Islamabad United not to renew Misbah-ul-Haq's contract, Johan Botha named new Head Coach

Major

Test Star
Islamabad United, the most successful franchise in HBL PSL history and the winner of the first and third edition of the tournament, has announced today that the already expired contract of Misbah ul Haq as its Head Coach will not be renewed, given Misbah’s commitment with the National side and the new conflict of interest rules of the PCB.

Misbah had previously been the captain of the two Islamabad United teams that had won the PSL in 2016 and 2018. He was appointed as the Head Coach of Islamabad United in December 2019. Islamabad United would like to thank Misbah-ul-Haq for his association with the franchise and would like to wish him the best in his current role with the National side.

Ali Naqvi, the Owner of the Franchise, said, “Misbah has been an integral part of Islamabad United since being picked in the draft of PSL Season 1 in December 2015, and has been instrumental in making us the most successful team of the PSL. ISLU will miss his experience, guidance and wisdom but we respect the constraints of PCB’s new rules and his commitments to the National side. We wish him the best in his professional as well as personal life.”

Misbah-ul-Haq said, “I obviously have an attachment to Islamabad United and the relationships that we have built over the past five years. But with back to back World T20s coming up I want to focus on the PSL from a purely neutral perspective. For anyone involved in Pakistan Cricket their national commitments should always be the priority, and for that I believe I will have to sacrifice my franchise commitments. I wish the best of luck to Islamabad United for PSL 6, and the foundation we have built in that franchise will hopefully be a ladder to success for them for this year and future PSLs to come.”

Time to hop on the Bandwagon and support some other team.

I am pretty sure Lahore might be interested in hiring him, knowing that Lahore hasn't had a good coach and has always sucked in PSL except for the last season due to Ben Dunk

PCB is creating problems here as usual. They forcing these rules, thus Misbah decided to let go Franchise contract for now.

Chalo, hum bhi abhi ISB ko nahi chor ray

Let’s see now which Franchise wants the life and soul drained out of it by signing him

It was a good journy.

Misbah, the guy who was suppose to retire in 2012, ends up not only playing the PSL, but won it twice.

Got selected with this club, became its captain, defeated all the other captains in the first tournament after a very bad start. Won it again, became its coach

I still remember Rameez Raja saying during the time when the trophy was handed over during the first PSL. It was something like
Misbah ul haq, how do you keep pulling it off.....

That shows who Misbah is. At the end of the day, it is him who is always holding the trophy no matter how many people criticism him

PCB is creating problems here as usual. They forcing these rules, thus Misbah decided to let go Franchise contract for now.

Chalo, hum bhi abhi ISB ko nahi chor ray

I think that a head coach or any bowling coach on the team should be prevented from being a coach of any PSL franchise to reduce biased selections and so that they can look at the matches from a more neutral point of view.

Granted that Misbah hasn't selected ISLU players too often without performances to show for it, to prevent any chance of it happening, it is best that this rule is implemented and that it stays.

Misbah's priorities as head coach should solely be about the national team's needs instead of coaching a domestic franchise.

I think that a head coach or any bowling coach on the team should be prevented from being a coach of any PSL franchise to reduce biased selections and so that they can look at the matches from a more neutral point of view.

Granted that Misbah hasn't selected ISLU players too often without performances to show for it, to prevent any chance of it happening, it is best that this rule is implemented and that it stays.

Misbah's priorities as head coach should solely be about the national team's needs instead of coaching a domestic franchise.

I think Misbah is mature enough not be bias. In sports, you do have coaches who coach national team and franchises aswell.

Excellent news. They finished last thanks to him. Next step getting kicked out as our coach Inshallah.

I am pretty sure Lahore might be interested in hiring him, knowing that Lahore hasn't had a good coach and has always sucked in PSL except for the last season due to Ben Dunk

Yes so misbah can help them finish last again like how he done with Islamabad.

Misbah started 2020 with 4 roles, that he is left with 1 only tells you what an utter failure he has been.

Hopefully we get a new head coach for the national team soon, so that we can get rid of this cancer.

I think Misbah is mature enough not be bias. In sports, you do have coaches who coach national team and franchises aswell.

Misbah's maturity was clearly visible with his team selections, but I'll give you the benefit of the doubt.

