 bags, weighing more than 250kg, which included items belonging to his family and personal staff. The BCCI had to pay for this excess luggage.

This incident prompted the BCCI to implement a new rule, capping the luggage weight at 150kg and prohibiting family members from accompanying players on overseas tours.

Since then, the players are required to travel through the team bus, and no personal travel arrangements are allowed. These changes aim to prevent similar issues in the future.
Even 150 kg is a lot for 1 player in a month long or even 2 month long tour.
All you need is your kit and a max of 2 suitcases if clothes. Should all be less than 60kg.
These cricketers are pampered and think they are Demi gods.

Now, where is the BCCI policy? Are the players going to play the ICC Champions Trophy or to Dubai for sightseeing?

QdglfhL.jpg

BCCI Makes U-Turn, Allows Families Of Indian Cricketers To Watch One Match During Champions Trophy: Report

The Indian cricketers will reportedly be allowed to take their families for one match during the Champions Trophy 2025. India, led by Rohit Sharma, will play all their matches of the ICC tournament in Dubai including the semifinal and the final should they qualify.

Last month, reports had emerged that the BCCI has cracked the whip on Indian cricketers following the Border-Gavaskar Trophy and issued a 10-point diktat to restore discipline. The guidelines included limited time with family when on tour – for a tour that stretches beyond 45 days, a player’s family can stay with him for up to two weeks.

The reports also claimed that the cricketers picked for the 2025 Champions Trophy won’t be allowed to take families to the UAE.

However, as per Dainik Jagran, the BCCI has made a U-turn on its strict stance and has loosened the restrictions for the marquee tournament set to get underway from February 19.

The daily quoted a BCCI source as saying that If a player wishes to, he can take his family to Dubai for one match.

India have been placed alongside Bangladesh, Pakistan and New Zealand in Group A. The team begins campaign on February 20 when they face Bangladesh followed by blockbuster clash with Pakistan on February 23 before concluding their group campaign against New Zealand on March 2.

News agency PTI had recently quoted a BCCI source as saying that a senior player did enquire if families could be allowed as an exception for the Champions Trophy. If permitted, the player will have to bear the full expenses himself not the BCCI.

“…the players are unlikely to be accompanied by their wives or partners for this tour. One of the senior players had enquired about it and he was told that the policy decision will be followed," the BCCI source was quoted as saying.

Virat Kohli speaking during an interview:

"It is very difficult to explain to people how grounding it is to just come back to your family every time you have something intense, which happens on the outside."

"I do not think people have an understanding of what value it brings to a large extent. And I feel quite disappointed about that because it is like people who have no control over what is going on are kind of brought into conversations and put out at the forefront that, 'oh, maybe they need to be kept away."

"I want to be able to be normal. And then you can really treat your game as something that is a responsibility. You finish that responsibility, and you come back to life."

"Like, there could be different situations happening in your life all the time. And that allows you to be absolutely normal. Not in a vague sense, but in a very real way that you finish your commitment, your responsibility, and then you come back to your house, you are with family, and there's absolutely normalcy in your house and normal family life goes on. So, for me, that is absolutely a day of immense pleasure. And I would not miss any opportunities to go out and spend time with my family whenever I can."

After Virat Kohli's criticism, BCCI may rethink family stay policy: Sources

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) may consider making changes to its family stay policy if players wish to have their families and close ones accompany them on tour for extended periods, sources have told India Today. Family members will be permitted to stay with players and support staff for longer than the current rules allow, provided players obtain prior approval from the board.

This development comes just days after Virat Kohli expressed his disappointment with the policy, stressing the importance of players spending time with their loved ones after high-intensity matches, particularly on overseas tours.

"Players can apply for permission if they want their families to stay longer on tours. The BCCI will make a decision as it sees fit," a top BCCI source said.

The BCCI introduced a 10-point disciplinary guideline for senior men's team players following the disastrous tour of Australia earlier in 2025, restricting the time families were allowed to stay with players on overseas tours. These restrictions on family travel were reintroduced after being relaxed during the Covid-19 pandemic, following a review meeting with head coach Gautam Gambhir and captain Rohit Sharma after the Australia tour.

During the meeting, coach Gambhir had reportedly raised concerns about a lack of cohesion in the dressing room, prompting the BCCI to implement stricter measures.

SOURCE: https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cr...hink-virat-kohli-criticism-2695347-2025-03-18

Sign of a good, professional board, they thought team was indisciplined which was affecting the performances and took strict measures, but based on feedback from players and improvement in performance are willing to relook at the new rules.

BCCI Secretary Reacts To Virat Kohli's Criticism: 'Family Policy Will Remain Intact, It's Important To Nation'

Secretary Devajit Saikia said on Wednesday that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) won’t change the controversial policy limiting family time for its international men’s cricketers, despite the recent candid criticism from Virat Kohli. Saikia said the policy was ‘paramount’ for both ‘the nation’ and the board, adding that it wasn’t an overnight decision but an update to similar directives from the previous century.

The reports about such rules (they were never made public by the BCCI) came after India lost the 2024-25 Border-Gavaskar Trophy to Australia. They said that for every 45-day long tour, families would be allowed two weeks with the cricketer, except under special circumstances when the board permitted them. It was accompanied by other rules, which mandated players to travel together, reduce their luggage and so on.

“At this stage, the current policy will remain intact, as it is of paramount importance to both the nation and our institution, the BCCI," Saikia told Cricbuzz in an interview.

“The BCCI recognises that there may be some resentment or differing opinions, as in a democratic setup, people are entitled to express their views. The policy is applied uniformly to all team members – players, coaches, managers, support staff, and everyone involved – and has been implemented with the best interests of everyone in mind," the secretary who recently replaced Jay Shah in the position said.

“This policy has not been formulated overnight; it has been in place for decades, dating back to the playing days of our president, Roger Binny – and possibly even earlier," he said. “The new policy is an amendment of the previous one, with additional provisions regarding players’ presence at practice sessions, match schedules, tours, luggage, team movements, and other ancillary activities, all aimed at the objective of team cohesion and unity," he added.

Speaking at an event organised by his IPL franchise Royal Challengers Bengaluru, Kohli said that he was ‘quite disappointed’ by it and felt the decision-makers lacked understanding of players’ needs.

When a team loses a series and the board sits down to come up with a new plan and strategy, you would assume that this would include some better tactics, better planning, incorporating other elements like data, or sending a few players to specialized NCAs.

But it seems like, BCCI has other plans after the BGT debacle
View attachment 149750
Trolling blew up in your face didn't it.

This post aged well. LMAO.

This tournament hurt Pak psyche every whihc way possible
When Pakistani players are out of Pakistan they behave like tourists who have not seen anything else. I mean lifestyle of Jadeja is at par with Some of the richest people in Dubai. They go sightseeing to relax and take away their minds of cricket.

WHY ARE WE DISCUSSING CONVICTIONS AND FIXING IN THIS THREAD...

PLEASE STAY ON TOPIC NOW