However, if Misbah was ever put in a situation where the team needed a fast-bowling all-rounder, and ISLU had one and KK had another one, he'd most likely pick the one from ISLU, even though there would be a chance that the one from KK would be better.

We see this all the time in India's selections of RCB players like Dube, Umesh, Saini, Sundar, though I rate Sundar as a spinner.

Finally. Maybe I can go back to supporting them instead of Multan Sultaans. It was fun this year debating with [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] and watching every one of his predictions fail and IU lose, while I was consistently right with Multan.

Misbah is a leech. He won as a captain due to the squad around him. Everyone could see he was no longer contributing, so they offered him to stay on as a coach like with other players. He agreed but at the last second defected because he refused to recognise he’s finished. Then last year he came back to IU, who stabbed Dean Jones in the back because they also fell for the Misbah hype that seemed to be going around last year. Ironic that Misbah took the strongest team to the bottom while Deano (RIP) ultimately got Karachi the title.

I think the conflict of interest issue was also looked into this year.

Mohammad Wasim could have been a good choice I think but, now as he is the chief selector not sure he will be eligible.

How can Lahore Qalandars hire him. Will that not be a conflict of interest.

Shadab was never going to be replaced after 1 year as captain. So Misbah had to go as finishing near the bottom with IU squad in unacceptable.

IU much more ruthless than Pakistan national team. Very sad.

Finally, Islu has a chance to be a top team in the league. This would have been the perfect opportunity for Mohammad Wasim to coach a PSL team with Shadab, his domestic captain.

Australians and Newzealanders would be hesitant to come Pakistan.

Not all of them are Dean Jones or Brendon Mccullum

Gary Kirsten would be an ideal choice for ISLU.

I feel that some prolific and renowned coach will take the role.
Eager to see who Naqvi can bring.

Wrong team, needs to be booted completely from the national side, can do whatever he wants elsewhere.

It was a good journy.

Misbah, the guy who was suppose to retire in 2012, ends up not only playing the PSL, but won it twice.

Got selected with this club, became its captain, defeated all the other captains in the first tournament after a very bad start. Won it again, became its coach

I still remember Rameez Raja saying during the time when the trophy was handed over during the first PSL. It was something like
Misbah ul haq, how do you keep pulling it off.....

That shows who Misbah is. At the end of the day, it is him who is always holding the trophy no matter how many people criticism him

I'm a big big Misbah fan as well but too much power is bad for any human, which Misbah got in 2019.

He's not ready yet to be a head coach. As a mentor, yes, he can still do well.

Hoping IU hire someone like Deano maybe Stuart Law can be enticed with coaching IU.

Shadab was never going to be replaced after 1 year as captain. So Misbah had to go as finishing near the bottom with IU squad in unacceptable.

IU much more ruthless than Pakistan national team. Very sad.

Wasn't Mohammad Sami the captain in 2019 and 2020 was Shadab's first?

Noose is tightening on Misbah. The joyous shameless free riding is all coming to an end

Misbah started 2020 with 4 roles, that he is left with 1 only tells you what an utter failure he has been.

It's genuinely incredible that we can quantify so many different ways Misbah has been a failure as a coach and yet he still hasn't been removed from the national set up.

History will not look kindly on this era of Pakistan cricket once the dust settles.

Misbah probably made the wrong choice tbh. Will not be long before he gets sacked from the national side too

ISLU obviously won't be the same anymore.

Islu became champions several times under him. The most successful personality of the PSL so far is parting ways with his franchise. Captain, mentor, coach, champion and PSL title winner in all.

Leading them this long is fine I guess. Chance for the fans of other franchises to rejoice.

Islu probably won't have that Champions mindset anymore so let's see what they'll do next.

Not surprised. People hyped up Misbah was the genius behind IU not Dean Jones. Dean Jones loses his job for IU, goes to Karachi, and Karachi have ended up winning. IU on the other hand probably had their worse season so far. Would seem a massive mistake sacking Dean Jones.

We don't know if Misbah or Dean had a bigger impact on IU. But to the board/owners and public, it will probably seem like the latter given what has happened, which is why the sack makes sense.

This isn't really major news.

He was told that he would have to decide whether to be a PSL head coach or the national coach after the conflict of interests saga when Mickey Arthur was around.

Islu became champions several times under him. The most successful personality of the PSL so far is parting ways with his franchise. Captain, mentor, coach, champion and PSL title winner in all.

Leading them this long is fine I guess. Chance for the fans of other franchises to rejoice.

Islu probably won't have that Champions mindset anymore so let's see what they'll do next.

Yes, let's forget Dean Jones who won twice at Isloo and then sent Karachi to the playoffs in his first season with them and they ended up winning. That is 3 out of 5.

Misbah on the other hand got us to our first ever bottom of the table finish. Some champion mindset.

I am pretty sure Lahore might be interested in hiring him, knowing that Lahore hasn't had a good coach and has always sucked in PSL except for the last season due to Ben
Dunk

They are not crazy.

If anybody wants to know about a good example of what false propaganda looks like, read this post.

The spin and reframing on show is as lurid as it can be.

Islamabad United can keep him all they want, the actual good news would be when PCB decides not to renew their contract with him.

Hopefully next exit for him from Head Coach position of Pakistan cricket team

You went so quiet after their bottom place finish this year. Nice to see you back.

Finally. Maybe I can go back to supporting them instead of Multan Sultaans. It was fun this year debating with [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] and watching every one of his predictions fail and IU lose, while I was consistently right with Multan.

Misbah is a leech. He won as a captain due to the squad around him. Everyone could see he was no longer contributing, so they offered him to stay on as a coach like with other players. He agreed but at the last second defected because he refused to recognise he’s finished. Then last year he came back to IU, who stabbed Dean Jones in the back because they also fell for the Misbah hype that seemed to be going around last year. Ironic that Misbah took the strongest team to the bottom while Deano (RIP) ultimately got Karachi the title.

Agree with every word. A humble person admits their faults, this guy is shameless. Any respect I had for him leaves me bit by bit everytime our NT is hammered.

Looking forward to seeing who replaces him. They'll probably need an year to get the feel of the team, so I don't have much hope for the coming season.

If anybody wants to know about a good example of what false propaganda looks like, read this post.

The spin and reframing on show is as lurid as it can be.

You went so quiet after their bottom place finish this year. Nice to see you back.

Well pointed out lads. Misbah's fanboyss are just so unbearable.

If Misbah was a genuine cricketing hero for Pakistan, fair enough, however no one and I repeat no one has done more damage to Pakistan cricket than he has.

Also, I should add that Major once claimed that Misbah never wanted Amir back in the team during his captaincy days. This couldn't be any further from the truth because the truth of the matter is that Misbah went over and beyond to get Amir back into the team following his ban from cricket.

When you see Misbah cheerleaders like this resort to such deceptive false propaganda, that's how you know they are simply beyond help.

Absolutely, he did some good but his bad deeds just keep piling up.

After literally being on the committee and pushing for Mickey to be fired, he came out explicitly to say that all the news reports were wrong and he was not applying for the head coach position... so it wasn’t a conflict of interest. He then proceeded to apply for the position and ofcourse get it.

He is the captain who dropped Babar Azam after a couple of failures for the whole PSL. The guy who said Shaheen shouldn’t be playing the World Cup, right before he was our best bowler.

Not to mention his recalling of idiots like Umar Akmal and Shehzad out of nowhere causing us to lose to Sri Lanka C at home then suddenly change his mind after two innings.

Not to mention his personal grudge against Amir abs how he handled this situation.

I don't blame Misbah for the Amir situation. Amir was dropped because of form. Numerous players have faced harsh comments, mistreatment from the coaches for eg Mickey Arthur's brutal comments against Wahab but Wahab didn't retire and throw his toys out of the pram.

Amir is a softie who clearly has been trying sly media tactics to create pressure to get recalled. I seriously hope the team management and the PCB sticks to its stand

Give the coaching job to Yasir Arafat. Pindi boy who has played T20 all over the world. Highly qualified coach, perhaps more qualified than any Pakistani coach.

I didn't realise he was our batting coach too. Do PCB live in an alternate universe???????!!!!

I have a nightmare, where I wake up Misbah is the new PCB head. Believe me, this guy probably will get it one day too.

He should never have had these two jobs to begin with. Should have immediately quit IU after he became Pakistan coach.

He still has that job at SNGPL. He'll always get salary from somewhere.

The problem is all of these failures are self inflicted due to lack of insight.
He could have been little bit patient, starting with local team developing his coaching skills and finishing level 3 and 4 courses from UK and Australia like Yasir Arafat but he didn't not.
He jumped straight into bandwagon and slowly he is being thrown under that bandwagon.
He still has some time to change his plans and take things gradually. He is well educated man and should take decisions for his career in a patient way which is his best trait and strength.

The problem is all of these failures are self inflicted due to lack of insight.
He could have been little bit patient, starting with local team developing his coaching skills and finishing level 3 and 4 courses from UK and Australia like Yasir Arafat but he didn't not.
He jumped straight into bandwagon and slowly he is being thrown under that bandwagon.
He still has some time to change his plans and take things gradually. He is well educated man and should take decisions for his career in a patient way which is his best trait and strength.

He fast tracked and made most of opportunities that came his way. His coaching stint at ISLU was only to gain experience so he can perform better at national level. I followed PSL this year and if you noticed he did alot of experimenting at ISLU i.e. playing two pace allrounders in the same xi so he could get a look at both (Fahim and Amad)).

Yasir Arafat with all his credentials has no where near the exposure that Misbah has and I'm sure this will set him up for success even after head coach

One of the best presents that 2020 could give us would be Misbah and Waqar bidding adieu at the end of the NZD series.

I just don’t have the desire or mindset to pray for a loss or losses. So by virtue of some miracle, just hope they realise time’s up.

Islamabad United, the winner of the first and third edition of the tournament, has announced today that Johan Botha will be the Head Coach of the franchise in PSL 6. Botha had previously worked as the Fielding Coach for Islamabad United in PSL 2.

The former South African international played over a hundred matches for his national team, including 21 games as the captain of the Proteas. He took 126 wickets in his international career and played over 200 T20 matches in leagues all around the world including the Big Bash, Indian Premier League, the Caribbean Premier League and in South Africa. Since retiring from international cricket he has been part of the coaching staff at Islamabad United prior to taking the Head Coach role at Guyana Amazon Warriors in the CPL.

Regarding his appointment Botha said “I am very happy to be back at Islamabad United, the franchise where I got my first taste of the Pakistan Super League at PSL 2. Since then I have had different experiences at the PSL as well as a range of coaching stints at various tournaments around the world. My plan is to bring all these experiences together and hopefully create another memorable PSL for Islamabad United.”

Ali Naqvi, the Owner of the Franchise, said, “Johan was part of our team back in 2017 and his subsequent success across the world in T20 leagues would not be a surprise to anyone who had seen him work back then. He provides the progressive understanding of T20 cricket that we pride ourselves on, and we are confident that he will do his utmost in achieving our shared goals.”

At least it is someone with coaching experience. Even better that he has been around the IU team. Much better appointment than Misbah.

Islamabad United, the winner of the first and third edition of the tournament, has announced today that Johan Botha will be the Head Coach of the franchise in PSL 6. Botha had previously worked as the Fielding Coach for Islamabad United in PSL 2.

The former South African international played over a hundred matches for his national team, including 21 games as the captain of the Proteas. He took 126 wickets in his international career and played over 200 T20 matches in leagues all around the world including the Big Bash, Indian Premier League, the Caribbean Premier League and in South Africa. Since retiring from international cricket he has been part of the coaching staff at Islamabad United prior to taking the Head Coach role at Guyana Amazon Warriors in the CPL.

Regarding his appointment Botha said “I am very happy to be back at Islamabad United, the franchise where I got my first taste of the Pakistan Super League at PSL 2. Since then I have had different experiences at the PSL as well as a range of coaching stints at various tournaments around the world. My plan is to bring all these experiences together and hopefully create another memorable PSL for Islamabad United.”

Ali Naqvi, the Owner of the Franchise, said, “Johan was part of our team back in 2017 and his subsequent success across the world in T20 leagues would not be a surprise to anyone who had seen him work back then. He provides the progressive understanding of T20 cricket that we pride ourselves on, and we are confident that he will do his utmost in achieving our shared goals.”

Not a fan of this appointment, there were better options available for Islamabad united.

ISLU have started making weird decisions since Wasim Akram left them, they really need a sane guy at the top to take wise decisions. Last year they appointed Donovan Miller as the bowling coach out of all the available options, this year they have brought in Johan Botha!

P.S.:-
Karachi Kings did the wise thing here by getting Wasim Akram, the guy gets the job done be it IPL or the PSL. Expecting Wasim Akram to get a good coach for the Karachi Kings.

As long as Misbah has the top job.

If he doesnt renew with PCB, he can always be back with Islamabad

Botha has been doing a great job with Guyana Amazon Warriors in CPL. So a pretty decent appointment.

As long as Misbah has the top job.

If he doesnt renew with PCB, he can always be back with Islamabad

Misbah should look for an administrative job within the PCB. They are not a lot of educated ex-cricketers in Pakistan and then there's this guy with an MBA who also has captained his team, he surely can do a good job as an administrator, with his strong suit being honesty, integrity and hard work.

Johan Botha.

Good.

Okay, no worries. At least we'll have some other team now winning the PSL title.

It was getting boring ISLU winning it all the time.

Misbah should look for an administrative job within the PCB. They are not a lot of educated ex-cricketers in Pakistan and then there's this guy with an MBA who also has captained his team, he surely can do a good job as an administrator, with his strong suit being honesty, integrity and hard work.

That's his strength. He should focus on carving out career as next CEO after Wasim Khan. He is a man of steel nerves with abundant patience.

Pacy with wisdom is a well-known Misbah hater, open propagandist and will twist all the facts, stats to make him look bad.

You've known it for a long time. :najam
I dont need to be a hater, reframer/propagandist to bring Misbah down.
He does it all by himself. The way he commanded isloo to their worst run ever is a testament to that.

But that doesn't make a difference to you, does it?
You dont care about objectivity, results and last but not least; facts at all.

There will still be songs and dances for him by the fire, and the chants of your fellow Hare Krishnas will keep going through the night.

Keep it coming for everyone loves a comic relief here and there and you and your fellow cult posters provide us just that. :sharif

Johan Botha.

Good.

Okay, no worries. At least we'll have some other team now winning the PSL title.

I am sure botha will help them not to finish last again like last year under misbah.

Johan Botha.

Good.

All Botha has to do is not finish last and he has done a better job than Misbah.

I can assure you Botha will have a better coaching career than Misbah. I doubt Misbah will get a job outside of Pakistan when he finishes his stint as Pakistan coach.

Thankyou.
Now I know I am a "hater".

This mindset that we see from Hawkeye and his fellow cheerleaders is the reason why Pakistan cricket is in the state that it's in today. We deserve to be where we are in the ranking when we have a fanbase and individuals running the PCB who support and reward mediocrity.

No one has done more damage to our cricket than what Misbah has done. These desperate Misbah fans place the interests of their hero above Pakistan cricket.

Anyone who still has this kind of unwavering support for Misbah is a sworn enemy of Pakistan cricket.

Very lucky for ISB United getting rid of Misbah is a blessing in disguise..!! I wish best of luck to Isb United..!!

Botha has been involved with coaching in Australia for a few years now but I feel like he should have been there as an assistant coach.

Johan Botha.

Good.

Erm didn’t they finish last in the pervious edition ? Also didn’t win in the season before that. What was getting boring lol?

Franchise cricket teams can’t hold this guy for 1 season as head coach, realised how poor he is and don’t wanna renew his contract. but he is the head coach, selector and cricket committee head for PCB lol.

Wasim Khan wake up

Shukr hai. Hopefully, he will be kicked out of national setup as well at the end of this NZ tour.

Great decision. Never too late to do the correct thing.

Interesting call on Johan Botha. I remember this guy was very highly regarded in SA for his leadership skills. At one point, he was captain of the ODI side even though he was always a pretty average player. So it was basically a Mike Brearley type role. Potential future Pak coach or something?

All Botha has to do is not finish last and he has done a better job than Misbah.

I can assure you Botha will have a better coaching career than Misbah. I doubt Misbah will get a job outside of Pakistan when he finishes his stint as Pakistan coach.

I guarantee that Misbah would never get any coaching job outside of Pakistan — There is absolutely zero chance. I will eat my shoe and send the clip if he coaches any team apart from Afghanistan or, at best, Bangladesh or Sri Lanka, but even there would be quite an achievement for him.